DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 11, 15, 16, 17, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 08/17/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-15, filed 08/17/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections are not persuasive.
With respect to “because Xu is silent as to the substrates having a reference mark”, the examiner disagrees. Paragraph 0033 of the specification discloses: “The substrate 115 typically has a reference mark, such as a notch, flat edge, or other type of feature that can be used to identify crystalline orientations of the substrate 115”.
Similarly, Xu discloses: “The graph 420 can be a function of measurement time or of position, e.g., radial position, of the measurement on the substrate. In either case, different portions of the signal 401 correspond to measurement spots 94 at different locations on the substrate 10 scanned by the sensor head.” (Paragraph 0055); “the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” (Paragraph 0056). Xu’s Leading edge is consistent with how the reference mark is defined in paragraph 0033 of the specification.
With respect to “during the first polishing process, the first portion of the surface of the substrate a second time using the first endpoint sensor to generate second orientation dependent scan data of the property of the first portion of the surface. The repeated scanning of the same portions of the substrate allows for the generation of orientation dependent scan data based on scanning the same portions of each substrate at two different times”, the examiner disagrees.
Xu’s operation discloses: “machine learning” (paragraph 0007) and “these substrates can be used to generate training data that is used to train the neural network.” (paragraph 0090). Inherently, “machine learning” operate based on iterations, therefore, there must be at least more than one scanning iteration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (US 20230085787 A1).
Referring to claim 1: Xu discloses a method of processing a plurality of substrates (10 Figs. 1A and 1B) in a chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) system (100 Figs. 1A and 1B), comprising performing a polishing process (“polishing apparatus” [0036]) on each substrate of the plurality of substrates (“While only one carrier head 140 is shown, more carrier heads can be provided to hold additional substrates so that the surface area of polishing pad 110 may be used efficiently.” [0041]), wherein each polishing process performed on each substrate comprises: transferring each of the substrates of the plurality of substrates to a surface of a first polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A),
each of the substrates having a reference mark (“the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” [0056]),
wherein transferring each of the substrates comprises:
retrieving, by use of a carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) that is oriented in first rotational orientation (orientation of 140 shown in Fig. 1A) relative to the reference mark, a substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B) that is positioned in a second rotational orientation (orientation of 10 shown in Figs. 1A and 1B) relative to the reference mark on a substrate receiving surface (144 Fig. 1A) within the CMP system;
polishing a surface (surface of 10 Figs. 1A and 1B) of each of the substrates on the first polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A) coupled to a first platen (120 Fig. 1A), wherein:
the first platen comprises one or more first sensors (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A; “The in-situ monitoring system 160 includes a sensor head at which the measurements are generated” [0042]) that are configured to detect a property (“to detect the thickness of an outer layer that is being polished on a substrate…During polishing of the outer layer, the in-situ monitoring system can determine the thickness of different locations of the layer on the substrate.” [0033]) of a material (material layer of the substrate 10) disposed on the surface of each of the substrates (10 Figs. 1A and 1B),
one of the one or more first sensors (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A; “a sensor head at which the measurements are generated” [0042]) is positioned in a third rotational orientation (orientation of sensor of 160 Fig. 1A) relative to the reference mark (“the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” [0056]),
and a controller (190 Fig. 1A) that is configured to, at a beginning of the process of polishing the surface of each of the substrate, cause the substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B), the carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) and the one or more first sensors (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A; “The in-situ monitoring system 160 includes a sensor head at which the measurements are generated” [0042]) on the first platen (120 Fig. 1A) to be positioned in substantially the same rotational orientations (shown in Fig. 1A) relative to the reference mark and relative to each other (“The edge region 203 can correspond to a portion of the substrate where measurement spots 94 of the sensor head overlap the substrate edge 204” [0057]);
