DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12 and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 8: “having plural fin elements a first set fin elements” should be amended to recite “having plural fin elements including a first set of fin elements”.
Claim 12, Line 5: “both a full-height fin element and a reduced-height.” should be amended to recite “both a full-height fin element and a reduced-height fin element.”
Claim 15, Line 3: “a processor” should be amended to recite “the processor”.
Claim 16, Lines 2-3 “enhances airflow channels” should be amended to recite “the first set of channels”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori (US 8256495 B2) in view of Hsu (US 20120279696 A1).
As to Claim 1, Hattori discloses:
An information handling system (computer 11; see Fig. 3) comprising:
a housing (main body 12) having an exhaust (air outlet 22), the exhaust 22 having a height and a length (22 has a height and length of the opening);
a processor (CPU 33) coupled in the housing 12 and operable to execute instructions that process information (col. 5, Lines 20-25 “The printed circuit board unit 31 includes a printed wiring board 32 and large-scale integrated circuit (LSI) packages 33, 33 mounted on the surface of the printed wiring board 32. The individual LSI package 33 includes a central processing unit (CPU) chip”; mounted in 12);
a memory 67 coupled in the housing 12 and interfaced with the processor 33, the memory 67 operable to store the instructions and information (col. 8, Lines 32-38 “A storage circuit such as a memory 67 is connected to the fan controller circuit 61. A data table 68 is established in the memory 67. The data table 68 holds values of a designated rotation speed and a threshold of the rotor 44 for various temperatures of the CPU chip 62. The fan controller circuit 61 selects a designated rotation speed in the data table 68 in accordance with the temperature of the CPU chip 62”); and
a thermal fin (fin member 36) coupled at the exhaust 22 and thermally coupled to the processor 33 (col. 5, Lines 45-47 “The heat pipe 39 transfers heat from the heat conductive plate 38 to the heat radiating fins 37. The heat conductive plates 38 are designed to receive heat from the CPU chip and the video chip”; thermally connected via heat pipe 39), the thermal fin having plural fin elements 37 including a first set of fin elements 37 having the height (fins 37 have height of 22, see Fig. 6).
Hattori does not disclose:
a second set of the fin elements interspersed between the first set and having less than the height to define a first set of channels of a first width between fin elements of the first set and second set and a second set of channels of a second width between fin elements of the first set.
However, Hsu discloses:
a first set of fin elements (plate 30, see Figs. 3-4) having the height (height of plate 30 corresponds to height of fins 36 and outlet 22 of Hattori), a second set of the fin elements (flanges 210) interspersed between the first set 30 (see Fig. 5, flanges 210 interspersed between 30) and having less than the height (210 less than height of 30) to define a first set of channels (upper channels 41) of a first width (width between 212 and 30) between fin elements of the first set 30 and second set 210 (Par. 0017 “The upper flange 210 encloses an upper channel 41 together with the plate 30”) and a second set of channels (middle channel 43) of a second width (width between 30 of each fin 20) between fin elements 30 of the first set;
in order to increase surface area and enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hattori as further suggested by Hsu e.g., providing:
a second set of the fin elements interspersed between the first set and having less than the height to define a first set of channels of a first width between fin elements of the first set and second set and a second set of channels of a second width between fin elements of the first set;
in order to increase surface area and enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu does not explicitly disclose:
the first and second set of thermal fin elements have a thickness of 0.2mm;
each of the second set of channels has a square shape with an 8mm perimeter; and
each of the first set of channels has a rectangle shape with 0.9mm spacing.
However, Hsu further discloses increasing the area of the flanges in order to enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hattori in view of Hsu as further suggested by Hsu e.g., providing:
the first and second set of thermal fin elements have a thickness of 0.2mm;
each of the second set of channels has a square shape with an 8mm perimeter; and
each of the first set of channels has a rectangle shape with 0.9mm spacing;
in order to enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device.
Further, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
It has also been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the relative dimensions/areas of the fins and channels for effecting the desired results of airflow and heat exchange) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second set of fin elements are one-half the height of the first set of fin elements.
However, Hsu further discloses increasing the area of the flanges in order to enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hattori in view of Hsu as further suggested by Hsu e.g., providing:
wherein the second set of fin elements are one-half the height of the first set of fin elements;
in order to enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device.
