DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 requires multiple instances of claiming the human body
See line 10 requiring “inserted into a left ventricle”
See line 14 requiring “inserted into an ascending aorta
See line 16 requiring a pump “disposed outside the living body”
See line 19-20 requiring said pump to “removes blood from the left ventricle”
See line 23 requiring “sends blood from the…to the ascending aorta”
See line 35-36 requiring “inserted into a femoral vein”
See line 38-39 requiring “inserted into a femoral artery”
See line 41 requiring a pump “disposed outside the living body”
See line 44 requiring “removes blood from the femoral vein”
See line 46-47 requiring “sends blood from the…to the femoral artery”
See line 55-56 requiring “detection unit is disposed outside the living body” and “detects a flow rate of blood”
Claim 4 requires multiple instances of claiming the human body
See line 10 requiring “inserted into a left ventricle”
See line 14 requiring “inserted into an ascending aorta
See line 16 requiring a pump “disposed outside the living body”
See line 19-20 requiring said pump to “removes blood from the left ventricle”
See line 23 requiring “sends blood from the…to the ascending aorta”
See line 33-34 requiring “detection unit is disposed outside the living body” and “detects a flow rate of blood”
See line 39 requiring “inserted into a femoral vein”
See line 42 requiring “inserted into a femoral artery”
See line 45 requiring a pump “disposed outside the living body”
See line 47-48 requiring “removes blood from the femoral vein”
See line 51 requiring “sends blood from the…to the femoral artery”
The examiner notes that the 101 rejection can be overcome by adding configured to language (i.e. configured to be inserted into the left ventricle).
Claim Interpretation
The detection unit of claims 1-6 is interpreted under 112f. Per paragraphs 0036 and 0064, the detection units are interpreted as flow sensors.
The calculation unit of claim 2-3,5-6 is interpreted under 112f. Per paragraph 0037 and 0065, the first control unit is a controller comprising the flow calculation unit, and the second control unit is a controller comprising the flow calculation unit, where both are controlled by a program. Therefore it is interpreted that the calculation unit is a programmed controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke et al. EP 2618862 in view of Bolling et al. 2005/0085683 and further in view of Utsugida et al. WO 2020261688, hereafter Burke, Bolling, and Utsugida, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Burke discloses a blood circulation system (para. 0001) configured to remove blood from a living body of a patient and send the blood to the living body (para. 0010) the blood circulation system comprising: a first blood circulation device (figure 1, pump 16) a second blood circulation device (figure 1, pump 18); and a detection unit (para. 0034, where sensor 36 measures flow through pump 16 and sensor 38 measures flow through pump 18); wherein the first blood circulation device is comprised of: a first blood removal vessel portion having a distal end inserted into a left ventricle of the living body via a subclavian artery of the living body (figure 1, para. 0025, where pump 16 receives blood from the left ventricle) a first blood sending vessel portion having a distal end inserted into an ascending aorta of the living body via the subclavian artery (para. 0025 where the pump sends blood to the patients vasculature, as seen in figure 1, the pump is connected to the aorta). The examiner notes that Burke does not disclose insertion through the subclavian artery for either portion. However the examiner notes that this is an intended use of the device claim, not a method of insertion. PER MPEP Section 2114, [A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Therefore, as Burke teaches a first blood flow system connected to both the left ventricle and the aorta (As is the claimed device) where said device is at least inserted into said locations, and the specific insertion through the subclavian artery is functional language, it is interpreted that the device reads to the claimed invention.
Burke further discloses a first centrifugal pump (para. 0027), including a first inlet port and a first outlet port (the examiner notes that the portion of the pump receiving blood from the ventricle is the inlet and the portion of the pump for sending is the outlet) , wherein the first centrifugal pump removes blood from the left ventricle to the first inlet port (para. 0025), and wherein the first centrifugal pump sends blood from the first outlet port to the ascending aorta (para. 0025, figure 1); and a first control section that controls the first centrifugal pump ((para 0025, where the pumps are operated by independent control signals, where the signal controlling the second pump is the second control section)).
The examiner notes that however, the pump of Burke is not located outside the body.
