DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 11/14/2025.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the Double Patenting rejection, the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments were not substantial to overcome the Double Patenting rejection. The rejection is therefore maintained.
With regard to the 101 rejection, the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. In step 2A Prong Two, the applicant asserted in page 9 that “amended independent claim 1 includes additional elements including, at least, a ‘sensor’ that is ‘structured to receive a location of cassette.’ The sensor, in combination with the other additional elements . . . are integrated into an overall claimed processed . . . practical application of an improved computing system . . .”. However, upon reconsidering the claim amendments, the limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application: adding the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
In Step 2B Prong Two, the applicant alleged the claim amendment is similar to those of DDR Holding. However, the Examiner does not see the parallel between the claims of the instant application and those of DDR Holdings. In DDR Holdings an improvement in web technology was used to address the problem of retaining web customers. DDR Holdings was solving a problem introduced by technology, such that it was a technological solution to a technological problem. Whereas the Applicants’ invention is a technological solution to a problem rooted in an abstract idea. The claims of the instant case employ a computer system comprising a storage device and a processor suitably programmed to perform the claimed functions. In light of the Alice decision and the July 2015 Update of Interim Guidance Identifying Abstract Ideas the features such as “receiving a location of the cassette", “transmitting the location of the cassette. . . ”, “determining the location of the cassette . . .”, “generating an indication . . .” are not considered an improvement to another technology or technical field, or an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself. These features recited in the claim are only further refinements of the abstract idea. That does not change the fact that the claim is drawn to abstract ideas. There are no improvements to another technology or technical field, no improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing or any other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment as a result of performing the claimed method. As discussed earlier, the claimed steps of the method are all functions that are conventional for a computer system, which in the Applicant’s invention comprises a storage device and a processor. The claimed sequence of steps comprises only "steps, specified at a high level of generality," which is insufficient to supply an "inventive concept." Id. at 2357 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294, 1297, 1300). Also the addition of merely novel or non-routine components to the claimed idea does not necessarily turn an abstraction into something concrete (See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, _ F.3d_, 2014 WL 5904902, (Fed. Cir. Nov. 14, 2014). In Alice also the system was specifically programmed to perform the claimed functions.
The Limitations that are not indicative of an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”): Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With regard to the 103 rejection, the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant asserted that “Kurian was cited for teaching other features of claim 1. Kurian, however, does not make up for the deficiencies of Blake . . .”. However, Kurian still discloses the amended claim 1 and Kurian discloses the amended claims 11 and 20. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of detecting a location of the second cassette and the second cassette be able to dispense or receive bill with certain denomination as disclosed by Kurian with the invention disclosed by Blake to better guarantee a user request such as depositing and such that second container is within the first region of where the transaction takes place (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 11-15, 17-20 of Patent No. 11954984 (parent), claims 1-20 of Patent No. 11620878 (grandparent case). The claims are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to methods for recirculation of bills in multiple systems. The claims from the current application are anticipated by the claims of the Patent Nos. 11954984, 11620878.
Current Application 18/609936
Patent No. 11954984
1. A cassette for receiving and dispensing bills, the cassette comprising: a sensor structured to receive a location of the cassette; and memory having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: transmit the location of the cassette to a remote computing device; determine that the location of the cassette has changed; and generate an indication that the location of the cassette has changed and a time the location of the cassette was changed.
2. The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a wireless transceiver configured to transmit data to the remote computing device and receive data from the remote computing device via a wireless network.
3. The cassette of claim 2, wherein the wireless transceiver is one of a WiFi transceiver or a Bluetooth transceiver.
4. The cassette of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver.
5. The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a radio-frequency identification (RFID) transmitter, wherein an RFID reader positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette based on an RFID code.
6. The cassette of claim 1, wherein the cassette is configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station.
7. The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a rechargeable battery, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit a battery level of the rechargeable battery to the remote computing device.
8. The cassette of claim 1, further comprising an encoded identifier, wherein a sensor positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette by scanning the encoded identifier.
9. The cassette of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to store, in a database, the location of the cassette.
10. The cassette of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: communicably couple to a host device, the cassette positioned at the host device; receive, from the host device, information regarding the location of the host device; and determine the location of the cassette based on the information regarding the location of the host device; wherein the sensor is configured to receive the information regarding the location of the host device.
11. A method comprising: receiving, by a first computing device, an indication of a location of the first cassette; identifying, by the first computing device, a second cassette based on the location of the first cassette, the second cassette being within a predetermined distance of first cassette; and transmitting, by the first computing device and to a second computing device, a notification identifying the second cassette.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the first computing device and the second computing device are configured to transmit and receive data via a wireless network.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the location of the cassette is determined based on global positioning system (GPS) data received by a GPS transceiver of the first cassette.
