DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 19 March 2024.
Specification
The disclosures are objected to because of the following informalities:
In a part 404 of Fig 4, two capacitor C1 and C1 should change to C1 and C2 according to Vc1 and Vc2 across each capacitor.
In the paragraph 0050, base 536 does not matched in Fig 5.
In the paragraph 0065, the first sentence “Similar to FIGS. 4-7, the active rectifier 800 includes an includes a first AC circuit” is not clear.
In the paragraph 0066, a power connector 809 does not matched in Fig. 8.
In the paragraph 0074, “The four angled surfaces of both the second connecting member 1016 and the third connecting 108 have a similar configuration”, the examiner suggests a change from 108 to 1018.
Drawings objection
The drawings are objected to as missing part numbers 536 [0050] in Fig 5 and 809 [0066] in Fig 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xuebin Jiang et. al (IEEE ISBN: 978-1-4799-6768-1; hereafter “Jiang”) in view of Hirofumi Akagi et. al (IEEE ISBN:0-7803-8486-5; hereafter “Akagi”).
-Regarding claim 1;
Jiang discloses:
An active rectifier (above Fig 1), comprising: an alternating current (AC) portion (above Fig 1: ea, eb, ec) positioned on one side of the active rectifier; a direct current (DC) portion (above Fig 1: idc ,Udc) positioned on another side of the active rectifier; and an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) portion (above Fig 1: three-phase Vienna rectifier) positioned on
However, Jiang does not disclose heat sink as mid voltage connection, which electrically couples the AC portion and the DC portion.
Akagi disclose:
positioned on top of a heat sink that electrically couples the AC portion and the DC portion, the heat sink being positioned below the IGBT portion (Fig. F-A, red box) and between the AC portion and DC portion.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. F-A)]
Akagi, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a high frequency leakage current flowing through the grounded heat sink of a voltage source IGBT inverter (Fig. F-A, red box). Akagi focuses on the high-frequency leakage current flowing through the grounded heat sink of a voltage source Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) inverter in an adjustable-speed motor drive system. Akagi teaches and gives a motivation in using heat sink as mid voltage connection in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Jiang such that a commonly used heat sink configuration is used as mid voltage connection described in Akagi. Doing so allows for providing a desirable level of stability for DC output.
-Regarding claim 2;
Jiang discloses:
The active rectifier of claim 1, wherein the AC portion comprises a plurality of power regions (Fig. 1: N) populated with a plurality of power components.
-Regarding claim 3;
Jiang discloses:
The active rectifier of claim 1, wherein the IGBT portion comprises a plurality of IGBT modules (Fig. 1: Red, Green, Blue parts in the center area).
-Regarding claim 4;
Jiang discloses:
The active rectifier of claim 1, wherein the DC portion comprises a plurality of DC regions (Fig. 1, three-phase Vienna rectifier has a plurality of DC regions) populated with a plurality of DC components.
Claims 9,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (IEEE, ISBN: 978-1-4799-6768-1), and Akagi (IEEE ISBN:0-7803-8486-5) as applied to claims 1-4 above.
-Regarding claim 9:
Jiang discloses:
An active rectifier, comprising: an AC circuit board with three AC circuit board regions on one side of the active rectifier (Fig 1: ea, eb, ec); a DC circuit board with three DC circuit board regions on another side of the active rectifier (Fig 1: idc from three-phase Vienna rectifier ); three insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) circuit boards (Fig 1: Red, Green, Blue parts in the center area)
However, Jiang does not disclose heat sink as mid voltage connection, which electrically couples the AC circuit board and the DC circuit board.
Akagi disclose:
a heat sink that is electrically coupled (Fig. F-A, red box) to the AC circuit board on one side of the heat sink and to the DC circuit board on another side of the heat sink; that are positioned above a top surface (Fig. F-A, red box) of the heat sink and positioned between the AC circuit board and the DC circuit board (Fig. F-A, red box).
Akagi, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a high frequency leakage current flowing through the grounded heat sink of a voltage source IGBT inverter (Fig. F-A, red box). Akagi focuses on the high-frequency leakage current flowing through the grounded heat sink of a voltage source Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) inverter in an adjustable-speed motor drive system. Akagi teaches and gives a motivation in using heat sink as mid voltage connection in claim 9.
