DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2020/0144465).
Lee discloses, as shown in Figures, a light-emitting module comprising:
a substrate (100);
n number of light-emitting elements (LED1, LED2, LED, LED) disposed on the substrate and having n-1 number of first intervals, wherein the n-1 number of first intervals have a first standard deviation (when forming each LED element on the substrate, due to the etching processes, a distance or an interval , DT, between centers of any two LED elements would inherently has first standard deviation), any one of the n-1 number of first intervals is a horizontal distance between two adjacent light-emitting elements among the n number of light-emitting elements, and n is greater than or equal to 3; and
a light-shielding structure (LS) disposed on the n number of light-emitting elements and having n number of light-emitting holes (HL1), wherein each of the n number of light-emitting holes corresponds to each of the n number of light-emitting elements, the n number of light-emitting elements have n-1 number of second intervals, the n-1 number of second intervals have a second standard deviation (note that each hole has a standard deviation for the diameter, W2, due to etching processes so that the interval between any two holes would inherently has second standard deviation), and any one of the n-1 number of second intervals is a horizontal distance between two adjacent light-emitting holes of the n number of light-emitting holes.
Lee does not disclose the first standard deviation is greater than the second standard deviation. However, Lee discloses, in [0063], each LED element has a width (W1) that is larger than a width of the hole (W2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the module of Lee having the first standard deviation is greater than the second standard deviation due to the etching processes.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the light-shielding structure has a concave portion, and the concave portion recesses downwardly between the two adjacent light-emitting elements [Figure 2D].
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses in a cross-sectional view, each of the two adjacent light-emitting elements (LED1,LED2) has a vertical center line, and the horizontal distance (DT) between the two adjacent light-emitting elements (LED1,LED2) is the horizontal distance between two vertical center lines [Figures 2A-2D].
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a width of any one of the n number of light-emitting holes (W2) smaller than a width of any one of the n number of light-emitting elements (W1) [Figures 2A-2D].
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2020/0144465) in view of Ludwig et al. (US 2017/0066168).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the claimed invention including the light-emitting module as explained in the above rejection. Lee does not disclose the light-shielding structure comprises a barrier layer disposed between the n number of light-emitting elements and a light-shielding layer disposed above the barrier layer. However, Ludwig et al. discloses a module having a light-shielding structure comprises a barrier layer (ply 7) disposed between the n number of light-emitting elements (6), and a light-shielding layer (3) disposed above the barrier layer. Note Figure 9 of Ludwig et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the light-shielding structure of Lee comprising a barrier layer disposed between the n number of light-emitting elements and a light-shielding layer disposed above the barrier layer, such as taught by Ludwig et al. in order to the desired output color.
Regarding claim 3, Lee and Ludwig et al. disclose the light-shielding structure further comprises an interposer layer (upper portion of ply 7) disposed between the barrier layer and the light-shielding layer.
Regarding claims 5-6, Lee discloses the claimed invention including the light-emitting module as explained in the above rejection. Lee does not disclose a transparent substrate disposed on the light-shielding structure, wherein the transparent substrate comprises a plurality of optical microstructures disposed above the n number of light-emitting elements, or a lens below a lower surface of the transparent substrate and protruding toward at least one of the n number of light-emitting elements. However, Ludwig et al. discloses a light-emitting module having a transparent substrate disposed on the light-shielding structure (the ply 4 having a plurality of layers with different optical properties, [0017], [0130]), wherein the transparent substrate comprises a plurality of optical microstructures or a lens below a lower surface of the transparent substrate and protruding toward at least one of the n number of light-emitting elements ([0136], Fine optical gratings 72 which prevent or support the out-coupling of the light can be incorporated into the plastic ply 7 and/or the decorative ply 4. Subwavelength gratings are preferably suitable for this, but also comparatively deep and/or coarse structures such as in particular microprisms with a refractive effect). Note Figures 11-13 of Ludwig et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the module of Lee having a transparent substrate disposed on the light-shielding structure, wherein the transparent substrate comprises a lens below a lower surface of the transparent substrate and protruding toward at least one of the n number of light-emitting elements, such as taught by Ludwig et al. in order to have the desired color output.
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the claimed invention including the light-emitting module as explained in the above rejection. Lee does not disclose the module comprising a wavelength conversion layer disposed within at least one of the light-emitting holes. However, Ludwig et al. discloses a module comprising a wavelength conversion layer disposed within at least one of the light-emitting holes. Note [0136] and Figures 11 and 13 of Ludwig et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the module of Lee having a wavelength conversion layer disposed within at least one of the light-emitting holes, such as taught by Ludwig et al. in order to have the desired output light.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the claimed invention including the light-emitting module as explained in the above rejection. Lee does not disclose the module comprising a protective layer disposed above the light-shielding structure. However, Ludwig et al. discloses a module comprising a protective layer (4) disposed above the light-shielding structure (7). Note Figures of Ludwig et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the module of Lee having a protective layer disposed above the light-shielding structure, such as taught by Ludwig et al. in order to protect the module from external contamination.
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897