DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/606,929 filed on March 19, 2024. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240276269, hereinafter, “Jeong”).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches:
An apparatus, comprising (Jeong: [0042] FIG. 3 illustrates an example UE 116 according to embodiments of the present disclosure …):
at least one processor; and
at least one memory comprising computer program code,
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Jeong: [0047] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for measurement control with low power signals in a wireless communication system. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process. In some embodiments, the processor 340 is configured to execute the applications 362 based on the OS 361 or in response to signals received from gNBs or an operator ... Fig. 3):
receive a low power wakeup signal from a network element (Jeong: [0073] … 701 indicates the UE has received LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3, timer#1, timer#2 and/or the existing parameters for measurement rules via system information (SI). Note the UE can receive some of them via system information, e.g., the serving cell's LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or LP-WUS configuration, timer#1, timer#2 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or any other combinations. Then the UE monitors LP-WUS [transmitted from gNB 605 per Fig. 6] ... Figs. 6, 7);
evaluate a strength of the low power wakeup signal (Jeong: [0073] .. Then the UE monitors LP-WUS, and performs synchronization and/or measurement based on LP-WUS … [0075] Assuming threshold#1, threshold#2 and threshold#3 are configured in 701, the UE checks if the measured result from 711 is (equal or) worse than threshold#1 in 721. An example of the measured result can be the measured RSRP and/or RSRQ on LP-WUS ... Figs. 6, 7);
determine whether a cell selection criterion is satisfied based on a cell selection reception level value, a cell selection quality value, and the strength of the low power wakeup signal (Jeong: [0079] In 751, alternatively, the UE can check if {(Srxlev that is derived based on the measured result on the SSB is better than threshold#2) and/or (Squal that is derived based on the measured result on the SSB is better than threshold#3)}. If the condition is met, the UE switches back to performing synchronization and/or measurement only based on LP-WUS in 711 [per Table 2, Srxlev is the Cell selection RX level value (dB), and Squal is the Cell selection quality value (dB)] ... Figs. 6, 7); and
carry out a cell selection based on the determination of whether the cell selection criterion is satisfied (Jeong: [Table 5] … The relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility is fulfilled when: - (Srxlev.sub.Ref − Srxlev) < S.sub.SearchDeltaP, Where: - Srxlev = current Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB). - Srxlev.sub.Ref = reference Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB), set as follows: - After selecting or reselecting a new cell ... Figs. 6, 7)..
Regarding claim 9, Jeong teaches:
A method, comprising (Jeong: [0042] FIG. 3 illustrates an example UE 116 according to embodiments of the present disclosure …):
receiving a low power wakeup signal from a network element (Jeong: [0073] … 701 indicates the UE has received LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3, timer#1, timer#2 and/or the existing parameters for measurement rules via system information (SI). Note the UE can receive some of them via system information, e.g., the serving cell's LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or LP-WUS configuration, timer#1, timer#2 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or any other combinations. Then the UE monitors LP-WUS [transmitted from gNB 605 per Fig. 6] ... Figs. 6, 7);
evaluating a strength of the low power wakeup signal (Jeong: [0073] .. Then the UE monitors LP-WUS, and performs synchronization and/or measurement based on LP-WUS … [0075] Assuming threshold#1, threshold#2 and threshold#3 are configured in 701, the UE checks if the measured result from 711 is (equal or) worse than threshold#1 in 721. An example of the measured result can be the measured RSRP and/or RSRQ on LP-WUS ... Figs. 6, 7);
determining whether a cell selection criterion is satisfied based on a cell selection reception level value, a cell selection quality value, and the strength of the low power wakeup signal (Jeong: [0076] Note that using common offset and/or threshold that is used in the current Srxlev and/or Squal is not excluded [per Table 2, Srxlev is the Cell selection RX level value (dB), and Squal is the Cell selection quality value (dB)]. If different equations are used for RSRP and RSRQ (like Srxlev based on RSRP and Squal based on RSRQ), separate thresholds can be configured for the equations, e.g. threshold#1-A, threshold#1-B, and if {the equation based on the measured RSRP on LP-WUS is (equal or) worse than threshold#1-A} and/or { the equation based on the measured RSRQ on LP-WUS is (equal or) worse than threshold#1-B}, then 721 condition is met. If the measured result (or the equation based on the measured result) on LP-WUS is not (equal or) worse than threshold#1(i.e., if 721 condition is not met), the UE continues performing synchronization and/or measurement only based on LP-WUS (711).. Figs. 6, 7); and