14. The method of claim 11, wherein the first cassette and the second cassette are configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station.
15. The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving, by the first computing device, a battery level of a rechargeable battery of the first cassette.
16. The method of claim 11, wherein the indication of the location of the first cassette is received from a host device, the host device housing the first cassette.
17. The method of claim 11, further comprising detecting, by the first computing device, the first cassette after the first cassette is docked in a host device, wherein detecting the first cassette further includes determining one or more parameters of the first cassette.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the first cassette is detected based on a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag associated with the first cassette.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the first cassette is detected by capturing image data of a QR code or a bar code positioned on an exterior surface of the first cassette.
20. One or more memory devices having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a control circuit of a first universal cassette, an indication of a location of the first universal cassette; identifying, based on the location, a second universal cassette for replacing the first universal cassette, the universal cassette being within a predetermined distance of the first universal cassette; and transmitting, to a remote computing device, a notification identifying the second universal cassette.
1. (Previously Presented) A cassette for receiving and dispensing bills, the cassette comprising: a sensor structured to detect a location of the cassette; and memory having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: transmit the location of the cassette to a remote computing device; determine that the location of the cassette has changed; and generate an indication that the location of the cassette has changed; wherein the indication is an audit log, and the instructions further cause the one or more processors to generate the audit log by: determining that a user has manipulated the cassette by accessing, moving, or servicing the cassette; and storing, in a database, a record comprising an identification of the user, a time and date associated with the manipulation of the cassette, and an indication of how the cassette was manipulated.
2. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a wireless transceiver configured to transmit data to the remote computing device and receive data from the remote computing device via a wireless network.
3. (Original) The cassette of claim 2, wherein the wireless transceiver is one of a WiFi transceiver or a Bluetooth transceiver.
4. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver.
5. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a radio-frequency identification (RFID) transmitter, wherein an RFID reader positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette based on an RFID code.
6. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, wherein the cassette is configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station.
7. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a rechargeable battery, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit a battery level of the rechargeable battery to the remote computing device.
8. (Currently Amended) The cassette of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a first sensor, and further comprising an encoded identifier, wherein a second sensor positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette by scanning the encoded identifier.
9. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to store, in a database, the location of the cassette.
10. (Canceled)
11. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: receiving, by a first computing device from a first cassette, an indication of a location of the first cassette; identifying, by the first computing device, a second cassette based on the location of the first cassette, the second cassette being within a predetermined geographical area with respect to the first cassette; transmitting, by the first computing device and to a second computing device, a notification identifying the second cassette; generating, by the first computing device, a log indicating a time and a description for one or more events associated with the first cassette, wherein the one or more events comprise a user accessing, moving, or servicing the first cassette; and storing, in a database, a record comprising an identification of the user, an indication of the one or more events associated with the first cassette, and [[a]] the time and a date associated with the one or more events associated with the first cassette.
12. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the first computing device and the second computing device are configured to transmit and receive data via a wireless network.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 11, wherein the location of the first cassette is determined based on global positioning system (GPS) data received by a GPS transceiver of the first cassette.
14. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the first cassette and the second cassette are configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station.
15. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving, by the first computing device, a battery level of a rechargeable battery of the first cassette.
16. (Canceled)
17. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising detecting, by the first computing device, the first cassette after the first cassette is docked in a host device, wherein detecting the first cassette further includes determining one or more parameters of the first cassette.
18. (Original) The method of claim 17, wherein the first cassette is detected based on a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag associated with the first cassette.
19. (Original) The method of claim 17, wherein the first cassette is detected by capturing image data of a QR code or a bar code positioned on an exterior surface of the first cassette.
20. (Currently Amended) One or more memory devices having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a control circuit of a first universal cassette, an indication of a location of the first universal cassette; identifying, based on the location, a second universal cassette for replacing the first universal cassette; transmitting, to a remote computing device, a notification identifying the second universal cassette; generating a log indicating a time and a description for one or more events associated with the first universal cassette, wherein the one or more events comprise a user accessing, moving, or servicing the first universal cassette; and storing, in a database, a record comprising an identification of the user, an indication of the one or more events associated with the first universal cassette, and [[a]] the time and a date associated with the one or more events associated with the first universal cassette.
Current Application 18/609936
Patent No. 11620878
1. A cassette for receiving and dispensing bills, the cassette comprising: a sensor structured to receive a location of the cassette; and memory having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: transmit the location of the cassette to a remote computing device; determine that the location of the cassette has changed; and generate an indication that the location of the cassette has changed and a time the location of the cassette was changed.
2. The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a wireless transceiver configured to transmit data to the remote computing device and receive data from the remote computing device via a wireless network.
