DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on March 19, 2024 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20, Examiner suggests -- that does not [[about]] abut the base --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 4, the claim recites “the first refractive index” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Claims 1+2 have not introduced a first refractive index.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “the second refractive index” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Claims 1+3 do not include a second refractive index.
As to claim 20, the claim recites “the internal angle that abuts the base”, “the internal angle that does not abut the base” which lack antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as “an internal angle…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Sykora et al. (US 2014/0286043 - Sykora).
As to claim 1, Sykora teaches a lens array (Sykora Fig. 1B - 140; Fig. 5; Fig. 6) comprising a base substrate (Sykora Fig. 5 - 510; Fig. 6 - 647);
a plurality of prisms (Sykora Fig. 5 - 536; Fig. 6 - 641 para. [0077], [0083]) arranged in parallel to each other in a first direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - y-axis; Fig. 6 - x-axis), each of the plurality of prisms extending in a second direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - x-axis; Fig. 6 - y-axis; Fig. 1B) different from the first direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - x vs. y; para. [0078], [0083], [0084]);
a plurality of lenses covering the plurality of prisms (Sykora Fig. 5 - 526; Fig. 6 - 644; para. [0077], [0084]), and arranged in parallel to each other in the first direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - 326, y-axis; Fig. 6 - 644, x-axis) each of the lenses extending in the second direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - 326, x-axis; Fig. 6 - 644, y-axis).
As to claim 3, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Sykora teaches the base substrate and the plurality of prisms have an identical first refractive index (Sykora para. [0081], [0085] - same material of PET, polycarbonate, etc.; elements having same visible refractive index of 1.4-1.7).
As to claim 5, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Sykora teaches the second refractive index is greater than a third refractive index that is equal to a refractive index of air (Sykora para. [0081], [0085]).
As to claim 8, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Sykora teaches wherein, among internal angles of a cross-section of the plurality of prisms, the internal angle that abuts the base is greater than the internal angle that does not abut the base substrate (Sykora Fig. 8 - 843c, Vprism).
As to claim 9, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Sykora teaches the apex of each of the plurality of prisms has a curved shape (Sykora para. [0083] - Regardless of the vertex angle, the vertex is sharp rather than truncated or rounded, e.g., having a radius of curvature of no more than 3 microns).
As to claim 10, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Sykora teaches a cross-section of each of the plurality of prisms includes a trapezoidal base, and a semi-circular apex (Sykora Fig. 6 - 642, 643, 641; para. [0083]).
As to claim 11, Sykora teaches a lens array (Sykora Figs. 5, 6) comprising
a base substrate (Sykora Fig. 5 - 510) having a planar shape extending in a first direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - y-axis) and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - x-axis);
a plurality of pyramids disposed on the base substrate (Sykora Fi.g 5 - 536; para. [0077] - The second microreplicated structure 535 includes a plurality of saw-tooth or pyramidal prismatic features 536);
a plurality of lenses (Sykora Fig. 5 - 526; para. [0077]), each of the plurality of lenses covering a corresponding pyramid of the plurality of pyramids (Sykora Fig. 5 - 526, 529, 536, 539; para. [0078]).
As to claim 12, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Sykora teaches a rectangular base of each of the plurality of pyramids contacts the base substrate (Sykora Fig. 5 - 536, 510), and an apex of each of the plurality of pyramids protrudes in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - z-axis).
As to claim 13, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Sykora teaches the base substrate and the plurality of pyramids have an identical first refractive index (Sykora para. [0081], [0085] - same material of PET, polycarbonate, etc.; elements having same visible refractive index of 1.4-1.7).
As to claim 14, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and Sykora teaches the plurality of lenses have a second refractive index (Sykora para. [0081], [0085]) that is less than the first refractive index (Sykora para. [0085] - e.g. base carrier (647) having n = 1.67 and lenses (646) having n = 1.51).
As to claim 15, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 14, and Sykora teaches the second refractive index is greater than a third refractive index that is equal to a refractive index of air (Sykora para. [0085]).
As to claim 16, Sykora teaches a method of fabricating a lens (Sykora Figs. 5, 6), comprising
preparing a base substrate (Sykora Fig. 5 - 510; Fig. 6 - 647);
forming a plurality of prisms (Sykora Fig. 5 - 536; Fig. 6 - 641 para. [0077], [0083]) arranged parallel to each other in a first direction on the base substrate (Sykora Fig. 5 - y-axis; Fig. 6 - x-axis), each of the plurality of prisms extending in a second direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - x-axis; Fig. 6 - y-axis; Fig. 1B) different from the first direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - x vs. y; para. [0078], [0083], [0084]);
forming a plurality of lenses covering the plurality of prisms (Sykora Fig. 5 - 526; Fig. 6 - 644; para. [0077], [0084]), and arranged parallel to each other in the first direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - 326, y-axis; Fig. 6 - 644, x-axis), each of the plurality of lenses extending in the second direction (Sykora Fig. 5 - 326, x-axis; Fig. 6 - 644, y-axis).
As to claim 17, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Sykora teaches the base substrate and the plurality of prisms have an identical first refractive index (Sykora para. [0081], [0085] - same material of PET, polycarbonate, etc.; elements having same visible refractive index of 1.4-1.7).
As to claim 18, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and Sykora teaches the plurality of lenses have a second refractive index that is less than the first refractive index (Sykora Fig. 6; para. [0085] - e.g. base carrier (647) having n = 1.67 and lenses (646) having n = 1.51).
As to claim 19, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Sykora teaches the second refractive index is greater than a third refractive index that is equal to a refractive index of air (Sykora para. [0085]).
