DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 10/28/2025. The previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn. Claims 1-2 and 5-12 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara (US 4910974) in view of Hibino et al. (US 4505130).
Regarding claim 1, Hara teaches an ice making apparatus (automatic ice making machine Fig. 1) comprising: a frame assembly (ice making chamber 10 Fig. 1) including a support frame (first freezing chamber 11 Fig. 1) and a rotation frame (second freezing chamber 12 Fig. 1) rotatably connected to the support frame (Col. 4 lines 38-46 and Fig. 6); and one or more ice making cells (disclosed “spherical spaces” in Col. 5 lines 1-12) that produce ice (ice ball 1 Fig. 6), wherein the ice making cell includes an upper ice making cell (first freezing cells 13 Fig. 4) that covers a portion of the ice (upper portion of ice ball 1 Fig. 4) and is supported on the support frame (Fig. 1), and a lower ice making cell (second freezing cell 15 Fig. 4) that covers another portion of the ice (lower portion of ice ball 1 Fig. 4) and is supported on the rotation frame (Fig. 1); wherein the rotation frame includes a water to melt ice flowing portion (channel 71 and upper surface of water tray 38 Figs. 1 and 11) having a water to melt ice flow path (channel passage 72 Fig. 1) through which water to melt ice (disclosed “tap water” in Col. 5 lines 25-33) at a higher temperature (Col. 5 lines 25-33 where it is understood that the tap water has a higher temperature than that of the ice since the tap water is provided to elevate the temperature within the freezing cells 15) than the ice in the lower ice making cell flows, wherein the lower ice making cell includes a non-contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) so as not to be exposed to the water to melt ice (Fig. 1), and a contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) disposed on an upper side of the non-contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) to contact the water to melt ice (Fig. 1), the contact portion protruding toward an upper side of the rotation frame (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion includes a bottom surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) extending outward in a horizontal direction (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) from the contact portion, and a side wall (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) extending upward from the bottom surface to form the water to melt ice flow path with the bottom surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), a height of the side wall (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) being lower than a height of the contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), and wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion surrounds at least a portion of the contact portion (the entirety of the contact portion see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), the height of the contact portion being higher than a water level of the water (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) in the water to melt ice flowing portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara).
Hara teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the non-contact portion is inserted into an interior side of the rotation frame”.
However, Hibino teaches wherein a non-contact portion (flange 2a Fig. 2 corresponds to the non-contact portion of Hara) is inserted into an interior side of a rotation frame (the interior of soup plate-like member 5 Fig. 2 where soup plate-like member 5 corresponds to the rotation frame of Hara).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Hara to include “wherein the non-contact portion is inserted into an interior side of the rotation frame” in view of the teachings of Hara to strengthen the attachment of the cells to the rotation frame.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the lower ice making cell and the water to melt ice flowing portion are provided in plural numbers (Fig. 1 of Hara); wherein the plurality of water to melt ice flowing portions are extended along a circumference of the plurality of lower ice making cells (Col. 5 lines 25-33 and Fig. 11 of Hara); and wherein the rotation frame further includes a communication portion (corresponds to the portion at which 4 channel passages 72 intersect Figs. 1 and 11 of Hara) that provides a passage (corresponds to the passages that where support posts 73 are located Fig. 11 of Hara) through which at least some of the plurality of water to melt ice flowing portions (corresponds to 4 channel passages 72 Figs. 1 and 11 of Hara) communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 5, Hara teaches wherein the rotation frame further includes an outlet (drain hole 63 Fig. 1 of Hara) providing a passage (Col. 7 lines 1-10 of Hara) for the water to melt ice flowing in the water to melt ice flowing portion to be discharged from the water to melt ice flowing portion to an outside of the rotation frame (corresponds to the outside of second freezing chamber 12 Fig. 1 of Hara).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara and Hibino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guarino et al. (US 20140165623 A1, herein after referred to as Guarino).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the rotation frame includes: a water to melt ice accommodation portion that accommodates the water to melt ice supplied from an outside; and a guide portion that guides the water to melt ice in the water to melt ice accommodation portion to flow to the water to melt ice flowing portion”.