Further, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
It has also been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the relative dimensions/areas of the fins and channels for effecting the desired results of airflow and heat exchange) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
wherein the first set of fin elements (30 of Hsu) and second set of fin elements (210 of Hsu) couple to alternate along the length of the exhaust (22 of Hattori; see Fig. 5 of Hsu, 30 and 210 alternate along length of heat dissipation device 10).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
further comprising a heat pipe (heat pipe 39 of Hattori) thermally coupling the processor 33 to the thermal fin (36 of Hattori; col. 5, Lines 41-17 “A heat conductive member or heat pipe 39 is utilized to connect the individual heat conductive plate 38 and the heat radiating fins 37. The heat pipe 39 transfers heat from the heat conductive plate 38 to the heat radiating fins 37. The heat conductive plates 38 are designed to receive heat from the CPU chip and the video chip”), each of the first set of fin elements (30 of Hsu) and second set of fin elements (210 of Hsu) extending down from the heat pipe 39 into the exhaust (22 of Hattori, see Fig. 3 of Hattori, fins 37 of fin member 36 extend downward from heat pipe 39, fins 37 correspond to heat dissipation device 10 of Hsu, therefore 30 and 210 of Hsu extend downward from 29 in combination with Hattori).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
wherein the thermal fin (20 of Hsu) comprises plural assembled clips that couple together (each fin 20 connected together to form heat dissipation device 10), each clip having one of the first set of fin elements 30 and one of the second set of fin elements 210 (each fin 20 of assembled device comprises 30 and 210; Hsu).
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
wherein each assembled clip comprises sheet metal bent to form the one of the first set of fin elements 30 and one of the second set of fin elements 210 (Par. 0016 “The two flanges 210, 220 and the plate 30 can also be integrally made from one piece of metal sheet”; Par. 0016 “The first section 211 of the upper flange 210 extends from the top side 312 of the plate 30, the second section 212 of the upper flange 210 is bended downwardly from a front end of the first section 211”) aligned with the exhaust height (22 of Hattori) separated by a support (first section 211 of Hsu) aligned with the exhaust length (211 of Hsu extends in length direction and separates 30 from 30 from 212 of Hsu).
As to Claim 10, Hattori discloses:
A method for cooling an information handling system (computer 11; see Fig. 3) having an exhaust (air outlet 22) of a height and length (height and length of 22), the method comprising:
forming a thermal fin (fin member 36) to have plural full-height fin elements (fins 37) having a height of the exhaust height (fins 37 have height of 22; see Fig. 6);
thermally-coupling the thermal fin 36 with a processor 33 of the information handling system (col. 5, Lines 45-47 “The heat pipe 39 transfers heat from the heat conductive plate 38 to the heat radiating fins 37. The heat conductive plates 38 are designed to receive heat from the CPU chip and the video chip”; thermally connected via heat pipe 39); and
blowing cooling airflow across the thermal fin 36 to transfer thermal energy from the processor 33 and out the exhaust 22 (col. 5, Lines 37-40 “The fan unit 35 serves to generate airflow running through the air passages to the air outlet 22. The airflow serves to discharge heat of the heat radiating fins 37 out of the enclosure 18”).
Hattori does not disclose:
plural reduced-height fin elements having a height of less than the exhaust height.
However, Hsu discloses:
forming a thermal fin 20 to have plural full-height fin elements (plate 30 of each fin 20, see Figs. 2-5) having a height of the exhaust height (height of plate 30 corresponds to height of fins 36 and outlet 22 of Hattori), and plural reduced-height fin elements (flanges 210) having a height of less than the exhaust height (210 less than height of 30);
in order to increase surface area and enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hattori as further suggested by Hsu e.g., providing:
plural reduced-height fin elements having a height of less than the exhaust height;
in order to increase surface area and enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device.
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
arranging the full-height fin elements (30 of Hsu) and the reduced-height fin elements (210 of Hsu) to have an order of every other fin element see Fig. 5 of Hsu, 30 and 210 alternate along length of heat dissipation device 10); and
defining by the every other fin element order a first set of channels (middle channel 43; Hsu) having a first perimeter (perimeter of channel 43) and a second set of channels (upper channel 41; Hsu) having a second perimeter (perimeter of 41).
As to Claim 12, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
each of the first set of channels (43 of Hsu) has a perimeter defined only by full-height fin elements 30 (perimeter of 43 defined by adjacent plates 30; Hsu); and
each of the second set of channels (41 of Hsu) has a perimeter defined by both a full-height fin element 30 and a reduced-height fin element 210 (Par. 0017 “The upper flange 210 encloses an upper channel 41 together with the plate 30”; Hsu).
As to Claim 13, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the perimeter of the full-height fin element channel is 8mm.
