DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 20212290316.7, filed on 11/24/2021.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph 52 of the instant specification, the element number for the third support is listed as 25. In the instant drawings and elsewhere in the instant specification, this is listed as element number 125. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 13, the instant claim is drawn to: “The battery core unit according to claim 11, further comprising a third support, wherein two third connection sheets are disposed on the third support and are spaced apart, the third support is located at the second end of the first battery core string, a seventh battery core group of the first battery core string and a eighth battery core group of the second battery core string are disposed at the second ends, the positive tabs of the battery cores of the seventh battery core group penetrate through the third support and are electrically connected through one of the two third connection sheets, and the negative tabs of the battery cores of the eighth battery core group penetrate through the third support and are electrically connected through the other one of the two third connection sheets.” In claim 1, the “first direction” is interpreted in the lengthwise direction, consistent with instant Drawing 2. Claim 11 states the second core string is stacked in a second direction, which the examiner interprets as parallel to the first battery string. As such, it would not be feasible for the electrode tabs of two parallel battery core units disposed apart in the second direction to pass through a single third support. Thus, the examiner interprets the limitation of a third support to mean a first third support located on the first core string and a second third support located on the third core string, where the electrode tabs penetrate and are electrically connected to the closest connection sheet to the adjacent battery core group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the battery core string". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A battery core string is only defined in claim 1, which claim 14 does not depend on. Claims 15-19, for being dependent on claim 14, are likewise rejected.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the battery core string". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A battery core string is only defined in claim 1, which claim 20 does not depend on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 212011074 U; Henceforth, D1) in view of Zhu et al (US 20200350636 A1; Henceforth, Zhu).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a power battery pack acquisition structure ([0008], which the examiner equates to a battery core unit) comprising a cell stack, a front support, a rear support and a middle support, where the cell stack is formed by at least two pouch cells arranged vertically and stacked in parallel in the left-right direction ([0009]). Figure 7 (reproduced below) depicts two pouch cells on either side of the middle support; each of these stacks is interpreted as a “battery core group”. Multiple cell stacks are connected perpendicular to the direction the cells are stacked ([0009]; Figure 1, reproduced below), where the tab stacks at the connection points between adjacent cell stacks are respectively supported and fixed by the front support, the rear support, and the middle support ([0009]. D1 teaches the data acquisition circuit includes a flexible circuit board ([0010], which the examiner equates to the sampling structure) and the board is installed in the mounting slots of the front end bracket, the rear end bracket, and the middle bracket to position and fix the flexible circuit board through the mounting slots ([0010]). The flexible circuit board is also bonded to the top surface of the battery pack using a first structural adhesive ([0010]). The examiner notes the flexible circuit board has acquisition nickel sheets arranged at the front end, rear end, and middle portions of the circuit board which are electrically connected to the front end tab stack, the rear end tab stack and the connection stab stack of the battery cells ([0010]). D1 teaches the fixing structure has three pairs protrusions (Figure 4, annotated below); the first and second protrusions (Figure 4) form a spacing region (Figure 4, below) which the flexible circuit board sits within (Figure 12, element 21). The flexible circuit board contains holes, which sits on the “other projections” (Figure 4, below and Figure 9, element 271, reproduced below).
Figure 1, reproduced from D1.
Figure 4, reproduced from D1, annotated by the examiner.
Figures 9 (left) and 12 (right), reproduced from D1.
D1 does not teach that a plurality of battery core groups (this being interpreted to be a group of battery cell stacks), the sampling structure comprises a notch, and the notch comprises a limiting strip, the first protrusion and the second protrusion being located in the notch and the limiting strip being fitted in the spacing region.
Zhu teaches a battery module and a battery pack ([0005]) wherein the battery pack contains an array of battery cells ([0006]), a circuit board including a plurality of sampling terminals connected to the battery cells capable of collecting electrical and/or temperature parameters of the battery cells, and a thermal cable ([0006]). The battery module includes cover blocks, which is coupled to the circuit board and accommodates the thermal cable ([0008]). Zhu teaches the circuit board has multiple notches (Figure 11, annotated below) with a limiting strip (Figure 11, below) wherein the notches align within the cover block (Figure 2, below, element 14). Zhu teaches this configuration allows the coupling assembly simpler and more convenient, while reducing the number of components and cost of the assembly ([0070]).
