DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “…Peltier plate comprises a first Peltier plate covering the surface of the, the surface of the housing being an upper surface through which nozzle protrudes…” This limitation is unclear and confusing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang In Ho (KR 20180066738 A) (hereinafter Ho).
Regarding claim 1, Ho anticipates a deposition source comprising: a housing (400) accommodating a deposition material therein; a nozzle (410) connected to the housing and protruding from a surface of the housing, the nozzle being to spray the deposition material accommodated in the housing; a heating portion (500) adjacent to the housing, the heating portion being to heat the deposition material accommodated in the housing; and a Peltier plate (200) covering the surface of the housing and having a through-hole (210) through which the nozzle extends.
Regarding claim 2, Ho anticipates wherein the Peltier plate is to absorb heat outside the deposition source and to transfer the heat to an inside of the deposition source (¶0033).
Regarding claim 3, Ho anticipates a deposition frame (Fig. 2 – the outer frame which holds (400 and (500)) having an inner space in which the housing (400) and the heating portion (500) are accommodated, the deposition frame having an opening (Fig. 2 -the top surface) at least a part of one surface of the deposition frame in which the nozzle is arranged, wherein the Peltier plate (200) covers the part of the one surface of the deposition frame, and the nozzle extends through the Peltier plate (Fig. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 4, Ho anticipates wherein the Peltier plate is a single integral piece that covers an entirety of the one surface of the deposition frame (Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Ho anticipates a cooling portion (300) on one surface of the Peltier plate facing the housing to cool heat from the Peltier plate (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Ho anticipates a reflector (between the housing and the Peltier plate, the reflector to reflect and/or reduce heat generated from an inner space of the deposition source from being transferred to an outside of the deposition source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang In Ho (KR 20180066738 A) (hereinafter Ho), in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0189625 A1) (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses an apparatus manufacturing a display apparatus, the apparatus comprising: a mask assembly (700); and a deposition source (50) to supply a deposition material toward the mask assembly (Fig. 7). Kim is silent about characteristics of the deposition source.
Ho discloses a deposition source comprising: a housing (400) accommodating a deposition material therein; a nozzle (410) connected to the housing and protruding from a surface of the housing, the nozzle being to spray the deposition material accommodated in the housing; a heating portion (500) adjacent to the housing, the heating portion being to heat the deposition material accommodated in the housing; and a Peltier plate (200) covering the surface of the housing and having a through-hole (210) through which the nozzle extends.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a deposition source as taught by Ho within the apparatus as taught by Kim. The benefit of doing so would have been to utilize a cooling member with Peltier-effect device.
Regarding claim 13, Ho discloses wherein the Peltier plate is to absorb heat outside the deposition source and to transfer the heat to an inside of the deposition source (¶0033).
Regarding claim 14, Ho discloses a deposition frame (Fig. 2 – the outer frame which holds (400 and (500)) having an inner space in which the housing (400) and the heating portion (500) are accommodated, the deposition frame having an opening (Fig. 2 -the top surface) at least a part of one surface of the deposition frame in which the nozzle is arranged, wherein the Peltier plate (200) covers the part of the one surface of the deposition frame, and the nozzle extends through the Peltier plate (Fig. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 15, Ho discloses wherein the Peltier plate is a single integral piece that covers an entirety of the one surface of the deposition frame (Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, Ho discloses a cooling portion (300) on one surface of the Peltier plate facing the housing to cool heat from the Peltier plate (Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9-11, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VISHAL I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746