scanning, by the one or more first sensors (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A), a same portion (“The edge region 203 can correspond to a portion of the substrate where measurement spots 94 of the sensor head overlap the substrate edge 204” [0057]; see Fig. 2) of the surface of each of the substrates during the process of polishing the surface of each of the substrates on the first polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A), wherein scanning the same portion of the surface of each of the substrates comprises generating first scan data (“training data” [0090]) that comprises a first detected property of the material disposed on the surface of each of the substrates, wherein generated first scan data is orientation dependent scan data (“the polishing apparatus 100 can use the static formula to determine a thickness of multiple locations, e.g., locations within the edge region, of a first group of substrates. These substrates can be used to generate training data that is used to train the neural network. Then the polishing apparatus 100 can use the neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine a thickness of multiple locations…the polishing apparatus 100 can apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates” [0090]; a neural network is commonly defined as: “A neural network is a computational model inspired by the human brain, designed to recognize patterns, make predictions, and learn from data.”);
determining a difference exists (“apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates” [0090]; “A signal that represents the full scan across the substrate can then be constructed from the modified signal values for the selected portion of the signal and the original measured signal values for the portion that was not selected (i.e., a remainder) (718). In some implementations, the modified signal values can be combined with the non-modified signal values, e.g., using an average weighted based on the location of the measurement, to generate combined signal values. [0104]) between an attribute of a portion of the generated first scan data (data obtained by “first group”; see flow chart of Fig. 9) with an attribute of a portion of a first library scan data stored (“static formula”) in the controller during the process of polishing the surface of each of the substrates (10 Figs. 1A and 1B) on the first polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A); and
adjusting a characteristic (“use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals”) of the process of polishing the surface of each of the substrates on the first polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A) based on the determined difference between the attribute of the portion of the generated first scan data and the attribute of the portion of the first library scan data (“Then the polishing apparatus 100 can use the neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine a thickness of multiple locations, e.g., locations within the edge region of a second group of substrates. For example, the polishing apparatus 100 can apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates.” [0090]).
Referring to claim 2: Xu discloses method of claim 1, wherein the attribute of the portion of the generated first scan data and the attribute of the portion of the first library scan data comprises a peak-to-peak variation (“A signal that represents the full scan across the substrate can then be constructed from the modified signal values for the selected portion of the signal and the original measured signal values for the portion that was not selected (i.e., a remainder) (718). In some implementations, the modified signal values can be combined with the non-modified signal values, e.g., using an average weighted based on the location of the measurement, to generate combined signal values.” [0104]; “Signal” as defined by Merriam-Webster is: 4c: “a detectable physical quantity or impulse (such as a voltage, current, or magnetic field strength) by which messages or information can be transmitted”; “Possible process control and endpoint criteria for the detector logic include local minima or maxima, changes in slope, threshold values in amplitude or slope, or combinations thereof.” [0051]; see flow chart of Fig. 9) in the generated first scan data and the first library scan data.
Referring to claim 3: Xu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the characteristic of the process of polishing the surface of each of the substrates (10 Figs. 1A and 1B) comprises adjusting at least one of an amount of force applied (“The carrier head 140 is operable to hold a substrate 10 against the polishing pad 110. The carrier head 140 can have independent control of the polishing parameters, for example pressure, associated with each respective substrate” [0038]) by the carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) to the substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B), a rotation speed of the carrier head and substrate, and a rotation speed of the first platen (“The controller 190 may also be connected to the pressure mechanisms that control the pressure applied by carrier head 140, to carrier head rotation motor 154 to control the carrier head rotation rate, to the platen rotation motor 121 to control the platen rotation rate” [0052]).
Referring to claim 4: Xu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first library scan data comprises scan data generated from a prior polished substrate polished on the first polishing pad, scan data generated from material property measurements performed on the substrate, or scan data generated by use of a computer generated model (“apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates” [0090]; “A signal that represents the full scan across the substrate can then be constructed from the modified signal values for the selected portion of the signal and the original measured signal values for the portion that was not selected (i.e., a remainder) (718). In some implementations, the modified signal values can be combined with the non-modified signal values, e.g., using an average weighted based on the location of the measurement, to generate combined signal values. [0104]; see flow chart of Fig. 9).
Referring to claim 5: Xu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more first sensors comprise eddy current sensors (“An in-situ monitoring system, e.g., an eddy current monitoring system, can generate a signal as a sensor scans across the substrate” [0019]).
