DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected manufacturing method of electrode assembly and a nonelected electrode assembly species comprising a separator that comprises multiple bending segments to be bent, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 28 April 2026.
Applicant’s election with traverse of Claims 1 and 4-8 in the reply filed on 28 April 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17-19 are also included with claims 1-8 as the elected claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umehara et al (DE 102019216077 A1). This prior art reference is cited as Umehara hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Umehara discloses an electrode assembly (20 Fig. 4; “an electrode body” [0095]), characterized by comprising:
a first electrode plate (22 Fig. 10; “positive current-collecting foil 22” [0105]), wherein the first electrode plate is coated with both an active substance layer (23 Fig. 10; “a strip-shaped layer 23 of positive active material containing positive active material particles 23f and the like” [0105]) and a viscous substance layer (24 Fig. 10; “a strip-shaped insulator layer 24 made of insulating resin and the like” [0105], and [0121] “The nozzle coater 81 of a coating drying device 80 shown is used to apply the positive active material paste PAP and the insulator paste IP to a surface 22S1 of the positive current collecting foil 22 to form an undried layer 23M of positive active material and an undried insulator layer 24M (first coating step SP1)” where “insulator paste IP” implies a viscous substance) on two sides in a thickness direction of the electrode plate (elements labelled 23 and 24 are formed on both longitudinal sides of 22 depicted in Fig. 10), and the active substance layer and the viscous substance layer on each side are disposed side by side in a height direction of the electrode plate (elements labelled 23 and 24 are formed on the opposite distal ends of the longitudinal sides of 22 depicted in Fig. 10); and
separators provided on the two sides of the first electrode plate in the thickness direction of the electrode plate (“a pair of strip-shaped separators 41 arranged successively between them (see Fig. 4)” [0101]) and stacked with the first electrode plate (“is wound around the axis AX and is compressed into a flat shape (see Fig. 3)” [0101]); wherein
in an unfolded state of the electrode assembly, the separator on each side of the first electrode plate is a continuous integral structure (“a pair of strip-shaped separators 41, cut to a predetermined length LH in the longitudinal direction” [0162]), and the separators are connected to the first electrode plate through the viscous substance layers (“the insulating layer 24 of the positive electrode plate 21 is arranged higher than the upper surface 23S of the layer 23 of positive active material, enables the positive electrode plate 21 to be wound in itself in a suitable manner to generate the wound electrode body 20, or wound together with the negative electrode plate 31 and the separators 41” [0109]),
wherein in the height direction of the electrode plate, the viscous substance laver is applied to two side ends of the first electrode plate (element labelled 24 is formed on the opposite distal ends of the longitudinal sides of 22 depicted in Fig. 10), and the active substance layer is applied between the viscous substance layers on two sides (element labelled 23 is formed in between the pair of element labelled as 24 depicted in Fig. 10); and
in the height direction of the electrode plate, one or more viscous substance layers are further disposed spaced apart between the viscous substance layers on the two sides (Fig. 10 shows a pair of insulating layers 24 disposed spaced apart from each other), with an active substance laver being provided between two adjacent viscous substance layers (element labelled 23 is formed in between the pair of element labelled as 24 depicted in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 17, Umehara discloses a battery cell (1 Figs. 1-2; “battery 1” [0097]), characterized by comprising the electrode assembly according to claim 1 set forth in claim 1 above (“The battery 1 comprises a …, a wound electrode body 20 contained therein” [0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umehara (DE 102019216077 A1) in view of Okura et al (US 2020/0274125). The latter reference being cited to as Okura hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 4, Umehara discloses the electrode assembly of all the limitations set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose it being characterized in that the viscous substance layer has a width of 2-20 mm in the height direction of the electrode plate.
