DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. US 2021/0050327 A1 in view of Kwon US 2022/0102256 A1 in view of Lee et al. US 2019/0131221 A1. Shih discloses (see, for example, FIG. 14) a semiconductor package 1a comprising a first redistribution layer 700, a second redistribution layer 900 disposed on the first redistribution layer 700, bridge chip 101 mounted on a bottom surface of the second redistribution layer 900, mold layer 550 enclosing the bridge chip 101, the mold layer 550 between the first redistribution layer 700 and the second redistribution layer 900, a conductive post 510 extending through the mold layer 550 vertically and connecting the first redistribution layer 700 and the second redistribution layer 900, a first semiconductor chip 11 mounted on a top surface of the second redistribution layer 900; and wherein the first redistribution layer 700 comprising a pad layer 718/802 including a plurality of outer pads 718 and a substrate protection layer 802 that horizontally encloses the plurality of outer pads 718; an insulating pattern 712 covering the plurality of outer pads 718 and the substrate protection layer 802; and an interconnection pattern 714 disposed on the insulating pattern 712, extending through the insulating pattern 712, and coupled to the plurality of outer pads 718, wherein a plurality of top surfaces of the plurality of outer pads 718 are exposed to an outside of the substrate protection layer 802 near a top surface of the substrate protection layer 802,wherein a top surface of the pad layer 718/802 is substantially flat, wherein a plurality of bottom surfaces of the plurality of outer pads 718 are exposed to the outside of the substrate protection layer 802 near a bottom surface of the substrate protection layer 802. Shih does not disclose a chip stack including a plurality of second semiconductor chips that are vertically stacked on the top surface of the second redistribution layer and that are horizontally spaced apart from the first semiconductor chip. However, Kwon discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1) a semiconductor package 1 comprising a chip stack 1000 including a plurality of second semiconductor chips 300 that are horizontally spaced apart from a semiconductor chip 500. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a chip stack including a plurality of second semiconductor chips that are vertically stacked on the top surface of the second redistribution layer and that are horizontally spaced apart from the first semiconductor chip in order to have a chip that has many functions divided between multiple sub-chips according to the preferences of the user.
Shih in view of Kwon does not disclose a bottom surface of the pad layer has a continuous wavy shape. However, Lee discloses (see, for example, FIG. 12B) a pad layer 142b having a bottom surface of the pad layer having a continuous wavy shape. In paragraph [0103], Lee discloses the bottom surface having recesses R1, R2, R3 that increase contact area and, hence, the connection reliability. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a bottom surface of the pad layer having a continuous wavy shape in order to increase contact area and, hence the connection reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10, 12, 13, 15 thru 19, and 21 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The references of record, either singularly or in combination, do not teach or suggest at least a semiconductor package comprising: wherein the plurality of top surfaces of the plurality of pads are continuous with the top surface of the first insulating layer, wherein the plurality of bottom surfaces of the plurality of pads are continuous with the bottom surface of the first insulating layer, and wherein a surface flatness of a top surface of the pad layer is greater than a surface flatness of a bottom surface of the pad layer, the top surface of the pad layer corresponding to the top surfaces of the plurality of pads and the top surface of the first insulating layer, the bottom surface of the pad layer corresponding to the plurality of bottom surfaces of the plurality of pads and the bottom surface of the first insulating layer, and the bottom surface of the pad layer having a wavy shape.
Regarding claims 15-19, and 21, the references of record, either singularly or in
combination, do not teach or suggest at least a semiconductor package comprising: a pad layer that includes a substrate protection layer and a plurality of outer pads extending through the substrate protection layer vertically, a top surface of the substrate protection layer and a plurality of top surfaces of the plurality of outer pads being substantially flat and being coplanar with each other, and a bottom surface of the substrate protection layer and a plurality of bottom surfaces of the plurality of outer pads defining a continuous wavy shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12-13,15-19, 21 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
September 17, 2026
Claim(s) 1 thru 3, and 10 thru 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. US 2021/0050327 A1 in view of Lee et al. US 2019/0131221 A1. Shih discloses (see, for example, FIG. 14) a semiconductor package 1a comprising a first redistribution layer 700, bridge chip 101, mold layer 550, second redistribution layer 900, conductive post 510, first semiconductor chip 11, pad layer 718/802, interconnection layer 714, first insulating layer 802, and plurality of pads 718. The top surfaces of the plurality of pads 718 are exposed to an outside of the first insulating layer 802 near a top surface of the first insulating layer 802, and the bottom surfaces of the plurality of pads 718 are exposed to the outside of the first insulating layer 802 near a bottom surface of the first insulating layer 802. Lee does not disclose a surface flatness of a top surface of the pad layer being greater than a surface flatness of a bottom surface of the pad layer. However, Lee discloses (see, for example, FIG. 12B) a pad layer 142b having a surface flatness of at top surface of the pad layer being greater than a surface flatness of a bottom surface of the pad layer 142b. In paragraph [0103], Lee discloses the bottom surface having recesses R1, R2, R3 that increase contact area and, hence, the connection reliability. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a surface flatness of a top surface of the pad layer being greater than a surface flatness of a bottom surface of the pad layer in order to increase contact area and, hence the connection reliability.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses each pad 718 of the
plurality of pads having a uniform width in a vertical direction. Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 3, Shih in view of Lee does not expressly disclose a total thickness variation of the pad layer ranging from 0 um to 10 um; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a total thickness variation of the pad layer ranging from 0 um to 10 um in order to maintain a uniform surface for ensuring a stable connection, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, Shih in view of Lee does not clearly disclose the plurality of pads having a thickness ranging from 5 um to 20 um, and wherein a distance between two adjacent pads of the plurality of pads ranges from 10 um to 150 um; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of pads having a thickness ranging from 5 um to 20 um, and wherein a distance between two adjacent pads of the plurality of pads ranges from 10 um to 150 um in order to provide a solid base for the solder ball while leaving enough space therebetween to prevent contact, and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective value involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses the pads 718 being coplanar to the first insulating layer 802 on both surfaces.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses an inactive surface of the bridge chip 101 being attached to the top surface of the first redistribution layer 700, and wherein the bridge chip 101 comprises a plurality of bumps 210 on a top surface of the bridge chip 101.
