DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/609398 filed 3/19/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 3/19/24 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the body has multiple cross members, in particular seat cross members,…..”. The phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
-Claim 10 recites the limitation "in the longitudinal direction and/or in the transverse direction.". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to claims 1 and 3 from which this claim depends from not reciting (introducing) these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friedman 20210188069. Note: the use of the term “or” indicates that the limitations preceding or following the term doesn’t need to be met entirely and the recitations are in the form of “alternative” embodiments.
As to claim 1, Friedman discloses an energy storage for a motor vehicle, comprising a housing (Figure 4) on which multiple fastening positions are formed (multiple fastening positions via 48 on both sides of housing), at which a fastening receptacle (48) for a fastening element (36) to be connected to a body component (20) is provided, wherein a first fastening receptacle and a second fastening receptacle positioned offset (Figure 4 shows 48 having two receptacles offset from each other per fastening position) from the first are provided on at least some of the fastening positions, wherein the two fastening receptacles of the fastening positions are provided offset in a common direction (Figure 4 shows 48 along longitudinal direction side of housing).
As to claim 2, wherein the fastening receptacles are offset in a longitudinal direction (Figure 4 shows 48 along longitudinal direction side of housing), and/or in a transverse direction of the housing, which has a rectangular shape (as shown in Figure 4).
As to claim 3, wherein the housing is designed as a frame (via side walls 42), comprising multiple frame supports which run at right angles to one another, wherein the fastening receptacles are provided on at least some of the frame supports (Figure 2 shows 48 are on both sides of housing for fastening to both sides of 20).
As to claim 4, wherein the fastening receptacles are provided on frame supports extending in the longitudinal direction (Figure 4 shows 48 along longitudinal direction side of housing) and/or in the transverse direction.
As to claim 5, wherein the first and/or the second fastening receptacles are closed with releasable closing elements (36).
As to claim 6, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw (Figures 6A-6H and 7A-7C show 36 as screws).
As to clam 7, Friedman discloses a motor vehicle, comprising a body (20) and at least one energy storage (Figure 4) according to claim 1.
As to claim 9, wherein the housing is designed as a frame (via side walls 42), comprising multiple frame supports which run at right angles to one another, wherein the fastening receptacles are provided on at least some of the frame supports (Figure 2 shows 48 are on both sides of housing for fastening to both sides of 20).
As to claim 10, wherein the fastening receptacles are provided on frame supports extending in the longitudinal direction (Figure 4 shows 48 along longitudinal direction side of housing) and/or in the transverse direction.
As to claim 11, wherein the first and/or the second fastening receptacles are closed with releasable closing elements (36).
As to claim 12, wherein the first and/or the second fastening receptacles are closed with releasable closing elements (36).
As to claim 13, wherein the first and/or the second fastening receptacles are closed with releasable closing elements (36).
As to claim 14, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw (Figures 6A-6H and 7A-7C show 36 as screws).
As to claim 15, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw (Figures 6A-6H and 7A-7C show 36 as screws).
As to claim 16, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw (Figures 6A-6H and 7A-7C show 36 as screws).
As to claim 17, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw (Figures 6A-6H and 7A-7C show 36 as screws).
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al 20220063388. Note: the use of the term “or” indicates that the limitations preceding or following the term doesn’t need to be met entirely and the recitations are in the form of “alternative” embodiments.
As to claim 1, Jeon discloses an energy storage for a motor vehicle, comprising a housing (300) on which multiple fastening positions are formed (positioned to be fastened on multiple cross bars 320 of housing via multiple fasteners 400), at which a fastening receptacle (410) for a fastening element (420) to be connected to a body component (100) is provided, wherein a first fastening receptacle and a second fastening receptacle positioned offset (Figure 1 shows 400 having two receptacles offset from each other on 320) from the first are provided on at least some of the fastening positions, wherein the two fastening receptacles of the fastening positions are provided offset in a common direction (Figure 1 shows 400 along transverse direction of 320).
As to claim 2, wherein the fastening receptacles are offset in a longitudinal direction, and/or in a transverse direction of the housing (Figure 1 shows 400 along transverse direction of 320), which has a rectangular shape (as shown in Figure 1).
As to claim 3, wherein the housing is designed as a frame (as shown in Figure 1 at 300), comprising multiple frame supports which run at right angles to one another, wherein the fastening receptacles are provided on at least some of the frame supports (Figure 1 shows 400 along transverse direction of 320).
As to claim 4, wherein the fastening receptacles are provided on frame supports extending in the longitudinal direction and/or in the transverse direction (Figure 1 shows 400 along transverse direction of 320).
As to claim 5, wherein the first and/or the second fastening receptacles are closed with releasable closing elements (420).
As to claim 6, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw ([0056]).
As to clam 7, Jeon discloses a motor vehicle, comprising a body (100) and at least one energy storage (300) according to claim 1.
As to claim 8, wherein the body has multiple cross members (200), in particular seat cross members, to which the fastening elements are fixed, via which the energy storage is fastened on the body side (as shown in Figure 1).
As to claim 9, wherein the housing is designed as a frame (as shown in Figure 1 at 300), comprising multiple frame supports which run at right angles to one another, wherein the fastening receptacles are provided on at least some of the frame supports (Figure 1 shows 400 along transverse direction of 320).
As to claim 10, wherein the fastening receptacles are provided on frame supports extending in the longitudinal direction and/or in the transverse direction (Figure 1 shows 400 along transverse direction of 320).
As to claim 11, wherein the first and/or the second fastening receptacles are closed with releasable closing elements (420).
As to claim 12, wherein the first and/or the second fastening receptacles are closed with releasable closing elements (420).
As to claim 13, wherein the first and/or the second fastening receptacles are closed with releasable closing elements (420).
As to claim 14, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw ([0056]).
As to claim 15, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw ([0056]).
As to claim 16, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw ([0056]).
As to claim 17, wherein each fastening receptacle is a threaded receptacle for receiving a fastening screw ([0056]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Lee 20210387550 discloses an energy storage for a motor vehicle and meets the limitations of claims 1-17 (see Figures 3-5 and [0017]).
-Caliskan et al 20220126664 discloses an energy storage for a motor vehicle and shows that it is well known in the art to provide multiple fastening positions for a housing to connect to a body of vehicle (Figure 7).
-corresponding German application office action as filed has been considered and the examiner agrees that the prior art cited as novelty/inventive step meets limitations of present invention as recited.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 February 18, 2026