DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant Election filled on 12/18/2025. Currently, claims 26-37 are pending in the application. Claims 36-37 have been from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I and Species I (Figures 1-9), claims 26-35, in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: Where it recites “the first sub-pixel comprises at least two sub-pixel blocks” in line 3 should be “a first sub-pixel of the plurality of first sub-pixels comprises at least two sub-pixel blocks”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: Where it recites “the first sub-pixel comprises at least two sub-pixel blocks” in lines 2-3 should be “a first sub-pixel of the plurality of first sub-pixels comprises at least two sub-pixel blocks”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YUAN et al (CN 113471384 A). A Machine English translation is provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 26, Figures 4-6 of YUAN disclose a display panel comprising a display base (please see Figure 5), the display base comprising a first display area (AA, pages 8-10 of English translation), wherein the first display area comprises a plurality of first sub-pixels (P, Figure 5) arranged in an array in a first direction (X or Y, horizontal or vertical, Figure 5), a first sub-pixel of the plurality of first subpixels comprises at least two sub-pixel blocks (green sub-pixel having two sub-pixel block, Figure 4); and in the first sub-pixel, at least two of the sub-pixel blocks are adjacent and separated by an isolation structure (160, isolation is shown in Figure 4 and 6),
in a second direction (vertical direction in Figure 6), the display base comprises a base (103) and a display function layer (layers above 103) located on the base, wherein the display function layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting devices (L, pages 8-10 of English translation), and each of the sub-pixel blocks (green sub-pixel) is provided with one of the light-emitting devices (each sub-pixel must have one light emitting diode based on the Figure);
the light-emitting device comprises a first electrode (120, Page 11 of English translation), a light-emitting function layer (EL), and a second electrode (110) sequentially stacked on the base, and in a same first sub-pixel (P), the first electrodes (120) respectively corresponding to adjacent sub-pixel blocks are electrically connected to each other (120 is connected to all sub-pixel as a common electrode);
the isolation structure (160, Figure 6) is located on the base (103) and defines a plurality of isolation openings (161), and the light-emitting devices (L) are respectively disposed in the isolation openings (pages 8-11 of English translation).
Regarding claim 34, Figures 4-6 of YUAN disclose a display panel (pages 8-11 of English translation) comprising a first display area (AA, Figure 5) , wherein the first display area comprises a plurality of first sub-pixels (P, Figure 4/5) arranged in an array in a first direction (X or Y, Figure 5, horizontal or vertical in Figure 5), a first sub-pixel (green) of the plurality of first sub-pixels comprises at least two sub-pixel blocks (each of the green sub-pixel in a P is a sub-pixel block ) spaced apart from each other, the display panel further comprising:
a base (103);
a pixel defining layer (160, Figure 6) located at a side of the base and comprising a plurality of pixel openings (161), and a plurality of light-emitting devices (L) of the sub-pixel blocks (two green light emitting diode in one sub-pixel P) being located within the pixel openings (161), in the first sub-pixel, at least two of the sub-pixel blocks are adjacent and separated by the pixel defining layer (160), the display panel further comprising:
an isolation structure (pillar 130, LP+131, Figure 6) located at a side of the pixel defining layer away from the base and defining a plurality of isolation openings (between two 130 pillar), the light-emitting devices (L) of the sub-pixel blocks being respectively disposed in the isolation openings, the pixel openings (161) being respectively corresponding to the isolation openings (161 and the opening between two pillar 130 is in a same opening), and the pixel opening being communicated to a corresponding one of the isolation openings, in the first sub-pixel (P), an orthographic projection of the pixel openings (161) corresponding to at least two of the sub-pixel blocks (green sub-pixels in a P) on the base is located within an orthographic projection of a same isolation opening (between the two LP) on the base; or an orthographic projection of the pixel opening (161) corresponding to each of the sub-pixel blocks (one of the green sub-pixel) on the base is located within an orthographic projection of the isolation opening on the base (103) (the drawing is not explicit whether there would be a pillar between two green sub-pixel but one of them of the conditions is anticipated since there is two options recited in the claims, one is no LP between two greens or a LP between two greens).