DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. This Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on date: 1/09/2026.
Claims 1-34 are currently pending.
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 16, 18-19, 23, 25, 27, 31-32 have been amended.
Claims 1, 16, 23, and 31 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, see in pages 13-14 in the submitted Remarks, filed on 1/09/2026, with respect to the rejection on claims 1-34 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner Notes
3. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-7, 11-15, 17-18, 22-23, 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marc et al. (CA-2907434 cited from IDS; hereinafter “Marc”) in view of Harris et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0034507; hereinafter “Harris”).
Regarding claim 1 and similarly claim 16, Marc discloses a method comprising: applying power to a wire of a power delivery system (a power supply
source 4 supplying power to an electrical line 3 of an electrical network in Fig. 1); applying onto the wire a chirp pulse comprising a waveforms of a plurality of frequencies (an injection unit 11, in Fig. 1, delivering an electrical signal or a sensor signal which forms the injection signal which is injected into the electrical line 3, where high frequency electrical signals are generated based on multi-carrier reflectometry method, i.e. a plurality of frequencies); obtaining a signal on the wire (see 1, 12 and 13 in Figs. 1 and 3 where
signals are obtained in the wire); analyzing an impedance of the signal at two or more frequencies of the plurality of frequencies with respect to a reference impedance to determine whether there is an indication of an impedance-based fault in the power delivery system (see lines 1-10 in page 1 and claims 1, 2, 14 and 15 where the impedance is detected based on the multi-carrier reflectometry method, and determining a fault when a detected impedance change exceeds a given threshold); and disconnecting the power from the wire in the power delivery system in response to determining an indication of the impedance-based fault (see Fig. 1 and claim 1 where the relay switch 5 is open when a fault is detected). Marc does not disclose injecting successive chirp pulses, each chirp pulse comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period. Harris discloses a cable network tester (100 in Fig. 1) connected to the cable network (1) and configured to inject a probe signal (101 in Figs. 1-2) into the cable network (1), wherein the injecting the probe signal (101) comprises successive chirp pulses (“a pulsed probe signal 101 that is comprised of one or more frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 into a cable network” in paragraph [0044] and Fig. 2), each chirp pulse (a chirp pulse 111 in Figs. 2 and 8A) comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies (The one or more frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 are electrical pulses that are formed of an oscillatory electrical signal which oscillation frequency f is “swept”, i.e. continuously increased or decreased, in time during each pulse across a pre-defined frequency sweep band (fmax, fmin) between a minimum frequency fmin and a maximum frequency fmax. The frequency sweep band (fmax, fmin) is also referred to herein as the probe frequency band. The frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 may be referred as the frequency-swept pulses 111. An example of the pulsed probe signal 101 that is composed of a sequence of the frequency-swept probe pulses 111 of a pulse duration τ and pulse period P is schematically illustrated in FIG. 2. See [0044] ) and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period (a quiet period P in Figs. 2 and 8A. The quiet period P is a wait time P between the transmission of consecutive probe pulses 111 in the probe signal 101. See [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electrical network fault detection system of Marc by applying onto the wire successive chirp pulses, each chirp pulse comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period as taught by Harris for purpose of providing a test system that enables utilizing frequency-chirped probe pulses for locating faults in an operational cable network, so that the pulse energy can be spread over a comparatively longer time period, thus reducing power of the probe signal to lessen interference with downstream signals for end users. The method enables utilizing chirped probe pulses for fault location in a cable network by suitably selecting parameters of the probe pulse signal such as pulse width, pulse spacing and pulse bandwidth, so that time domain reflectometry measurements can be performed while the network is in operation without significantly affecting subscriber services (see the summary).
Regarding claim 2, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Harris further teaches comprising: continuously delivering power from a power transmitter to a power receiver over a cable that includes the wire, wherein the applying the successive chirp pulses, obtaining and analyzing are performed on an ongoing basis while the power is being delivered over the cable (see [0044, 47-48]).
Regarding claim 3, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Harris further teaches wherein applying the successive chirp pulses comprises repeatedly applying chirp pulses onto the wire while power is being applied to the wire (see Figs. 2 and 8A-B, para. [0044, 43]).
Regarding claim 4, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Harris further teaches wherein applying the power is performed at a power transmitter to transmit power over the wire to a power receiver, and wherein applying the successive chirp pulses, detecting, analyzing and disconnecting are performed at (a) both the power transmitter and the power receiver; (b) the power transmitter; or (c) the power receiver (see [0044, 47-48]).