Figure 11, reproduced from Zhu, annotated by the examiner.
Figure 2, reproduced from Zhu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of D1 by utilizing a circuit board with notches in it, providing a limiting strip, where the notches engage with the protrusions in the fixing structure. Zhu demonstrates precedent in the art to use a circuit board with notches and a limiting strip (Figure 11). Since D1 utilizes fixing supports with protrusions to guide the placement of the circuit board (Figure 1, above), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution for the circuit board of Zhu for the circuit board of D1 would have predictably allowed for the collection of thermal and electrical information, as it would be performing the same function as it had in the system of Zhu, wherein the notches align with the sets of protrusions in the fixing supports, in order to secure the circuit board to the module. See MPEP 2143 (I) B. There would have been a motivation to use a circuit board with notches and a limiting strip, as taught by Zhu, in order to allow the circuit board to couple with the cover block/fixing assembly more easily, while reducing the number of components and the manufacturing cost ([0070]).
Regarding claim 2, D1 and Zhu teach the battery core unit of claim 1. D1 teaches the protrusions are disposed spaced apart along the length direction (Figure 4, above; the examiner notes this is the “first direction” of the instant claim). Zhu teaches the opening of the notch is located on the top surface of the sampling structure (Figure 11, above), with the notch extending along the lengthwise direction (Figure 2, above; the examiner equates this to the second direction). Zhu teaches the two opposite inner walls of the notch are connected by the limiting strip (Figure 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of D1 by using the circuit board of Zhu, for the same reasons outlined in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 3, D1 and Zhu teach the battery core unit of claim 2. Both D1 and Zhu teach a plurality of collection terminals, each being electrically connected with a corresponding core battery group (D1: Figure 2, reproduced below; Zhu: Figure 2, above). Each have a first and second collection terminal disposed at opposite ends of the battery core unit in the first direction (D1: Figure 2, below; Zhu: Figure 2, above). D1 teaches the inclusion of front-end, middle, and rear-end nickel acquisition sheets (elements 23, 24, and 25, respectively, Figure 2, below; the examiner equates these to the first, third and second sampling terminals, respectively) on the flexible circuit board, which are electrically connected to the front end tab stack, the connection tab stacks, and the rear end tab stack of the battery cells ([0010]). The examiner notes the third collection terminals are disposed on the top surface of the sampling structure (Figure 4, element 24), and are located where the notch taught by Zhu would be.
Figure 2, reproduced from D1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of D1 by using a plurality of collection terminals electrically connected to the battery core group, where the first collection terminal and the second collection terminals are disposed at two opposite ends of the battery core string along the first direction, and the third collection terminals are disposed on the top surface of the sampling structure and located on the notch. There would have been an expectation by a person of ordinary skill in the art that the simple substation of the third sampling terminal of D1 for that taught by Zhu (in Figure 11) would have predictably allowed for the flexible circuit to measure the electrical and/or temperature conditions of the battery cell, as it would be performing the same function it had done previously in the system of Zhu. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
Regarding claim 6, D1 and Zhu teach battery core unit according to claim 1. D1 teaches the sampling structure is bonded and fixed to the fixing support ([0010] “the flexible circuit board is bonded to the top surface of the battery pack using a first structural adhesive”). Therefore, D1 teach all the added limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, D1 and Zhu teach the battery core unit according to claim 1. D1 teaches each battery core group is formed by at least two pouch cells arranged vertically and stacked in parallel in the left-right direction ([0009]). D1 teaches multiple cell stacks in the battery pack are directly connected in the left-right direction via tab stacks (the examiner equates these to the conducting member), and tab stacks at the connection points between adjacent cell stacks are respectively supported and fixed by a front support, a rear support, and a middle support ([0011]; Figures 12 and 14, annotated below). D1 teaches the front tab stack, the rear tab stack, and the connecting tab stack can be bonded and fixed to the front support, the rear support, and the intermediate support respectively using a structural adhesive ([0058]). D1 teaches after the cell stacks are connected, the front tab stack at the front end, the rear tab stack at the rear end, and the cell stacks located in pairs are connected. The connecting tab stacks are supported and fixed one-to-one by the front bracket, the rear bracket, and the intermediate bracket. The front tab stack, the rear tab stack, and the connecting tab stack can be bonded to the front bracket, the rear bracket, and the intermediate bracket respectively using a second structural adhesive, facilitating rapid assembly between the front bracket and the front tab stack, between the rear bracket and the rear tab stack, and between the intermediate bracket and the connecting tab stack. ([0059]). The examiner notes these tabs must be conductive, in order to connect the battery cells in series. Additionally, the examiner notes batteries would inherently have positive and negative electrodes, and the positive electrode would be connected to the negative electrode of an adjoining cell, in order for them to be connected in series. Therefore, D1 teaches all the additional limitations of claim 7.