However, Okura discloses an electrode assembly (“a separator body 110 are laminated through positive electrode collectors 140 or negative electrode collectors 141 in a battery” [0049]), characterized by comprising: a first electrode plate (comprising collectively of 140 and 130 shown in Fig. 6; “A positive electrode active material layer 130 is formed between each separator body 110 and each positive electrode collector 140” [0049]), wherein the first electrode plate is coated with both an active substance layer (130 Fig. 6; “positive electrode active material layer” [0049]) and a viscous substance layer (22a shown in Figs. 3c through 3e; “a first seal layer 22a which can be thermocompression - bonded to the positive electrode collector” [0020]), and the active substance layer and the viscous substance layer on each side are disposed side by side in a height direction of the electrode plate (120, which comprises of 22a, is shown in Fig. 6 to be provided on both distal ends of positive electrode collectors 140; “a frame - like member 120 is disposed in an outer peripheral portion of a separator body 110 are laminated through positive electrode collectors 140” [0049]), and wherein the separator is connected to the first electrode plate through the viscous substance layers (“The frame - like member ( 20 ' , 20 ) configuring the separator for lithium ion battery contains a heat resistant annular support member 21 and a seal layer 22 which is disposed on the surface thereof and which can be thermocompression - bonded to the positive electrode collector” [0020]).
Okura teaches the electrode assembly being characterized in that the viscous substance layer has a width of 2-20 mm in the height direction of the electrode plate (“An adhesive polyolefin resin film serving as a seal layer was superposed on both surfaces of a polyethylene naphthalate film serving as a heat resistant annular support member…. an annular laminate (frame-like member) was obtained in which the heat resistant annular support member containing PEN (PEN layer) and the seal layers were laminated and the width in four sides of the square was 2 mm.” [0079]), and that the viscous substance layer of this width maintains a planar shape to the separator, free of bending or wrinkles, and of excellent handling properties ([0081]), which maintains consistent lamination positions ([0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the viscous substance layer of Umehara with the viscous substance layer taught in Okura such that the electrode assembly is characterized in the viscous substance layer has a width of 2-20 mm in the height direction of the electrode plate, in order to achieve a means to keep the separator in a planar shape that is free of bending and wrinkles such that lamination positions are consistent and excellent handling properties are imparted to the electrode assembly.
Claims 5-8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umehara (DE 102019216077 A1) in view of Cheon et al (CA 3219403 A1). The latter reference being cited to as Cheon hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claims 5-6, Umehara discloses the electrode assembly of all the limitations set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose that it is characterized in that thickness of the viscous substance layer in the thickness direction of the electrode plate is larger than or equal to thickness of the active substance layer (limitation recited in claim 5), and
that it is characterized in that the viscous substance layer has a thickness of 25-120 µm in the thickness direction of the electrode plate (limitation recited in claim 6).
However, Cheon discloses an electrode assembly (10 Fig. 1; “electrochemical cell” p. 8 L 16), characterized by comprising: a first electrode plate (11 Fig. 1; “positive electrode” p. 8 L 17), wherein the first electrode plate is coated with both an active substance layer (12b Fig. 1; “first active material layer 12b” p. 8 LL 26-27) and a viscous substance layer (comprising collectively of 16 and 17 Fig. 1; “A sealant formed of first and second adhesive layers 16, 18 and first and second sealing layers 17, 19 joins a periphery of the positive electrode 11” p. 8 LL 21-23), and the active substance layer and the viscous substance layer on each side are disposed side by side in a height direction of the electrode plate (first active material layer 12b and second sealing layer 17 depicted in Fig. 1 is disposed adjacent to each other) and a separator provided on the first electrode plate in the thickness direction of the electrode plate and stacked with the first electrode plate (15 Fig. 1; “separator” p. 8 L 18), and wherein the separator is connected to the first electrode plate through the viscous substance layers (“separator 15 is sandwiched at an outer peripheral edge 15a between the first and second sealing layers 17, 19 over their entire width (i.e. from their outer peripheral edge 17a, 19a to their inner peripheral edge 17b, 19b), whereby a seal exists between the first foil substrate 12a/first active material layer 12b of the positive electrode 11 and the separator 15” p. 13 LL 23-27).