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-29 and 32-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over YUAN et al (CN 113471384 A) in view of YOON et al (US 20180175123 A1). A Machine English translation of YUAN is provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 26, Figures 4-6 of YUAN disclose a display panel (pages 8-11 of English translation) comprising a display base (please see Figure 5), the display base comprising a first display area (AA, see Figure 5), wherein the first display area comprises a plurality of first sub-pixels (P) arranged in an array in a first direction (X or Y in Figure 5), a first sub-pixel (P) of the plurality of first sub-pixels comprises at least two sub-pixel blocks (two green sub-pixel in in one P and each is a block); and
in the first sub-pixel, at least two of the sub-pixel blocks are adjacent and separated by an isolation structure (pillar 130, Figure 6),
in a second direction (vertical direction in the Figure 6), the display base comprises a base (103) and a display function layer (layers over 103) located on the base, wherein the display function layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting devices (L), and each of the sub-pixel blocks is provided with one of the light-emitting devices (each green sub-pixel must have one light emitting device L based on the Figure as they ae adjacent but isolated);
the light-emitting device comprises a first electrode (110), a light-emitting function layer (EL), and a second electrode (120) sequentially stacked on the base; and
the isolation structure (pillar 230) is located on the base and defines a plurality of isolation openings (spaces between two adjacent pillar 130), and the light-emitting devices (L) are respectively disposed in the isolation openings.
YUAN does not explicitly teach that in a same first sub-pixel (P), the first electrodes (110) respectively corresponding to adjacent sub-pixel blocks (two green sub-pixel blocks in a pixel P) are electrically connected to each other.
However, YOON is a pertinent art which teaches a display device having sub-pixel arrays structure wherein Figures 5-6 of YOON teaches that each sub-pixels having two green sub-pixel blocks and their pixel electrodes (253a ad 253b) are electrically connected for driving both green sub-pixel simultaneously ([0064]), wherein the pixel electrodes are connected to first electrode (anode) of the light emitting device in the display panel.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a connection in the display device of YUAN wherein in a same first sub-pixel (P), the first electrodes (110) respectively corresponding to adjacent sub-pixel blocks (two green sub-pixel block in a sub-pixel P) are electrically connected to each other according to the teaching of YOON in order to drive the green sub-pixel at the same time ([0064] of YOON).
Regarding claim 27, Figures 4-6 of YUAN (pages 8-11 of English translation) in view of YOON teach that the display panel according to claim 26, wherein the isolation structure comprises a support portion (LP) and a crown portion (131) sequentially stacked on the base, an orthographic projection of the support portion on the base is located within an orthographic projection of the crown portion on the base, and the support portion comprises a conductive structure, the second electrode (120) of the light-emitting device is located in a corresponding one of the isolation openings and connected to the support portion, the support portion and the crown portion are integrally manufactured; or
the support portion and the crown portion are of different materials (based on the Figure 6, the materials of LP and 131 are different); or
an orthographic projection of the first sub-pixel on the base is a polygon in shape, the polygon comprises a plurality of corner areas, and at least one of the corner areas is provided with the sub- pixel block; or
an orthographic projection of the sub-pixel block on the base comprises straight edges or curved edges (curved int his case);
or the isolation structure extends continuously between two adjacent sub-pixel blocks as a mesh to block light between the two adjacent sub-pixel blocks by the isolation structure; or
in the first display area, the isolation structure further defines a plurality of light-transmitting openings located between the sub-pixel blocks of the first sub-pixel; or
in the first display area, the isolation structure further defines a plurality of light-transmitting openings located between the sub-pixel blocks of the first sub-pixel, the display panel further comprises a second display area, and a light transmittance of the first display area is greater than a light transmittance of the second display area (transmittance of light will have some variation at different location).