Figures 12 (left) and 14 (right), reproduced from D1, annotated by the examiner.
Regarding claim 8, D1 and Zhu teach the battery core unit of claim 7. D1 teaches the use of a front support, a rear support and a middle support ([0011]); the examiner notes the front and rear supports are disposed on opposite sides in the first direction (the lengthwise direction, as established in claim 1, above). D1 teaches the conductive connection member comprises a two conductive sheets on the rear connecting tab, and a single conducting sheet on the front conducting tab ([0059] and Figures 12 and 14, above). The claim defines a first conductive plate is connected to the one first support and the second conductive plate is connected to the other first support, consistent with what D1 teaches. D1 also depicts, in the annotations of Figures 12 and 14, below, the respective electrode tabs penetrate their respective supports, and are connected with their respective conductive sheets. Therefore, D1 teach all the added limitations of claim 8.
Figures 12 (left) and 14 (right), reproduced from D1, annotated by the examiner.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery groups of D1 and Zhu, by utilizing battery core groups which have two connection sheets on the opposing ends of a battery core group. D1 demonstrates precedent for utilizing two connection sheets on one end of the battery core group (Figure 12, above, where the sheets overlap in the middle in between the two tabs). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the modification of the other end of the battery core group to have two connection sheets would have been predictable, since D1 already demonstrates the ability to utilize that configuration, and manage the spacing between successive battery core groups. See MPEP 2143 (I) B. Additionally, it has been held that held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) B. Since D1 demonstrates the use of two conducting sheets on one end of the battery, the examiner concludes that the duplication would serve an identical purpose.
Regarding claim 9, D1 and Zhu teach the battery core unit of claim 8. D1 depicts each of the first conductive sheet and second conductive sheet comprises a body portion and a first bending portion (Figures 12 and 14, annotated below for the first conductive sheet), wherein the body portions are located on opposite sides of the first two supports (The examiner notes the body portions labelled in Figures 12 and 14 would face each other when attached), and are electrically connected with the electrode tabs of the battery units, and each other ([0059]: After the cell stacks are connected, the front tab stack at the front end, the rear tab stack at the rear end, and the cell stacks located in pairs are connected. The connecting tab stacks are supported and fixed one-to-one by the front bracket, the rear bracket, and the intermediate bracket.) The first bending portions (Figures 12 and 15, below) are located at the end of the body portion closest to the sampling structure and are electrically connected to the sampling structure ([0057]: The front acquisition nickel plates, the rear acquisition nickel plates, and the middle acquisition nickel plates (each identified as sampling terminals above) are respectively electrically connected to the front tab stack, the rear tab stack, and the connecting tab stack; since the conductive plate is in communication with the electrode tab stack, it is in electrical communication with the sampling structure). Therefore, D1 teaches all the additional limitations of claim 9.
Figures 12 (left) and 14 (right), reproduced from D1, annotated by the examiner.
Regarding claim 10, D1 and Zhu teach the battery core unit of claim 9. D1 teaches each the first and second conductive sheets comprise a second bent portion (Figures 12 and 15, as annotated in claim 9 above), where the second bent portions are on the opposite side as the first bent portion (Figures 12 and 15, above), which creates an opening (the examiner equates this to be an avoidance opening) where the tab portions are accommodated (Figures 12 and 15, above; the avoidance area is on the internal portion of the depicted tab, wherein the first and second bent portions and the body portion define three sides of the avoidance area, in which the electrode tabs are held). D1 additionally teaches an embodiment (Figure 16, below) where the central nickel collection plate (a sampling terminal, as defined above) is connected to the connecting tab stack via an adapter collection plate, ([0067], Figure 16). The examiner notes that, since both bending portions are electronically connected to the electrode tab stack, which is also connected to the sampling terminals via the adaptor collection plate, the second bending portions of two connected battery core groups are inherently electrically connected with each other. Therefore, D1 teaches all the additional limitations of claim 10.