Bolling teaches a heart circulation pumping system and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Bolling teaches that the system comprises a pump (abstract) that may be a centrifugal pump (para. 0039) having an inlet and an outlet connected to it (para. 0039). As seen in figure 1-3 the pump is located within the body, whereas in figure 6-7 the pump is located externally. Per paragraph 0068, the pump and its associated driving means and controls are employed extracorporeally. Therefore, as Bolling teaches a heart circulation pump where the pump comprises an inlet and an outlet, and where the pump may be located internally or externally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide both the first (16) and second (18) circulation pump of Burke with an inlet and outlet (for connecting to receiving and sending portions respectfully) and provided the pumps externally. Said combination involves some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art (circulation pumps may be internal or external) that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (modify the pump of Burke to be external as said location is an known location in which said pumps can function) to arrive at the claimed invention, and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The examiner notes that per the combination the first blood removal vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the inlet port and the left ventricle and via the first blood sending vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the outlet port and the aorta. The examiner further notes that per the combination the second blood removal vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the inlet port and the right ventricle and the second blood sending vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the outlet port and the connection to the pulmonary system.
The examiner notes that Burke discloses wherein the second blood circulation device is comprised of: a second blood removal vessel portion having a distal end (para. 0025 where the second device comprises the pump (18) with a receiving end in the right ventricle); a second blood sending vessel portion having a distal end (para. 0025 where the second device comprises the pump (18) with a sending end for sending to the pulmonary system); a second centrifugal pump that is disposed outside the living body (per the obvious combination in view of Bolling the second pump is also external), including a second inlet port and a second outlet port, wherein the second centrifugal pump removes blood to the second inlet port via the second blood removal vessel portion (see obviousness statement in view of Bolling above, also para. 0025), and wherein the second centrifugal pump sends blood from the second outlet port via the second blood sending vessel portion (see obviousness statement in view of Bolling above, also para. 0025), the second inlet port being connected to a proximal end of the second blood removal vessel portion, the second outlet port being connected to a proximal end of the second blood sending vessel portion. Per the combination the second blood removal vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the inlet port and the right ventricle and the second blood sending vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the outlet port and the connection to the pulmonary system.; and a second control section that controls the second centrifugal pump (para 0025, where the pumps are operated by independent control signals, where the signal controlling the second pump is the second control section). Further per para. 0029, the controller can be distributed among several different devices.
The examiner notes that while the defined second circulation device would reasonably connect to the femoral artery (through the pulmonary system) and the femoral vein (through the right ventricle) (as deoxygenated blood flows from the femoral vein to the right atrium and then the right ventricle, and further flows from the right ventricle to the pulmonary system ([lungs] and then through the femoral artery, there is no specific disclosure that the inlet and outlet are directing inserted into the femoral vein/artery. The examiner does note that said insertion into the femoral vein/artery is a statement of intended use. As such the device of Burke would reasonably function if placed in the same locations as claimed as the circulation pathway is the same. However, for clarity the examiner further relies on Utsugida.
Utsugida teaches a circulation device and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Utsugida teaches that the circulation system comprises a blood removal side inserted into the femoral vein (para. 0036) and a blood sending side inserted into the femoral artery (para. 0037). The device of Utsugida further comprises a centrifugal pump (para. 0035) for said circulation. Therefore as Utsugida teaches a blood circulation system using a centrifugal pump, where the inlet and outlet are located at the femoral vein and artery respectively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second circulation device of Burke at the located as claimed by Utsugida. Doing so would merely involve applying a known technique (inflow and outflow at a femoral vein and artery) to a known device (blood circulation device) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (that being the circulation blood through the femoral vein/artery);
The examiner notes that as detailed under the 112b rejection it is unclear as to which detection unit the limitation of “wherein the detection unit is disposed outside the living body and detects a flow rate of blood flowing through the second blood sending vessel portion; and wherein the first control section controls the first centrifugal pump based on a detection result of the detection unit” is referring to. As the claim requires the detection unit monitoring blood flow through the second sending portion, it is interpreted that the detection unit of the claims is the second detection unit. The examiner notes that per the combination of Burke with Bolling, the pump as well as conduits may be located outside the body. As the both the first and second detection unit are sensors within the flow pathway where said flow pathway extends both internally and externally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, via rearrangement of parts (See MPEP Section 2144.04 VI C), to have the sensors within the external portion of the conduit. Doing so would not have impeded the detection function as the sensor is still exposed to flowing blood. Per paragraph 0034 of Burke, the controller receives flow data from the sensors. Per para. 0054-0058, the controller operates by at least calculating blood flow through the pumps, measures input from the flow sensors, determines the average or instant flow, and sets the speed of the pumps based on the flow. The controller may also compare flow between the two pumping systems and determine if the relationship between the flows is suitable. Therefore the controller may control the first pump based on a result (value) of the second detection unit via the comparison of the two sensors.