Referring to claim 6: Xu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the generated first scan data substantially matches an endpoint of the first library scan data (“The thickness measurements can be used to trigger a polishing endpoint and/or to adjust processing parameters of the polishing process in real time. For example, a substrate carrier head can adjust the pressure on the backside of the substrate to increase or decrease the polishing rate of the locations of the outer layer. The polishing rate can be adjusted so that the locations of the layer are substantially the same thickness after polishing. The CMP system can adjust the polishing rate so that polishing of the locations of the layer completes at about the same time. Such profile control can be referred to as real time profile control (RTPC).” [0033]); and stopping the polishing of each substrate on the first polishing pad upon determining that the generated first scan data substantially matches the endpoint of the first library scan data (“Possible process control and endpoint criteria for the detector logic include local minima or maxima, changes in slope, threshold values in amplitude or slope, or combinations thereof” [0051])
Referring to claim 16: Xu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (“a non-transitory machine readable storage medium” [0111]) comprising instructions stored thereon that when executed by one or more processors cause a controller (“for execution by, or to control the operation of, data processing apparatus, e.g., a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple processors or computers” [0111]; see flow charts of Figs. 9 and 10) to perform a method of processing a substrate in a chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) system, the method comprising: determining a rotational orientation of the substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B)
relative to a reference mark (“the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” [0056]) of the substrate and
relative to a rotational orientation of a first carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) relative to the reference mark; initiating a first polishing process (“polishing apparatus” [0036]) of a surface (surface of 10 Figs. 1A and 1B) of the substrate engaged with a first polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A), the first polishing process comprising rotating the first polishing pad (“The polishing apparatus 100 includes a rotatable disk-shaped platen 120 on which a polishing pad 110 is situated” [0036]) to a first position (first position to scan edge region 203 of 10) relative to the reference mark and rotating the substrate (“the carrier head 140 can include a retaining ring 142 to retain the substrate 10” [0039]) relative to the reference mark and the first position of the first polishing pad using the first carrier head (“The carrier head 140 is suspended from a support structure 150, e.g., a carousel or a track, and is connected by a drive shaft 152 to a carrier head rotation motor 154 so that the carrier head can rotate about an axis 155”);
scanning (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A; “The in-situ monitoring system 160 includes a sensor head at which the measurements are generated” [0042]; “The sensor moves relative to the substrate to provide a plurality of scans of the sensor across the substrate, and the in-situ monitoring system generating data including, for each scan of the plurality of scans, a plurality of measured signal values for a plurality of different locations on the layer,” [0007]), during the first polishing process, a first portion of the surface of the substrate a first time (“plurality of scans” [0007]) using a first endpoint sensor (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A) coupled to the first polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A) to generate first orientation dependent scan data (“For each scan of the plurality of scans, for each location of the plurality of different locations, a value is generated representing a thickness of the layer at the location, thereby providing a plurality of values representing thicknesses at the plurality of different locations. The generating includes processing at least the plurality of adjusted signal values using one or more processors configured by machine learning. A polishing endpoint is detected and/or a polishing parameter is modified based on the plurality of values representing the thicknesses at the plurality of different locations.” [0007]) by which messages or information can be transmitted”; “Possible process control and endpoint criteria for the detector logic include local minima or maxima, changes in slope, threshold values in amplitude or slope, or combinations thereof.” [0051]) of a property of the first portion of the surface;
comparing the first orientation dependent scan data to a first library of orientation dependent scan data (“plurality of scans” [0007]; see flow charts of Figs. 9 and 10); scanning, during the first polishing process, the first portion of the surface of the substrate a second time (“plurality of scans” [0007]) using the first endpoint sensor to generate second orientation dependent scan data of the property of the first portion of the surface; comparing (“apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates” [0090 of Xu]; “A signal that represents the full scan across the substrate can then be constructed from the modified signal values for the selected portion of the signal and the original measured signal values for the portion that was not selected (i.e., a remainder) (718). In some implementations, the modified signal values can be combined with the non-modified signal values, e.g., using an average weighted based on the location of the measurement, to generate combined signal values. [0104]) the second orientation dependent scan data to the first library
and determining that an endpoint of the first polishing process has been reached; and stopping the first polishing process upon determining that the endpoint of the first polishing process has been reached (“Possible process control and endpoint criteria for the detector logic include local minima or maxima, changes in slope, threshold values in amplitude or slope, or combinations thereof.” [0051]).
