DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 7/16/26. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over True (2020/0174996) in view of Walter (2009/0031247) and in further view of Qu (2024/0220288.)
Claim 1, 10, 19: True discloses a computing system comprising:
a memory storing instructions (par. 38, the CPU 705 retrieves and executes programming instructions stored in the memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor being configured to execute the instructions (par. 38, the CPU 705 retrieves and executes programming instructions stored in the memory) to:
obtain data about one or more user interactions with a content browser user interface (UI) (par. 18, the data visualization application 100 monitors user interactions with the visual summary), wherein the content browser UI displays a plurality of groups of tiles representing different content items (Fig. 1: 130, left image: showing slices (tiles come in various shapes and sizes) in a circular group; right image: showing word tiles in a group; par. 17, a visual summary is an electronic format file or set of files; a word cloud, while numerical data may be visualized using, e.g., box plots, histograms, graphs, charts, etc);
identify, based on the data about the one or more user interactions (par. 12, the data visualization application may monitor user interactions with the visual summaries and update the same by rebuilding the visual summaries based on the user interactions), a first template specifying a layout of the content browser UI (par. 26, an image showing that a particular data file includes a table with ten columns and fifty rows, as well as metadata information such as the file name and size, and (2) images including graphs or charts that depict properties of data in one or more of the columns of the table; e.g. Fig. 1: 130, layout of the word tiles in a right image) and a second template specifying a configuration (par. 28, determined sequence; par. 28, logic to select particular visualizations to include (or to not create certain visualizations in the first place), as well as to determine an order for the selected visualizations) of one or more groups of tiles of the plurality of groups of tiles (Fig. 1: 130, left image: showing slices (tiles come in various shapes and sizes) in a circular group; right image: showing word tiles in a group; par. 28, multiple graphs generated to depict various data properties may be combined into a single visualization that is added as a frame to a video); and
update the content browser UI based on the first template and the second template (par. 12, Subsequent to generating visual summaries, the data visualization application may monitor user interactions with the visual summaries and update the same by rebuilding the visual summaries based on the user interactions.)
However, True does not explicitly disclose:
device data indicating at least one of a capability of a media device presenting the content browser UI;
the first template indicates at least an ordering of the one or more groups of tiles within a page of the content browser UI and a positioning of the one or more groups of tiles within the page of the content browser UI;
wherein the configuration specified by the second template includes a size of tiles in the one or more groups of tiles that is selected, based on the capability of the media device, to reduce a loading time of the content browser UI at the media device.
Qu discloses as similar system for displaying windows on a terminal, including:
device data indicating at least one of a capability of a media device presenting the content browser UI (par. 13, obtaining a screen size of the terminal);
wherein the configuration specified by the second template includes a size of tiles in the one or more groups of tiles that is selected (par. 13, determining a plurality of display areas of the terminal based on the window sizes and the screen size), based on the capability of the media device (par. 13, determining a plurality of display areas of the terminal based on the window sizes and the screen size; determining a display configuration of each of the to-be-displayed windows based on each of the window locations and the display areas), [to reduce a loading time of the content browser UI at the media device (this limitation is merely an intended purpose. It doesn’t actually indicate whether the loading time is reduced.)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of True with Qu based on a suggestion in Walter for obtaining the screen size before dividing it up into tiles (Walter, par. 22, A rectangular area of an interface screen is selected (210) and divided into a plurality of rectangular sub-areas (220).)
Walter discloses a similar system for arranging tiles on a user interface, including:
the first template indicates at least an ordering of the one or more groups of tiles within a page of the content browser UI and a positioning of the one or more groups of tiles within the page of the content browser UI (Fig. 3A-3B, par. 23, FIG. 3A shows a rectangular area 310 that is subdivided into two side-by-side tiles 320 and 330 (long-dashed boundaries). Tile 330 is further subdivided into three vertically-disposed tiles 340, 350 and 360 (short-dashed boundaries). FIG. 3B shows the corresponding hierarchy: root node 310 represents the top-most rectangular area, and lower-level nodes represent the correspondingly-numbered sub-areas; Fig. 2, par. 22, an explicit "save" operation (260) may be invoked so that the same interface configuration can be restored at another time.)
wherein the configuration specified by the second template includes a size of tiles in the one or more groups of tiles that is selected (Fig. 3A: shows a configuration with 4 tiles of different sizes in 2 groups; it is inherent that the sizes are specified; such as to allow the user to re-size them: par. 26.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of True with Walter so as to enable a user to create, save and then later load configurations of content in tiled groups on a user interface.
Claim 2, 11, 20: True Qu and Walter disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions further to: obtain additional data about the one or more user interactions with the content browser UI; update the first template based on the additional data about the one or more user interactions; and update of the content browser UI based on the updated first template (True par. 18, Subsequent to generating the visual summary of the data 110, the data visualization application 100 monitors user interactions with the visual summary and updates the visual summary based on such user interactions.)
Claim 3, 12: True Qu and Walter disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the first template indicates at least one of a number of groups of tiles to include in a page of the content browser UI, a group type of each of the number of groups of tiles, a number of tiles to include each of the number of groups of tiles, and a layout of each of the number of groups (True Fig. 1: 130, layout of the graph on the first page / image (left side) and layout of the word tiles in the second page / image (right side.))
Claim 4, 13: True Qu and Walter disclose the computing system of claim 3, wherein the layout may include at least one of a row layout and a column layout (True par. 26, an image showing that a particular data file includes a table with ten columns and fifty rows.)
Claim 5, 14: True Qu and Walter disclose the computing system of claim 3, wherein the group type (True par. 27, word cloud) is associated with at least one of a genre, an application, and a media type (True par. 27, text type; the content creation module 104 may generate a word cloud visualization showing the relative importance or frequency of words in text data.)
Claim 6, 15: True Qu and Walter disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions further to: obtain metric data associated with the content browser UI (True par. 27, frequency of words in text data), and wherein identifying the first template and the second template is further based on the metric data (True par. 27, may generate a word cloud visualization showing the relative importance.)
Claim 7, 16: True Qu and Walter disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the data about the one or more user interactions includes at least one of engagement data, account data, content affinity data, platform affinity data, genre affinity data, context data and interface data (True par. 18, e.g. how long they watched the video.)
Claim 8, 17: True Qu and Walter disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the configuration specified in the second template comprises at least one of an aspect ratio of the one or more groups of tiles, a size of the one or more groups of tiles, and one or more display attributes of the one or more groups of tiles (True par. 35, the updated summary function may cause particular visualizations and/or portions of the visual summary that are weighted more heavily based on monitored user interactions to be placed more prominently in a rebuilt version.)
Claim 9, 18: True Qu and Walter disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein to identify the first template and the second template, the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: apply one or more machine learning processes to the data about the one or more user interactions, wherein identifying the first template and the second template is based on the application of the one or more machine learning processes to the data about the one or more user interactions (True par. 32, machine learning techniques may be employed to learn from the monitored user interactions and improve the visual summary.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lane (2022/0116467) compute device can monitor interactions with a user and/or remote entity.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2145
7/20/26