DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings correcting Figure 6 were received on July 24, 2026. These drawings are accepted.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 ,11, 16 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, Examiner suggests -- is less than an internal angle --
Claim 8, Examiner suggests -- prisms, an internal angle that abuts the base substrate is greater than an internal angle that does not abut the base substrate --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Nishihara (US 5,764,319; of record).
As to claim 1, Nishihara teaches a lens array (Nishihara Figs. 1, 7) comprising
a base substrate (Nishihara Fig. 1 - 4, 2; Fig. 7 - 53; Fig. 10 - 84);
a plurality of prisms arranged parallel to each other in a first direction on the base substrate (Nishihara Fig. 1 - prisms (10) arranged left/right; see below for interpreted prism structure; Fig. 7 - 61; Fig. 10 - 82B), each of the plurality of prisms extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Nishihara Fig. 1 - prisms extending into/out of page; Fig. 7 - 61; Fig. 10 - 82B);
a plurality of lenses arranged parallel to each other in the first direction on the same surface of the base substrate as the plurality of prisms and covering the plurality of prisms (Nishihara Fig. 1 - lenses (11) covering prisms (10) and are indirectly on the same surface of substrate (4, 2) as the prisms (10); Fig. 7 - 60, 57; Fig. 10 - 82A) such that each of the plurality of prisms is centered within a corresponding one of the plurality of lenses that has a convex shape extending away from its corresponding prism (Nishihara Fig. 1 - 11, 10; see below; Fig. 7 - 61, 60; Fig. 10 - 8A, 82B), each of the plurality of lenses extending in the second direction (Nishihara Fig. 1 - lenses (11) extending into/out of page; Fig. 7; Fig. 10).
As to claim 2, Nishihara teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishihara further teaches a first surface of each of the plurality of prisms contacts an upper surface of the base substrate (Nishihara Fig. 1 - 10, 4; Fig. 7 - 61, 53), a second surface and a third surface of each of the plurality of prisms contact inner surfaces of each of the plurality of lenses (Nishihara Fig. 1 - 10, 11; Fig. 7 - 61, 60), and the first surface, second surface, and third surface extend in the second direction (Nishihara Figs. 1, 7 - surfaces extending into/out of page).
As to claim 6, Nishihara teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishihara further teaches internal angles of a cross-section of each of the plurality of prisms are identical to each other (Nishihara Fig. 2 - e.g. θ4, 90-θ4).
As to claim 7, Nishihara teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishihara further teaches among internal angles of a cross-section of the plurality of prisms, the internal angle that abuts the substrate is smaller (less) than the/an internal angle that does not abut the base substrate (Nishihara Fig. 10; see below).
As to claim 11, Nishihara teaches a lens array (Nishihara Fig. 10), comprising
a base substrate having a planar shape extending in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Nishihara Fig. 10 - substrate (84) extending left/right and into/out of page);
a plurality of pyramids disposed on the base substrate (Nishihara Fig. 10 - 82B)
a plurality of lenses (Nishihara Fig. 10 - 82A), each of the lenses covering a corresponding pyramid of the plurality of pyramids (Nishihara Fig. 10 - 82A, 82B);
each of the plurality of pyramids is centered within a corresponding one of the plurality of lenses that has a convex shape extending away from its corresponding pyramid (Nishihara Fig. 10 - 82A, 82B).
As to claim 12, Nishihara teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Nishihara further teaches a rectangular base of each of the plurality of pyramids contacts the base substrate (Nishihara Fig. 10 - 84; Fig. 5), and an apex of each of the plurality of pyramids protrudes in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Nishihara Fig. 10 - 82B; Fig. 5).
As to claim 16, Nishihara teaches a method of fabricating a lens array (Nishihara Figs. 1, 7), comprising
preparing a base substrate (Nishihara Fig. 1 - 4, 2; Fig. 7 - 53);
forming a plurality of prisms arranged parallel to each other in a first direction on the base substrate (Nishihara Fig. 1 - prisms (10) arranged left/right; see below for interpreted prism structure; Fig. 7 - 61), each of the plurality of prisms extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Nishihara Fig. 1 - prisms extending into/out of page; Fig. 7 - 61);
forming a plurality of lenses arranged parallel to each other in the first direction on the same surface of the base substrate as the plurality of prisms and covering the plurality of prisms (Nishihara Fig. 1 - lenses (11) covering prisms (10) and are indirectly on the same surface of substrate (4, 2) as the prisms (10); Fig. 7 - 60, 57) such that each of the plurality of prisms is centered within a corresponding one of the plurality of lenses that has a convex shape extending away from its corresponding prism (Nishihara Fig. 1 - 11, 10; see below; Fig. 7), each of the plurality of lenses extending in the second direction (Nishihara Fig. 1 - lenses (11) extending into/out of page; Fig. 7).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Nishida et al. (US 2008/0129184 - Nishida).
As to claim 1, Nishida teaches a lens array (Nishida Fig. 7B; Figs. 1A-2A; Figs. 5A-5C; Fig. 9) comprising
a base substrate (Nishida Fig. 7B - 490; Figs. 1B-1D - 450; Fig. 9 - 110);
a plurality of prisms arranged in parallel to each other in a first direction on the base substrate (Nishida Fig. 7B - 491; Figs. 1B-1D - 451), each of the plurality of prisms extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Nishida Fig. 9);
a plurality of lenses arranged in parallel to each other in the first direction on the same surface of the base substrate as the plurality of prisms and covering the plurality of prisms (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0080] - showing covering layer (493) having curved surfaces at the peak of the prisms (491)) such that each of the plurality of prisms is centered within a corresponding one of the plurality of lenses that has a convex shape extending away from its corresponding prism (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493, 491), each of the plurality of lenses extending in the second direction (Nishida Fig. 7B; Fig. 9).