Referring to claim 17: Xu discloses the medium of claim 16, the method further comprising: placing the first carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) and first substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B) in a starting position (“A measurement of the substrate from an in-line or stand-alone metrology station can be used in conjunction of measurements from the in-situ eddy current sensor to calibrate a gain of the eddy current monitoring system” [0060]) relative to the first endpoint sensor (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A) and the reference mark (“the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” [0056]) prior to initiating the first polishing process.
Referring to claim 18: Xu discloses the medium of claim 16, the method further comprising: scanning, during the first polishing process prior to scanning the substrate the second time (“plurality of scans” [0007]), a portion of the surface of the substrate using the first endpoint sensor to generate third orientation dependent scan data (“The sensor moves relative to the substrate to provide a plurality of scans of the sensor across the substrate, and the in-situ monitoring system generating data including, for each scan of the plurality of scans, a plurality of measured signal values for a plurality of different locations on the layer,” [0007]; “The inputs 504 to the neural network include measured signal values from the in-situ monitoring system 160 for multiple different locations on the substrate 10, such as a first measured signal value 501, a second measured signal value 502, through an nth measured signal value 503. The measured signal values can be individual values of the sequence of values in the signal 401” [0083]) of the property of the portion of the surface of the substrate; determining that the portion of the surface of the substrate scanned by the first endpoint sensor during the scan of the substrate is not the first portion of the substrate; and adjusting a position of the first carrier head and/or a rotation speed of the first carrier head such that the first endpoint sensor will pass underneath the first portion of the surface during a subsequent scan (”The in-situ monitoring system 160 generates a time-varying sequence of values that depend on the thickness of a layer on the substrate.” [0042]; “The pad wear rate can be dynamic, e.g., vary across polishing operations for multiple substrates, and can be dependent on consumables and process conditions.” [0037]; “The thickness measurements can be used to trigger a polishing endpoint and/or to adjust processing parameters of the polishing process in real time. For example, a substrate carrier head can adjust the pressure on the backside of the substrate to increase or decrease the polishing rate of the locations of the outer layer. The polishing rate can be adjusted so that the locations of the layer are substantially the same thickness after polishing. The CMP system can adjust the polishing rate so that polishing of the locations of the layer completes at about the same time. Such profile control can be referred to as real time profile control (RTPC).” [0033]; see flow charts of Figs. 9 and 10).
Referring to claim 20: Xu discloses the medium of claim 16, wherein determining the rotational orientation of the substrate relative to the rotational orientation of the first carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) includes aligning the substrate in a pre-aligner station (“A measurement of the substrate from an in-line or stand-alone metrology station can be used in conjunction of measurements from the in-situ eddy current sensor to calibrate a gain of the eddy current monitoring system” [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 20230085787 A1) and Adams (US 20030003845 A1).
Referring to claim 7: Xu discloses the method of claim 6, and further discloses “While only one carrier head 140 is shown, more carrier heads can be provided to hold additional substrates so that the surface area of polishing pad 110 may be used efficiently.” [0041], determining a rotational orientation (“the signal 401 is composed of a series of individual measurements from the sensor head as it sweeps below the substrate. The graph 420 can be a function of measurement time or of position, e.g., radial position, of the measurement on the substrate.” [0055]) of the substrate relative to the reference mark (“the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” [0056]) and relative to the rotational orientation of carrier head relative (“In either case, different portions of the signal 401 correspond to measurement spots 94 at different locations on the substrate 10 scanned by the sensor head.” [0055]) to the reference mark using the orientation sensor (orientation of sensor 160 Fig. 1A).
But is silent on further comprising: transferring each substrate from the first polishing pad to a second polishing pad coupled to as second platen using the carrier head; moving the carrier head to a scan position above an orientation sensor coupled to the second platen.
Adams in an analogous method teaches a plurality of platens (24 Fig. 1), polishing pads (30 Fig. 1), carrier heads (70 Fig. 1), and transferring the similar configuration substrates via the transfer station (23 Fig. 1; “Transfer station 23 serves multiple functions, including receiving individual substrates 10 from a loading apparatus (not shown), washing the substrates, loading the substrates into carrier heads, receiving the substrates from the carrier heads, washing the substrates again, and finally, transferring the substrates back to the loading apparatus.” [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu with the assembly and transferring capabilities as taught by Adams for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the overall process and increasing the finished output, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
As detailed above, Xu teaches moving the carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) to a scan position (“The graph 420 can be a function of measurement time or of position, e.g., radial position, of the measurement on the substrate” [0055]) above an orientation sensor (orientation sensor of 160 Fig. 1A; “160 will make measurements for multiple regions 94, e.g., measurement spots, at different locations on the substrate 10.” [0054]) coupled to the first platen (120 Fig. 1A); and determining an orientation of the substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B) relative to the carrier head using the orientation sensor (orientation of sensor 160 Fig. 1A).
