DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an irradiated facet specifying unit” in claim 1, “a position adjusting unit” in claim 2, and “a reference facet detecting unit” in claim 3, wherein the place holder “unit” is preceded by functional limitations “irradiated facet specifying”, “position adjusting”, and “reference facet detecting”, respectively.
Structural support for the “irradiated facet specifying unit” can be found in ¶ (0046 – 0048) of the specification, FIG.3 and FIG. 7, wherein the “irradiated facet specifying unit” is the controller 44 and the reference facet detecting unit 90, wherein the reference facet detecting unit in turn includes a light emitter or a light projector 92, a light detector 94, a polarizing beam splitter 96 and a lens 98.
Thus, the irradiated facet specifying unit is interpreted to be a controller with a facet detecting unit that includes a light emitter, splitter, lens and detector and equivalent thereof, and the reference facet detecting unit is a light emitter, splitter, lens and detector and equivalent thereof.
Structural support for a position adjusting unit can be found in ¶ 0037 of the specification, wherein the position adjusting unit is described as for example, an acousto-optic deflector (AOD), an electro-optic deflector (EOD), a Galvano scanner, or an optical MEMS.
Thus, the position adjusting unit is interpreted to be any of an acousto-optic deflector (AOD), an electro-optic deflector (EOD), a Galvano scanner, or an optical MEMS and equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Nomaru (US 2019/0076961 A1) and hereinafter “Nomaru”
Regarding claim 1, Nomaru discloses a laser processing apparatus (annotated FIG.2) comprising:
a holding table for holding a workpiece thereon (chuck table 20 for holding workpiece 70, see annotated FIG.2);
a laser oscillator for emitting a laser beam (laser oscillator 38 for emitting a laser beam LB, see annotated FIG.2);
a polygon mirror having a plurality of reflecting facets and scanning the laser beam emitted by the laser oscillator (a polygon mirror 40 having a plurality of mirror facets M and scanning the laser beam emitted by the laser oscillator 38 (0019 and see annotated FIG.2));
a beam condenser for converging the laser beam scanned by the polygon mirror and applying the converged laser beam to the workpiece (a beam condenser 42 for condensing the laser beam LB scanned by the polygon mirror 40 and applying the condensed pulsed laser beam LB to the workpiece, (0019 and see annotated FIG.2)); and
an irradiated facet specifying unit (an angular displacement detecting unit 54 and a controller 56, see annotated FIG.2) for specifying an irradiated facet of the polygon mirror to which the laser beam is applied among the reflecting facets (the angular displacement detecting unit 54 sends a detection signal of angular displacement of the polygon mirror 40 to the controller 56 and the controller adjusts the laser beam LB position to irradiate a specified mirror facet M of the polygon mirror 40, (0024 and see annotated FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 2, Nomaru discloses the laser processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a position adjusting unit (dispersed region adjusting unit 44 (AOD), see annotated FIG.2) for adjusting a position where the laser beam is applied to the irradiated facet with respect to each of the reflecting facets (the dispersed region adjusting unit 44 (AOD) adjusts a dispersed region of the pulsed laser beam LB by causing the pulsed laser beam to follow a certain direction to fall on the mirror facets M of the polygon mirror, (0019 – 0020 , 0024 and see FIG. 2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 – 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomaru in view of Yamaya (US 2017/0153567 A1) and hereinafter “Yamaya”.
Regarding claim 3, Nomaru discloses the laser processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a reference facet detecting unit (the angular displacement detecting unit 54 that includes a laser emitting element 58 and detector 60, see annotate FIG. 2) in conjunction with the controller 56 identifies which facet M of the polygon mirror 40 is irradiated by the laser beam, (0024 and see annotated FIG.2).
Nomaru does not explicitly teach that the irradiated facet specifying unit includes the reference facet detecting unit for detecting a predetermined reference facet from among the reflecting facets, and the irradiated facet specifying unit specifies the irradiated facet on a basis of the reference facet.
However, Yamaya that relates to optical scanning device for scanning a laser beam deflected by a rotatable polygonal mirror (0001- 0002), also teaches that a controller 126 identifies a reflecting surface as a reference surface (Facet 1) of the rotatable polygonal mirror 115 on the basis of the BD signal from a BD detector 117 reflected from a facet M of the polygon mirror and based on Facet 1 specifies the facet of irradiation, (0027 – 0031). Yamaya further discusses, this enables a deviation of the scanning position with the laser beam due to accuracy of the rotatable polygonal mirror can be electrically corrected, (0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify irradiated facet specifying unit of Nomaru to include identification of predetermined refence facet and specifying the facet if irradiation base on the reference facet as such identification enables correction of scanning deviations due to rotation accuracy of the rotating polygon mirror, resulting in processing pression of the workpiece as taught in Yamaya.
Regarding claim 4, Nomaru in view of Yamaya teaches the laser processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the reference facet detecting unit includes a light emitting unit for emitting a light beam to be applied to the reflecting facets and a light detecting unit for detecting the light beam reflected by the reflecting facets (the angular displacement detecting unit 54 that includes a light emitting element 58 for emitting light toward the facets of polygon mirror 40 and detector 60 for detecting light reflected by the mirror facets M of the polygon mirror 40, Norman (0020 and see annotate FIG. 2), the reference facet has a reflectance different from a reflectance of the reflecting facets other than the reference facet with respect to the light beam applied to the reflecting facets, and the irradiated facet specifying unit specifies the reference facet on a basis of an amount of light of the light beam detected by the light detecting unit (the BD signal detected by the detector 117 reflected from the reference Facet 1 is different from the other facets of the polygon mirror 115, and the controller 126 identified the reference Facet 1 from the other facet of the polygon mirror based on the detected reflected BD signal, Yamaya (0041 – 0042 and see FIG.2)).
Conclusion
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761