However, Guarino teaches wherein a rotation frame (ice tray 1, 1A Fig. 6 corresponds to the rotation frame of Hara) includes: a water to melt ice accommodation portion (cavity 62 Fig. 6) that accommodates water to melt ice (the water stored in cavity 62 Fig. 6 corresponds to the water to melt ice of Hara) supplied from an outside (disclosed “external source” in paragraph [0019]); and a guide portion (opening 74B Fig. 6) that guides the water to melt ice in the water to melt ice accommodation portion to flow to a water to melt ice flowing portion (Fig. 6 and paragraph [0020] where cavities 4, 4A correspond to the water to melt ice flowing portion of Hara) to provide a flow path that will allow the water to leave the external water source and reach the ice making cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the rotation frame includes: a water to melt ice accommodation portion that accommodates the water to melt ice supplied from an outside; and a guide portion that guides the water to melt ice in the water to melt ice accommodation portion to flow to the water to melt ice flowing portion” in view of the teachings of Guarino to provide a flow path that will allow the water to leave the external water source and reach the ice making cells.
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein the rotation frame further includes a barrier (front wall 66 Fig. 6 of Guarino) disposed between the water to melt ice accommodation portion and the water to melt ice flowing portion (Fig. 6 of Guarino) to extend to both sides of the guide portion (both sides of opening 74B Fig. 6 of Guarino).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein the water to melt ice accommodation portion is disposed at a higher position (Fig. 6 of Guarino) than the water to melt ice flowing portion.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell et al. (US 20220412630 A1, herein after referred to as Mitchell), in view of Hara, and in further view of Hibino.
Regarding claim 9, Mitchell teaches an ice making water purifier (icemaker appliance 100 Fig. 1) comprising: an ice making apparatus (ice maker 120 Fig. 3) that produces ice (paragraph [0023]); and a filter (filter 154 Fig. 3) that filters raw water (corresponds to the disclosed “liquid” falling on the top of filter 154 in paragraph [0048]) to provide purified water (corresponds to the disclosed “liquid” that exit through a bottom of filter 154 in paragraph [0048]) to produce the ice.
Mitchell teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the ice making apparatus comprises: a frame assembly including a support frame and a rotation frame rotatably connected to the support frame; and one or more ice making cells that produce a part of the ice, wherein the ice making cell includes an upper ice making cell that covers a portion of the ice and is supported on the support frame, and a lower ice making cell that covers another portion of the ice and is supported on the rotation frame, wherein the rotation frame includes a water to melt ice flowing portion having a water to melt ice flow path through which water to melt ice at a higher temperature than that of the ice in the lower ice making cell flows, wherein the lower ice making cell includes a non-contact portion so as not to be exposed to the water to melt ice, and a contact portion disposed on an upper side of the non-contact portion to contact the water to melt ice, the contact portion protruding toward an upper side of the rotation frame, wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion includes a bottom surface extending outward in a horizontal direction from the contact portion, and a side wall extending upward from the bottom surface to form the water to melt ice flow path with the bottom surface, a height of the side wall being lower than a height of the contact portion, and wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion surrounds at least a portion of the contact portion, the height of the contact portion being higher than a water level of the water in the water to melt ice flowing portion”.