3. The cassette of claim 2, wherein the wireless transceiver is one of a WiFi transceiver or a Bluetooth transceiver.
4. The cassette of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver.
5. The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a radio-frequency identification (RFID) transmitter, wherein an RFID reader positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette based on an RFID code.
6. The cassette of claim 1, wherein the cassette is configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station.
7. The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a rechargeable battery, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit a battery level of the rechargeable battery to the remote computing device.
8. The cassette of claim 1, further comprising an encoded identifier, wherein a sensor positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette by scanning the encoded identifier.
9. The cassette of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to store, in a database, the location of the cassette.
10. The cassette of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: communicably couple to a host device, the cassette positioned at the host device; receive, from the host device, information regarding the location of the host device; and determine the location of the cassette based on the information regarding the location of the host device; wherein the sensor is configured to receive the information regarding the location of the host device.
11. A method comprising: receiving, by a first computing device, an indication of a location of the first cassette; identifying, by the first computing device, a second cassette based on the location of the first cassette, the second cassette being within a predetermined distance of first cassette; and transmitting, by the first computing device and to a second computing device, a notification identifying the second cassette.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the first computing device and the second computing device are configured to transmit and receive data via a wireless network.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the location of the cassette is determined based on global positioning system (GPS) data received by a GPS transceiver of the first cassette.
14. The method of claim 11, wherein the first cassette and the second cassette are configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station.
15. The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving, by the first computing device, a battery level of a rechargeable battery of the first cassette.
16. The method of claim 11, wherein the indication of the location of the first cassette is received from a host device, the host device housing the first cassette.
17. The method of claim 11, further comprising detecting, by the first computing device, the first cassette after the first cassette is docked in a host device, wherein detecting the first cassette further includes determining one or more parameters of the first cassette.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the first cassette is detected based on a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag associated with the first cassette.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the first cassette is detected by capturing image data of a QR code or a bar code positioned on an exterior surface of the first cassette.
20. One or more memory devices having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a control circuit of a first universal cassette, an indication of a location of the first universal cassette; identifying, based on the location, a second universal cassette for replacing the first universal cassette, the universal cassette being within a predetermined distance of the first universal cassette; and transmitting, to a remote computing device, a notification identifying the second universal cassette.
1. (Previously Presented) A cassette for receiving and dispensing bills, the cassette comprising: a first sensor structured to detect a fill level of the cassette; a second sensor structured to detect a location of the cassette; and memory having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive, at one or more time intervals, data from the first sensor indicating the fill level of the cassette; transmit the location of the cassette and an indication of the fill level of the cassette to a remote computing device; in response to determining that the fill level of the cassette is outside of a threshold value, transmit a notification to the remote computing device; determine that the location of the cassette has changed; and generate an audit log comprising an indication that the location of the cassette has changed.
2. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a wireless transceiver configured to transmit data to the remote computing device and receive data from the remote computing device via a wireless network.
3. (Currently Amended) The cassette of claim 2, wherein the wireless transceiver is one of a WiFi transceiver or a Bluetooth transceiver.
4. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, wherein the second sensor is a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver.
5. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a radio-frequency identification (RFID) transmitter, wherein an RFID reader positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette based on an RFID code.
6. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, wherein the cassette is configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station.
7. (Previously Presented) The cassette of claim 1, further comprising a rechargeable battery, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit a battery level of the rechargeable battery to the remote computing device.
8. (Original) The cassette of claim 1, further comprising an encoded identifier, wherein a camera positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette by scanning the encoded identifier.
9. (Currently Amended) The cassette of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to store, in a database and at each of the one or more time intervals, the location and the fill level of the cassette.
10. (Currently Amended) The cassette of claim 1, wherein generating the audit log comprises: determining that a user has manipulated the cassette by accessing, moving, or servicing the cassette; and store, in a database, a record comprising an identification of the user, a time and date associated with the manipulation of the cassette, and an indication of how the cassette was manipulated.
11. (Previously Presented) A method comprising: receiving, by a first computing device from a first cassette configured to receive and dispense bills, an indication of a fill level of the first cassette; receiving, by the first computing device from the first cassette, an audit log comprising an indication of a location of the first cassette; and in response to determining that the fill level of the first cassette exceeds a threshold limit: determining, by the first computing device, the location of the first cassette based on the audit log; identifying, by the first computing device, a second cassette based on the location of the first cassette, the second cassette being within a predetermined geographical area with respect to the first cassette; and transmitting, by the first computing device and to a second computing device, a notification indicating that the fill level of the first cassette exceeds the threshold limit and identifying the second cassette.
12. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the first computing device and the second computing device are configured to transmit and receive data via a wireless network.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 11, wherein the location of the first cassette is determined based on global positioning system (GPS) data received by a GPS transceiver of the first cassette[[;]].
14. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the first cassette and the second cassette are configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station.
15. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving, by the first computing device, a battery level of a rechargeable battery of the first cassette.
16. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising generating, by the first computing device, a log indicating a time and a description for one or more events associated with the first cassette, wherein the one or more events comprise a user accessing, moving, or servicing the first cassette.
17. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising detecting, by the first computing device, the first cassette after the first cassette is docked in a host device, wherein detecting the first cassette further includes determining one or more parameters of the first cassette.
18. (Original) The method of claim 17, wherein the first cassette is detected based on a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag associated with the first cassette.
19. (Original) The method of claim 17, wherein the first cassette is detected by capturing image data of a QR code or a bar code positioned on an exterior surface of the first cassette.
20. (Currently Amended) One or more memory devices having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a control circuit of a first universal cassette configured to receive and dispense bills, an indication of a fill level of the first universal cassette; receiving, from the control circuit of the first universal cassette, an audit log comprising an indication of a location of the first universal cassette; and in response to determining that the fill level of the first universal cassette exceeds a threshold limit: determining the location of the first universal cassette based on the audit log and a denomination of the bills contained within the first universal cassette; identifying, based on the location and the denomination, a second universal cassette for replacing the first universal cassette, the second universal cassette configured to receive and dispense bills of a similar denomination to the first universal cassette; and transmitting, to a remote computing device, a notification indicating that the fill level of the first universal cassette exceeds the threshold limit and identifying the second universal cassette.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are directed to a method, a system, or product which are one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: Yes).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea, Method of Organizing Human Activity. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide generic computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 1, for instance, recites, in part, a cassette for receiving and dispensing bills, the cassette comprising: a sensor structured to receive a location of the cassette; and memory having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: transmit the location of the cassette to a remote computing device; determine that the location of the cassette has changed; and generate an indication that the location of the cassette has changed and a time the location of the cassette was changed. These limitations are directed to recirculation of bills in multiple systems – business relations (commercial interactions). Hence, it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 11, for instance, recites, in part, A receiving, by a first computing device, an indication of a location of the first cassette; identifying, by the first computing device, a second cassette based on the location of the first cassette, the second cassette being within a predetermined distance of the first cassette; and transmitting, by the first computing device and to a second computing device, a notification identifying the second cassette. These limitations are directed to recirculation of bills in multiple systems – business relations (commercial interactions). Hence, it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 20, for instance, recites, in part, A receiving, by a first computing device, an indication of a location of the first universal cassette; identifying, by the first universal computing device, a second cassette based on the location of the first cassette, the second universal cassette being within a predetermined distance of the first universal cassette; and transmitting, by the first computing device and to a second computing device, a notification identifying the second cassette. These limitations are directed to recirculation of bills in multiple systems – business relations (commercial interactions). Hence, it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements such as a cassette, a memory, one or more processors, a remote computing device recited at a high-level of generality (receiving, generating, and configuring) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than an abstract idea. Claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are merely performing the abstract idea on a generic device i.e., abstract idea and apply it. There is no improvement to computer technology or computer functionality MPEP 2106.05(a) nor a particular machine MPEP 2106.05(b) nor a particular transformation MPEP 2106.05(c). Given the above reasons, a generic processing device helps to compose a risk profile and purchase insurance based on such risk for a property is not an Inventive Concept. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because for the same reasoning as above and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional limitations of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The dependent claims 2 and 12 have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite transmitting data over to a remote computing device and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a cassette, a computing device, a wireless network) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 3 has been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim recites wireless transceiver and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a WiFi transceiver, or a Bluetooth transceiver) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 4 and 13 have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite a global positioning system transceiver and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The claim recites determining area in the property and generating profile model. The additional elements (such as a GPS transceiver, a cassette) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 5 and 18 have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite determining one or more parameters of the cassette and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a radio-frequency transmitter, a host device, a cassette) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 6 and 14 have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite cassette used in both ATM and teller station and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a cassette, an ATM, and a teller station) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 7, 8, 15, 19 have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite a rechargeable battery, scanning the encoded identifier and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a rechargeable battery, a remote computing device, a sensor, a cassette, an encode identifier) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 9 and 17 have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite storing a location of a cassette and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as one or more processors, a database, a cassette, a host device) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 10 and 16 have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite receiving information regarding the location of the host device and determining the location of the cassette and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as one or more processors, a database, a cassette, a host device) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Therefore, Claims 1-20 are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blake et al. (US 2015/0302678 A1) in view of Kurian et al. (US 2018/0268637 A1).