However, Hsu further discloses increasing the area of the flanges in order to enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hattori in view of Hsu as further suggested by Hsu e.g., providing:
wherein the perimeter of the full-height fin element channel is 8mm;
in order to enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device.
Further, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
It has also been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the relative dimensions/areas of the fins and channels for effecting the desired results of airflow and heat exchange) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to Claim 17, Hattori discloses:
A thermal fin (36; see Fig. 3) comprising:
plural full-height fin elements (fins 37) sized to fully fit in a housing exhaust height (fins 37 have height of air outlet 22; see Fig. 6).
Hattori does not disclose:
plural reduced-height fin elements sized to have less than the housing exhaust height, each of the reduced-height fin elements disposed between full-height fin elements.
However, Hsu discloses:
plural full-height fin elements (plate 30 of each fin 20, see Figs. 2-5) sized to fully fit in a housing exhaust height (height of plate 30 corresponds to height of fins 36 and outlet 22 of Hattori); and
plural reduced-height fin elements (flanges 210) sized to have less than the housing exhaust height (210 less than height of 30), each of the reduced-height fin elements 210 disposed between full-height fin elements 30 (210 disposed between each plate 30);
in order to increase surface area and enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device (Par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hattori as further suggested by Hsu e.g., providing:
plural reduced-height fin elements sized to have less than the housing exhaust height, each of the reduced-height fin elements disposed between full-height fin elements;
in order to increase surface area and enhance the heat dissipation capacity of the heat dissipation device.
As to Claim 18, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
further comprising a heat pipe (heat pipe 39 of Hattori) coupled to the full-height fin elements (30 of Hsu) and to the reduced-height fin elements (210 of Hsu; heat pipe 39 of Hattori coupled to fins 37 of heat fin member 36, wherein heat fin member 36 corresponds to heat dissipation device 10 of Hsu comprising plates 30 and flanges 210).
Claims 8, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori (US 8256495 B2) in view of Hsu (US 20120279696 A1) as applied to claims 7, 11 and 17 above, and further in view of Chiang (US 20070215318 A1).
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu does not disclose:
wherein the one of the first set of fin elements has a slot aligned to accept a tab extending from the sheet metal of a different of the first set of fin elements.
However, Chiang discloses:
wherein the one of the first set of fin elements (unfolded portion 13 of fin 1; see Fig. 1) has a slot (hole 5) aligned to accept a tab (buckling sheet 3) extending from the sheet metal 13 of a different of the first set of fin elements 1 (Par. 0016 “A fin 1 is made of elastic and bendable material, such as an aluminum sheet or a copper sheet”; Par. 0017 “the buckling sheets 3 of one fin 1 are assembled to the holes 5 of another fin 1, as shown in FIG. 4. A plurality of fins 1 are assembled as a heat dissipating set 12 (referring to FIG. 5)”);
in order firmly secure the fins of the heat dissipating device (Par. 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hattori in view of Hsu as further suggested by Chiang e.g., providing:
wherein the one of the first set of fin elements has a slot aligned to accept a tab extending from the sheet metal of a different of the first set of fin elements;
in order firmly secure the fins of the heat dissipating device.
As to Claim 14, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
forming plural clips by bending sheet metal (each fin 20 of Hsu connected together to form heat dissipation device 10; Par. 0016 “The two flanges 210, 220 and the plate 30 can also be integrally made from one piece of metal sheet”; Par. 0016 “The first section 211 of the upper flange 210 extends from the top side 312 of the plate 30, the second section 212 of the upper flange 210 is bended downwardly from a front end of the first section 211”; Hsu), each clip having one full-height fin element 30 and one reduced-height fin element 210 (each fin 20 of assembled device comprises 30 and 210; Hsu).
Hattori and Hsu do not disclose:
forming a tab and a slot in each of the plural clips; and
assembling the thermal fin from the plural clips by inserting the tab in the slot.
However, Chiang discloses:
forming a tab (buckling sheet 3) and a slot (hole 5) in each of the plural clips (fins 1, see Fig. 1); and
assembling the thermal fin (heat dissipating set 12) from the plural clips (fins 1) by inserting the tab 3 in the slot 5 (Par. 0016 “A fin 1 is made of elastic and bendable material, such as an aluminum sheet or a copper sheet”; Par. 0017 “the buckling sheets 3 of one fin 1 are assembled to the holes 5 of another fin 1, as shown in FIG. 4. A plurality of fins 1 are assembled as a heat dissipating set 12 (referring to FIG. 5)”);
in order firmly secure the fins of the heat dissipating device (Par. 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hattori in view of Hsu as further suggested by Chiang e.g., providing:
forming a tab and a slot in each of the plural clips; and
assembling the thermal fin from the plural clips by inserting the tab in the slot;
in order firmly secure the fins of the heat dissipating device.