Regarding claim 28, Figures 4-6 of YUAN (pages 8-11 of English translation) in view of YOON teach that the display panel according to claim 26, wherein the isolation structure (130) comprises a support portion (LP) and a crown portion (131) sequentially stacked on the base, an orthographic projection of the support portion on the base is located within an orthographic projection of the crown portion on the base (130), the support portion comprises a conductive structure (LP is conductive layer such as metal), the second electrode of the light- emitting device is located in a corresponding one of the isolation openings (between two pillar of 130) and connected to the support portion (LP), the display base further comprises: a pixel defining layer (160) located at a side of the isolation structure close to the base and comprising a plurality of pixel openings (161) respectively corresponding to the isolation openings; wherein the pixel opening accommodates the light-emitting device (L) and exposes the first electrode (110), the pixel openings are respectively corresponding to the isolation openings, and the pixel opening is communicated to a corresponding one of the isolation openings.
Regarding claim 29, Figures 4-6 of YUAN (pages 8-11 of English translation) in view of YOON teach that the display panel according to claim 28, wherein in the first sub-pixel,
an orthographic projection of the pixel openings (161) corresponding to at least two of the sub-pixel blocks on the base is located within an orthographic projection of a same isolation opening on the base (based on the Figure 5 of YOON, considering isolating structures are between red, green and blue pixel); or
an orthographic projection of the pixel opening corresponding to each of the sub-pixel blocks on the base is located within an orthographic projection of the isolation opening on the base; or
an orthographic projection of a gap between two adjacent first electrodes on the base is located within an orthographic projection of the support portion on the base to overlap edges of the first electrodes with edges of the support portion to form a capacitor, and
the pixel defining layer (160) covers the edges of the first electrodes (110) to separate the support portion and the first electrodes (please see Figures 20-21).
Regarding claim 32, Figures 4-6 of YUAN (pages 8-11 of English translation) in view of YOON teach that the display panel according to claim 26, wherein the first sub-pixel comprises a first-color sub-pixel (green), a second-color sub-pixel (red), and a third-color sub-pixel (blue) spaced apart from each other and of different colors, and the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third- color sub-pixel are arranged adjacently; the second-color sub-pixel (red) is located at one side of the first-color sub-pixel (green) in a second direction, the third-color sub-pixel (green) is located at one side of the first-color sub-pixel (green) in the first direction, and the first direction is intersected with the second direction (please see Figures 3-4 of YUAN and Figure 5 of YOON); or in the first direction, the first-color sub-pixel and the second-color sub-pixel are of a same length and have two flush side edges to form a rectangular structure (please see Figure 5 of YOON); or
in the first direction, the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel are of a same length; or
in the second direction, one side edge of the first-color sub-pixel is flush with one side edge of the third-color sub-pixel; or
in the second direction, one side edge of the second-color sub-pixel is flush with one side edge of the third-color sub-pixel (please see Figure 5 of YOON); or
the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel are long strip in shape and sequentially arranged at intervals in the first direction (please see Figure 5 of YOON); or
in a second direction intersecting the first direction, the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel are of a same length and have two flush side edges to form a rectangular structure (please see Figure 5 of YOON).
