DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second parts”. Appropriate correction is required. This is considered an objection as it is being viewed as a typo that the “parts” is plural and should be amended to be “part
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, it is not clear what part the second part is considered to have a different height than. For the purpose of examination, it is considered that the height difference is intended to be between the first and second parts. Clarification is required.
Additionally, claim 3 recites the limitation "the second parts" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites the limitation "the first part" in line 3 and it is unclear if this is intended to limit the first part required by claim 1 or a first part of the corner cutting edge. Also, it is not clear if the “a second part” is referring to the second part of claim 1 or a different second part. Additionally, claim 8 recites the limitation "the fourth side" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 12, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xia et al (US 2012/0237811).
Regarding claim 1, Xia teaches an anode plate comprising anode extending portions 166 (0033 and fig 1), which are considered to be the instantly claimed plurality of tabs. As shown in figure 9, to further prevent the anode extending portion 166, an isosceles trapezoid shape is used and considered to have a first part being the interrupted line and the line parallel thereto and the second part is the remaining outer part (fig 9 and 0040). Figure 9 shows the shape of the first part and the second part to be different.
Regarding claim 2, it is considered inherent that deformation would occur when the electrode is built into the battery cell casing.
Regarding claim 3, as shown in figure 9, to further protect the anode extending portion 166, an isosceles trapezoid shape is used and considered to have a first part being the interrupted line and the line parallel thereto and the second part is the remaining outer part (fig 9 and 0040). Figure 9 shows the height of the first part and the second part to be different.
Regarding claim 11, Xia teaches in figure 4 the extending tabs 166 are along a length of the electrode plate 16 which is shown to be unfolded.
Regarding claim 12, Xia shows in figure 4 that a predetermined length is present between the tab 166 and the end of the anode plate 16.
Regarding claim 17, Xia teaches a lithium ion battery (0002) which would include an electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 18, Xia teaches a lithium ion battery including a cathode plate 12 and an anode plate 16 with a separator 14 therebetween. The anode plate includes anode extending portions 166, considered to be the instantly claimed tabs, and the cathode plate includes cathode extending portions 126, considered to be the instantly claimed tabs (0033-0034).
Regarding claim 19, Xia teaches a lithium ion battery (0002 and 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10, 13-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al (US 2012/0237811).
Regarding claim 8, Xia teaches the anode plate as discussed above.
Xia teaches in figure 4 the extending tabs 166 are along a length of the electrode plate 16 which is shown to be unfolded and considered to meet the instantly claimed edges as structurally shown.
Xia does not explicitly teach the removal of a sharp corner claimed.
However, the structure is considered capable of behaving as claimed and it is noted that this claim is to a structure and not a method. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to remove any sharp corner to ensure tearing or puncturing is not of concern.
Regarding claim 9, Xia teaches the anode plate as discussed above.
Xia does not explicitly teach the instantly claimed the corner cutting edges, as claimed. However, the structure is considered capable of behaving as claimed and it is noted that this claim is to a structure and not a method. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to remove any sharp corner to ensure tearing or puncturing is not of concern.
Regarding claim 10, Xia teaches the anode plate as discussed above.
Xia does not explicitly teach the instantly claimed the corner cutting edges, as claimed. However, the structure is considered capable of behaving as claimed and it is noted that this claim is to a structure and not a method. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to remove any sharp corner to ensure tearing or puncturing is not of concern and utilizing any shape, such as an arc or bevel shape, would be considered obvious as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 13, Xia shows in figure 4 that a predetermined length is present between the tab 166 and the end of the anode plate 16.
Xia does not explicitly teach that length range.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to determine distance to be any range dependent upon the desired result, such as the instantly claimed range, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14, Xia shows in figure 4 that a predetermined length is present between the tabs 166.
Xia does not explicitly teach that length range.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to determine distance to be any range dependent upon the desired result, such as the instantly claimed range, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, as shown in figure 9, to further protect the anode extending portion 166, an isosceles trapezoid shape is used and considered to have a first part being the interrupted line and the line parallel thereto and the second part is the remaining outer part (fig 9 and 0040). Figure 9 shows the height of the first part and the second part to be different.
Xia does not explicitly teach that height difference range.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to determine distance to be any range dependent upon the desired result, such as the instantly claimed range, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, as shown in figure 9, to further protect the anode extending portion 166, an isosceles trapezoid shape is used and considered to have a first part being the interrupted line and the line parallel thereto and the second part is the remaining outer part (fig 9 and 0040). Figure 9 shows the height of the first part and the second part to be different.
Xia does not explicitly teach that height difference range.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to determine distance to be any range dependent upon the desired result, such as the instantly claimed range, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Xia teaches the lithium ion battery, as discussed above.
Xia does not explicitly teach the battery being used in an electric device, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize the battery in an electric device as such is a customary use of a battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is considered to be Xia et al (US 2012/0237811) which neither teaches nor renders obvious the electrode plate of instant claim 4. Claims 5-7 depend from instant claim 4.
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 July 17, 2026