Claim 9 just adds a comment about how many AC and DC circuit boards are in AC and DC portions of claim 1. Jiang also discloses many examples about the multiple circuit boards with multiple modules of Vienna rectifiers (Jiang’s Fig.3,4,5, and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Jiang such that a commonly used heat sink configuration is used as mid voltage connection described in Akagi. Doing so allows for providing a desirable level of stability for DC output.
-Regarding claim 10;
Jiang discloses:
The active rectifier of claim 9, wherein the three IGBT circuit boards are arranged with a Vienna topology (Fig 1; three-phase Vienna rectifier).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (IEEE, ISBN: 978-1-4799-6768-1), and Akagi (IEEE ISBN:0-7803-8486-5) as applied to claims 1-4 above.
-Regarding claim 15;
Jiang discloses:
A system, comprising: an alternating current (AC) circuit board with a first AC circuit board region, a second AC circuit board region, and a third AC circuit board region on an AC side of the active rectifier (Fig. 1: ea, eb, ec by the order), a direct current (DC) circuit board with a first DC circuit board region, a second DC circuit board region, and a third DC circuit board region on a DC side of the active rectifier (Fig.1; three idcs from three-phase Vienna rectifier by the order), a first insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) circuit board, a second IGBT circuit board, and a third IGBT circuit board positioned between the AC side and the DC side (Fig. 1: Red-1st, Green-2nd, Blue-3rd parts in three-phase Vienna rectifier), and
However, Jiang does not disclose heat sink as mid voltage connection, which electrically couples the AC portion and the DC portion.
Akagi disclose:
a heat sink positioned below (Fig. F-A, red box) the first IGBT circuit board, the second IGBT circuit board, and the third IGBT circuit board that electrically couples the AC side and the DC side (Fig. F-A, red box).
Akagi, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a high frequency leakage current flowing through the grounded heat sink of a voltage source IGBT inverter (Fig. F-A, red box). Akagi focuses on the high-frequency leakage current flowing through the grounded heat sink of a voltage source Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) inverter in an adjustable-speed motor drive system. Akagi teaches and gives a motivation in using heat sink as mid voltage connection in claim 15.
Claim 15 just adds the comment about an order of three circuit boards (first, second, and third) in each AC, DC, and IGBT portion in claims 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Jiang such that a commonly used heat sink configuration is used as mid voltage connection described in Akagi. Doing so allows for providing a desirable level of stability for DC output.
-Regarding claim 16;
Jiang discloses:
The system of claim 15, wherein the first AC circuit board region is spaced apart from the first DC circuit board region by the first IGBT circuit board at one end of the active rectifier (Fig 1 red; each AC portion and each DC portion are separated by IGBT circuit board in three-phase Vienna rectifier).
-Regarding claim 17:
Jiang discloses:
The system of claim 15, wherein the second AC circuit board region the spaced apart from a second DC circuit board region by the second IGBT circuit board in a medial region of the active rectifier (Fig 1 green; each AC portion and each DC portion are separated by IGBT circuit board in three-phase Vienna rectifier).
-Regarding claim 18:
Jiang discloses:
The system of claim 15, wherein the third AC circuit board region is spaced apart from the third DC circuit board region by the third IGBT circuit board at another end of the active rectifier (Fig 1 blue; each AC portion and each DC portion are separated by IGBT circuit board in three-phase Vienna rectifier).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8,11-14,19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
-with respect to claims 5-8, and 11-14:
the prior arts in Jiang and Akagi, disclose the claimed invention in basic claims but do not further disclose about how to construct the active rectifier, which is made by heat sink and three circuit board regions of AC, DC, and IGBT, using various constructional material including standoffs, multiple sided connecting member, fasteners, and pins. Claim 5 recites about pins. Claims 6 and 11 recite about standoffs. Claim 7 recites about the connecting member. Claim 12 recites about the connecting member and fasteners.
-with respect to claims 19 and 20, the prior arts in Jiang and Akagi disclose the claimed invention in claim 15 but does not further disclose the electrical insulation of the heat sink (decoupled to a ground chassis).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SEUNG HO CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838