Regarding claim 33, Figures 4-6 of YUAN (pages 8-11 of English translation) in view of YOON teach that the display panel according to claim 32, wherein the first sub-pixel comprises at least three sub-pixel blocks, and a plurality of the sub-pixel blocks are arranged circularly, in the first sub-pixel, for a same sub-pixel block, at least one of the sub-pixel blocks is arranged at each side of the sub-pixel block in the first direction and the second direction (please see Figures 3-4 of YUAN and Figure 5 of YOON), or
the isolation structure extends along the first direction and the second direction, and the first sub-pixel separates, through the isolation structure, the sub-pixel blocks adjacent in the first direction or the sub-pixel blocks adjacent in the second direction (please see Figures 3-4 of YUAN and Figure 5 of YOON), or
the first-color sub-pixel comprises a sub-pixel blocks, the second-color sub-pixel comprises b sub-pixel blocks, the third-color sub-pixel comprises c sub-pixel blocks, and a, b, and c satisfy a≥b≥c (please see Figures 3-4 of YUAN and Figure 5 of YOON); or
the first sub-pixel comprises two sub-pixel blocks arranged at intervals along the first direction, or in the second direction, the two sub-pixel blocks are of a same length and have two flush side edges to form a rectangular structure; or
the first sub-pixel comprises a first sub-pixel block, a second sub-pixel block, and a third sub-pixel block, the first sub-pixel block and the second sub-pixel block are located at one side of the third sub-pixel block in the first direction, and the first sub-pixel block and the second sub-pixel block are arranged at intervals in the second direction; or
in the first direction, the first sub-pixel block and the second sub-pixel block are of a same length and have two flush side edges to form a rectangular structure; or
in the first direction, the first sub-pixel block, the second sub-pixel block, and the third sub-pixel block are of a same length; or
in the second direction, a side edge of the first sub-pixel block away from the second sub-pixel block is flush with one side edge of the third sub-pixel block; or
in the second direction, a side edge of the second sub-pixel block away from the first sub-pixel block is flush with one side edge of the third sub-pixel block; or
the first sub-pixel comprises four sub-pixel blocks arranged circularly; or
in the first direction or the second direction, at least two adjacent sub-pixel blocks are of a same length and have two flush side edges to form a rectangular structure, or
in the first sub-pixel, orthographic projections of at least two of the sub-pixel blocks on a base are of a same size (please see Figures 3-4 of YUAN and Figure 5 of YOON).
Regarding claim 35, Figures 4-6 of YUAN (pages 8-11 of English translation) in view of YOON teach a display apparatus, comprising the display panel according to claim 26 (Abstract of YUAN).
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over YUAN et al (CN 113471384 A) in view of YOON et al (US 20180175123 A1) as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of CLARK et al (US 20190302919 A1).
Regarding claims 30-31, Figures 4-6 of YUAN (pages 8-11 of English translation) in view of YOON teach that the display panel according to claim 26, wherein in the first display area, the isolation structure (130) further defines a plurality of light-transmitting openings located between the sub-pixel blocks (green sub-pixels) of the first sub-pixel.
YUAN in view of YOON do not teach that the display panel further comprises a touch control structure located at a light-emitting side of the display base and comprising a plurality of touch control electrodes formed as a mesh, and an orthographic projection of a mesh line of the mesh of the touch control electrode on the display base is located in a gap between adjacent first sub-pixels, and wherein an orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base is located outside an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the base, a wire is arranged in the base, and in the first sub-pixel, the first electrodes of the light-emitting devices corresponding to two adjacent sub-pixel blocks are connected to each other via the wire; or
in the first sub-pixel, the light-emitting devices corresponding to two adjacent sub-pixel blocks share the first electrode; or
the first electrode comprises a reflective electrode layer and a transparent electrode layer stacked on the base, and the reflective electrode layer is located between the base and the transparent electrode layer;
in the first sub-pixel, the first electrodes of the light-emitting devices in the sub-pixel blocks are connected via the transparent electrode layer, and the orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the base is located within an orthographic projection of the transparent electrode layer on the base, or
the first sub-pixel emits light of at least one color elected from red, green, or blue, and the first sub-pixel is a first-color sub-pixel emitting light of one color, the first display area further comprises a plurality of second-color sub-pixels and a plurality of third-color sub-pixels arranged in an array in the first direction, adjacent first-color sub-pixel, second-color sub-pixel, and third-color sub-pixel constitute a pixel;
in each pixel, the first-color sub-pixel is located between the second-color sub-pixel and the third-color sub-pixel, and the second-color sub-pixel and the third-color sub-pixel each comprise a continuous structure;