As to claim 2, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishida further teaches a first surface of each of the plurality of prisms contacts an upper surface of the base substrate (Nishida Fig. 7B - 491, 490; Fig. 2B), a second surface and a third surface of each of the plurality of prisms contact inner surfaces of each of the plurality of lenses (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493, 491), and the first surface, second surface, and third surface extend in the second direction (Nishida Fig. 7B; Fig. 9).
As to claim 3, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishida further teaches the base substrate and the plurality of prisms have an identical first refractive index (Nishida para. [0087], para. [0103] - substrate (110) includes ITO, prisms include ITO).
As to claim 4, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Nishida further teaches the plurality of lenses has a second refractive index that is less than the first refractive index (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0008]).
As to claim 5, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and Nishida further teaches the second refractive index is greater than a third refractive index that is equal to a refractive index of air (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0008], [0014], [0089]).
As to claim 6, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishida further teaches the internal angles of a cross-section of each of the plurality of prisms are identical to each other (Nishida Fig. 2A, 2B).
As to claim 7, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishida further teaches, among internal angles of a cross-section of the plurality of prisms, an internal angle that abuts the base substrate is less than an internal angle that does not abut the base substrate (Nishida Fig. 5A - base angle (θ) being acute with non-base internal angles at (a2) being obtuse).
As to claim 8, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishida further teaches among internal angles of a cross-section of the plurality of prisms, the internal angle that abuts the base substrate is greater than the internal angle that does not abut the base substrate (Nishida Fig. 2B - a, b, θ; para. [0073] - where ratio b:a is 5:1, thus base angles are greater than the peak angle).
As to claim 9, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishida further teaches an apex of the plurality of prisms has a curved shape (Nishida Fig. 5B; para. [0075]).
As to claim 10, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Nishida further teaches a cross-section of each of the plurality of prisms includes a trapezoidal base and a semi-circular apex (Nishida Fig. 5B).
As to claim 11, Nishida teaches a lens array (Nishida Fig. 7B; Figs. 1A-2A; Figs. 5A-5C; Fig. 9) comprising
a base substrate having a planar shape extending in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Nishida Fig. 7B - 490; Figs. 1B-1D - 450; Fig. 9 - 110);
a plurality of pyramids disposed on the base substrate (Nishida Fig. 7B - 491)
a plurality of lenses (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493), each of the lenses covering a corresponding pyramid of the plurality of pyramids (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0080] - showing covering layer (493) having curved surfaces at the peak of the prisms (491));
each of the plurality of pyramids is centered within a corresponding one of the plurality of lenses that has a convex shape extending away from its corresponding pyramid (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493, 491).
As to claim 12, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Nishida further teaches a rectangular base of each of the plurality of pyramids contacts the base substrate (Nishida Fig. 25B; para. [0062]), and an apex of each of the plurality of pyramids protrudes in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and second direction (Nishida Fig. 25B - first/second directions are the plane of the page, third direction into/out of page).
As to claim 13, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Nishida further teaches the base substrate and the plurality of prisms have an identical first refractive index (Nishida para. [0087], para. [0103] - substrate (110) includes ITO, prisms include ITO).
As to claim 14, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and Nishida further teaches the plurality of lenses has a second refractive index that is less than the first refractive index (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0008]).
As to claim 15, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 14, and Nishida further teaches the second refractive index is greater than a third refractive index that is equal to a refractive index of air (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0008], [0014], [0089]).
As to claim 16, Nishida teaches a method of fabricating a lens array (Nishida Fig. 7B; Figs. 1A-2A; Figs. 5A-5C; Fig. 9) comprising
preparing a base substrate (Nishida Fig. 7B - 490; Figs. 1B-1D - 450; Fig. 9 - 110);
forming a plurality of prisms arranged in parallel to each other in a first direction on the base substrate (Nishida Fig. 7B - 491; Figs. 1B-1D - 451), each of the plurality of prisms extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Nishida Fig. 9);
forming a plurality of lenses arranged in parallel to each other in the first direction on the same surface of the base substrate as the plurality of prisms and covering the plurality of prisms (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0080] - showing covering layer (493) having curved surfaces at the peak of the prisms (491)) such that each of the plurality of prisms is centered within a corresponding one of the plurality of lenses that has a convex shape extending away from its corresponding prism (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493, 491), each of the plurality of lenses extending in the second direction (Nishida Fig. 7B; Fig. 9).
As to claim 17, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Nishida further teaches the base substrate and the plurality of prisms have an identical first refractive index (Nishida para. [0087], para. [0103] - substrate (110) includes ITO, prisms include ITO).
As to claim 18, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and Nishida further teaches the plurality of lenses has a second refractive index that is less than the first refractive index (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0008]).
As to claim 19, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, and Nishida further teaches the second refractive index is greater than a third refractive index that is equal to a refractive index of air (Nishida Fig. 7B - 493; para. [0008], [0014], [0089]).
As to claim 20, Nishida teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Nishida further teaches, among internal angles of a cross-section of the plurality of prisms, an internal angle that abuts the base substrate is less than an internal angle that does not abut the base substrate (Nishida Fig. 5A - base angle (θ) being acute with non-base internal angles at (a2) being obtuse).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Shi et al. (US 9,456,175; 2016/0025932); Nishida et al. (US 8,164,245); Egi et al. (US 8,053,987; 2008/0129183); Gollier et al. (US 2013/0128351) are cited as additional examples of prisms coating with lens materials.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 August 31, 2026