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary structures as taught by Xu as modified with Adams with the methods and structures used in the first platen of Xu for the purpose of increasing the finished output since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Referring to claim 8: Xu discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: polishing each substrate on the second polishing pad (30 Fig. 1 of Adams); scanning, by one or more second sensors coupled (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A; “a sensor head at which the measurements are generated” [0042] of Xu) to the second platen (24 Fig. 1 of Adams), the same surface (surface of 203 of 10) of each of the substrates during the process of polishing the surface of each of the substrates on the second polishing pad (30 Fig. 1 of Adams), wherein scanning the surface of each of the substrates comprises generating second scan data (“training data” [0090] of Xu) that comprises a second detected property of the material disposed on the surface of each of the substrates,
wherein the generated second scan data (“training data” [0090] of Xu) is orientation dependent scan data (“the polishing apparatus 100 can use the static formula to determine a thickness of multiple locations, e.g., locations within the edge region, of a first group of substrates. These substrates can be used to generate training data that is used to train the neural network. Then the polishing apparatus 100 can use the neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine a thickness of multiple locations…the polishing apparatus 100 can apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates” [0090 of Xu]; a neural network is commonly defined as: “A neural network is a computational model inspired by the human brain, designed to recognize patterns, make predictions, and learn from data.”); determining a difference exists (“apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates” [0090 of Xu]; “A signal that represents the full scan across the substrate can then be constructed from the modified signal values for the selected portion of the signal and the original measured signal values for the portion that was not selected (i.e., a remainder) (718). In some implementations, the modified signal values can be combined with the non-modified signal values, e.g., using an average weighted based on the location of the measurement, to generate combined signal values. [0104 of Xu]) between an attribute of a portion of the generated second scan data with an attribute of a portion of a second library scan data stored in the controller during the process of polishing the surface of each of the substrates on the second polishing pad (30 Fig. 1 of Adams); and adjusting a characteristic (“use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals” of Xu) of the process of polishing the surface of each of the substrates on the second polishing pad (30 Fig. 1 of Adams) based on the determined difference between the attribute of the portion of the first generated scan data and the attribute of the portion of the second library scan data (“Then the polishing apparatus 100 can use the neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine a thickness of multiple locations, e.g., locations within the edge region of a second group of substrates. For example, the polishing apparatus 100 can apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates.” [0090 of Xu]).
Referring to claim 9: Xu teaches a method of processing a substrate in a chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) system, comprising: the substrate having a reference mark (“the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” [0056]);
determining a rotational orientation (orientation of 10 shown in Figs. 1A and 1B) of the substrate relative to the reference mark and relative a rotational orientation (orientation of 140 shown in Fig. 1A) of to the first carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) relative to the reference mark;
initiating a polishing process of a surface (surface of 10 Figs. 1A and 1B)of the substrate on the first polishing pad; scanning (“The sensor moves relative to the substrate to provide a plurality of scans of the sensor across the substrate, and the in-situ monitoring system generating data including, for each scan of the plurality of scans, a plurality of measured signal values for a plurality of different locations on the layer,” [0007]), during the polishing process, a first portion of the surface (portion of surface of 10 Figs. 1A and 1B) of the substrate a first time (“plurality of scans” [0007]; see flow chart of Fig. 9) using an endpoint sensor (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A; “The in-situ monitoring system 160 includes a sensor head at which the measurements are generated” [0042]) coupled to the first polishing pad to generate first orientation dependent scan data of a property of the first portion of the surface; comparing the first orientation dependent scan data to a first library of orientation dependent scan data;
scanning (“The sensor moves relative to the substrate to provide a plurality of scans of the sensor across the substrate, and the in-situ monitoring system generating data including, for each scan of the plurality of scans, a plurality of measured signal values for a plurality of different locations on the layer,” [0007]), during the polishing process, the first portion (portion of surface of 10 Figs. 1A and 1B) of the surface of the substrate a second time (“plurality of scans” [0007]) using the endpoint sensor to generate second orientation dependent scan data of the property the first portion of the surface; comparing (a neural network is commonly defined as: “A neural network is a computational model inspired by the human brain, designed to recognize patterns, make predictions, and learn from data.”; see flow chart of Fig. 9) the second orientation dependent scan data to the first library and determining that the endpoint of the polishing process has been reached (“For each scan of the plurality of scans, for each location of the plurality of different locations, a value is generated representing a thickness of the layer at the location, thereby providing a plurality of values representing thicknesses at the plurality of different locations. The generating includes processing at least the plurality of adjusted signal values using one or more processors configured by machine learning. A polishing endpoint is detected and/or a polishing parameter is modified based on the plurality of values representing the thicknesses at the plurality of different locations.” [0007]); and stopping the polishing process upon determining that the endpoint has been reached (“Possible process control and endpoint criteria for the detector logic include local minima or maxima, changes in slope, threshold values in amplitude or slope, or combinations thereof” [0051]).
