Detailed Action
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of Group II (Claims 9-19), without traverse, in the response filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gelorme (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0061474).
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 2 of Gelorme discloses an apparatus, comprising: an integrated circuit (200) defining an external surface; a heat sink (202) defining a base; and a layer of electrically conductive solder (104) between the external surface of the integrated circuit and the base of the finned heat sink; wherein the interface between the integrated circuit and the electrically conductive solder includes an intermetallic bond.
Claims 9-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furman (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0240279).
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 1 of Furman discloses an apparatus, comprising: an integrated circuit (102) defining an external surface; a heat sink (104) defining a base (116); and a layer of electrically conductive solder (114) between the external surface of the integrated circuit and the base of the finned heat sink; wherein the interface between the integrated circuit and the electrically conductive solder includes an intermetallic bond.
Regarding Claim 10
The limitation “the intermetallic bond between the integrated circuit and the electrically conductive solder and the intermetallic bond between the heat sink and the electrically conductive solder are formed by heating the heat sink with a laser” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 1 of Furman discloses the heat sink includes at least two cooling fins (112) extending from the base. The limitation “the intermetallic bond between the integrated circuit and the electrically conductive solder and the intermetallic bond between the heat sink and the electrically conductive solder are formed by directing the laser to the heat sink base and between the at least two cooling fins” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 12
The limitation “the intermetallic bond between the integrated circuit and the electrically conductive solder and the intermetallic bond between the heat sink and the electrically conductive solder are formed by moving the laser to different locations of the heat sink base and between the at least two cooling fins” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman, in view of Andre (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0380227).
Regarding Claim 13
Furman discloses Claim 9.
Furman is silent with respect to “a housing defining a cavity; and liquid coolant held within the cavity; wherein the integrated circuit and the heat sink are positioned in the cavity and immersed in the liquid coolant”.
FIG. 1 of Andre discloses a similar apparatus, comprising a housing (102/104) defining a cavity; and liquid coolant held within the cavity [0020]; wherein the integrated circuit and the heat sink are positioned in the cavity and immersed in the liquid coolant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Furman, as taught by Andre. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Furman in the above manner for purpose of improving cooling system ([0006] of Andre).
Claims 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelorme, in view of Flotta (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0294106).
Regarding Claim 13
Gelorme discloses Claim 9.
Gelorme is silent with respect to “a housing defining a cavity; and liquid coolant held within the cavity; wherein the integrated circuit and the heat sink are positioned in the cavity and immersed in the liquid coolant”.
FIG. 3 of Flotta discloses a similar apparatus, comprising a housing defining a cavity; and liquid coolant held within the cavity [0022]; wherein the integrated circuit (302) and the heat sink (322) are positioned in the cavity and immersed in the liquid coolant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gelorme, as taught by Flotta. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Gelorme in the above manner for purpose of providing an efficient and low-risk cooling ([0003] of Flotta).
Regarding Claim 14
The recitation “during operation of the integrated circuit: the integrated circuit generates heat, the heat from the integrated circuit heats the liquid coolant, the heat from the liquid coolant heats the housing, and the housing heats the environment surrounding the housing” is functional limitation. When the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, then the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Regarding Claim 15
The recitation “the heat from the integrated circuit heats the liquid coolant to a temperature at which the liquid coolant transitions to a vapor or a gas, and the coolant in the vapor or gas state condenses to a liquid when the heat from the liquid coolant heats the housing” is functional limitation. When the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, then the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelorme and Flotta, in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0141998).
Regarding Claim 16
Gelorme as modified by Flotta discloses Claim 13.
Gelorme as modified by Flotta is silent with respect to “the housing includes one or more cooling fins”.
FIG. 3 of Chen discloses a similar apparatus, wherein the housing includes one or more cooling fins (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gelorme, as taught by Chen. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Gelorme in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation efficiency ([0006] of Chen).
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelorme Flotta and Chen, in view of Zhuang (CN 209409935, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 17
Gelorme as modified by Flotta and Chen discloses Claim 16.
Gelorme as modified by Flotta and Chen is silent with respect to “the housing is suspension knuckle, wherein the suspension knuckle is an integral member and load bearing member of a vehicle suspension system”.
FIG. 1 of Zhuang discloses a similar apparatus, wherein the housing is suspension knuckle, wherein the suspension knuckle is an integral member and load bearing member of a vehicle suspension system [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gelorme, as taught by Zhuang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Gelorme in the above manner for purpose of providing a vehicle GPS position device ([0004] of Zhuang).
Claims 18 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelorme, in view of Flotta, in view of Zhong (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0104450), in view of Zhuang.
Regarding Claim 18
Gelorme discloses Claim 9.
Gelorme is silent with respect to “a suspension knuckle housing defining a cavity and one or more cooling fins, wherein the suspension knuckle is a structural and load bearing member of a vehicle suspension system and the suspension knuckle includes a wheel hub or a wheel spindle; and liquid coolant held within the cavity; wherein the integrated circuit and the heat sink are positioned in the cavity and immersed in the liquid coolant, and during operation of the integrated circuit the integrated circuit generates heat, the heat from the integrated circuit heats the liquid coolant to a temperature at which the liquid coolant transitions to a vapor or a gas, the heat from the liquid coolant heats the housing resulting in cooling of the vapor or gas coolant and the coolant transitioning from a gas or a vapor to a liquid, and the housing heats the environment surrounding the housing”.
FIG. 3 of Flotta discloses a similar apparatus, comprising a housing defining a cavity; and liquid coolant held within the cavity [0022]; wherein the integrated circuit (302) and the heat sink (322) are positioned in the cavity and immersed in the liquid coolant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gelorme, as taught by Flotta. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Gelorme in the above manner for purpose of providing an efficient and low-risk cooling ([0003] of Flotta).
Gelorme as modified by Flotta is silent with respect to “a suspension knuckle housing defining a cavity and one or more cooling fins, wherein the suspension knuckle is a structural and load bearing member of a vehicle suspension system and the suspension knuckle includes a wheel hub or a wheel spindle”.
FIG. 1 of Zhong discloses a similar apparatus, wherein the housing includes one or more cooling fins (120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gelorme, as taught by Zhong. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Gelorme in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation efficiency ([0002] of Zhong).
Gelorme as modified by Flotta and Zhong is silent with respect to “a suspension knuckle housing”, “the suspension knuckle is a structural and load bearing member of a vehicle suspension system and the suspension knuckle includes a wheel hub or a wheel spindle”.
FIG. 1 of Zhuang discloses a similar apparatus, comprising a suspension knuckle housing wherein the housing is suspension knuckle, wherein the suspension knuckle is an integral member and load bearing member of a vehicle suspension system [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gelorme, as taught by Zhuang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Gelorme in the above manner for purpose of providing a vehicle GPS position device ([0004] of Zhuang).
The recitation “the heat from the integrated circuit heats the liquid coolant to a temperature at which the liquid coolant transitions to a vapor or a gas, the heat from the liquid coolant heats the housing resulting in cooling of the vapor or gas coolant and the coolant transitioning from a gas or a vapor to a liquid, and the housing heats the environment surrounding the housing” is functional limitation. When the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, then the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Regarding Claim 19
The limitation “the intermetallic bond between the integrated circuit and the electrically conductive solder and the intermetallic bond between the heat sink and the electrically conductive solder are formed by heating the heat sink with a laser” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Pertinent Art
20080271875, 20190360764, 20190387641.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897