along a direction from the second-color sub-pixel to the third-color sub-pixel, a width of the first-color sub-pixel is equal to a width of the light-transmitting opening, and wavelengths of lights emitted by the second-color sub-pixel, the first-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel decrease successively; or
the first sub-pixel is categorized as at least a first-color sub-pixel and a second-color sub-pixel emitting lights of two colors, the first display area further comprises a plurality of third-color sub- pixels arranged in an array in the first direction, adjacent first-color sub-pixel, second-color sub-pixel, and third-color sub-pixel constitute a pixel;
in each pixel, the second-color sub-pixel is located between the first-color sub-pixel and the third-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub- pixel comprises a continuous structure;
in each pixel, the light-transmitting openings corresponding to the first-color sub-pixel and the second-color sub-pixel are communicated to each other;
at a side of the first-color sub-pixel away from the second-color sub-pixel, a distance from the light-transmitting opening to a mesh line is greater than a distance from the first-color sub-pixel to the mesh line, and wavelengths of lights emitted by the first-color sub-pixel, the second- color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel decrease successively; or
the first sub-pixel is categorized as at least a first-color sub-pixel, a second-color sub-pixel, and a third-color sub-pixel emitting lights of three colors, adjacent first-color sub-pixel, second- color sub-pixel, and third-color sub-pixel constitute a pixel;
in each pixel, the second-color sub- pixel is located between the first-color sub-pixel and the third-color sub-pixel;
in each pixel, the light-transmitting openings corresponding to the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel are communicated to each other;
at a side of the first-color sub-pixel away from the second-color sub-pixel, a distance from the light-transmitting opening to a mesh line is greater than a distance from the first-color sub-pixel to the mesh line, and at a side of the third-color sub-pixel away from the second-color sub-pixel, a distance from the light-transmitting opening to the mesh line is greater than a distance from the third-color sub-pixel to the mesh line;
wavelengths of lights emitted by the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third- color sub-pixel decrease successively; or
the touch control electrode comprises a plurality of mesh holes enclosed by mesh lines and corresponding to the first sub-pixels in one-to-one correspondence, the first sub-pixel is located within an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the mesh holes on the display base, and a centroid of the orthographic projection of the mesh hole on the display base coincides with a centroid of the first sub-pixel, the touch control electrode comprises a plurality of first electrode strips parallel to each other and a plurality of second electrode strips parallel to each other, the first electrode strips and the second electrode strips intersect and are arranged as the mesh of the touch control electrode; or
the touch control electrode comprises a plurality of mesh holes enclosed by mesh lines and corresponding to pixels in one-to-one correspondence, the pixel is located within an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the mesh holes on the display base, and a centroid of the orthographic projection of the mesh hole on the display base coincides with a centroid of a corresponding one of the pixels, the touch control electrode comprises a plurality of first electrode strips parallel to each other and a plurality of second electrode strips parallel to each other, the first electrode strips and the second electrode strips intersect and are arranged as the mesh of the touch control electrode.
However, YUAN teaches that the display panel further can have a touch function; the touch control technology commonly used in the related technology comprises a surface (On Cell) touch technology and an embedded (In Cell) touch control technology. Exemplary, it can adopt embedded touch control technology to realize the touch of the display panel. Further, CLARK is a pertinent art which teaches a display panel with touch sensor, wherein CLARK teaches that for increased conductivity and to overcome issues of touch sensors made from conventional TCM, touch sensors can be made from grid patterns of fine metal wires, meshes, or conductive traces ([0014] and a conductive and opaque material COM is provided on the encapsulation layer ENCAP and is patterned to define the touch electrodes and feedlines of the touch sensor in FIG. 3A ([0052] and configuration in FIG. 4A may be suitable for feedlines of the touch sensor, where FIG. 4A shows two feedlines of the conductive and opaque material 410 routed from top to bottom of the figure. The configuration in FIG. 4B may be suitable within touch electrodes of the touch sensor ([0055]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a touch sensors made from grid patterns of fine metal wires, meshes, or conductive traces as claimed above in the display panel of YUAN in view of YOON according to the teaching CLARK in order to have a self-capacitive touch sensor with improved viewing angle provided directly on an electronic display panel and a method of fabricating the same ([0001] of CLARK).
Examiner Notes
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813