But is silent on: transferring the substrate from a first polishing pad to a second polishing pad using a first carrier head; determining, and after transferring the substrate to the second polishing pad.
Adams in an analogous method teaches transferring (capable of transferring from one pad to another; “Three of the carrier head systems receive and hold substrates, and polish them by pressing them against the polishing pads. Meanwhile, one of the carrier head systems receives a substrate from and delivers a substrate to transfer station 23” [0037]; “Transfer station 23 serves multiple functions, including receiving individual substrates 10 from a loading apparatus (not shown), washing the substrates, loading the substrates into carrier heads, receiving the substrates from the carrier heads, washing the substrates again, and finally, transferring the substrates back to the loading apparatus.” [0034]; “Three of the carrier head systems receive and hold substrates, and polish them by pressing them against the polishing pads. Meanwhile, one of the carrier head systems receives a substrate from and delivers a substrate to transfer station 23” [0037]) a substrate from a first polishing pad (30 Fig. 1) to a second polishing pad (30 Fig. 1) using a first carrier head (70 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu with the assembly and transferring capabilities as taught by Adams for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the overall process and increasing the finished output, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Referring to claim 10: Xu as modified teaches the method of claim 9, wherein comparing the first orientation dependent scan data to the first library comprises determining that a difference exists (“apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates” [0090 of Xu]; “A signal that represents the full scan across the substrate can then be constructed from the modified signal values for the selected portion of the signal and the original measured signal values for the portion that was not selected (i.e., a remainder) (718). In some implementations, the modified signal values can be combined with the non-modified signal values, e.g., using an average weighted based on the location of the measurement, to generate combined signal values. [0104 of Xu]; see flow chart of Fig. 9 of Xu) between an attribute of a portion of the first orientation dependent scan data and an attribute of a portion of the first library.
Referring to claim 11: Xu as modified teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the attribute of the portion of the first orientation dependent scan data and the attribute of the portion of the first library comprises a peak-to-peak variation (“A signal that represents the full scan across the substrate can then be constructed from the modified signal values for the selected portion of the signal and the original measured signal values for the portion that was not selected (i.e., a remainder) (718). In some implementations, the modified signal values can be combined with the non-modified signal values, e.g., using an average weighted based on the location of the measurement, to generate combined signal values.” [0104]; “Signal” as defined by Merriam-Webster is: 4c: “a detectable physical quantity or impulse (such as a voltage, current, or magnetic field strength) by which messages or information can be transmitted”; “Possible process control and endpoint criteria for the detector logic include local minima or maxima, changes in slope, threshold values in amplitude or slope, or combinations thereof.” [0051]) in the first orientation dependent scan data and the first library.
Referring to claim 12: Xu as modified teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: adjusting a polishing characteristic (“use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals” of Xu) of the polishing process based on the determined difference between the attribute of the portion of the first orientation dependent scan data (“Then the polishing apparatus 100 can use the neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine a thickness of multiple locations, e.g., locations within the edge region of a second group of substrates. For example, the polishing apparatus 100 can apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates.” [0090]) and the attribute of the portion of the first library prior to scanning the first portion of the surface of the substrate the second time using the endpoint sensor (“Possible process control and endpoint criteria for the detector logic include local minima or maxima, changes in slope, threshold values in amplitude or slope, or combinations thereof.” [0051]).