Regarding claim 5, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Marc further teaches wherein analyzing comprises analyzing, at each of the plurality of frequencies, impedance at a first time instant and impedance a second time instant to determine the indication of the impedance-based fault (the reference signature can be obtained in different manners including on installation, powering up, start-up and etc. These times are implied to be at a first time/previous time instants which are compared with the continuous measurement, see pages at least in 12-13).
Regarding claim 6, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Marc further teaches wherein analyzing comprises comparing impedance at a current time instant with the reference impedance derived from impedance at a plurality of previous time instants to determine the indication of the impedance-based fault (the reference signature can be obtained in different manners including on installation, powering up, start-up and etc. These times are implied to be at a first time/previous time instants which are compared with the continuous measurement, see pages 12-13).
Regarding claim 7, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Harris further teaches where the applying the successive chirp pulses and the analyzing are performed by a digital signal processor (DSP) that is connected to the wire (see [0048] and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Marc further teaches wherein applying the power comprises applying any one of: AC power, relatively low voltage DC power, relatively high voltage DC power, Power over Ethernet (PoE) power, or pulsed power comprising a series of pulses separated by off periods (see page 1 and Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 12, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 11, Marc further teaches wherein when the power is low voltage DC power or high voltage DC power (see pages 2-3), disconnecting comprises de-activating a field effect transistor (a transistor 5) between the power and the wire (see abstract and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 11, Marc further teaches wherein when the power is AC power, disconnecting comprises controlling a relay or tri-ac device to disconnect the power from the wire (see page 1 and Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Harris further teaches wherein each chirp pulse comprises a sequence of sine waveforms at the plurality of frequencies (see paragraph [0044] and Figs. 2, 8A-B).
Regarding claim 15, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 1, Harris further teaches wherein the sequence of waveforms at the plurality of frequencies are arranged in time in descending frequency order from highest frequency first to lowest frequency (see [0044], fmax to fmin, see Figs. 8A-b).
Regarding claim 17, Marc and Harris disclose the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the digital signal processor is configured to apply a plurality of bandpass filters and narrowband digital filters at each of the plurality of frequencies to the signal to derive an impedance at each of the plurality of frequencies (the receiving unit 13 of Marc comprises adapted filters, low noise amplifiers and analog-digital converters or see Fig. 3 of Harris).
Regarding claim 18, Marc and Harris disclose the apparatus of claim 16, Harris further teaches wherein the digital signal processor is configured to repeatedly apply successive chirp pulses onto the wire while power is being applied to the wire (see [0044]).
Regarding claim 22, Marc and Harris disclose the apparatus of claim 16, Harris further teaches wherein the waveforms at the plurality of frequencies are arranged in time in descending frequency order from highest frequency first to lowest frequency last (see [0044]).
Regarding claim 23, Marc discloses a method comprising: at a power transmitter (a power supply source 4 in Fig. 1), applying to a wire one or more chirp pulses each comprising a waveforms at a plurality of frequencies (an injection unit 11, in Fig. 1, delivering an electrical signal or a sensor signal which forms the injection signal which is injected into the electrical line 3, where high frequency electrical signals are generated based on multi-carrier reflectometry method, i.e. a plurality of frequencies); analyzing an impedance of a signal on the wire from the one or more chirp pulses at two or more frequencies of the plurality of frequencies with respect to determine whether there is an indication of an impedance-based fault on the wire (see lines 1-10 in page 1 and claims 1, 2, 14 and 15 where the impedance is detected based on the multi-carrier reflectometry method, and determining a fault when a detected impedance change exceeds a given threshold); and determining whether to apply relatively high power on the wire for delivery to a power receiver based on the analyzing (the method can be used when the network is not powered up (i.e. low power) and therefore supporting on the control before it is powered up, implying that a decision to apply power is taken if a fault has not been detected before power-up. See page 12).
