DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-18, 20, 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/23/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I/Species A in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examples have not been given. This is not found persuasive because the apparatus of claim 1 is capable of being used such that the temperature does not increase to vapor, and/or a powering down mode where the vapor condenses to liquid from passive cooling and/or a method of manufacture where the apparatus of claim 1 is taken apart and the parts are removed for replacement or maintenance.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an electronic control unit” in claim 1. The phrase has been examined as -- an electronic controller --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the one or more cooling fins ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency from a claim that has been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISLAM et al. US 2021/0281149 Al in view of Song US 20190319551 A1.
Re claim 1, ISLAM et al. teach a cooling system for an electric vehicle wheel control system, comprising: a housing (housing enclosing 280, paras 51-53) including an interior surface defining a fluid tight coolant cavity; dielectric coolant pooled within the fluid tight coolant cavity (paras 51-53); and an electronic control unit for controlling a wheel assembly of an electric vehicle, the electronic control unit including a printed circuit board (para 53 lines 4-8) and a power inverter circuit (para 42 last four lines), the electronic control unit being positioned within the fluid tight coolant cavity with the power inverter circuit and the printed circuit board (para 53 lines 4-8) at least partially submerged in the dielectric coolant (para 42 last four lines); wherein during operation the electronic control unit controls a wheel assembly of an electric vehicle, the temperature of the power inverter increases, the increasing temperature of the power inverter increases the temperature of the dielectric coolant, the increasing temperature of the dielectric coolant results in the dielectric coolant transforming from a liquid to a gas and/or a vapor, the dielectric coolant in the gas and/or vapor form condenses on the portion of the interior surface of the fluid tight coolant cavity that is not in contact with the liquid dielectric coolant, and the condensed dielectric coolant migrates to the pooled dielectric coolant.
Additionally, Song teach the power inverter circuit and the printed circuit board at least partially submerged in the dielectric coolant to provide cooling for the different portions of the circuit (claims 17, 12, 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include cooling details as taught by Song in the ISLAM et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for lighter weight heat sink cooling.
Re claim 2, ISLAM et al. teach wherein the fluid tight coolant cavity is formed within a load bearing component of the electric vehicle suspension system (without defining the suspension system the limitations are interpreted to be within the bounds and/or connections of the system (para 27).
Re claim 3, ISLAM et al. teach wherein the load bearing component of the electric vehicle suspension system is a suspension knuckle (para 27).
Re claim 4, ISLAM et al. teach wherein the suspension knuckle defines a suspension system connection member for attaching to another component of the vehicle suspension system and wheel connection member for attaching to a wheel hub or wheel spindle (para 27; it is noted that the italicized limitation is a functional limitation which the reference is capable of performing).
Re claim 6, ISLAM et al. teach wherein the power inverter circuit is soldered to a heat sink (noting 600 , 370 or 800 can act as heat sinks).
The recitation of “is soldered” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. In product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.”
Claim(s) 5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISLAM et al. US 2021/0281149 Al in view of Song US 20190319551 A1 in view of Ankit US 20230158879 A1.
Re claim 5, ISLAM et al. fail to explicitly teach frame details.
Ankit teach wherein the load bearing component of the electric vehicle suspension system defines an external surface, and the external surface includes cooling fins (annotated fig) to brace adjacent parts .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include frame details as taught by Ankit in the ISLAM et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for strength in a frame.
Re claim 7, ISLAM et al. teach and the power inverter circuit is soldered to the heat sink by directing a laser to the heat sink between the two or more cooling fins (see the rejection of claim 6).
The recitation of “is soldered to the heat sink by directing a laser to the heat sink between the two or more cooling fins” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. In product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.”
ISLAM et al. fail to explicitly teach frame details.
Ankit teach the heat sink includes two or more cooling fins (annotated fig, see the rejection of claim 6) to brace adjacent parts .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include frame details as taught by Ankit in the ISLAM et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for strength in a frame.
Re claim 8, ISLAM et al. fail to explicitly teach frame details.
Ankit teach each of the one or more cooling fins includes one or more secondary fins (annotated fig) to brace adjacent parts .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include frame details as taught by Ankit in the ISLAM et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for strength in a frame.
Re claim 9, ISLAM et al. teach wherein the fluid tight coolant cavity is formed within a suspension knuckle and the suspension knuckle is a load bearing member of the electric vehicle suspension system (para 27, see the rejection of claim 2), the suspension knuckle defines a suspension system connection member for attaching to another component of the vehicle suspension system (other wheels or attachment components as described in para 27 with four wheels each having 10, fig 2) and wheel connection member for attaching to a wheel hub or wheel spindle (para 41), the suspension knuckle defines an external surface, the power inverter circuit is soldered to a heat sink (fig 2).
ISLAM et al. fail to explicitly teach frame details.
Ankit teach and the external surface includes cooling fins (annotated fig, see the rejection of claim 6) to brace adjacent parts .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include frame details as taught by Ankit in the ISLAM et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for strength in a frame.
The recitation of “is soldered” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. In product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.”
Conclusion
/GORDON A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763