Referring to claim 13: Xu as modified teaches the method of claim 12, wherein adjusting the polishing characteristic of the polishing process comprises adjusting at least one of an amount of force applied (“The carrier head 140 is operable to hold a substrate 10 against the polishing pad 110. The carrier head 140 can have independent control of the polishing parameters, for example pressure, associated with each respective substrate” [0038]) by the first carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) to the substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B), a rotation speed of the first carrier head, and a rotation speed of the second polishing pad (30 Fig. 1 of Adams; “The controller 190 may also be connected to the pressure mechanisms that control the pressure applied by carrier head 140, to carrier head rotation motor 154 to control the carrier head rotation rate, to the platen rotation motor 121 to control the platen rotation rate” [0052]).
Referring to claim 14: Xu as modified teaches the method of claim 9, but is silent on further comprising: placing the first carrier head and first substrate in a starting position relative to the second polishing pad prior to initiating the polishing process.
Adams in an analogous method teaches placing the first carrier head (left 70 Fig. 1) and first substrate (left 10 Fig. 1) in a starting position (shown in Fig. 1) relative to the second polishing pad (30 Fig. 1) prior to initiating the polishing process (shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu as modified with the relative starting position as taught by Adams for the purpose of having a structure which can polish numerous substrates simultaneously, and therefore increasing the overall efficiency of the process.
Referring to claim 15: Xu as modified teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: scanning, during the polishing process prior to scanning the substrate the second time (“plurality of scans” [0007]), a second portion of the surface (“the signal 401 is composed of a series of individual measurements from the sensor head as it sweeps below the substrate. The graph 420 can be a function of measurement time or of position, e.g., radial position, of the measurement on the substrate.” [0055]) of the substrate using the endpoint sensor to generate third orientation dependent scan data (“The sensor moves relative to the substrate to provide a plurality of scans of the sensor across the substrate, and the in-situ monitoring system generating data including, for each scan of the plurality of scans, a plurality of measured signal values for a plurality of different locations on the layer,” [0007]; “The inputs 504 to the neural network include measured signal values from the in-situ monitoring system 160 for multiple different locations on the substrate 10, such as a first measured signal value 501, a second measured signal value 502, through an nth measured signal value 503. The measured signal values can be individual values of the sequence of values in the signal 401” [0083]) of the property the portion of the surface; determining that the second portion of the surface of the substrate scanned by the endpoint sensor during the third scan (“the signal 401 is composed of a series of individual measurements from the sensor head as it sweeps below the substrate. The graph 420 can be a function of measurement time or of position, e.g., radial position, of the measurement on the substrate.” [0055]) of the substrate is not the first portion of the substrate; and adjusting a position of the first carrier head and/or a rotation speed of the first carrier head such that the endpoint sensor will pass underneath the first portion of the surface during a subsequent scan (”The in-situ monitoring system 160 generates a time-varying sequence of values that depend on the thickness of a layer on the substrate.” [0042]; “The pad wear rate can be dynamic, e.g., vary across polishing operations for multiple substrates, and can be dependent on consumables and process conditions.” [0037]; “The thickness measurements can be used to trigger a polishing endpoint and/or to adjust processing parameters of the polishing process in real time. For example, a substrate carrier head can adjust the pressure on the backside of the substrate to increase or decrease the polishing rate of the locations of the outer layer. The polishing rate can be adjusted so that the locations of the layer are substantially the same thickness after polishing. The CMP system can adjust the polishing rate so that polishing of the locations of the layer completes at about the same time. Such profile control can be referred to as real time profile control (RTPC).” [0033]; see flow charts of Figs. 9 and 10).