Figure 14, reproduced from D1, annotated by the examiner.
Claims 4-5 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Zhu and Sun et al. (CN 111312964 A, published 6/19/2020 by the same assignee, which is more than one year before the foreign priority of the instant application; Henceforth, Sun).
Regarding claim 4, D1 and Zhu teach the battery core unit according to claim 3. D1 teaches the battery core string comprises M battery core groups disposed along the first direction, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 2 ([0011] states multiple cell stacks are connected); the sampling structure comprises 2M+1 collection terminals (Figure 2, above, depicts 7 collection terminals and Figure 4 depicts three battery core units in the stack) that comprise one first collection terminal, two second collection terminals, and 2M-2 third collection terminals, the first collection terminal is disposed at the first ends of the first battery core string and the second battery core string (element 22, Figure 2, above and Figure 9, reproduced below), the two second collection terminals are respectively disposed at the second ends of the first battery core string (element 23, Figure 2, above, and Figure 10, reproduced below) and the second battery core string, and the two second collection terminals and the 2M-2 third collection terminals are extended in the second direction (Figure 2, element 25, in view of [0010]-[0011], as stated above). D1 teaches the first battery core groups respectively located at the first ends are electrically connected with the first collection terminal ([0010]; the front end acquisition nickel sheets being equivalent to the collection terminals), second battery core groups respectively located at the second ends are respectively electrically connected with the two second collection terminals ([0010] the rear end acquisition nickel sheets being equivalent to the collection terminals), the 2M-2 third collection terminals comprise M-1 pairs of third collection terminals (Figure 2), each of the M-1 pairs of third collection terminals comprises two third collection terminals (Figure 2), and the two third collection terminals are located between two adjacent battery core groups respectively of the first battery core string and the second battery core string and are electrically connected with the two adjacent battery core groups of the first battery core string and the second battery core string( Figure 2 and [0010]).
Figure 10, reproduced from D1.
D1 and Zhu do not teach the battery core unit comprises at least two battery core strings including the battery core string, wherein the at least two battery core strings are disposed along the second direction, each of the at least two battery core strings has a first end and a second end opposite to each other along the first direction, the at least two battery core strings comprise a first battery core string and a second battery core string, and the first battery core string and the second battery core string are connected through two first battery core groups respectively located at the first ends of the first battery core string and the second battery core string.
Sun teaches a battery pack ([0007], Figure 2, reproduced below) comprising a sealed housing, at least one structural beam, and a plurality of electrically connected electrode core strings located within the housing ([0007]; Figure 2, element 401). The electrode core string includes multiple electrode groups arranged sequentially and connected in series ([0010]), while the electrode core strings are stacked in a perpendicular direction to the electrode core groups (Figure 2, below). The electrode core strings (also referred to pole core strings) can be connected in series or in parallel in two adjacent receiving cavities (element 300, Figure 2); they can also be connected in series or in parallel in two spaced-apart receiving cavities; or they can be connected in series or in parallel in three or more receiving cavities ([0061]). Sun teaches the first electrode (pole) group of one of the two adjacent electrode (pole) strings is electrically connected to the first electrode (pole) group of the other electrode (pole) string ([0104]); Sun teaches this configuration can save wiring space for the connecting wires ([0160]). Each electrode core string has separate ends ([0104]) and are disposed in the same direction (Figure 5, annotated below). Sun teaches utilizing multiple electrode core groups minimizes the internal resistance caused by using long current collectors ([0099]), and the electrode core strings used eliminates the need for the fixing structures of the battery casing and battery modules (such as end plates, side plates, and fasteners) found in existing technologies, thereby improving the space utilization of the battery pack, reducing its weight, and increasing efficiency ([0055]).
Figure 2, reproduced form Sun.