The present application recites a concept similar to repurposing the use of currency using cassettes mounted to a teller or kiosk.
The independent claim 1 is disclosed as follows: Blake teaches: A cassette for receiving and dispensing bills, the cassette comprising: determine that the location of the cassette has changed (Blake, see at least par. [0176] “. . . According to at least some embodiments, the secure coin cassette 900 controller 895 monitors a position of the members occluding (and optionally locking) the openings 880, 881 (and any other occluded openings). If a position of any of such members occluding the openings is changed while the secure coin cassette is in transport from a first location to a second location, the controller 895 logs the deviation. In some aspects, if the deviation exceeds a threshold minimum level, the controller 895 transmits an alert to one or more other devices, addresses or parties using the communication device 885 . . . In at least some aspects, prior to removal of the secure coin cassette 900, an authorized person removing a secure coin cassette is required to input to the device from which the secure coin cassette is removed (e.g., coin repurposing machine 915 in FIG. 15) the location to which the secure coin cassette is to be moved (e.g., self-service machine 510) and such information is used to set a timer appropriate for such transfer.”) There’s a notification when the location of cassette is transferred from one place to another;
and generate an indication that the location of the cassette has changed (Blake, see at least par. [0181] “FIG. 14 also shows a representation of movement of the secure coin cassette 900 SC1, via arrow A3, to a coin repurposing machine 915 comprising its own coin processing device 950 (see also, e.g., FIG. 25). In association with the attachment of the secure coin cassette 900 SC1 to the docking port 916 of the coin processing device 950, the secure coin cassette 900 transmits its location, status and/or other data via one or more signals (not shown) to reader 887, the signals 888a originating from the RFID 886 and/or the communication device 885 and/or the coin repurposing machine 915. The signals 888a, 888b transmitted to the receiver 887 are routed, via wireless or hardwired communication pathways, to external systems (not shown) . . .”) The signal is generated to notify of the movement of the cassette and a time the location of the cassette was changed (Blake, see at least par. [0179] “. . . . The signals 888a, 888b transmitted to the receiver 887 are routed, via wireless or hardwired communication pathways, to external systems (not shown). In at least some aspects, the external systems synchronize the location of the secure coin cassette 900 at a specific point in time with one or more cameras linked to the external system to capture one or more images of the movement of the secure coin cassette 900 from such camera(s) . . .”) The camera captures a specific time when the secure coin cassette is moved.
Blake does not disclose the following; however Kurian teaches:
a sensor structured to receive a location of the cassette (Kurian, see at least par. [0056] “In some embodiments, the sensor devices 290 are position sensors configured to determine the position and/or location of the user 102, path/location markers within a facility, other individuals, objects/devices, or entities. As such, the sensor devices 290 may determine an absolute position (for example, location/positioning coordinates) or a relative position (for example, with respect to the position of the portable item transfer container 120A, with respect to position of the user or another individual . . .”) Interpretation: sensors use to determine position and location of user.
and memory having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: transmit the location of the cassette to a remote computing device (Kurian, see at least par. [0114] “. . . In addition, to notifying the processing system 130 indicating that the items have been deposited by the user, the portable item transfer container 120A provide any other data to the processing system 130 that the processing system 130 uses to further process the deposit by the user. For example, the portable item transfer container 120A may provide the processing system 130 with the value (either of individual items or the aggregate value of all items) of the deposited items, the identity of the deposited items, images of the deposited items, data extracted from the images (e.g., bill denomination, check amount, or check payor information, such as the name of the payor and the payor's account information), an account identified by the user to which the user would like the deposit credited, and/or the like . . .” & see at least par. [0115] “ In addition to the foregoing, in some embodiments, based on determining that the automated item transfer container 120A is unable to perform one or more predetermined user activities (e.g., identifying based on the item inventory that the item storage unit and the receptacles of the container 120A are filled to capacity or identifying that the container 120A), the automated item transfer container 120A may transmit a signal to another automated item transfer container 120B in the vicinity . . .”) the second cassette, or second kiosk contains second asset, is identified and the system transmits the data signal to a remote device.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of detecting a location of the second cassette and the second cassette be able to dispense or receive bill with certain denomination as disclosed by Kurian with the invention disclosed by Blake to better guarantee a user request such as depositing and such that second container is within the first region of where the transaction takes place (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim 11, for instance, is disclosed as follows: Blake teaches: receiving, by a first computing device, an indication of a location of the first cassette (Blake, see at least par. [0178] “. . . Fixed RFID readers (e.g., Receiver 887 in FIGS. 14, 16) may be used to identify a location of a secure coin cassette 900 within a known space (e.g., a grocery store, a bank, etc.) at a specific time and/or over a range of time . . .”) The first location of the cassette is identified using GPS.