Referring to claim 19: Xu discloses the medium of claim 16, the method further comprising: determining, a rotational orientation (orientation of 10 shown in Figs. 1A and 1B) of the substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B) relative to the reference mark (“the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” [0056]) of the substrate and relative a rotational orientation (orientation of 140 shown in Fig. 1A) of the first carrier head (140 Fig. 1A) relative to the reference mark;
the second polishing process comprising rotating the polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A; “The polishing apparatus 100 includes a rotatable disk-shaped platen 120 on which a polishing pad 110 is situated” [0036]) to the first position relative a to the reference mark (“the signal 401 includes a first portion 422 that corresponds to locations in an edge region 203 of the substrate 10 when the sensor head crosses a leading edge of the substrate 10” [0056])
and rotating the substrate (10 Figs. 1A and 1B) relative to the reference mark and the first position (first position to scan edge region 203 of 10) for the polishing pad using the first carrier head (“The carrier head 140 is suspended from a support structure 150, e.g., a carousel or a track, and is connected by a drive shaft 152 to a carrier head rotation motor 154 so that the carrier head can rotate about an axis 155”); scanning (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A; “The in-situ monitoring system 160 includes a sensor head at which the measurements are generated” [0042]; “The sensor moves relative to the substrate to provide a plurality of scans of the sensor across the substrate, and the in-situ monitoring system generating data including, for each scan of the plurality of scans, a plurality of measured signal values for a plurality of different locations on the layer,” [0007]), during the second polishing process, the first portion of the surface of the substrate a first time (“plurality of scans” [0007]) using the endpoint sensor (sensor of 160 Fig. 1A) coupled to the polishing pad (110 Fig. 1A) to generate third orientation dependent scan data (“For each scan of the plurality of scans, for each location of the plurality of different locations, a value is generated representing a thickness of the layer at the location, thereby providing a plurality of values representing thicknesses at the plurality of different locations. The generating includes processing at least the plurality of adjusted signal values using one or more processors configured by machine learning. A polishing endpoint is detected and/or a polishing parameter is modified based on the plurality of values representing the thicknesses at the plurality of different locations.” [0007]) of the property of the first portion of the surface (surface of 10 Figs. 1A and 1B); comparing the third orientation dependent scan data to a second library of orientation dependent scan data (“plurality of scans” [0007]; see flow charts of Figs. 9 and 10);
scanning, during the second polishing process, the first portion of the surface of the substrate a second time (“plurality of scans” [0007]) using the endpoint sensor to generate fourth orientation dependent scan data of the first portion of the surface; comparing (“apply the static formula to determine thickness values for the first group of substrates, and use the trained neural network 500 to generate modified signals used to determine thickness values for the second group of substrates” [0090 of Xu]; “A signal that represents the full scan across the substrate can then be constructed from the modified signal values for the selected portion of the signal and the original measured signal values for the portion that was not selected (i.e., a remainder) (718). In some implementations, the modified signal values can be combined with the non-modified signal values, e.g., using an average weighted based on the location of the measurement, to generate combined signal values. [0104]) the fourth orientation dependent scan data to the second library and determining that the endpoint of the second polishing process has been reached; and stopping the second polishing process upon determining that the endpoint of the second polishing process has been reached (“Possible process control and endpoint criteria for the detector logic include local minima or maxima, changes in slope, threshold values in amplitude or slope, or combinations thereof.” [0051]).
But is silent on:
transferring the substrate from the first polishing pad to a second polishing pad;
initiating a second polishing process of the surface of the substrate engaged with the second polishing pad; and a second endpoint sensor coupled to the second polishing pad.
Adams in an analogous method teaches transferring (capable of transferring from one pad to another; “Three of the carrier head systems receive and hold substrates, and polish them by pressing them against the polishing pads. Meanwhile, one of the carrier head systems receives a substrate from and delivers a substrate to transfer station 23” [0037]; “Transfer station 23 serves multiple functions, including receiving individual substrates 10 from a loading apparatus (not shown), washing the substrates, loading the substrates into carrier heads, receiving the substrates from the carrier heads, washing the substrates again, and finally, transferring the substrates back to the loading apparatus.” [0034]; “Three of the carrier head systems receive and hold substrates, and polish them by pressing them against the polishing pads. Meanwhile, one of the carrier head systems receives a substrate from and delivers a substrate to transfer station 23” [0037]) a substrate from a first polishing pad (30 Fig. 1) to a second polishing pad (30 Fig. 1) using a first carrier head (70 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu with the assembly and transferring capabilities as taught by Adams for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the overall process and increasing the finished output, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
As a result of being modified with Adams, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu with the second polishing process of the surface of the substrate specifically engaged with the second polishing pad; and a second endpoint sensor coupled to the second polishing pad for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the overall process and increasing the finished output, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723