DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0038739, hereinafter referred to as Lee).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches 1. A substrate, comprising: a core having a cavity; a first set of one or more metallization layers disposed at an upper portion of the core; and a stacked electronic component structure disposed in the cavity, wherein the stacked electronic component structure comprises: a first electronic component including an upper surface having a second set of one or more metallization layers and a first set of via structures electrically coupling the first electronic component with the first set of one or more metallization layers, and a second electronic component over the first electronic component, the second electronic component including an upper surface having a third set of one or more metallization layers electrically coupling the second electronic component with the first set of one or more metallization layers. [see 120, 130, 180 in Fig. 1 for example]
As to claim 2, Lee teaches 2. The substrate of claim 1, wherein: the second electronic component comprises a deep trench capacitor (DTC). [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 3, Lee teaches 3. The substrate of claim 1, wherein: the first electronic component comprises an input/output (I/O) hub. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 4, Lee teaches 4. The substrate of claim 1, wherein: the first electronic component comprises a skew-matching block. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 5, Lee teaches 5. The substrate of claim 1, wherein: the first electronic component comprises a bulk inductor. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 6, Lee teaches 6. The substrate of claim 1, wherein: the first electronic component comprises an input/output (I/O) untangling block. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 7, Lee teaches 7. The substrate of claim 1, wherein the stacked electronic component structure further comprises: a third electronic component disposed alongside the first electronic component, the third electronic component having an upper surface having a third set of one or more metallization layers and a second set of via structures electrically coupling the third electronic component with the first set of one or more metallization layers. [¶0110~0111]
As to claim 8, Lee teaches 8. The substrate of claim 7, wherein: the first electronic component and the third electronic component are disposed alongside one another in a common support material. [¶0110~0111]
As to claim 9, Lee teaches 9. The substrate of claim 1, wherein: the core has a thickness that is greater than about 780 micrometers. [¶0072]
As to claim 10, Lee teaches 10. An electronic device, comprising: a substrate comprising: a core substrate including a core having a cavity; a first set of one or more metallization layers disposed at an upper portion of the cavity; and a stacked electronic component structure disposed in the cavity, wherein the stacked electronic component structure comprises: a first electronic component including an upper surface having a second set of one or more metallization layers and a first set of vias electrically coupling the first electronic component with the first set of one or more metallization layers, and a second electronic component over the first electronic component, the second electronic component including an upper surface having a third set of one or more metallization layers electrically coupling the second electronic component with the first set of one or more metallization layers. [see 120, 130, 180 in Fig. 1 for example]
As to claim 11, Lee teaches 11. The substrate of claim 10, wherein: the second electronic component comprises a deep trench capacitor (DTC). [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 12, Lee teaches 12. The substrate of claim 10, wherein: the first electronic component comprises an input/output (I/O) hub. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 13, Lee teaches 13. The substrate of claim 10, wherein: the first electronic component comprises a skew-matching block. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 14, Lee teaches 14. The substrate of claim 10, wherein: the first electronic component comprises a bulk inductor. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 15, Lee teaches 15. The substrate of claim 10, wherein: the first electronic component comprises an input/output (I/O) untangling block. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 16, Lee teaches 16. The substrate of claim 10, wherein the stacked electronic component structure further comprises: a third electronic component disposed alongside the first electronic component, the third electronic component having an upper surface having a third set of one or more metallization layers and a second set of vias electrically coupling the third electronic component with the first set of one or more metallization layers. [¶0110~0111]
As to claim 17, Lee teaches 17. The substrate of claim 16, wherein: the first electronic component and the third electronic component are disposed alongside one another in a common support material. [¶0110~0111]
As to claim 18, Lee teaches 18. The substrate of claim 10, wherein: the core has a thickness that is greater than about 780 micrometers. [¶0072]
As to claim 19, Lee teaches 19. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of: a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, or a device in an automotive vehicle. [¶0003~0004]
As to claim 20, Lee teaches 20. A method of forming a substrate, comprising: forming a stacked electronic component structure comprising: a first electronic component including an upper surface having a first set of one or more metallization layers and a first set of vias electrically coupling the first electronic component with a first set of one or more pads disposed at an upper surface of the stacked electronic component structure, and a second electronic component over the first electronic component, the second electronic component including an upper surface having a second set of one or more metallization layers electrically coupling the second electronic component with a second set of one or more pads disposed at the upper surface of the stacked electronic component structure; and positioning the stacked electronic component structure in a cavity of a core substrate. [see 120, 130, 180 in Fig. 1 for example]
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899