Blake does not disclose the following; however Kurian teaches:
identifying, by the first computing device, a second cassette based on the location of the first cassette, the second cassette being within a predetermined distance of first cassette (Kurian, see at least par. [0094] “At block 506, the portable item transfer container 120A determines an authorized region of the user and a location of the portable item transfer container 120A. Information regarding the location of the portable item transfer container 120A is typically received from the sensor devices 290 of the portable item transfer container 120A. For example, the location of the portable item transfer container 120A may be determined using GPS coordinates received from the positioning system 285 . . .” & see at least par. [0100] “ . . . the portable item transfer container 120A may determine whether GPS coordinates corresponding to the location of the portable item transfer container 120A are within a defined distance of GPS coordinates corresponding to an authorized location of the user. Alternatively, the processing system 130 may compare the authorized region of the user with the location of the portable item transfer container 120A, and then provide an indication to the portable item transfer container 120A of whether it is located in the authorized region of the user. As another example, the portable item transfer container 120A may determine that the location of the portable item transfer container is within the authorized region of the user based on receiving a proximity signal transmitted by a particular location marker device (e.g., a transmitter that is configured to transmit an encoded wireless proximity signal within a predetermined proximity area) . . .”) the concept of using the portable container from a different location is applied to the concept of detecting a second cassette in another location in the instant case;
and transmitting, by the first computing device and to a second computing device, a notification identifying the second cassette (Kurian, see at least par. [0114] “. . . In addition, to notifying the processing system 130 indicating that the items have been deposited by the user, the portable item transfer container 120A provide any other data to the processing system 130 that the processing system 130 uses to further process the deposit by the user. For example, the portable item transfer container 120A may provide the processing system 130 with the value (either of individual items or the aggregate value of all items) of the deposited items, the identity of the deposited items, images of the deposited items, data extracted from the images (e.g., bill denomination, check amount, or check payor information, such as the name of the payor and the payor's account information), an account identified by the user to which the user would like the deposit credited, and/or the like . . .” & see at least par. [0115] “ In addition to the foregoing, in some embodiments, based on determining that the automated item transfer container 120A is unable to perform one or more predetermined user activities (e.g., identifying based on the item inventory that the item storage unit and the receptacles of the container 120A are filled to capacity or identifying that the container 120A), the automated item transfer container 120A may transmit a signal to another automated item transfer container 120B in the vicinity . . .”) the second cassette, or second kiosk contains second asset, is identified and the system transmits the data signal to a remote device.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of detecting a location of the second cassette and the second cassette be able to dispense or receive bill with certain denomination as disclosed by Kurian with the invention disclosed by Blake to better guarantee a user request such as depositing and such that second container is within the first region of where the transaction takes place (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim 20, for instance, is disclosed as follows: Blake teaches: One or more memory devices having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a control circuit of a first universal cassette, an indication of a location of the first universal cassette (Blake, see at least par. [0178] “. . . Fixed RFID readers (e.g., Receiver 887 in FIGS. 14, 16) may be used to identify a location of a secure coin cassette 900 within a known space (e.g., a grocery store, a bank, etc.) at a specific time and/or over a range of time . . .”) The first location of the cassette is identified using GPS;
Blake does not disclose the following; however Kurian teaches:
identifying, based on the location, a second universal cassette for replacing the first universal cassette, the second universal cassette being within a predetermined distance of the first universal cassette (Kurian, see at least par. [0094] “At block 506, the portable item transfer container 120A determines an authorized region of the user and a location of the portable item transfer container 120A. Information regarding the location of the portable item transfer container 120A is typically received from the sensor devices 290 of the portable item transfer container 120A. For example, the location of the portable item transfer container 120A may be determined using GPS coordinates received from the positioning system 285 . . .” & see at least par. [0100] “ . . . the portable item transfer container 120A may determine whether GPS coordinates corresponding to the location of the portable item transfer container 120A are within a defined distance of GPS coordinates corresponding to an authorized location of the user. Alternatively, the processing system 130 may compare the authorized region of the user with the location of the portable item transfer container 120A, and then provide an indication to the portable item transfer container 120A of whether it is located in the authorized region of the user. As another example, the portable item transfer container 120A may determine that the location of the portable item transfer container is within the authorized region of the user based on receiving a proximity signal transmitted by a particular location marker device (e.g., a transmitter that is configured to transmit an encoded wireless proximity signal within a predetermined proximity area) . . .”) the concept of using the portable container from a different location is applied to the concept of detecting a second cassette in another location in the instant case. Furthermore, the GPS location tracking could be used to calculate the distances between time;