Marc does not disclose injecting successive chirp pulses, each chirp pulse comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period. Harris discloses a cable network tester (100 in Fig. 1) connected to the cable network (1) and configured to inject a probe signal (101 in Figs. 1-2) into the cable network (1), wherein the injecting the probe signal (101) comprises successive chirp pulses (“a pulsed probe signal 101 that is comprised of one or more frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 into a cable network” in paragraph [0044] and Fig. 2), each chirp pulse (a chirp pulse 111 in Figs. 2 and 8A) comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies (The one or more frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 are electrical pulses that are formed of an oscillatory electrical signal which oscillation frequency f is “swept”, i.e. continuously increased or decreased, in time during each pulse across a pre-defined frequency sweep band (fmax, fmin) between a minimum frequency fmin and a maximum frequency fmax. The frequency sweep band (fmax, fmin) is also referred to herein as the probe frequency band. The frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 may be referred as the frequency-swept pulses 111. An example of the pulsed probe signal 101 that is composed of a sequence of the frequency-swept probe pulses 111 of a pulse duration τ and pulse period P is schematically illustrated in FIG. 2. See [0044] ) and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period (a quiet period P in Figs. 2 and 8A. The quiet period P is a wait time P between the transmission of consecutive probe pulses 111 in the probe signal 101. See [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electrical network fault detection system of Marc by applying onto the wire successive chirp pulses, each chirp pulse comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period as taught by Harris for purpose of providing a test system that enables utilizing frequency-chirped probe pulses for locating faults in an operational cable network, so that the pulse energy can be spread over a comparatively longer time period, thus reducing power of the probe signal to lessen interference with downstream signals for end users. The method enables utilizing chirped probe pulses for fault location in a cable network by suitably selecting parameters of the probe pulse signal such as pulse width, pulse spacing and pulse bandwidth, so that time domain reflectometry measurements can be performed while the network is in operation without significantly affecting subscriber services (see the summary).
Regarding claim 29, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 23, Marc further teaches comprising: based on the applying and the analyzing, generating a impedance reference for use in analyzing an impedance of the signal obtained from the wire (claims 1, 2, 14 and 15 where the impedance is detected based on the multi-carrier reflectometry method, comprising a plurality of frequencies, and when a detected impedance change exceeds a given threshold (i.e. a fault is detected) a switch is turned off).
Regarding claim 30, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 23, Marc further teaches comprising, at the power receiver: applying to the wire one or more chirp pulses each comprising a sequence of waveforms at a plurality of frequencies; analyzing an impedance of a signal on the wire from the one or more chirp pulses at two or more frequencies of the plurality of frequencies with respect to determine whether there is an indication of an impedance-based fault on the wire; and based on the analyzing, determining whether or not to connect to, or maintain a connection, of the power receiver to the wire from which the relatively high power on the wire is received by the power receiver (claims 1, 2, 14 and 15 where the impedance is detected based on the multi-carrier reflectometry method, comprising a plurality of frequencies, and when a detected impedance change exceeds a given threshold (i.e. a fault is detected) a switch is turned off.).
Regarding claim 31, Marc discloses a method comprising: applying power (by a power supply source 4 in Fig. 4) to each of a plurality of wire pairs of a cable (An electrical signal, generally a high-frequency or broadband signal, is injected at one or more locations of a cable network on which a fault is likely to be detected. The invention applies to all other types of cable including one or more wires, in particular three-wire cables, coaxial
Cables. See page 5); transmitting (by an injection unit 11) and receiving data (by a reception unit 13) over the plurality of wire pairs of the cable (the receiving unit 13 capable of receiving the signals returned by the discontinuities encountered by the transmitted injected signal. See page 6 and Fig. 1); applying onto the plurality of wire pairs a chirp pulse comprising a sequence of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies (an injection unit 11, in Fig. 1, delivering an electrical signal or a sensor signal which forms the injection signal which is injected into the electrical line 3, where high frequency electrical signals are generated based on multi-carrier reflectometry method, i.e. a plurality of frequencies); obtaining signals from the plurality of wire pairs (the receiving unit 13 capable of receiving the signals returned by the discontinuities encountered by the transmitted injected signal. See page 6 and Fig. 1); analyzing an impedance of the signals obtained from the plurality of wire pairs at two or more frequencies of the plurality of frequencies with respect to a reference impedance to determine whether there is an indication of an impedance-based fault on a given wire pair of the plurality of wire pairs (see lines 1-10 in page 1 and claims 1, 2, 14 and 15 where the impedance is detected based on the multi-carrier reflectometry method, and determining a fault when a detected impedance change exceeds a given threshold); and disconnecting the power from the given wire pair in response to determining an indication of the impedance-based fault (see Fig. 1 and claim 1 where the relay switch 5 is open when a fault is detected).