Regarding claim 13, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses a top surface of the conductive post 510, a top surface of the mold layer 550, and a plurality of top surfaces of the plurality of bumps 210 being substantially flat and are coplanar with each other.
Claim(s) 4 thru 9, 15 thru 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. US 2021/0050327 A1 in view of Lee et al. US 2019/0131221 A1 as applied to claim 1-3, and 10-13 above, and further in view of Chen et al. US 2014/0103488 A1. Shih in view of Lee does not disclose the interconnection layer comprises: a second insulating layer covering the first insulating layer and the plurality of pads; and an interconnection pattern that is disposed on the second insulating layer, that extends through the second insulating layer, and that is coupled to the plurality of pads. However, Chen discloses (see, for example, Fig. 10) a semiconductor package 66 comprising an interconnection pattern comprising a second insulating layer (i.e. second layer 44 from the top of the four-layer stack of layers 44 shown at the bottom of Fig. 10), first insulating layer (i.e. third layer 44 from the top of the four-layer stack of layers 44 shown at the bottom of Fig. 10), plurality of pads (i.e. metal layer 42 in the third layer 44 from the top of the four-layer stack of layers 44 shown at the bottom of Fig. 10) 42, and an interconnection pattern (i.e. metal layer 42 in top layer 44 of the four-layer stack of layers 44 shown at the bottom of Fig. 10 and the metal layer 42 in the second layer 44 of the four-layer stack of layers 44 shown at the bottom of Fig. 10) that is disposed on the second insulating layer (i.e. second layer 44 from the top of the four-layer stack of layers 44 shown at the bottom of Fig. 10), that extends through the second insulating layer 44, and that is coupled to the plurality of pads 42. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the interconnection layer comprises: a second insulating layer covering the first insulating layer and the plurality of pads; and an interconnection pattern that is disposed on the second insulating layer, that extends through the second insulating layer, and that is coupled to the plurality of pads in order to increase routing density within the semiconductor package that ensures better structural reliability and electrical performance.
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses a first insulating
layer 802 and a second insulating layer 712. In paragraph [0046], Shih discloses the first insulating layer being a solder mask, which are typically made of polymers, and in paragraph [0043] discloses the second insulating layer may include silicon nitride, etc. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer comprising different materials from each other in order to improve etching selectivity for forming the pads and the overlying interconnection pad and/or metallizations according to the preferences of the user.
Regarding claim 6, Shih in view of Lee in view of Chen does not specifically disclose the first insulating layer comprises an epoxy molding compound (EMC) or an Ajinomoto build-up film (ABF), and wherein the second insulating layer comprises a photoimageable dielectric material; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first insulating layer comprises an epoxy molding compound (EMC) or an Ajinomoto build-up film (ABF), and wherein the second insulating layer comprises a photoimageable dielectric material in order to have materials that adequately protect the pads and interconnection layer, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses the conductive post 510 being coupled to a top surface of an interconnection pattern 714.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, Fig. 10 wherein Chen discloses a head portion (i.e. in the top layer 44) 42, and tail portion (i.e. in the second to top layer 44) 42.
Regarding claims 9, and 21, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses the plurality of pads 718 having a thickness that is equal to or smaller than a thickness of the interconnection pattern interconnection pattern 714, and the plurality of pads 718 having a width that is equal to or smaller than a width of the interconnection pattern 714.
Regarding claim 15, see, for example, the rejection for claims 4, and 8 above. In FIG. 14, Shih discloses the substrate protection layer 802, and an insulating pattern 712. Further, Shih in view of Lee in view of Chen does not expressly disclose a total thickness variation of the pad layer ranging from 0 um to 10 um; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a total thickness variation of the pad layer ranging from 0 um to 10 um in order to maintain a uniform surface for ensuring a stable connection, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, FIG. 12B wherein Lee discloses a surface flatness of a top surface of the pad layer 142b being greater than a surface flatness of a bottom surface of the pad layer 142b.
Regarding claim 17, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses each pad 718 of the plurality of pads having a uniform width in a vertical direction. Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 18, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses the plurality of top surfaces of the plurality of outer pads 718 being exposed to an outside of the substrate protection layer 802 near the top surface of the substrate protection layer 802, and wherein a plurality of bottom surfaces of the plurality of outer pads 802 being exposed to the outside of the substrate protection layer 802 near a bottom surface of the substrate protection layer 802.
Regarding claim 19, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Shih discloses a substrate
protection layer 802 and an insulating pattern 712. In paragraph [0046], Shih discloses the substrate protection layer being a solder mask, which are typically made of polymers, and in paragraph [0043] discloses the insulating pattern may include silicon nitride, etc. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the substrate protection layer and insulating pattern comprising different materials from each other in order to improve etching selectivity for forming the pads and the overlying interconnection pad and/or metallizations according to the preferences of the user.