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 11-12, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kume et al. (US 2005/0068475 - Kume).
As to claim 1, Kume teaches a lens array (Kume Figs. 1A,B - 4, 5; para. [0069], [0070]; Fig. 8) comprising
a base substrate (Kume Fig. 1A - 3);
a plurality of prisms (Kume Fig. 1A - 4, 4a) arranged in parallel to each other in a first direction on the base substrate (Kume Fig. 1 - 4a, left-right; Fig. 8), each of the plurality of prisms extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Kume Fig. 1A - 4a, into-out of page; Fig. 8; para. [0031]);
a plurality of lenses covering the plurality of prisms (Fume Fig. 1A - 5, 5a; para. [0031], [0070]), and arranged parallel to each other in the first direction (Fume Fig. 1A - 5, 5a), each of the plurality of lenses extending in the second direction (Fume Fig. 1A - 5, 5a; Fig. 8; para. [0031]).
As to claim 2, Kume teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Kume further teaches a first surface of each of the plurality of prisms contacts an upper surface of the base substrate (Kume Fig. 1A - 4, 3), wherein a second surface and a third surface of each of the plurality of prisms contact inner surfaces of each of the plurality of lenses (Kume Fig. 1B - 4a, 5, 5a), wherein the first surface, the second surface, and the third surface extend in the second direction (Kume Fig. 1B; Fig. 8; para. [0031]).
As to claim 4, Kume teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Kume further teaches the plurality of lenses have a second refractive index (Kume Fig. 1A - N2) that is less than the first refractive index (Kume Fig. 1A - N1, N2; para. [0039]).
As to claim 6, Kume teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Kume further teaches internal angles of a cross-section of each of the plurality of prisms are identical to each other (Kume Fig. 1B - base internal angles (a1) being identical).
As to claim 7, Kume teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Kume further teaches among internal angles of a cross-section of the plurality of prisms, the internal angle the abuts the base substrate is less than the internal angle that does not abut the base substrate (Kume Fig. 1B; see below: a1 < A).
As to claim 11, Kume teaches a lens array (Kume Figs. 1A,B; Fig. 8) comprising
a base substrate having a planar shape extending in a first direction and a second direction (Kume Fig. 1 - 3; Fig. 8 - 33);
a plurality of pyramids disposed on the base substrate (Kume Fig. 1A - 4, 4a; Fig. 8 - 34, 34a - truncated pyramids);
and a plurality of lenses (Kume Fig. 1A - 5, 5a; Fig. 8 - 35, 35a), each of the lenses covering a corresponding pyramid of the plurality of pyramids (Kume Fig. 1A - 5, 5a; Fig. 8 - 35, 35a).
As to claim 12, Kume teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Kume further teaches a rectangular base of each of the plurality of pyramids contacts the base substrate (Kume Fig. 8 - 34a, 34), wherein an apex of each of the plurality of pyramids protrudes in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Kume Fig. 8 - 34a, 34; see below).
As to claim 16, Kume teaches a method of fabricating a lens array (Kume Figs. 1A,B - 4, 5; para. [0069], [0070]; Fig. 8);
preparing a base substrate (Kume Fig. 1A - 3);
forming a plurality of prisms (Kume Fig. 1A - 4, 4a) arranged parallel to each other in a first direction on the base substrate (Kume Fig. 1 - 4a, left-right; Fig. 8), each of the plurality of prisms extending in a second direction different from the first direction Kume Fig. 1A - 4a, into-out of page; Fig. 8; para. [0031]);
forming a plurality of lenses covering the plurality of prisms (Fume Fig. 1A - 5, 5a; para. [0031], [0070]), and arranged parallel to each other in the first direction (Fume Fig. 1A - 5, 5a), each of the plurality of lenses extending in the second direction (Fume Fig. 1A - 5, 5a; Fig. 8; para. [0031]).
As to claim 20, Kume teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Kume further teaches among internal angles of a cross-section of the plurality of prisms, the internal angle the abuts the base substrate is less than the internal angle that does not abut the base substrate (Kume Fig. 1B; see below: a1 < A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sykora (cited above).
As to claim 6, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and while Sykora teaches the prisms form a triangle (Sykora Fig. 5 - 536), doesn’t specify the angles are identical (i.e. equilateral triangle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an equilateral triangle since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235. As per Sykora, the angles/shapes of the prism allow for controlling the light refraction through the film (Sykora para. [0077]).
As to claim 7, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and while Sykora teaches the prisms form a triangle (Sykora Fig. 5 - 536), doesn’t specify the base angles are less than the internal angle that does not abut the substrate (e.g. isosceles triangle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide such an isosceles triangle since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235. As per Sykora, the angles/shapes of the prism allow for controlling the light refraction through the film (Sykora para. [0077]).
As to claim 20, Sykora teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and while Sykora teaches the prisms form a triangle (Sykora Fig. 5 - 536), doesn’t specify the base angles are less than the internal angle that does not abut the substrate (e.g. isosceles triangle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide such an isosceles triangle since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235. As per Sykora, the angles/shapes of the prism allow for controlling the light refraction through the film (Sykora para. [0077]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Muller (US 9,563,062; 2014/0071538); Sykora et al. (US 9,261,641); Hoffmuller et al. (US 10,046,585; 2013/0270813); Kume et al. (US 7,542,101); Neijzen (US 5,731,857); Nishihara (US 5,764,319); Nishio et al. (US 5,592,332); Feldman Jr (US 5,220,462); Samuels (US 2015/0285959); Teng et al. (US 2011/0019435); Goto (US 2006/0227323) are cited as additional examples of lens arrays with prisms/pyramids and various aspects of such lenses/prisms.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 April 15, 2026