Regarding claim 2, Burke, Bolling, and Utsugida teach the blood circulation system according to claim 1: wherein the first blood circulation device comprises a flow rate calculation unit configured to calculate an auxiliary flow rate of blood targeted to flow into the first blood sending vessel portion based on (i) a target flow rate for the patient to flow in combination from the first blood circulation device and the second blood circulation device to the ascending aorta and (ii) the detection result of the detection unit (sensed value, where the controller of the art receives measured inputs (para, 0055)); and wherein the first control section controls a rotation speed of the first centrifugal pump based on the auxiliary flow rate calculated by the flow rate calculation unit. (para. 0054-0058). The examiner notes that as understood in the specification of the instant application, the “auxiliary flow rate” is the other blood circulation device (instant spec para. 0076). Therefore as the controller comprises steps of calculating blood flow through both pumps (para. 0054), upon further operates by calculating a target flow based on flow through the other pumps (i.e. calculates target flow in right pump by flow in the left pump), and the controller than operates the corresponding pump to achieve said target, it is interpreted that the device of the prior art reads to the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 4 Burke discloses a blood circulation system (para. 0001) configured to remove blood from a living body of a patient and send the blood to the living body (para. 0010) the blood circulation system comprising: a first blood circulation device (figure 1, pump 16) a second blood circulation device (figure 1, pump 18); and a detection unit (para. 0034, where sensor 36 measures flow through pump 16 and sensor 38 measures flow through pump 18); wherein the first blood circulation device is comprised of: a first blood removal vessel portion having a distal end inserted into a left ventricle of the living body via a subclavian artery of the living body (figure 1, para. 0025, where pump 16 receives blood from the left ventricle); a first blood sending vessel portion having a distal end inserted into an ascending aorta of the living body via the subclavian artery para. 0025 where the pump sends blood to the patients vasculature, as seen in figure 1, the pump is connected to the aorta) The examiner notes that Burke does not disclose insertion through the subclavian artery for either portion. However the examiner notes that this is an intended use of the device claim, not a method of insertion. PER MPEP Section 2114, [A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Therefore, as Burke teaches a first blood flow system connected to both the left ventricle and the aorta (As is the claimed device) where said device is at least inserted into said locations, and the specific insertion through the subclavian artery is functional language, it is interpreted that the device reads to the claimed invention.
Burke further discloses a first centrifugal pump (para. 0027), including a first inlet port and a first outlet port (the examiner notes that the portion of the pump receiving blood from the ventricle is the inlet and the portion of the pump for sending is the outlet), wherein the first centrifugal pump removes blood from the left ventricle to the first inlet port (para. 0025), and wherein the first centrifugal pump sends blood from the first outlet port to the ascending aorta (para. 0025, figure 1); and a first control section that controls the first centrifugal pump ((para 0025, where the pumps are operated by independent control signals, where the signal controlling the second pump is the second control section)).
The examiner notes that however, the pumps of Burke are not located outside the body.
Bolling teaches a heart circulation pumping system and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Bolling teaches that the system comprises a pump (abstract) that may be a centrifugal pump (para. 0039) having an inlet and an outlet connected to it (para. 0039). As seen in figure 1-3 the pump is located within the body, whereas in figure 6-7 the pump is located externally. Per paragraph 0068, the pump and its associated driving means and controls are employed extracorporeally. Therefore, as Bolling teaches a heart circulation pump where the pump comprises an inlet and an outlet, and where the pump may be located internally or externally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide both the first (16) and second (18) circulation pump of Burke with an inlet and outlet (for connecting to receiving and sending portions respectfully) and provided the pumps externally. Said combination involves some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art (circulation pumps may be internal or external) that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (modify the pump of Burke to be external as said location is an known location in which said pumps can function) to arrive at the claimed invention, and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The examiner notes that per the combination the first blood removal vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the inlet port and the left ventricle and via the first blood sending vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the outlet port and the aorta. The examiner further notes that per the combination the second blood removal vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the inlet port and the right ventricle and the second blood sending vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the outlet port and the connection to the pulmonary system.