Figure 5, reproduced from Sun, annotated by the examiner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of D1 and Zhu by utilizing a plurality of battery core strings electrically connected to each other, as taught by Sun in the same field of endeavor. There would have been a motivation to utilize two electrode core strings electrically connected at the ends, since this saves wiring space for the connecting wires, minimizing the wiring used ([0106]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the electrode core groups of Sun for the battery core groups of D1 and Zhu would have been successful, as they would be performing the same function they had been previously demonstrated with. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
Regarding claim 5, D1, Zhu, and Sun teach the battery core unit according to claim 4, comprising two notches including the notch disposed in the second direction (Zhu, Figure 11, above), and two first protrusions including the first protrusion and two second protrusions including the second protrusion (D1, Figure 4); and wherein for each of the two notches and each of the two notches comprises the limiting strip (Zhu, Figure 11), and the limiting strip fits in the corresponding spacing region (D1, Figures 4 and 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of D1, Zhu, and Sun so that each of the first protrusion and the second protrusion are disposed in the corresponding notch, for the reasons outlined in claim 2, above.
Regarding claim 11, D1 and Zhu teach the battery core unit of claim 8. D1 teaches the battery core units have a first support and a first and second conductive sheet, where the battery core groups are electrically connected to adjacent battery core groups through the conductive sheets, but D1 and Zhu does not teach the use of multiple battery corer strings.
Sun teaches a battery pack ([0007], Figure 2, above) comprising a sealed housing, at least one structural beam, and a plurality of electrically connected electrode core strings located within the housing ([0007]; Figure 2, element 401). The electrode core string includes multiple electrode groups arranged sequentially and connected in series ([0010]), while the electrode core strings are stacked in a perpendicular direction to the electrode core groups (Figure 2, below). The electrode core strings (also referred to pole core strings) can be connected in series or in parallel in two adjacent receiving cavities (element 300, Figure 2); they can also be connected in series or in parallel in two spaced-apart receiving cavities; or they can be connected in series or in parallel in three or more receiving cavities ([0061]). The examiner notes the first option necessitates the first end and the second end opposite to each other in the lengthwise direction of the battery strings. Sun teaches the first electrode (pole) group of one of the two adjacent electrode (pole) strings is electrically connected to the first electrode (pole) group of the other electrode (pole) string ([0104]); Sun teaches this configuration can save wiring space for the connecting wires ([0160]). Each electrode core string has separate ends ([0104]) and are disposed in the same direction (Figure 5, annotated below). Sun teaches utilizing multiple electrode core groups minimizes the internal resistance caused by using long current collectors ([0099]), and the electrode core strings used eliminates the need for the fixing structures of the battery casing and battery modules (such as end plates, side plates, and fasteners) found in existing technologies, thereby improving the space utilization of the battery pack, reducing its weight, and increasing efficiency ([0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery strings of Sun by using the battery core groups of D1 and Zhu, from the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the battery core groups of Sun for those of D1 and Zhu would have had predictably led to a working series of battery core strings, as the battery core units of D1 and Zhu would be functioning in the same manner as they had been previously demonstrated. See MPEP 2143 (I) B. There would have been a motivation to connect adjacent battery core strings in series, as taught by Sun, since this configuration can save wiring space for the connecting wires ([0160]).
Regarding claim 12, D1, Zhu, and Sun teach the battery core unit of claim 11. Sun teaches the electrode core strings (also referred to pole core strings) can be connected in series in two adjacent receiving cavities (element 300, Figure 2) by electrically connecting the first electrode (pole) group of one of the two adjacent electrode (pole) strings to the first electrode (pole) group of the other electrode (pole) string ([0104]); Sun teaches this configuration can save wiring space for the connecting wires ([0160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery strings of Sun by using the battery core groups of D1 and Zhu, from the same field of endeavor, for the reasons outlined in claim 11, above.