As to Claim 20, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu discloses:
further comprising plural clips (each fin 20 of Hsu), each of the plural clips having one full-height fin element 30, one reduced-height fin element 210 210 (each fin 20 of assembled device comprises 30 and 210; Hsu).
Hattori and Hsu do not disclose:
each of the plural clips having a tab and a slot, the tab and slot interlocking to assembled as the thermal fin.
However, Chiang discloses:
each of the plural clips (fins 1; see Fig. 1) having a tab (buckling sheet 3) and a slot (hole 5), the tab 3 and slot 5 interlocking to assembled as the thermal fin 12 (Par. 0016 “A fin 1 is made of elastic and bendable material, such as an aluminum sheet or a copper sheet”; Par. 0017 “the buckling sheets 3 of one fin 1 are assembled to the holes 5 of another fin 1, as shown in FIG. 4. A plurality of fins 1 are assembled as a heat dissipating set 12 (referring to FIG. 5)”);
in order firmly secure the fins of the heat dissipating device (Par. 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hattori in view of Hsu as further suggested by Chiang e.g., providing:
each of the plural clips having a tab and a slot, the tab and slot interlocking to assembled as the thermal fin;
in order firmly secure the fins of the heat dissipating device.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori (US 8256495 B2) in view of Hsu (US 20120279696 A1) and Chiang (US 20070215318 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Fearing (US 20040012983 A1).
As to Claim 15, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu and Chiang discloses:
connecting the thermal fin (36 of Hattori; corresponds to fins 20 of Hsu) to a heat pipe 39; and
thermally coupling the heat pipe 39 to the processor 33 of the information handling system (col. 5, Lines 42-48 “A heat conductive member or heat pipe 39 is utilized to connect the individual heat conductive plate 38 and the heat radiating fins 37. The heat pipe 39 transfers heat from the heat conductive plate 38 to the heat radiating fins 37. The heat conductive plates 38 are designed to receive heat from the CPU chip and the video chip”; Hattori).
Hattori, Hsu and Chiang do not disclose:
soldering the thermal fin to a heat pipe.
However, Fearing discloses:
soldering the thermal fin 28 to a heat pipe 23 (Par. 0028 “the fins 28 can be secured to the heat pipes 23 by any known or commonly used means, such as friction fit, soldering, welding, adhesive bonding, fasteners, etc.”);
in order to secure the heat pipe to the fins (Par. 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hattori in view of Hsu and Chiang as further suggested by Fearing e.g., providing:
soldering the thermal fin to a heat pipe;
in order to secure the heat pipe to the fins.
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Hattori in view of Hsu and Chiang discloses:
further comprising arranging the thermal fin (20 of Hsu, corresponds to 36 of Hattori) to have all of the reduced-height fin elements (210 of Hsu) proximate the heat pipe (39 of Hattori, wherein 210 of Hsu are disposed on topside of fin 20 and heat pipe 39 disposed on top side of fins 36 of Hattori; 210 of Hsu disposed proximate heat pipe 39 in combination) and the first set of channels (43 of Hsu) defined by the full-height fin elements (30 of Hsu, correspond to 37 of Hattori) distal the heat pipe 39 (channels 43 defined by plates 30 of Hsu are distal to heat pipe 39 of Hattori in combination).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 9 and 19, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus as recited in the dependent claims 9 and 19, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claims 9 and 19 recite the following limitations:
“wherein the one of the second set of fin elements has a sharpened edge exposed at the housing exhaust exterior to cut dust fibers.” – claim 9;
“wherein the reduced-height fin elements comprise a sharp curved edge aligned to cut dust fibers blown against the reduced-height fin elements” – claim 19.
Zhu (US 20200159296 A1) discloses a plurality of fins disposed at an air exhaust, but does not disclose the claimed fins with sharpened edges.
Rubenstein (US 20080112134 A1) discloses a heat sink with staggered locations of fins to reduce dust accumulation, but does not disclose the claimed fins with sharpened edges.
Tanner (US 8699226 B2) discloses fins that guide dust, but does not disclose the claimed fins with sharpened edges.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claims 9 and 19, are believed to render said claims 9 and 19 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835