DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 03/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner notes that the claims 21-36 are listed as (Original) or (Currently Amended) on the most recent filing of claims, filed on 08/13/2024. However, these claims were previously canceled in filing of claims made on 03/20/2024, and have been considered canceled with regards to both the requirement for restriction and this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bajwa (US-20210057377-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bajwa teaches a method of processing a substrate on a bonding system (Paragraph [0002] methods of bonding a substrate taught), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing an oxide reduction delivery system on the bonding system (Paragraph [0006] method includes providing a reducing gas. Paragraphs [0031-0032] Figure 1A bond head (element 114) includes inner channel (element 114c) that provides a reducing gas to the substrate);
(b) supporting the substrate on a support structure of the bonding system (Paragraph [0006] substrate is supported by a support structure of the bonding machine); and
(c) moving at least one of the oxide reduction delivery system and the support structure with respect to one another, such that a gas provided by the oxide reduction delivery system contacts the substrate (Paragraphs [0036-0038] Figures 1C-1E a reducing gas (element 130) is supplied and contacts structures (element 104a) on the substrate (element 104), while the inner channel (element 114c), which can be considered the claimed "oxide reduction delivery system", moves relative to the substrate).
Regarding Claim 2, Bajwa teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is integrated with a bond head assembly of the bonding system (Paragraphs [0031-0032] Figure 1A bond head (element 114) includes inner channel (element 114c) that provides a reducing gas to the substrate).
Regarding Claim 3, Bajwa teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is a reducing gas delivery system (Paragraph [0032] the inner channel provides a reducing gas).
Regarding Claim 4, Bajwa teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is a formic acid vapor delivery system (Paragraph [0032] the inner channel provides a reducing gas. Paragraph [0020] the reducing gas can be formic acid vapor).
Regarding Claim 6, Bajwa teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is configured to deliver the gas including attached electrons (Paragraph [0032] the inner channel provides a reducing gas. Paragraph [0020] the reducing gas can be formic acid vapor. No removal of electrons or ionization is taught).
Regarding Claim 7, Bajwa teaches wherein step (c) includes moving the oxide reduction delivery system with respect to the support structure while the gas is dispensed by the oxide reduction delivery system (Paragraphs [0036-0038] Figures 1C-1E a reducing gas (element 130) is supplied, and "may continue to flow" while the inner channel (element 114c), which can be considered the claimed "oxide reduction delivery system", moves relative to the substrate).
Regarding Claim 10, Bajwa teaches a method of processing a substrate on a bonding system (Paragraph [0002] methods of bonding a substrate taught), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing an oxide reduction delivery system integrated with a bond head assembly of the bonding system (Paragraph [0006] method includes providing a reducing gas. Paragraphs [0031-0032] Figure 1A bond head (element 114) includes inner channel (element 114c) that provides a reducing gas to the substrate);
(b) supporting the substrate on a support structure of the bonding system (Paragraph [0006] substrate is supported by a support structure of the bonding machine); and
(c) moving the oxide reduction delivery system with respect to the support structure such that a gas provided by the oxide reduction delivery system contacts the substrate (Paragraphs [0036-0038] Figures 1C-1E a reducing gas (element 130) is supplied and contacts structures (element 104a) on the substrate (element 104), while the inner channel (element 114c), which can be considered the claimed "oxide reduction delivery system", moves relative to the substrate).
Regarding Claim 11, Bajwa teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is a reducing gas delivery system (Paragraph [0032] the inner channel provides a reducing gas).
Regarding Claim 12, Bajwa teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is a formic acid vapor delivery system (Paragraph [0032] the inner channel provides a reducing gas. Paragraph [0020] the reducing gas can be formic acid vapor).
Regarding Claim 14, Bajwa teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is configured to deliver the gas including attached electrons (Paragraph [0032] the inner channel provides a reducing gas. Paragraph [0020] the reducing gas can be formic acid vapor. No removal of electrons or ionization is taught).
Regarding Claim 15, Bajwa teaches wherein step (c) includes moving the oxide reduction delivery system by moving the bond head assembly according to a predetermined motion profile (Paragraphs [0036-0038] Figures 1C-1E the bond head assembly (element 106) is moved, first raised by a predetermined amount, and then lowered by the same amount to re-establish touchdown. The oxide reduction delivery system, as the inner channel (element 114c) is a part of the bond head assembly).