The examiner notes that Burke discloses wherein the second blood circulation device is comprised of: a second blood removal vessel portion having a distal end (para. 0025 where the second device comprises the pump (18) with a receiving end in the right ventricle); a second blood sending vessel portion having a distal end (para. 0025 where the second device comprises the pump (18) with a sending end for sending to the pulmonary system); a second centrifugal pump that is disposed outside the living body (per the obvious combination in view of Bolling the second pump is also external), including a second inlet port and a second outlet port, wherein the second centrifugal pump removes blood to the second inlet port via the second blood removal vessel portion (see obviousness statement in view of Bolling above, also para. 0025), and wherein the second centrifugal pump sends blood from the second outlet port via the second blood sending vessel portion (see obviousness statement in view of Bolling above, also para. 0025), the second inlet port being connected to a proximal end of the second blood removal vessel portion, the second outlet port being connected to a proximal end of the second blood sending vessel portion. Per the combination the second blood removal vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the inlet port and the right ventricle and the second blood sending vessel portion is interpreted to be the connection between the outlet port and the connection to the pulmonary system.; and a second control section that controls the second centrifugal pump (para 0025, where the pumps are operated by independent control signals, where the signal controlling the second pump is the second control section). Further per para. 0029, the controller can be distributed among several different devices.
The examiner notes that while the defined second circulation device would reasonably connect to the femoral artery (through the pulmonary system) and the femoral vein (through the right ventricle) (as deoxygenated blood flows from the femoral vein to the right atrium and then the right ventricle, and further flows from the right ventricle to the pulmonary system ([lungs] and then through the femoral artery, there is no specific disclosure that the inlet and outlet are directing inserted into the femoral vein/artery. The examiner does note that said insertion into the femoral vein/artery is a statement of intended use. As such the device of Burke would reasonably function if placed in the same locations as claimed as the circulation pathway is the same. However, for clarity the examiner further relies on Utsugida.
Utsugida teaches a circulation device and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Utsugida teaches that the circulation system comprises a blood removal side inserted into the femoral vein (para. 0036) and a blood sending side inserted into the femoral artery (para. 0037). The device of Utsugida further comprises a centrifugal pump (para. 0035) for said circulation. Therefore as Utsugida teaches a blood circulation system using a centrifugal pump, where the inlet and outlet are located at the femoral vein and artery respectively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second circulation device of Burke at the located as claimed by Utsugida. Doing so would merely involve applying a known technique (inflow and outflow at a femoral vein and artery) to a known device (blood circulation device) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (that being the circulation blood through the femoral vein/artery);
The examiner notes that as detailed under the 112b rejection it is unclear as to which detection unit the limitation of “wherein the detection unit is disposed outside the living body and detects a flow rate of blood flowing through the first blood sending vessel portion; and wherein the second control section controls the second centrifugal pump based on a detection result of the detection unit” is referring to. As the claim requires the detection unit monitoring blood flow through the first sending portion, it is interpreted that the detection unit of the claims is the first detection unit. The examiner notes that per the combination of Burke with Bolling, the pump as well as conduits may be located outside the body. As the both the first and second detection unit are sensors within the flow pathway where said flow pathway extends both internally and externally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, via rearrangement of parts (See MPEP Section 2144.04 VI C), to have the sensors within the external portion of the conduit. Doing so would not have impeded the detection function as the sensor is still exposed to flowing blood. Per paragraph 0034 of Burke, the controller receives flow data from the sensors. Per para. 0054-0058, the controller operates by at least calculating blood flow through the pumps, measures input from the flow sensors, determines the average or instant flow, and sets the speed of the pumps based on the flow. The controller may also compare flow between the two pumping systems and determine if the relationship between the flows is suitable. Therefore the controller may control the second pump based on a result (value) of the second detection unit via the comparison of the two sensors. The portion of the controller connecting to second pump is interpreted as a second control section.