However, Hara teaches an ice making apparatus (automatic ice making machine Fig. 1 corresponds to the ice making apparatus of Mitchell) comprises: a frame assembly (ice making chamber 10 Fig. 1) including a support frame (first freezing chamber 11 Fig. 1) and a rotation frame (second freezing chamber 12 Fig. 1) rotatably connected to the support frame (Col. 4 lines 38-46 and Fig. 6); and one or more ice making cells (disclosed “spherical spaces” in Col. 5 lines 1-12) that produce a part of the ice (ice ball 1 Fig. 6 corresponds to the ice oh Mitchell), wherein the ice making cell includes an upper ice making cell (first freezing cells 13 Fig. 4) that covers a portion of the ice (upper portion of ice ball 1 Fig. 4) and is supported on the support frame (Fig. 1), and a lower ice making cell (second freezing cell 15 Fig. 4) that covers another portion of the ice (lower portion of ice ball 1 Fig. 4) and is supported on the rotation frame (Fig. 1); wherein the rotation frame includes a water to melt ice flowing portion (channel 71 and upper surface of water tray 38 Figs. 1 and 11) having a water to melt ice flow path (channel passage 72 Fig. 1) through which water to melt ice (disclosed “tap water” in Col. 5 lines 25-33) at a higher temperature (Col. 5 lines 25-33 where it is understood that the tap water has a higher temperature than the ice since the tap water is provided to elevate the temperature within the freezing cells 15) than that of the ice in the lower ice making cell flows, wherein the lower ice making cell includes a non-contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) so as not to be exposed to the water to melt ice (Fig. 1), and a contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) disposed on an upper side of the non-contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) to contact the water to melt ice (Fig. 1), the contact portion protruding toward an upper side of the rotation frame (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion includes a bottom surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) extending outward in a horizontal direction (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) from the contact portion, and a side wall (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) extending upward from the bottom surface to form the water to melt ice flow path with the bottom surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), a height of the side wall (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) being lower than a height of the contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), and wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion surrounds at least a portion of the contact portion (the entirety of the contact portion see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), the height of the contact portion being higher than a water level of the water (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) in the water to melt ice flowing portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) to provide warm water to the cells and therefore improve the overall ice removal process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Mitchell to include “wherein the ice making apparatus comprises: a frame assembly including a support frame and a rotation frame rotatably connected to the support frame; and one or more ice making cells that produce a part of the ice, wherein the ice making cell includes an upper ice making cell that covers a portion of the ice and is supported on the support frame, and a lower ice making cell that covers another portion of the ice and is supported on the rotation frame, wherein the rotation frame includes a water to melt ice flowing portion having a water to melt ice flow path through which water to melt ice at a higher temperature than that of the ice in the lower ice making cell flows, wherein the lower ice making cell includes a non-contact portion so as not to be exposed to the water to melt ice, and a contact portion disposed on an upper side of the non-contact portion to contact the water to melt ice, the contact portion protruding toward an upper side of the rotation frame, wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion includes a bottom surface extending outward in a horizontal direction from the contact portion, and a side wall extending upward from the bottom surface to form the water to melt ice flow path with the bottom surface, a height of the side wall being lower than a height of the contact portion, and wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion surrounds at least a portion of the contact portion, the height of the contact portion being higher than a water level of the water in the water to melt ice flowing portion” in view of the teachings of Hara to provide warm water to the cells and therefore improve the overall ice removal process.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the non-contact portion is inserted into an interior side of the rotation frame”.
However, Hibino teaches a non-contact portion (flange 2a Fig. 2 corresponds to the non-contact portion of Hara) is inserted into an interior side of a rotation frame (the interior of soup plate-like member 5 Fig. 2 where soup plate-like member 5 corresponds to the rotation frame of Hara).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the non-contact portion is inserted into an interior side of the rotation frame” in view of the teachings of Hara to strengthen the attachment of the cells to the rotation frame.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a main tank (water reservoir 65 Fig. 1 of Hara) accommodating the water to melt ice to be provided to the ice making apparatus (Col. 6 lines 64-68 and Col. 7 lines 1-10 of Hara); and an auxiliary tank (water tank 19 Fig. 1 of Hara) in communication with the main tank (Col. 7 lines 2-10 of Hara), wherein the rotation frame further includes an outlet (drain hole 63 Fig. 1 of Hara) providing a passage (Col. 6 lines 64-68 and Col. 7 lines 1-10 of Hara) for the water to melt ice flowing in the water to melt ice flowing portion to be discharged from the water to melt ice flowing portion to an outside of the rotation frame (corresponds to the outside of second freezing chamber 12 Fig. 1 of Hara), and wherein the auxiliary tank accommodates the water to melt ice discharged from the outlet (Col. 7 lines 1-10 of Hara), and when the water to melt ice exceeds a preset capacity (disclosed “predetermined threshold” in paragraph [0041] of Mitchell where the water contained in second reservoir 138 corresponds to the water to melt of Hara), the excess water to melt ice flows from the auxiliary tank to the main tank (paragraphs [0039] and [0041] of Mitchell where second reservoir 136 corresponds to the auxiliary tank of Hara and first reservoir 128 corresponds to the main tank of Hara).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell, Hara, and Hibino as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Guarino and Yuasa et al (JPH01102266A, herein after referred to as Yuasa).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein the ice making water purifier further comprises: a nipple (supply pipe 27 Fig. 1 of Hara) that receives the water to melt ice and supplies the received water to melt ice to the water to melt ice accommodation portion (Col. 19 lines 34-60 of Hara).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the rotation frame further includes a water to melt ice accommodation portion that accommodates the water to melt ice supplied from an outside”.