and transmitting, to a remote computing device, a notification identifying the second universal cassette (Kurian, see at least par. [0114] “. . . In addition, to notifying the processing system 130 indicating that the items have been deposited by the user, the portable item transfer container 120A provide any other data to the processing system 130 that the processing system 130 uses to further process the deposit by the user. For example, the portable item transfer container 120A may provide the processing system 130 with the value (either of individual items or the aggregate value of all items) of the deposited items, the identity of the deposited items, images of the deposited items, data extracted from the images (e.g., bill denomination, check amount, or check payor information, such as the name of the payor and the payor's account information), an account identified by the user to which the user would like the deposit credited, and/or the like . . .” & see at least par. [0115] “ In addition to the foregoing, in some embodiments, based on determining that the automated item transfer container 120A is unable to perform one or more predetermined user activities (e.g., identifying based on the item inventory that the item storage unit and the receptacles of the container 120A are filled to capacity or identifying that the container 120A), the automated item transfer container 120A may transmit a signal to another automated item transfer container 120B in the vicinity . . .”) the second cassette, or second kiosk contains second asset, is identified and the system transmits the data signal to a remote device.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of detecting a location of the second cassette and the second cassette be able to dispense or receive bill with certain denomination as disclosed by Kurian with the invention disclosed by Blake to better guarantee a user request such as depositing and such that second container is within the first region of where the transaction takes place (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Dependent claims 2 and 12 are disclosed as follows:
Claim 12, for instance, is taught: Blake in view of Kurian discloses The cassette of claim 1. However, Kurian teaches the following: further comprising a wireless transceiver configured to transmit data to the remote computing device and receive data from the remote computing device via a wireless network (Kurian, see at least Par . [0040] “. . . In some embodiments, the processing system 130 is configured to transmit control instructions that are configured to cause the portable item transfer container 120A, and/or the user device 104 to perform at least a portion of the steps associated with one or more activities. The processing system 130 may be associated with the same entity as the portable item transfer container 120A or may be associated with another entity . . .” ).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of transmitting data to a remote computing device as disclosed by Kurian with the invention disclosed by Blake to better guarantee a user request such as depositing and such that second container is within the first region of where the transaction takes place (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Dependent claims 3 is disclosed as follows:
Blake in view of Kurian discloses the cassette of claim 2. However, Blake teaches the following: wherein the wireless transceiver is one of a WiFi transceiver or a Bluetooth transceiver (Blake, Par. [0116] “The controller 520 is configured to communicate with external systems via communication device 534 and/or I/O 540 (e.g., a serial port, parallel port, USB port, ECP port, IEEE 1394 port, broadband device, Ethernet port, wireless device (e.g., Bluetooth, WLAN, IrDA, RF, IR, ZigBee, Wireless USB, and IEEE 802.11), modem, land line (POTS) cellular or mobile phone, and/or other communication device) and an associated communication pathway(s) appropriate to the type of communication needed (e.g., hardwired connection, wireless connection, etc.) . . .”).
Dependent claims 4 and 13 are grouped together as disclosed as follows:
Claim 4, for instance, is taught: Blake in view of Kurian discloses The cassette of claim 1. Furthermore, Blake teaches the following: wherein the second sensor is a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver (Blake, see at least Par. [0178] “ . . . Separate and apart from, or optionally used in conjunction with, any tracking that may be effected utilizing an optional onboard controller 895 and optional communication device 885 (e.g., GPS, trilateralization, etc.) . . .”).
Dependent claims 5 and 18 are grouped together. Claim 5, for instance, is disclosed as follows:
Blake in view of Kurian discloses The cassette of claim 1. However, Blake teaches the following: further comprising a radio-frequency identification (RFID) transmitter, wherein an RFID reader positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette based on an RFID code (Blake, see at least par. [0178] “RFID 886 transmits a unique ID to a local and/or remote tracking system, such as by reading RFID information using a reader 887. The reader 887 may comprise a mobile (e.g., handheld) RFID reader (e.g., Motorola MC9190-Z Handheld RFID Reader) and/or using one or more fixed area RFID readers (e.g., Motorola FX9500 fixed reader). Fixed RFID readers (e.g., Receiver 887 in FIGS. 14, 16) may be used to identify a location of a secure coin cassette 900 within a known space (e.g., a grocery store, a bank, etc.) at a specific time and/or over a range of time . . .”).
Dependent claims 6 and 14 are grouped together. Claim 6, for instance, is disclosed as follows: Blake in view of Kurian discloses the cassette of claim 1 Furthermore, Blake teaches the following: wherein the cassette is configured for use in both an ATM and a teller station (Blake, see at least Par. [0215] “FIG. 18, discussed above, represents an example of a stand-alone cash till machine 920 wherein the secure coin cassettes 900 are disposed internally. In yet other aspects the cash till machine 920 is integrated with another machine (e.g., a currency repurposer or an ATM . . .”).
