DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Amendment, filed 22 January 2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
No claims have been cancelled and claims 11-14 are newly added by Amendment. Therefore, claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature “a common string select line”, as recited in claims 1, 6, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 6 are recites the limitations “a common string select line”. This limitation cannot be found in the disclosure as originally filed and is therefore new matter. Claims 2-5, 7-14 depend from claims 1, 6 and therefore contain the same new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al (US 9,299,438 B2 hereinafter “Hara”) in view of Hosono (US 2016/0240264 A1).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Hara, for example in Figs. 1- 38, discloses a method of operating (see for example in Figs. 6-9, 11-12 related in Figs. 1-5, 10, 13-38) a memory device (e.g., memory device 200; in Figs. 1-2 related in Figs. 3-38), comprising: selecting a target memory cell (e.g., memory cell on WL0/WL1/WL2/WL3/WL4/WL5/WL6/WL7; in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38) and at least one replicated memory cell (within string 16-1; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38) belonging to a target memory string (e.g., string 16-1; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38), the target memory string comprising a plurality of serially connected memory cells (e.g., MT0-MT3/MT4-MT7; in Figs. 3, 8 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-7, 9-38) coupled to a common bit line (e.g., common BL0 is connected to string 16 in SU0 and string in SU1; in Figs. 3, 8 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-7, 9-38), and a common ground select line (e.g.,SGD0-SGS3 are common connected to 0V or ground voltage; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38); replicating a target weight value written into the target memory cell to the at least one replicated memory cell (e.g., “1” data/”0” data; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38), wherein the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell store the target weight value (e.g., “1” data/”0” data; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38); and in response to a command of reading or computing on the target memory cell received by the memory device (via command user interface 14; in Figs. 1-2 related in Figs. 3-38), performing reading or computing on the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell simultaneously (e.g., at t2; in Fig. 9 related in Figs. 1-8, 10-38).
However, Hara is silent with regard to a common string select line.
In same field of endeavor, Hosono, for example in Figs. 1-18, discloses a common string select line (e.g., SG1_0 and SG1_1 are common connected to 2C; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Hara such as semiconductor memory device (see for example in Figs. 1-38 of Hara) by incorporating the teaching of Hosono such as semiconductor memory device (see for example in Figs. 1-18 of Hosono), for the purpose of controlling the applying a program voltage to the first word line, a second operation executed after the first operation of applying a first voltage to the first bit line and a second voltage lower than the first voltage to the first word line, and a third operation executed after the second operation of applying a verify voltage to the first word line (Hosono, see Abstract).
The structure in of the prior art (Hara and Hosono) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 2, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell are serially connected within the target memory string (see for example in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 3, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein the target memory cell is coupled to a target word line (see for example in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above); the at least one replicated memory cell is coupled to at least one replicated word line (see for example in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above), and in reading the target memory cell, both the target word line and the at least one replicated word line are simultaneously selected to simultaneously activate the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell (see for example in Figs. 21-22 related in Figs. 1-20, 23-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 4, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein in performing computing on the target memory cell, the target word line and the at least one replicated word line receive the same input value (see for example in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 5, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein the memory device is a 2D/3D NAND flash memory; and the memory device is a non-volatile memory (see for example in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding Independent Claim 6, Hara, for example in Figs. 1-38, discloses a memory device (e.g., memory device 200; in Figs. 1-2 related in Figs. 3-38) comprising: a memory array (e.g., memory array 2; in Figs. 2-3, 8 related in Figs. 1, 4-7, 9-38); and a memory controller coupled to the memory array (e.g., sequencer 13 within block 200; in Figs. 1-2 related in Figs. 3-38), wherein the memory controller is configured to: selecting a target memory cell (e.g., memory cell on WL0/WL1/WL2/WL3/WL4/WL5/WL6/WL7; in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38) and at least one replicated memory cell (within string 16-1; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38) belonging to a target memory string (e.g., string 16-1; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38), the target memory string comprising a plurality of serially connected memory cells coupled to a common bit line (e.g., common BL0 is connected to string 16 in SU0 and string in SU1; in Figs. 3, 8 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-7, 9-38), and a common ground select line (e.g.,SGD0-SGS3 are common connected to 0V or ground voltage; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38); replicating a target weight value written into the target memory cell to the at least one replicated memory cell (e.g., “1” data/”0” data; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38), wherein the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell store the target weight value (e.g., “1” data/”0” data; in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38); and in response to a command of reading or computing on the target memory cell received by the memory device (via command user interface 14; in Figs. 1-2 related in Figs. 3-38), performing reading or computing on the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell simultaneously (e.g., at t2; in Fig. 9 related in Figs. 1-8, 10-38).
However, Hara is silent with regard to a common string select line.
In same field of endeavor, Hosono, for example in Figs. 1-18, discloses a common string select line (e.g., SG1_0 and SG1_1 are common connected to 2C; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Hara such as semiconductor memory device (see for example in Figs. 1-38 of Hara) by incorporating the teaching of Hosono such as semiconductor memory device (see for example in Figs. 1-18 of Hosono), for the purpose of controlling the applying a program voltage to the first word line, a second operation executed after the first operation of applying a first voltage to the first bit line and a second voltage lower than the first voltage to the first word line, and a third operation executed after the second operation of applying a verify voltage to the first word line (Hosono, see Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell are serially connected within the target memory string (see for example in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 8, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein the target memory cell is coupled to a target word line (see for example in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above); the at least one replicated memory cell is coupled to at least one replicated word line (see for example in Fig. 8 related in Figs. 1-7, 9-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above), and in reading the target memory cell, both the target word line and the at least one replicated word line are simultaneously selected to simultaneously activate the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell (see for example in Figs. 21-22 related in Figs. 1-20, 23-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 9, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein in performing computing on the target memory cell, the target word line and the at least one replicated word line receive the same input value (see for example in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 10, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein the memory device is a 2D/3D NAND flash memory; and the memory device is a non-volatile memory (see for example in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 11, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein replicating the target weight value into the target memory cell is performed during a programming operation of the target memory cell (see for example in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 12, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein in response to the command of reading or computing on the target memory cell received by the memory device (see for example in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above), simultaneously activating a target word line and a replicated word line corresponding to the target memory cell and the replicated memory cell to perform reading or computing on the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell simultaneously (see for example in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 13, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein the memory controller is configured to: replicate the target weight value into the target memory cell during a programming operation of the target memory cell (see for example in Figs. 8-9 related in Figs. 1-7, 10-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 14, the above Hara/Hosono, combination discloses wherein the memory controller is configured to: in response to the command of reading or computing on the target memory cell received by the memory device (see for example in Figs. 1-2 related in Figs. 3-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above), simultaneously activate a target word line and a replicated word line corresponding to the target memory cell and the replicated memory cell to perform reading or computing on the target memory cell and the at least one replicated memory cell simultaneously (see for example in Figs. 21-22 related in Figs. 1-20, 23-38 of Hara and also see in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-18 of Hosono, as discussed above).
Applicants are reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 January 2026 have been fully considered but
are moot because the new ground of rejection is made in view of Hosono (US 2016/0240264 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THA-O H BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825 02/03/2026