However, Guarino teaches wherein a rotation frame (ice tray 1, 1A Fig. 6 corresponds to the rotation frame of Hara) further includes a water to melt ice accommodation portion (cavity 62 Fig. 6) that accommodates water to melt ice (the water stored in cavity 62 Fig. 6 corresponds to the water to melt ice of Hara) supplied from an outside (disclosed “external source” in paragraph [0019]) to provide a flow path that will allow the water to leave the external water source and reach the ice making cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the rotation frame further includes a water to melt ice accommodation portion that accommodates the water to melt ice supplied from an outside” in view of the teachings of Guarino to provide a flow path that will allow the water to leave the external water source and reach the ice making cells.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the nipple receives the water to melt ice through the main tank; and a circulation channel that provides a path for the water to melt ice to flow from the main tank to the nipple”.
However, Yuasa teaches a nipple (water supply port 14 Fig. 1 corresponds to the nipple of Hara) receives water to melt ice (the water flowing through water supply pipe 17 Fig. 3 corresponds to the receives water to melt ice of Hara) through a main tank (container 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the main tank of Hara); and a circulation channel (water supply pipe 17 Fig. 3) that provides a path (Fig. 3) for the water to melt ice to flow from the main tank to the nipple (Fig. 3) to minimize the need of using an external source to replenish the water to melt ice by constantly recirculating the water that is already in the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the nipple receives the water to melt ice through the main tank; and a circulation channel that provides a path for the water to melt ice to flow from the main tank to the nipple” in view of the teachings of Yuasa to minimize the need of using an external source to replenish the water to melt ice by constantly recirculating the water that is already in the system.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell, Hara, Hibino, Guarino, and Yuasa as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (CN214469490U, herein after referred to as Guo).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion adjacent to the nipple is disposed at a higher position than the water to melt ice flowing portion adjacent to the outlet”.
However, Guo teaches wherein a water to melt ice flowing portion (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Guo) adjacent to a nipple (water inlet pipe 18 Fig. 3 corresponds to the nipple of Hara) is disposed at a higher position (Figs. 3-4 and example one page 4) than a water to melt ice flowing portion (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Guo) adjacent to an outlet (leaking hole 6 corresponds to the outlet of Hara) to provide a slope that would allow the water to melt ice to exit the support frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion adjacent to the nipple is disposed at a higher position than the water to melt ice flowing portion adjacent to the outlet” in view of the teachings of Guo to provide a slope that would allow the water to melt ice to exit the support frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-9 that Hara fails to disclose or suggest “wherein the water to melt ice flowing portion includes a bottom surface extending outward in a horizontal direction from the contact portion, and a side wall extending upward from the bottom surface to form the water to melt ice flow path with the bottom surface, a height of the side wall being lower than a height of the contact portion” as recited by amended claims 1 an9, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, Hara teaches wherein a water to melt ice flowing portion (channel passage 72 Fig. 1) includes a bottom surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) extending outward in a horizontal direction (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) from a contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), and a side wall (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) extending upward from the bottom surface to form the water to melt ice flow path with the bottom surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara), a height of the side wall (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara) being lower than a height of the contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hara).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763