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 10, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US-20200126948-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a method of processing a substrate on a bonding system (Paragraph [0002] methods of processing a substrate with a substrate bonding apparatus taught), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing an oxide reduction delivery system on the bonding system (Paragraphs [0022] and [0065] Figure 5 the die bonding apparatus (element 100) includes an atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system" as it hydrophilizes a surface of the die);
(b) supporting the substrate on a support structure of the bonding system (Paragraph [0066] a die is picked up and supported by the bonding head (element 140)); and
(c) moving at least one of the oxide reduction delivery system and the support structure with respect to one another, such that a gas provided by the oxide reduction delivery system contacts the substrate (Paragraphs [0075-0079] Figure 10 the bonding head, holding the die (element D), moves through the plasma processing window (element P2), moving relative to the atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system", while a plasma gas is supplied to hydrophilize a surface of the die).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is integrated with a bond head assembly of the bonding system (Paragraphs [0022] and [0065] Figure 5 the die bonding apparatus (element 100) includes an atmospheric plasma device (element 170) and a bonding head (element 140), which can be considered integrated together, as they are linked together as part of one apparatus and coordinated to function together in the taught method).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is a plasma gas delivery system (Paragraphs [0022] and [0065] Figure 5 the die bonding apparatus (element 100) includes an atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system”).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches wherein step (c) includes moving the support structure with respect to the oxide reduction delivery system while the gas is dispensed by the oxide reduction delivery system (Paragraphs [0075-0079] Figure 10 the bonding head, holding the die (element D), moves through the plasma processing window (element P2), moving relative to the atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system", while a plasma gas is supplied to hydrophilize a surface of the die).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee teaches a method of processing a substrate on a bonding system (Paragraph [0002] methods of processing a substrate with a substrate bonding apparatus taught), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing an oxide reduction delivery system integrated with a bond head assembly of the bonding system (Paragraphs [0022] and [0065] Figure 5 the die bonding apparatus (element 100) includes an atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system" as it hydrophilizes a surface of the die. The die bonding apparatus (element 100) includes an atmospheric plasma device (element 170) and a bonding head (element 140), which can be considered integrated together, as they are linked together as part of one apparatus and coordinated to function together in the taught method);
(b) supporting the substrate on a support structure of the bonding system (Paragraph [0066] a die is picked up and supported by the bonding head (element 140)); and
(c) moving the oxide reduction delivery system with respect to the support structure such that a gas provided by the oxide reduction delivery system contacts the substrate (Paragraphs [0075-0079] Figure 10 the bonding head, holding the die (element D), moves through the plasma processing window (element P2), moving relative to the atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system", while a plasma gas is supplied to hydrophilize a surface of the die).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee teaches wherein the oxide reduction delivery system is a plasma gas delivery system (Paragraphs [0022] and [0065] Figure 5 the die bonding apparatus (element 100) includes an atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system").
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches further comprising the step of (d) moving the support structure with respect to the oxide reduction delivery system while the gas is dispensed by the oxide reduction delivery system (Paragraphs [0075-0079] Figure 10 the bonding head, holding the die (element D), moves through the plasma processing window (element P2), moving relative to the atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system", while a plasma gas is supplied to hydrophilize a surface of the die).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamauchi et al. (US-20210265300-A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Lee further teaches that step (c) includes moving the support structure along a second motion axis while the gas is dispensed by the oxide reduction delivery system (Paragraphs [0075-0079] Figure 10 the bonding head, holding the die (element D), moves through the plasma processing window (element P2), moving relative to the atmospheric plasma device (element 170), which can be considered an "oxide reduction delivery system", while a plasma gas is supplied to hydrophilize a surface of the die).
Lee fails to teach moving the oxide reduction delivery system along a first motion axis while dispensing the gas.
Yamauchi teaches a method of bonding that includes plasma treatment of a surface (Paragraph [0003]). Yamauchi teaches that the plasma source moves relative to the surface being treated while supplying the gas to the surface (Paragraph [0072] the activation treatment device moves while irradiating the bonding surfaces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Lee by including a movement of the oxide reduction delivery system while dispensing the gas.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the by applying the movement as taught by Yamauchi the amount of impurities that return to the bonding surfaces could have been reduced (Paragraph [0072]). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the ability to move the oxide reduction delivery system during processing would allow for better precision and flexibility in processing, for example by allowing for correcting misalignments or adjusting the amount of treatment provided to particular positions on the surface through the movement of the oxide reduction delivery system. Further this modification could have been considered the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/A.K.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1713 /DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713