carrying out a cell selection based on the determination of whether the cell selection criterion is satisfied (Jeong: [Table 5] … The relaxed measurement criterion for UE with low mobility is fulfilled when: - (Srxlev.sub.Ref − Srxlev) < S.sub.SearchDeltaP, Where: - Srxlev = current Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB). - Srxlev.sub.Ref = reference Srxlev value of the serving cell (dB), set as follows: - After selecting or reselecting a new cell ... Figs. 6, 7).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong teaches:
An apparatus, comprising (Jeong: [0033] FIG. 2 illustrates an example gNB 102 according to embodiments of the present disclosure …):
at least one processor; and
at least one memory comprising computer program code,
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Jeong: [0038] The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS. The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process. The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as processes to support measurement control with low power signals in a wireless communication system. Fig. 2):
transmit a low power wakeup signal to a user equipment (Jeong: [0073] … 701 indicates the UE has received LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3, timer#1, timer#2 and/or the existing parameters for measurement rules via system information (SI). Note the UE can receive some of them via system information, e.g., the serving cell's LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or LP-WUS configuration, timer#1, timer#2 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or any other combinations. Then the UE monitors LP-WUS [transmitted from gNB 605 per Fig. 6] ... Figs. 6, 7);
transmit a predefined threshold power level associated with the low power wakeup signal to the user equipment, wherein the low power wakeup signal and the predefined threshold power level configures the user equipment for cell selection (Jeong: [0073] … 701 indicates the UE has received LP-WUS configuration [transmitted from gNB 605 per Fig. 6], threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3, timer#1, timer#2 and/or the existing parameters for measurement rules via system information (SI). Note the UE can receive some of them via system information, e.g., the serving cell's LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or LP-WUS configuration, timer#1, timer#2 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or any other combinations ... Figs. 6, 7).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong discloses on the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
Jeong further teaches:
wherein configuring the user equipment comprises configuring the user equipment with a cell selection criterion (Jeong: [0073] … 701 indicates the UE has received LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3, timer#1, timer#2 and/or the existing parameters for measurement rules via system information (SI). Note the UE can receive some of them via system information, e.g., the serving cell's LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or LP-WUS configuration, timer#1, timer#2 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or any other combinations ... Figs. 6, 7).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 19, Jeong discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 9, and 18 as outlined above.
Jeong further teaches:
wherein the cell selection criterion is determined as satisfied when:
the cell selection reception level value is greater than 0,
the cell selection quality value is greater than 0 (Jeong: [Table 3] Measurement rules for cell re-selection ... Following rules are used by the UE to limit needed measurements: - If the serving cell fulfils Srxlev > S.sub.IntraSearchP and Squal > S.sub.IntraSearchQ … [per Table 2, Srxlev is the Cell selection RX level value (dB), and Squal is the Cell selection quality value (dB)] … Figs. 6, 7), and
the strength of the low power wakeup signal is greater than a predefined threshold power level (Jeong: [0076] Note that using common offset and/or threshold that is used in the current Srxlev and/or Squal is not excluded ... If the measured result (or the equation based on the measured result) on LP-WUS is not (equal or) worse than threshold#1(i.e., if 721 condition is not met), the UE continues performing synchronization and/or measurement only based on LP-WUS (711).... Figs. 6, 7).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Jeong discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, and 9 as outlined above.
Jeong further teaches:
wherein the evaluation of the strength of the low power wakeup signal comprises:
measuring a power level of the low power wakeup signal (Jeong: [0073] .. Then the UE monitors LP-WUS, and performs synchronization and/or measurement based on LP-WUS … [0075] Assuming threshold#1, threshold#2 and threshold#3 are configured in 701, the UE checks if the measured result from 711 is (equal or) worse than threshold#1 in 721. An example of the measured result can be the measured RSRP and/or RSRQ on LP-WUS ... Figs. 6, 7).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Jeong discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, and 9 as outlined above.
