DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matecki et al (US 2018/0050607) in view of Jeong (US 10,676,135).
As concerns claim 1, Matecki et al (US 2018/0050607) discloses a body structure for an electric vehicle, the body structure comprising:
a floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055] "...below a floor of the vehicle...") covering an upper side of a battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24);
an integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28) disposed on a front lower side of the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and covering a front of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24).
Matecki fails to specify a dash cross member, a front side member or a front side rear lower member.
Jeong (US 10,676,135) however teaches a battery containment system for an electric vehicle comprising:
a dash cross member (Jeong - 32) coupled to the floor panel and the integrated battery front cross member;
a front side member (Jeong - 10) disposed at a front side of the dash cross member (Jeong - 32); and
a front side rear lower member (Jeong - 90) connecting a rear of the front side member (Jeong - 10) to the dash cross member (Jeong - 32) for the purpose of effectively managing frontal collision effects.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Matecki as taught by Jeong to include a battery containment system comprising a dash cross member (Jeong - 32), front side member (Jeong - 10) and front side rear lower member (Jeong - 90) for the purpose of managing frontal collision effects on the battery system contained therein, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 2, the combination discloses the body structure of claim 1, further comprising:
an integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30) disposed on a rear lower side of the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and covering a rear of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24);
side sills (Matecki - 20) coupled to both ends of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28) and the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30) and covering a side portion of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24); and
a battery lower module (Matecki - 18) coupled to a lower side of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28), the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30), and the side sills (Matecki - 20) and covering a lower portion of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24).
As concerns claim 4, the combination discloses the body structure of claim 2, wherein the dash cross member (Jeong - 32) is coupled to both an upper side of the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and a front side of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28). (Jeong – Figure 5 illustrates wherein a dash cross member 32 would be coupled to the floor panel which would lay overtop of it. / Matecki – similarly shows in Figure 3 wherein a front cross member 28 would be overlaid by a floor member as well and coupled thereto.)
As concerns claim 5, the combination discloses the body structure of claim 2, wherein the front side rear lower member (Jeong - 90) is coupled to vertically surround a front surface of the dash cross member (Jeong - 32) and is coupled to the front side of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matecki et al (US 2018/0050607) in view of Jeong (US 10,676,135) and further in view of Kohara et al (JP 2021/160507).
As concerns claim 3, the combination discloses the body structure of claim 2, wherein the battery lower module (Matecki - 18) comprises:
a lower plate (Matecki – 18) to cover the lower portion of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24).
Matecki fails to specify a lower module outer front cross member coupled to a lower side of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28);
a lower module outer rear cross member coupled to a lower side of the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30);
lower module outer side members coupled to a lower side of the side sills (Matecki - 20); and
a lower plate (Matecki – 18) coupled to each lower side of the lower module outer front cross member, the lower module outer rear cross member, and the lower module outer side member so as to cover the lower portion of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24).
Kohara et al (JP 2021/160507) however teaches a battery lower module (Kohara – 21a) comprising:
a lower module outer cross member (sides of 21a which extend upward to meet the lower ends of sides of 21b) coupled to a lower side of an integrated battery cross member (Kohara – 21b); and
a lower plate (Kohara – bottom surface of 21a) coupled to each lower side of the lower module outer cross members so as to cover the lower portion of the battery accommodation space (Kohara - 12) for the purpose of providing a rigid battery containment structure that may be fixed by fasteners for easier removal and servicing as needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Kohara to include wherein the lower module includes outer cross members that extend upwards to meet the cross members of the integrated battery members for the expected benefit of providing a more structurally rigid containment system, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matecki et al (US 2018/0050607) in view of Carl (US 12,448,054).
As concerns claim 19, Matecki discloses a body structure for an electric vehicle, the body structure comprising:
a floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) covering an upper side of a battery accommodation space (Matecki – 24;
an integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28) disposed on a front lower side of the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and covering a front of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24);
a dash cross member (Jeong - 32) coupled to the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28);
a front side member (Jeong - 10) disposed at a front side of the dash cross member (Jeong - 32);
a front side rear lower member (Jeong - 90) connecting a rear of the front side member (Jeong - 10) to the dash cross member (Jeong - 32);
an integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30) disposed on a rear lower side of the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and covering a rear of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24), wherein the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28) and the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30) are integrally formed with the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) into a cross section protruding from a lower side of the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]);
side sills (Matecki - 20) coupled to both ends of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28) and the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30) and covering a side portion of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24); and
a battery lower module (Matecki - 18) coupled to a lower side of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28), the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30), and the side sills (Matecki - 20) and covering a lower portion of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24).
Matecki fails to specify wherein the floor panel has a cross-sectional shape with a plurality of closed cross-sections, the cross-sectional shape extending along a transverse direction of the body structure.
