DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “PROJECTION DEVICE,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Objection/s to the Claim/s
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the optical engine is…” on line 3. It appears “optical engine module” is intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20210373421 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a projection device (200; Fig. 1-6B), comprising: a housing (110), a light source module (210), an optical engine module (220), a liquid cooling module (100), a first fan group (160), and a projection lens (230), wherein the housing (110) comprises a light emitting side plate (SW1), an air outlet side plate (SW3), a first side plate (SW2/SW4), and a second side plate (SW4/SW2), wherein the light emitting side plate (SW1), the air outlet side plate (SW3), the first side plate (SW2/SW4), and the second side plate (SW4/SW2) surround an accommodating space; the light source module (210), the optical engine module (220), the liquid cooling module (100), the first fan group (160), and at least a portion of the projection lens (230) are disposed in the accommodating space; the projection lens (230) is disposed on the light emitting side plate (SW1), the air outlet side plate (SW3) has an air outlet (114), and at least one of the light emitting side plate (SW1), the first side plate (SW2/SW4), and the second side plate (SW4/SW2) has at least one air inlet (112, AI); and the liquid cooling module (100) comprises a heat exchanger (140), the heat exchanger (140) is adjacent to the air outlet (114) of the air outlet side plate (SW3) and comprises a cooling fin set (140, [0027]).
Chen does not teach the first fan group (160) located between the heat exchanger (140) and the air outlet (114), and an orthographic projection area of the cooling fin set (140, [0027]) of the heat exchanger (140) on the air outlet side plate (SW3) is smaller than or equal to an orthographic projection area of the first fan group (160) on the air outlet side plate (SW3). In other words, Chen does not teach first fan group (160) located between the heat exchanger (140) and the air outlet (114) and the area covered by cooling fin set being smaller than or equal to the area covered by the first fan group when viewed from the air outlet side plate.
Chen teaches “[i]n other embodiments not shown, the number of the first fan 150 and the second fan 160 may be one, two or more than three, and those skilled in the art can correspondingly change the number or position of the first fans 150 and the second fans 160 according to the needs. However, the invention is not limited thereto.” ([0030]). The number of fans determines the area covered by the fans when viewed from a certain direction.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the first fan group (160) located between the heat exchanger (140) and the air outlet (114), and the area covered by cooling fin set (140) being smaller than or equal to the area covered by the first fan group (160) when viewed from the air outlet side plate (SW3) because it is a matter of design choice as suggested by Chen. In other words, the changing position and number of first fan group (160) in relation to the heat exchange (140) and the air outlet (114) such that the area covered by the cooling fin set (140) is smaller than the area covered by the first fan group (160) is suggested by Chen as discussed above in paragraph [0030] of Chen; hence it is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Chen does not explicitly teach the orthographic projection area of the first fan group (160) on the air outlet side plate (SW3) being equal to an area of the air outlet (114).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the orthographic projection area of the first fan group (160) on the air outlet side plate (SW3) being equal to an area of the air outlet (114); because it is a matter of design choice as suggested by Chen. (See claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Chen further teaches the air outlet side plate (SW3) and the light emitting side plate (SW1) are located on opposite sides of the housing (110) and are both connected to the first side plate (SW2/SW4) and the second side plate (SW4/SW2), and an air outlet (114) direction of the air outlet (114) is parallel to and opposite to an light emitting direction of the projection lens (230; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Chen further teaches, inherently, a power module, disposed in the accommodating space. Chen does not explicitly teach the power module located between the projection lens (230) and the first side plate (SW2/SW4).
Having the power module located between the projection lens (230) and the first side plate (SW2/SW4) requires only rearrangement of parts that does not change the principle of operation in any way.
Regarding claim 5, Chen further teaches an optical engine cooling module (124), disposed in the accommodating space and connected to the optical engine module (220; [0022], [0028], [0036]), wherein the optical engine cooling module (124) is located between the projection lens (230) and the second side plate (SW4/SW2; Fig. 2, 4, 5), wherein the at least one air inlet (112, AI) is provided with the light emitting side plate (SW1), and the optical engine cooling module (124) is disposed adjacent to the at least one air inlet (112, AI) provided with the light emitting side plate (SW1; Fig. 2, 4, 5).
Rearrangement of parts without changing the operation of the reference device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 6, Chen further teaches there is a plurality of the at least one air inlets (112, AI), the air inlets (112, AI) comprises two first air inlets (112, AI) and a plurality of second air inlets (112, AI), the two first air inlets (112, AI) are provided with the light emitting side plate (SW1) and are respectively located on two sides of the projection lens (230), and the second air inlets (112, AI) are respectively disposed on the first side plate (SW2/SW4) and the second side plate (SW4/SW2; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Chen further teaches an area of the two first air inlets (112, AI) plus an area of the second air inlets (112, AI) is greater than an area of the air outlet (114).
Regarding claim 8, Chen does not explicitly teach a second fan group, disposed in the accommodating space, wherein the heat exchanger (140) is located between the first fan group (160) and the second fan group, wherein there are no elements disposed between the second fan group and the heat exchanger (140).
