DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-7 are pending and presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “weak” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “weak” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, any alkaline developer will be interpreted to read on a “weak alkaline developer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karasawa et al. (EP 0633296).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, Karasawa teaches a method comprising: conducting a coating process by applying a coating layer on a stepped surface of a workpiece
(Figure 1, the black pattern is the stepped surface with a lower region, an upper region and a middle region) having a red first color (0035-0036 and Figure 1); then forming an ink layer that has a green color, potentially by vacuum deposition (0037, and note that this is a type of physical vapor deposition), that covers the upper, middle and lower regions; soft baking the ink layer (0035-0036 and Figure 1); exposing the ink layer to light to crosslink a first area of the ink layer corresponding to a lower and middle region of the stepped surface (0035-0036 and Figure 1); then developing the ink layer, with an alkaline developer (0030) wherein the ink layer on the upper surface is not crosslinked to expose the red color on the coating layer formed on the upper surface (0035-0036 and Figure 1); and then hard baking (0035) the ink layer to provide the stepped surface which has the green color on the lower region and middle shoulder region and a red color formed on an upper region
(Figure 1, note that the green color, element 6 is on the lower region and middle region and has been removed from the upper region exposing the red color, element 5 on the upper surface). Karasawa teaches that the workpiece can be a plastic (0038). Karasawa teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1-3 and 6; therefore, Karasawa anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 4, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karasawa.
I. Regarding claim 4, Karasawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach a thickness of 5-8 microns. However, Karasawa teaches that the thickness of the ink layers can be 0.5-100 microns (0035) which overlaps with the claimed range. Furthermore, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness.
II. Regarding claim 5, Karasawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the soft baking done at a temperature of 90-120 ºC for a range of 5-15 minutes. However, Karasawa teaches soft baking at 85-100 ºC for 2-5 minutes which overlaps with the claimed ranges (0081). Furthermore, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness.
III. Regarding claim 7, Karasawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 including a post-bake step under suitable conditions (0035), but fails to explicitly teach the ink layer hard baked at 140-160 ºC for no shorter than one hour. However, adjusting the baking temperature will adjust the time necessary for baking as well as the final curing of the ink layer. Furthermore, the baking time and temperature will necessarily need to be adjusted based on the particular dye and ink layer that is applied. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
January 16, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717