Regarding claim 13, D1, Zhu and Sun teach the battery core unit of claim 11. D1 teaches that each end of a battery core string has a support on each end of the battery core string (Figure 1, above); the examiner notes this necessitates a “third support”, in the context of claim 9, and interprets the claim to imply that each string has its own third support. D1 depicts battery core strings as including three battery core units (Figure 1, above), while Sun depicts battery core strings with 5 battery core units (Figure 5, above). D1 teaches the electrode tabs penetrate through the support, and are electrically connected through the use of a third conductive sheet, in the same was as described for the first and second conductive sheets in claim 8 above. D1 only teaches one end of the battery core string has two connection sheets while the other has one (Figures 12, 14, and 15 above). Sun motivates the connection of the adjacent battery core groups of adjacent strings as being in series, since this configuration can save wiring space for the connecting wires ([0160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery groups of D1 and Zhu, by utilizing battery core groups which have two connection sheets on each end of the battery core group. D1 demonstrates precedent for utilizing two connection sheets on one end of the battery core group (Figure 12, above, where the sheets overlap in the middle in between the two tabs). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the modification of the other end of the battery core group to have two connection sheets would have been predictable, since D1 already demonstrates the ability to utilize that configuration, and manage the spacing between successive battery core groups. See MPEP 2143 (I) B. There would have been a motivation, to electrically connect two adjacent battery core groups disposed apart in the second direction by connecting the electrode tabs to the closest connection sheets, as taught by Sun in the same field of endeavor, since this configuration can save the most wiring space for the connecting wires ([0160]), compared to alternative configurations.
Regarding claim 14, the instant claim is drawn to a battery, comprising a housing and a battery core unit, the battery core unit disposed in the housing, wherein the battery core unit comprises: the battery core string comprising a plurality of battery core groups and at least one fixing support, the battery core groups being connected and disposed along a first direction, and two adjacent battery core groups being connected via a fixing support of the at least one fixing support; a sampling structure being electrically connected with the battery core groups, the sampling structure comprising a notch, and the notch comprising a limiting strip; and the fixing support comprising a first protrusion and a second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion being located in the notch and disposed spaced apart to form a spacing region, and the limiting strip being fitted in the spacing region. The examiner notes the limitations on the battery core unit is comprised of are identical to the battery core unit of claim 1.
D1 and Zhu teach all the limitations of the battery core unit, as described and argued in claim 1, above. They do not teach the battery core unit is disposed in a housing, which forms a battery.
Sun teaches a battery pack ([0007]) comprising a sealed housing, at least one structural beam, and a plurality of electrically connected electrode strings located within the housing ([0007]). The electrode string includes multiple electrode groups arranged sequentially and connected in series along a second direction; the electrode groups are encapsulated within an encapsulation film; the length of the electrode string extends along the second direction; the second direction is either the width direction of the housing or the length direction of the housing ([0010]). The examiner notes the electrode strings are substantially similar to the battery core units taught by D1 and Zhu. Sun teaches the housing design makes the structural beam, the top plate, and the bottom plate form an "I" shaped structure, which has high strength and rigidity, thereby meeting the requirements of the battery pack housing for load-bearing, impact resistance, and compression resistance ([0012]). Additionally, Sun teaches using their electrode core string eliminates the fixed structures (such as end plates, side plates, and fasteners) of the battery casing and battery modules in the prior art, thereby improving the space utilization rate of the battery pack, reducing the weight of the battery pack, and increasing the energy density of the battery pack ([0012]). Furthermore, Sun teaches when this battery pack is installed on a vehicle, its structural strength can be used as part of the overall vehicle structural strength, thereby improving the overall vehicle structural strength, which is beneficial for achieving the lightweight design requirements of electric vehicles and also reduces the design and manufacturing costs of the vehicle ([0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery core unit of D1 and Zhu by disposing it in a housing to form a battery, as taught by Sun in the same field of endeavor. There would have been a motivation, as taught by Sun, to dispose the battery core units in a housing, since the housing’s strength and rigidity creates a load-bearing, impact resistant, and compression resistant structure, needed in applications such as electric vehicles ([0012]). Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that substituting the electrode strings of Sun for the battery core units of D1 and Zhu would have predictably led to a functional battery, as the battery core units are structurally similar and would be performing the same function as they had in the system of Zhu and D1. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
Regarding claim 15, D1, Zhu, and Sun teach the battery of claim 14. The examiner notes the added limitations added in claim 15 are identical to the limitations of claim 2, which D1 and Zhu teach. See the rejection for claim 2, above.
Regarding claim 16, D1, Zhu, and Sun teach the battery of claim 15. The examiner notes the limitations added in claim 16 are identical to the limitations of claim 3, which D1 and Zhu teach. See the rejection for claim 3, above.