Carl (US 12,448,054) teaches wherein a floor panel (Carl – Figure 4, element14) has a cross-sectional shape with a plurality of closed cross-sections (Carl – at least 32), the cross-sectional shape extending along a transverse direction of the body structure for the purpose of providing a modular reinforcement system for vehicle floors, specifically electric vehicles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Matecki as taught by Carl to include a cross-sectional shape with a plurality of closed cross sections for the expected benefit of creating a modularly constructable vehicle floor that provides greater safety and protection of battery and power systems during a collision, in order to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 20, the combination discloses the body structure of claim 19, wherein:
a plurality of the floor panels (Carl – 14 comprises several panels including 24, 28, 30, 32, 36, see Figure 4) are disposed in a front-to-back direction and planarly surround an upper side of the battery accommodation space (Matecki – 24 / Carl - 26);
a first floor panel (Carl - 32) of the plurality of the floor panels disposed with the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28) is integrally formed with a floor front cross member (Carl - 46) protruding upward and connecting both of the side sills (Matecki – 20 / Carl – 20 and 22 are connected to flooring system 14 on either side); and
a second floor panel (Carl – 28) of the plurality of the floor panels disposed with the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30) is integrally formed with a floor rear cross member protruding upward and connecting both of the side sills (Matecki – 20 / Carl – 20 and 22 are connected to flooring system 14 on either side).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-18 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As concerns claim 10, Matecki discloses a body structure for an electric vehicle, the body structure comprising:
a floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) covering an upper side of a battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24);
an integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28) disposed on a front lower side of the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and covering a front of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24);
a dash cross member (Jeong - 32) coupled to the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28);
a front side member (Jeong - 10) disposed at a front side of the dash cross member (Jeong - 32);
a front side rear lower member (Jeong - 90) connecting a rear of the front side member (Jeong - 10) to the dash cross member (Jeong - 32);
an integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30) disposed on a rear lower side of the floor panel (Matecki - Paragraph [0055]) and covering a rear of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24);
side sills (Matecki - 20) coupled to both ends of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28) and the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30) and covering a side portion of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24); and
a battery lower module (Matecki - 18) coupled to a lower side of the integrated battery front cross member (Matecki - 28), the integrated battery rear cross member (Matecki - 30), and the side sills (Matecki - 20) and covering a lower portion of the battery accommodation space (Matecki - 24).
Matecki fails to specify a lower module outer front cross member; a lower module outer rear cross member; or lower module outer side members.
Kohara et al (JP 2021/160507) however teaches a battery lower module (Kohara – 21a) comprising:
a lower module outer cross member (sides of 21a which extend upward to meet the lower ends of sides of 21b) coupled to a lower side of an integrated battery cross member (Kohara – 21b); and
a lower plate (Kohara – bottom surface of 21a) coupled to each lower side of the lower module outer cross members so as to cover the lower portion of the battery accommodation space (Kohara - 12) for the purpose of providing a rigid battery containment structure that may be fixed by fasteners for easier removal and servicing as needed.
Neither Matecki nor any additionally cited art of record teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combination, inter alia, wherein corner reinforcement members are obliquely coupled to the integrated battery rear cross member and the side sills and disposed between the integrated battery rear cross member and the side sills.
As concerns claim 6, the combination of Matecki in view of Jeong discloses the body structure of claim 5.
Neither Matecki nor any additionally cited art of record teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combination, inter alia, a body structure as claimed, further comprising an extension side member coupled to the front side rear lower member and connecting the rear of the front side member to an A-pillar including a lower end coupled to a respective one of the side sills.
As concerns claim 8, the combination of Matecki in view of Jeong discloses the body structure of claim 5, however fails to teach a floor front cross member that protrudes upwards and connects to both side sills, or a dash floor connection member.
Carl teaches a floor front cross member as claimed (see Rejection of claim 19).
However, neither Matecki nor any additionally cited art of record teaches or fairly suggests a body structure, alone or in combination, inter alia, wherein a dash floor connection member connecting and supporting an interval of a dash cross member and a floor front cross member along a front-to-back direction of the body structure. (Jeong, which provides the closest configuration by teaching a dash cross member, explicitly fails to provide the additionally claimed dash floor connection member.)
As concerns claim 9, the combination discloses the body structure of claim 1.
Jeong uses a sub-frame mounting bracket 100 but does not anticipate the claimed particulars of the front subframe.
Neither Matecki nor any additionally cited art of record teaches or fairly suggests a body structure, alone or in combination, inter alia, of claim 1 further comprising a front subframe mounted on a lower side of the front side member, wherein a rear end of the front subframe is supported by a front subframe mounting bracket on a lower side of the dash cross member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679