Regarding claim 5, Burke, Bolling, and Utsugida teach the blood circulation system according to claim 4: wherein the second blood circulation device comprises a flow rate calculation unit configured to calculate an auxiliary flow rate of blood targeted to flow into the second blood sending vessel portion based on (i) a target flow rate flowing in combination from the first blood circulation device and the second blood circulation device and (ii) the detection result of the detection unit(sensed value, where the controller of the art receives measured inputs (para, 0055)); and wherein the second control section controls a rotation speed of the second centrifugal pump based on the auxiliary flow rate calculated by the flow rate calculation unit. (para. 0054-0058). The examiner notes that as understood in the specification of the instant application, the “auxiliary flow rate” is the other blood circulation device (instant spec para. 0076). Therefore as the controller comprises steps of calculating blood flow through both pumps (para. 0054), upon further operates by calculating a target flow based on flow through the other pumps (i.e. calculates target flow in right pump by flow in the left pump), and the controller than operates the corresponding pump to achieve said target, it is interpreted that the device of the prior art reads to the claimed limitation.
Claim(s) 3,6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke in view of Utsugida and further in view of Botterbusch et al. US 2017/0290966, hereafter Botterbusch,
Regarding claim 3, Burke, Bolling, and Utsugida teach the blood circulation system according to claim 2. The examiner notes that per para. 0145 of Burke the system may comprise an input/output device for communicating signals to peripheral devices, where said devices may include instructions such as controlling operation of the pump. Para. 0006 and 0008 of Burke disclose the controller setting the pump speeds.
However no specific disclosure is made regarding a second input section in the second control section configured for a medical user to input the target flow rate for the patient to flow to the ascending aorta.
Botterbusch teaches a heart pumping system and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Botterbusch teaches that the device comprises a controller (30) and a programmer (50), where said programmer “may be conventional laptop loaded with programmed software routines for configuring controller 30 and setting operational parameters that controller 30 uses to control operation of implantable pump 20” (para. 0056). Further, per para. 0056, the programmer is located in a clinician’s office and parameters set may include target flow rate. “When first implanted, the surgeon or clinician may use programmer 50 to communicate initial operating parameters to controller 30”. Therefore it is interpreted that the clinician sets the target flow rate upon first use, and may make adjustments as detailed in para. 0056. Therefore as Botterbusch teaches a programmer for allowing a clinician to set various parameters of pump operation within a circulation system, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a clinician programmer for the device of Burke, as Burke discloses communication with outside devices and target setting for flow rate. Doing so would merely involve combining prior art elements (circulation pumping systems with a clinician input to the controller with a circulation pumping system with controller) according to known methods to yield predictable results (that being clinician setting of target values).
Regarding claim 6, Burke, Bolling, and Utsugida teach the blood circulation system according to claim 5. The examiner notes that per para. 0145 of Burke the system may comprise an input/output device for communicating signals to peripheral devices, where said devices may include instructions such as controlling operation of the pump. Para. 0006 and 0008 of Burke disclose the controller setting the pump speeds.
However no specific disclosure is made further comprising a first input section in the first control section configured for a medical user to input the target flow rate for the patient to flow to the ascending aorta.
Botterbusch teaches a heart pumping system and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Botterbusch teaches that the device comprises a controller (30) and a programmer (50), where said programmer “may be conventional laptop loaded with programmed software routines for configuring controller 30 and setting operational parameters that controller 30 uses to control operation of implantable pump 20” (para. 0056). Further, per para. 0056, the programmer is located in a clinician’s office and parameters set may include target flow rate. “When first implanted, the surgeon or clinician may use programmer 50 to communicate initial operating parameters to controller 30”. Therefore it is interpreted that the clinician sets the target flow rate upon first use, and may make adjustments as detailed in para. 0056. Therefore as Botterbusch teaches a programmer for allowing a clinician to set various parameters of pump operation within a circulation system, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a clinician programmer for the device of Burke, as Burke discloses communication with outside devices and target setting for flow rate. Doing so would merely involve combining prior art elements (circulation pumping systems with a clinician input to the controller with a circulation pumping system with controller) according to known methods to yield predictable results (that being clinician setting of target values).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke in view of Utsugida.