Dependent claims 9 and 17 are disclosed as follows: It should be noted that the “parameters” in which claim 17 mentions are broad term for the limitations of claim 9 (specification par. [0034]). Blake in view of Kurian discloses the cassette of claim 1. However, Blake teaches the following: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to store, in a database and at each of the one or more time intervals, the location and the fill level of the cassette (Blake, see at least Par. [0178] “Fixed RFID readers (e.g., Receiver 887 in FIGS. 14, 16) may be used to identify a location of a secure coin cassette 900 within a known space (e.g., a grocery store, a bank, etc.) at a specific time and/or over a range of time . . .”);
Dependent claims 10 and 16 are disclosed as follows: Blake in view of Kurian discloses the cassette of claim 1. However, Blake teaches the following: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate an audit log, comprising: determining that a user has manipulated the cassette by accessing, moving, or servicing the cassette; and store, in a database, a record comprising an identification of the user, a time and date associated with the manipulation of the cassette, and an indication of how the cassette was manipulated (Blake, Par. [0184] “In accord with at least some aspects of the present concepts, a secure coin cassette is configured to log data relating to the secure coin cassette on a resident memory device (see, e.g., MDI in FIG. 13), such data including, but not limited to, records of access (e.g., attempts at access, actual access, time and date of access or attempted access, identification code or identifying information on person accessing or attempting access of secure coin cassette, coins received by the secure coin cassette, and/or status of secure coin cassette (e.g., properly docked and operable, full, partially full, error codes, etc.), in any combination. The information stored by the optional secure smart secure cassette memory device MD1 is accessible by an authorized external device or, in additional or alternatively, by a resident controller and communication device (e.g., COM1 in FIG. 13). The resident communication device may be powered by a device to which the secure coin cassette is operatively associated (e.g., a self-service machine 510, etc.) and/or by a battery borne by the secure coin cassette (e.g., a rechargeable lithium-ion battery). The secure coin cassette is thereby configured to transmit the information borne by the memory device (e.g., MD1 in FIG. 13) to another device (e.g., PDA, tablet, network, remote computer, etc.) via an established wireless or hard-wired communication link.”).
Claims 7, 8, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blake et al. (US 2015/0302678 A1) in view of Kurian et al. (US 2018/0268637 A1) in further view of Turocy et al. (US 2015/0364015 A1).
Dependent claims 7 and 15 are disclosed as follows: Claim 7, for instance, is taught: Blake in view of Kurian discloses The cassette of claim 1. Furthermore, Blake teaches: a rechargeable battery (Blake, Par. [0160]) the cited portion discloses a rechargeable battery. However, Turocy teaches the following: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a battery level of the rechargeable battery to the remote computing device (Turocy, see at least Par. [0057] “. . . Additional information and/graphics or symbols which may be presented by the display include but are not limited to a battery power level indicator icon or symbol . . . . As described in FIG. 4, the circuitry in the cassette contains an NFC antenna and chip which enables an NFC compliant device to communicate with the cassette circuit card. Information can be passed through the NFC compliant mobile device to the cassette and update the cassette display as desired”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of transmitting a battery level of the rechargeable battery to the remote computing device as disclosed by Turocy with the invention of using the first cassette and identifying the second cassette as taught by Blake in view of Kurian to better couple the cassette with external surface and wireless interface for configuration purposes (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Dependent claim 8 is disclosed as follows: Blake in view of Kurian discloses the cassette of claim 1. However, Turocy teaches the following: further comprising an encoded identifier, wherein a sensor positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette by scanning the encoded identifier (Turocy, Par. [0057]) QR code is on the exterior of the cassette and made easy for scanning.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of a sensor positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette by scanning the encoded identifier as disclosed by Turocy with the invention of using the first cassette and identifying the second cassette as taught by Blake in view of Kurian to better couple the cassette with external surface and wireless interface for configuration purposes (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Dependent claim 19 is disclosed as follows: Blake in view of Kurian discloses the cassette of claim 1. However, Turocy teaches the following: wherein the first cassette is detected by capturing image data of a QR code or a bar code positioned on an exterior surface of the first cassette (Turocy, Par. [0057]) QR code is on the exterior of the cassette and made easy for scanning.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of a sensor positioned within a host device is configured to determine one or more parameters of the cassette by scanning the encoded identifier as disclosed by Turocy with the invention of using the first cassette and identifying the second cassette as taught by Blake in view of Kurian to better couple the cassette with external surface and wireless interface for configuration purposes (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOAN DUC BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3693
/Mike Anderson/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3693