Cheon teaches the electrode assembly is characterized in that thickness of the viscous substance layer in the thickness direction of the electrode plate is larger than or equal to thickness of the active substance layer (Fig. 1 depicts the thickness of 16 with 17 in the “Z” direction is greater than the thickness of first active material layer 12b), and
that it is characterized in that the viscous substance layer has a thickness of 25-120 µm in the thickness direction of the electrode plate (“Preferably the first sealing layer and the second sealing layer have the same thickness. In a preferred embodiment, the first sealing layer and the second sealing layer each have a thickness in the range of 20 µm to 200 µm, more preferably in
the range of 30 µm to 150 µm, and even more preferably in the range of 40 µm to 80 µm.” p. 4 L 20-23, plus “the first adhesive layer 16 and the second adhesive layer 18 each has a thickness measured in the stacking direction Z of the cell of less than or equal to 40 µm, for example in the range of 0.5 um to 40 um, more preferably in the range of 15 µm and 40 µm” p. 10 L 21-24 such that the total thickness of the first adhesive layer with the first sealant layer is within a preferable range of 55 µm to 120 µm).
Cheon further teaches that the viscous substance layer with this thickness exhibits good sealing properties, ensuring sufficient adhesion (p. 4 LL 31-33), as well as minimizes the overall electrochemical cell weight and thickness, which also minimizes material costs (p. 10 LL 24-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the viscous substance layer of Umehara with the viscous substance layer taught in Cheon, in that thickness of the viscous substance layer in the thickness direction of the electrode plate is larger than or equal to thickness of the active substance layer, and
that it is characterized in that the viscous substance layer has a thickness of 25-120 µm in the thickness direction of the electrode plate,
in order to achieve an electrode assembly that exhibits good sealing properties while minimizing material costs while keeping the overall battery cell weight and thickness to a minimum.
Regarding claims 7-8, Umehara discloses the electrode assembly of all the limitations set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose that it is characterized in that the viscous substance layer is a hot-melt adhesive layer, and the hot-melt adhesive layer connects the separator and the first electrode plate through thermal lamination (limitations recited in claim 7), and
that it is characterized in that a material of the viscous substance layer is polypropylene (limitation recited in claim 8).
However, Cheon discloses an electrode assembly (10 Fig. 1; “electrochemical cell” p. 8 L 16), characterized by comprising: a first electrode plate (11 Fig. 1; “positive electrode” p. 8 L 17), wherein the first electrode plate is coated with both an active substance layer (12b Fig. 1; “first active material layer 12b” p. 8 LL 26-27) and a viscous substance layer (comprising collectively of 16 and 17 Fig. 1; “A sealant formed of first and second adhesive layers 16, 18 and first and second sealing layers 17, 19 joins a periphery of the positive electrode 11” p. 8 LL 21-23), and the active substance layer and the viscous substance layer on each side are disposed side by side in a height direction of the electrode plate (first active material layer 12b and second sealing layer 17 depicted in Fig. 1 is disposed adjacent to each other) and a separator provided on the first electrode plate in the thickness direction of the electrode plate and stacked with the first electrode plate (15 Fig. 1; “separator” p. 8 L 18), and wherein the separator is connected to the first electrode plate through the viscous substance layers (“separator 15 is sandwiched at an outer peripheral edge 15a between the first and second sealing layers 17, 19 over their entire width (i.e. from their outer peripheral edge 17a, 19a to their inner peripheral edge 17b, 19b), whereby a seal exists between the first foil substrate 12a/first active material layer 12b of the positive electrode 11 and the separator 15” p. 13 LL 23-27).