Regarding claim 17, D1, Zhu, and Sun teach the battery of claim 16. The examiner notes the limitations added in claim 17 are identical to the limitations of claim 4, which D1, Zhu and Sun teach. See the rejection for claim 4, above.
Regarding claim 18, D1, Zhu, and Sun teach the battery of claim 14. The examiner notes the limitations added in claim 18 are identical to the limitations of claim 6, which D1 and Zhu teach. See the rejection for claim 6, above.
Regarding claim 19, D1, Zhu, and Sun teach the battery of claim 14. The examiner notes the limitations added in claim 19 are identical to the limitations of claim 7, which D1 and Zhu teach. See the rejection for claim 7, above.
Regarding claim 20, the instant claim is drawn to a vehicle, comprising a battery, the battery comprising a housing and a battery core unit, the battery core unit disposed in the housing, wherein the battery core unit comprises: the battery core string comprising a plurality of battery core groups and at least one fixing support, the battery core groups being connected and disposed along a first direction, and two adjacent battery core groups being connected via a fixing support of the at least one fixing support; a sampling structure being electrically connected with the battery core groups, the sampling structure comprising a notch, and the notch comprising a limiting strip; and the fixing support comprising a first protrusion and a second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion being located in the notch and disposed spaced apart to form a spacing region, and the limiting strip being fitted in the spacing region.
D1, Zhu and Sun teach all the limitations of the battery, as described and argued in claim 14, above. Zhu teaches a vehicle including the battery pack they previously described ([0019]). Sun additionally teaches an electric vehicle, including a vehicle body and the battery pack they previously described, where the battery pack being fixed to the vehicle body ([0011]). Sun teaches when the battery pack is installed on a vehicle, its structural strength can be used as part of the overall vehicle structural strength, thereby improving the overall vehicle structural strength ([0012]). This is beneficial for achieving the lightweight design requirements of electric vehicles and also reduces the design and manufacturing costs of the vehicle ([0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a battery, as taught by D1, Zhu, and Sun, above, and added it to an electric vehicle, as taught by Zhu and Sun. There would have been a motivation, as taught by Sun, that when the battery pack is installed on a vehicle, its structural strength can be used as part of the overall vehicle structural strength, thereby improving the overall vehicle structural strength, which is beneficial for achieving the lightweight design requirements of electric vehicles and also reduces the design and manufacturing costs of the vehicle ([0012]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the battery of Sun for that taught by D1\, Zhu and Sun would have been successful, since the benefits the housing grants the vehicle would be identical, and the battery core units of D1 and Zhu have been previously demonstrated to work in a similar manner as the electrode core strings taught by Sun. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yang et al. (CN 212342772 U; Henceforth, Yang) and Yang et al. (WO 2021217969 A1).
Yang teaches a battery module ([0007]) comprising a battery cell series assembly ([0007]) comprising a plurality of battery cells ([0008]) where the tabs of each battery are stacked ([0008]; Figure 5, reproduced below). Multiple battery cell series are stacked ([0011] and Figure 8, annotated below, which the examiner notes are connected by a fixing support located on each battery). The examiner notes that the battery cell series assembly extends in the length direction, and many of these are stacked to result in the assembly shown in Figure 5 ([0045] and [0047]); the examiner also notes this is not functionally any different than the configurations taught by D1 or Zhu. Yang teaches several sets of battery cell series assemblies can be combined, wherein the positive electrode tab of one battery cell is welded to the negative electrode tab of the next battery cell ([0045]). Yang teaches the use of a transfer acquisition piece (Figure 4) set at the positive and/or negative electrode tabs and cascade welding area of each cell at the end of each cell series group, upon which an acquisition board is set up ([0049]). Yang teaches a data acquisition board ([0012], which the examiner equates to a sampling structure) is provided at the upper end of the multiple series-connected battery cell groups. Yang teaches the acquisition board is lined up on the chamfer on the transfer acquisition piece ([0049]), enabling the measurement of voltage and temperature readings ([0013]). The examiner notes that this necessitates an electrical connection between the battery cell series groups and the acquisition board, which means sequential battery groups are electrically connected to each other. While not depicted, the transfer acquisition piece would be located within the fixing supports shown in Figure 8.
Figure 5, reproduced from Yang.
Figure 8, reproduced from Yang, annotated by the examiner.
/RPM/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752