Chen teaches “[i]n other embodiments not shown, the number of the first fan 150 and the second fan 160 may be one, two or more than three, and those skilled in the art can correspondingly change the number or position of the first fans 150 and the second fans 160 according to the needs. However, the invention is not limited thereto.” ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the heat exchanger (140) located between the first fan group (160) and the second fan group, where no element is disposed between the second fan group and the heat exchanger (140); because it is a matter of design choice as suggested by Chen.
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Chen as in claim 8 consequently results in an air outlet region of the second fan group faces the air outlet side plate (SW3) and corresponds to an air inlet region of the first fan group (160).
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Chen as in claim 8 consequently results in an orthographic projection area of the second fan group on the air outlet side plate (SW3) is smaller than or equal to the orthographic projection area of the cooling fin set (140, [0027]) of the heat exchanger (140) on the air outlet side plate (SW3).
Regarding claim 14, Chen further teaches the light source module (210) further comprises: inherently, a light source driver, disposed in the accommodating space and connected to a light emitting element of the light source module (210).
Chen does not teach the light source driver is adjacent to the second side plate (SW4/SW2).
Having the light source driver being adjacent to the second side plate (SW4/SW2) requires only rearrangement of parts that does not change the principle of operation in any way.
Rearrangement of parts without changing the operation of the reference device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 16, Chen further teaches the liquid cooling module (100) further comprises a liquid cooling plate (120, 122, 1221, 1222, 124), a driving element (P) and a plurality of pipes (PL), the heat exchanger (140), the liquid cooling plate (120, 122, 1221, 1222, 124) and the driving element (P) are connected to each other by the pipes (PL) to form a loop, and the liquid cooling plate (120, 122, 1221, 1222, 124) is disposed adjacent to the light source module (210) or the optical engine module (220) to transfer heat generated by the light source module (210) or the optical engine module (220) to the heat exchanger (140) through the loop ([0028]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen further teaches the liquid cooling module (100) further comprises an accommodating tank (T) connected to the pipes (PL) and configured to accommodate a liquid medium, wherein the liquid medium in the accommodating tank (T) is transferred into the pipes (PL) through the driving element (P; [0029]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen further suggests an optical axis of the projection lens (230) corresponds to a center point of the light emitting side plate (SW1) of the housing (110; Fig. 2-5).
Regarding claim 19, Chen further teaches the light source module (210) is configured to provide an illumination beam; the optical engine module (220) is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam and configured to convert the illumination beam into an image light beam; and the projection lens (230) is disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection device (200; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Chen does not explicitly teach the second side plate (SW4/SW2) and the light emitting side plate (SW1) located on opposite sides of the housing (110) and both connected to the first side plate (SW2/SW4) and the air outlet side plate (SW3), and an air outlet (114) direction of the air outlet (114) not parallel to an light emitting direction of the projection lens (230).
Having the second side plate (SW4/SW2) and the light emitting side plate (SW1) located on opposite sides of the housing (110) and both connected to the first side plate (SW2/SW4) and the air outlet side plate (SW3), and an air outlet (114) direction of the air outlet (114) not parallel to an light emitting direction of the projection lens (230) requires only rearrangement of parts that does not change the principle of operation in any way.
Rearrangement of parts without changing the operation of the reference device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 21, Chen further teaches there is a plurality of the at least one air inlets (112, AI), the air inlets (112, AI) comprises one first air inlet (AI) and a plurality of second air inlets (112), the first air inlet (AI) is provided with the light emitting side plate (SW1) and is located on one side of the projection lens (230), and the second air inlets (112) are respectively disposed on the first side plate (SW2/SW4) and the second side plate (SW4/SW2; Fig. 4).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Lim (US 20130077054 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Chen does not explicitly teach at least one of the first fan group (160) and the second fan group comprises at least one axial flow fan, and an axial direction of the axial flow fan is parallel to a cooling air flow direction of the cooling fin set (140, [0027]).
Lim teaches using the axial fans (322) to expel heat from the cooling fin set out of the projector (Fig. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chen with Lim; because axial fans is a proven technology that eliminates undue experimentation.
Regarding claim 12, Chen further teaches the heat exchanger (140) further comprises at least one liquid flow pipe (PL), the at least one liquid flow pipe (PL) is disposed in the cooling fin set (140, [0027]), and a liquid flow direction of the at least one liquid flow pipe (PL) is perpendicular to the axial direction of the at least one axial flow fan (160; Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art references, Chen and Lim, do not teach, by themselves or in combination with one another, “the light source module comprises: a wheel module, disposed in the accommodating space and adjacent to the first side plate, wherein the wheel module comprises a phosphor wheel and a wheel cooling module, the wheel cooling module is located between the phosphor wheel and the second fan group, the wheel cooling module comprises a wheel cooling fin set, and the second fan group is located between the wheel cooling fin set and the heat exchanger.” Furthermore, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation in the prior art references to modify the references in such manner that results in the above claimed limitation/s; hence the invention as claimed by claim 13 is not obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claim 15 depends on claim 13; hence it also is allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent document, US 20210033952 A1, discloses a liquid cooling system in a projector having the heat exchange located adjacent to the outlet of the projector housing.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882