Cheon teaches that it is characterized in that the viscous substance layer is a hot-melt adhesive layer (“the first sealing layer and the second sealing layer each comprise as a sealing material one or more selected from polyolefins, in particular polyethylene, polypropylene and cast polypropylene (CPP), functionalized polyolefins, in particular polyolefin copolymers with monomers containing one or more of carboxylate, epoxy, nitrile, imine, maleic anhydride and hydroxyl functional groups, and epoxy resins, … because it becomes sticky when heated.” p. 4 LL 1-7), and the hot-melt adhesive layer connects the separator and the first electrode plate through thermal lamination (“The positive electrode 11, the negative electrode 13 and the separator 15 are arranged in a stacked configuration, that is, in a single positive electrode-separator-single negative electrode stack. A sealant formed of first and second adhesive layers 16, 18 and first and second sealing layers 17, 19 joins a periphery of the positive electrode 11 to a periphery of the negative electrode 13.” p. 8 LL 19-24), and
that it is characterized in that a material of the viscous substance layer is polypropylene (“the first sealing layer 17 and the second sealing layer 19 each comprise as the sealing material one or more selected from polyolefins, in particular polyethylene, polypropylene and cast polypropylene (CPP),” p. 11 LL 23-25).
Cheon further teaches that the viscous substance layer of these properties exhibits good insulation properties, stickiness when heated and chemical resistance against electrolyte degradation while simplifying production processes of the electrode assembly (p. 11 LL 16-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the viscous substance layer of Umehara with the viscous substance layer taught in Cheon, in that the viscous substance layer is a hot-melt adhesive layer, and the hot-melt adhesive layer connects the separator and the first electrode plate through thermal lamination, and
that it is characterized in that a material of the viscous substance layer is polypropylene,
in order to achieve an electrode assembly of a simplified production process, good insulation, sealing performance, and chemical resistance from electrolyte degradation.
Regarding claims 18, Umehara discloses the battery cell with of all the limitations set forth in claim 17 above, but does not disclose a battery, characterized by comprising at least the one battery cell.
However, Cheon discloses an electrode assembly (10 Fig. 1; “electrochemical cell” p. 8 L 16), characterized by comprising: a first electrode plate (11 Fig. 1; “positive electrode” p. 8 L 17), wherein the first electrode plate is coated with both an active substance layer (12b Fig. 1; “first active material layer 12b” p. 8 LL 26-27) and a viscous substance layer (comprising collectively of 16 and 17 Fig. 1; “A sealant formed of first and second adhesive layers 16, 18 and first and second sealing layers 17, 19 joins a periphery of the positive electrode 11” p. 8 LL 21-23), and the active substance layer and the viscous substance layer on each side are disposed side by side in a height direction of the electrode plate (first active material layer 12b and second sealing layer 17 depicted in Fig. 1 is disposed adjacent to each other) and a separator provided on the first electrode plate in the thickness direction of the electrode plate and stacked with the first electrode plate (15 Fig. 1; “separator” p. 8 L 18), and wherein the separator is connected to the first electrode plate through the viscous substance layers (“separator 15 is sandwiched at an outer peripheral edge 15a between the first and second sealing layers 17, 19 over their entire width (i.e. from their outer peripheral edge 17a, 19a to their inner peripheral edge 17b, 19b), whereby a seal exists between the first foil substrate 12a/first active material layer 12b of the positive electrode 11 and the separator 15” p. 13 LL 23-27).
Cheon teaches a battery, characterized by comprising at least the one battery cell (“a battery module that comprises a plurality of electrochemical cells according to the present disclosure, i.e., at least two, preferably more than two, electrochemical cells according to the present disclosure” p. 7 LL 19-21), and that the battery is provided as a means of effective utilization of electric power while also preventing air pollution (p. 1 LL 14-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art to add at least one more battery cell, which characterizes a battery, to the battery cell of Umehara in view of Cheon, in order to achieve a means of effective utilization of electric power while also preventing air pollution.
Regarding claim 19, modified Umehara discloses the battery of all the limitations set forth in claim 18 above, and an electric apparatus, characterized by comprising the battery (“For example, in automobiles, battery packs being formed of a plurality of battery modules, wherein each battery module includes a plurality of electrochemical cells” p. 1 LL 11-13), wherein the battery is configured to supply electric energy (“a means of effective utilization of electric power” p. 1 L 13).
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721