Marc does not disclose injecting successive chirp pulses, each chirp pulse comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period. Harris discloses a cable network tester (100 in Fig. 1) connected to the cable network (1) and configured to inject a probe signal (101 in Figs. 1-2) into the cable network (1), wherein the injecting the probe signal (101) comprises successive chirp pulses (“a pulsed probe signal 101 that is comprised of one or more frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 into a cable network” in paragraph [0044] and Fig. 2), each chirp pulse (a chirp pulse 111 in Figs. 2 and 8A) comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies (The one or more frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 are electrical pulses that are formed of an oscillatory electrical signal which oscillation frequency f is “swept”, i.e. continuously increased or decreased, in time during each pulse across a pre-defined frequency sweep band (fmax, fmin) between a minimum frequency fmin and a maximum frequency fmax. The frequency sweep band (fmax, fmin) is also referred to herein as the probe frequency band. The frequency-chirped probe pulses 111 may be referred as the frequency-swept pulses 111. An example of the pulsed probe signal 101 that is composed of a sequence of the frequency-swept probe pulses 111 of a pulse duration τ and pulse period P is schematically illustrated in FIG. 2. See [0044] ) and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period (a quiet period P in Figs. 2 and 8A. The quiet period P is a wait time P between the transmission of consecutive probe pulses 111 in the probe signal 101. See [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electrical network fault detection system of Marc by applying onto the wire successive chirp pulses, each chirp pulse comprising a sequency of waveforms of a plurality of frequencies and successive chirp pulses being separated in time by a quiet period as taught by Harris for purpose of providing a test system that enables utilizing frequency-chirped probe pulses for locating faults in an operational cable network, so that the pulse energy can be spread over a comparatively longer time period, thus reducing power of the probe signal to lessen interference with downstream signals for end users. The method enables utilizing chirped probe pulses for fault location in a cable network by suitably selecting parameters of the probe pulse signal such as pulse width, pulse spacing and pulse bandwidth, so that time domain reflectometry measurements can be performed while the network is in operation without significantly affecting subscriber services (see the summary).
Regarding claim 32, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 31, Harris further teaches wherein applying the chirp pulse comprises repeatedly applying chirp pulses onto a wire of each of the plurality of wire pairs while power is being applied (see Figs. 2 and 8A-B, para. [0044, 43]).
Regarding claim 33, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 31, Marc further teaches wherein analyzing comprises comparing impedance at a current time instant with the reference impedance derived from impedance at a plurality of previous time instants to determine the indication of the impedance-based fault (the reference signature can be obtained in different manners including on installation, powering up, start-up and etc. These times are implied be at a first time/previous time instants which are compared with the continuous measurement, see pages 12-13)).
Regarding claim 34, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 31, Harris further teaches wherein the sequence of waveforms at the plurality of frequencies are arranged in time in descending frequency order from highest frequency first to lowest frequency last (see [0044]).
6. Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marc in view of Harris and further in view of Kishi (US. Pub. 2013/0181969; hereinafter “Kishi”).
Regarding claim 24, Marc and Harris disclose the method of claim 23, except for specifying that further comprising the power transmitter applying a relatively low level startup power on the wire.
Kishi discloses a power control circuit configured to apply a low-level to a powerline for a predetermined time period at the start.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electrical network fault detection system of Marc and Harris by having the power transmitter applying a relatively low level startup power on the wire as taught by Kishi in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Regarding claim 25, Marc and Harris and Kishi disclose the method of claim 24, Marc further teaches wherein the analyzing and the applying are performed before, during and/or after the relatively low level startup power is applied on the wire, and before the relatively high power is applied to the wire by the power transmitter (pages 7 and 12 last paragraphs that
the method can work when the device is not powered up (i.e. low level
startup power) or while its being powered up).
7. Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marc in view of Harris and Kishi and further in view of Goergen et al. (US. Pat. 10958471; hereinafter “Goergen”).
Regarding claim 26, Marc and Harris and Kishi disclose the method of claim 25, except for explicitly specifying that further comprising the power transmitter and the power receiver negotiating a type of the relatively high power to be applied to the wire by the power transmitter for delivery to the power receiver. Goergen discloses a power distribution system including two pairs of wires with a power sourcing equipment and a powered device (i.e. a load), where the power levels are negotiated
between the transmitter and receiver (see Fig. 6 and columns 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electrical network fault detection system of Marc and Harris and Kishi by having the power transmitter and the power receiver negotiating a type of the relatively high power to be applied to the wire by the power transmitter for delivery to the power receiver as taught by Goergen in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Regarding claim 27, Marc and Harris and Kishi and Goergen disclose the method of claim 26, Goergen further teaches wherein the applying and the analyzing are continued to be performed after it is determined that there is no indication of an impedance-based fault on the wire and while the relatively high power is applied to the wire after completion by the power transmitter and the power receiver of negotiating the type of the relatively high power (see Fig. 6 and columns 4-5).
Regarding claim 28, Marc and Harris and Kishi and Goergen disclose the method of claim 27, Marc further teaches comprising performing a plurality of fault detections including: (a) power receiver shut off and disconnection from the wire as a result of a fault detected by the power receiver; (b) detection of a ground fault between the power transmitter and power receiver; and (c) detection of an over-voltage, under-voltage or arc fault circuit interrupt fault (see claim 28 and pages 5-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 8-10 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
1/24/2026