Jeong further teaches:
wherein the evaluation of the strength of the low power wakeup signal comprises comparing the strength of the low power wakeup signal against a predefined threshold power level (Jeong: [0076] Note that using common offset and/or threshold that is used in the current Srxlev and/or Squal is not excluded. If different equations are used for RSRP and RSRQ (like Srxlev based on RSRP and Squal based on RSRQ), separate thresholds can be configured for the equations, e.g. threshold#1-A, threshold#1-B, and if {the equation based on the measured RSRP on LP-WUS is (equal or) worse than threshold#1-A} and/or { the equation based on the measured RSRQ on LP-WUS is (equal or) worse than threshold#1-B}, then 721 condition is met. If the measured result (or the equation based on the measured result) on LP-WUS is not (equal or) worse than threshold#1(i.e., if 721 condition is not met), the UE continues performing synchronization and/or measurement only based on LP-WUS (711).... Figs. 6, 7).
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 20, Jeong discloses on the features with respect to claims 4, 12, and 19 as outlined above.
Jeong further teaches:
receive the predefined threshold power level via a system information block from the network element (Jeong: [0073] … 701 indicates the UE has received LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3, timer#1, timer#2 and/or the existing parameters for measurement rules via system information (SI). Note the UE can receive some of them via system information, e.g., the serving cell's LP-WUS configuration, threshold#1, threshold#2, threshold#3 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or LP-WUS configuration, timer#1, timer#2 and the existing parameters for measurement rules, or any other combinations ... Figs. 6, 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Ma et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250159597, hereinafter, “Ma”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Jeong discloses on the features with respect to claims 4 and 12 as outlined above.
Jeong does not explicitly teach:
wherein the predefined threshold power level is received via at least one of:
a system information block 1 in a cellSelectionlnfo information element;
a system information block 2 in a cellReselectionlnfoCommon information element; or
a dedicated radio resource control message in a MeasConfig information element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ma teaches:
wherein the predefined threshold power level is received via at least one of:
a system information block 1 in a cellSelectionlnfo information element (Ma: [0084] The SIB 1 includes information required by the terminal device to access a network, and the SIB 1 includes the following parameters: [0085] cell selection related parameters (cellSelectionInfo), including cell reference signal received power (reference signal received power, RSRP) and reference signal received quality (reference signal received quality, RSRQ) thresholds, and the like …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeong to include the features as taught by Ma above in order to reduce total resource overheads of system information. (Ma, ¶ [0005]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Tabet et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20160150506, hereinafter, “Tabet”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Jeong discloses on the features with respect to claims 4 and 12 as outlined above.
Jeong does not explicitly teach:
wherein the predefined threshold power level is defined as a minimum required low power wakeup signal reception level in a cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tabet teaches:
wherein the predefined threshold power level is defined as a minimum required low power wakeup signal reception level in a cell (Tabet: [0109] FIGS. 6A-6B show information for one embodiment of a compressed SIB1 message 600. (The information begins on FIG. 6A and continues on FIG. 6B). In the illustrated embodiment, certain cell selection threshold values in information 610, 620, 630, and 640 have been removed and maximum uplink power information (p-Max) has been removed from information 610 [threshold values in information 610 includes q-RxLevMin; i.e., minimum power level] ... Fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeong to include the features as taught by Tabet above in order to facilitate decoding of system information by UE devices with limited link budgets. (Tabet, ¶ [0024]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Liu et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240015645, hereinafter, “Liu”).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Jeong discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 9 as outlined above.
Jeong does not explicitly teach:
wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
camp on a cell that satisfies the selection criterion, or
camp on a cell comprising a highest low power wakeup signal among a plurality of cells, or
on a cell based on a legacy new radio cell when the selection criterion is not satisfied.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches:
wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
camp on a cell that satisfies the selection criterion (Liu: [0096] In 225, the terminal device 110 determines whether the signal measurement result of the first cell 102 meets the cell selection criterion. For example, in an S criterion-based embodiment, the terminal device 110 determines whether the signal measurement result of the first cell 102 meets Srxlev′>0 and Squal′>0. If the terminal device 110 determines, in 225, that the signal measurement result of the first cell 102 meets the cell selection criterion, in 230, the terminal device 110 determines the first cell 102 as a target cell for camping on.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeong to include the features as taught by Liu above in order to determine a target cell for camping on. (Liu, ¶ [0096]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416