Regarding claim 7 Burke discloses a method of circulating blood of a living body of a patient (para. 0001,0010) using a first blood circulation device (figure 1, pump 16), a second blood circulation device (figure 1, pump 18), and a detection unit (para. 0034, where sensor 36 measures flow through pump 16 and sensor 38 measures flow through pump 18), the method comprising the steps of: connecting the first blood circulation device to the patient so that a first centrifugal pump (para. 0027) removes blood from a left ventricle of the patient (para. 0025 where pump 16 receives blood from the left ventricle) and sends blood to an ascending aorta of the patient (para. 0025 where the pump sends blood to the patients vasculature, as seen in figure 1, the pump is connected to the aorta); connecting the second blood circulation device to the patient so that a second centrifugal pump (para. 0027) removes blood (para. 0025 where the second device comprises the pump (18) with a receiving end in the right ventricle) and sends blood (para. 0025 where the second device comprises the pump (18) with a sending end for sending to the pulmonary system).
The examiner notes that while the defined second circulation device would reasonably connect to the femoral artery (through the pulmonary system) and the femoral vein (through the right ventricle) (as deoxygenated blood flows from the femoral vein to the right atrium and then the right ventricle, and further flows from the right ventricle to the pulmonary system ([lungs] and then through the femoral artery, there is no specific disclosure that the inlet and outlet are, in a method step, inserted into the femoral vein/artery.
Utsugida teaches a circulation device and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Utsugida teaches that the circulation system comprises a blood removal side inserted into the femoral vein (para. 0036) and a blood sending side inserted into the femoral artery (para. 0037). The device of Utsugida further comprises a centrifugal pump (para. 0035) for said circulation. Therefore as Utsugida teaches a blood circulation system using a centrifugal pump, where the inlet and outlet are located at the femoral vein and artery respectively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second circulation device of Burke at the located as claimed by Utsugida. Doing so would merely involve applying a known technique (inflow and outflow inserted at a femoral vein and artery ) to a known device (blood circulation device) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (that being the circulation blood through the femoral vein/artery). Therefore the combination would include a step of attaching the second inflow and outflow to the femoral vein and artery.
Burke further discloses setting a target flow rate for the patient to flow to the ascending aorta (Per para. 0024, 0051,0056, where per 0051 the lead pump (16) has a target rate); detecting a main flow rate of blood flowing through one of the first blood circulation device or the second blood circulation device to generate a detection result (para. 0055 where the controller measures inputs from flow sensors); calculating an auxiliary flow rate of blood targeted to flow in the other one of the first blood circulation device or the second blood circulation device based on the target flow rate that was set and the detection result (para. 0056, where the second pump target rate is calculated based on the first pump); and controlling a rotation speed of the centrifugal pump in the other one of the first blood circulation device or the second blood circulation device according to the calculated auxiliary flow rate (0056, where the controller controls the pump speed to be in the target).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke in view of Utsugida and further in view of Botterbusch.
Regarding claim 8 Burke and Utsugida teach the method of claim 7 wherein the auxiliary flow rate is communicated from the one of the first blood circulation device or the second blood circulation device to the other one of the first blood circulation device or the second blood circulation device (para. 0056 where the flow rate of the first pump is used to control the flow rate of the second pump, where the values are then compared. Para. 0057 also discloses comparing the relationship between the flows).
However, the art fails to teach wherein the target flow rate for the patient to flow to the ascending aorta is set by a medical user.
Botterbusch teaches a heart pumping system and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Botterbusch teaches that the device comprises a controller (30) and a programmer (50), where said programmer “may be conventional laptop loaded with programmed software routines for configuring controller 30 and setting operational parameters that controller 30 uses to control operation of implantable pump 20” (para. 0056). Further, per para. 0056, the programmer is located in a clinician’s office and parameters set may include target flow rate. “When first implanted, the surgeon or clinician may use programmer 50 to communicate initial operating parameters to controller 30”. Therefore it is interpreted that the clinician sets the target flow rate upon first use, and may make adjustments as detailed in para. 0056. Therefore as Botterbusch teaches a programmer for allowing a clinician to set various parameters of pump operation within a circulation system, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a clinician programmer for the device of Burke, as Burke discloses communication with outside devices and target setting for flow rate. Doing so would merely involve combining prior art elements (circulation pumping systems with a clinician input to the controller with a circulation pumping system with controller) according to known methods to yield predictable results (that being clinician setting of target values).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW WRUBLESKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781