DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 12 and 20, the method steps e.g., the two determining and limiting steps, should be on separate lines with corresponding indentations in accordance with MPEP 608.01(i).
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5-8, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura (US 2009/0153104) in view of Yang (CN109466372 translation).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuura teaches a method of over-heating protection for a charging apparatus, comprising:
measuring a charging parameter of the charging apparatus during a charging process, wherein the charging parameter comprises a temperature and a time corresponding to the temperature ([0025-0027, 0009, 0035], the system measures a temperature of the battery; the system also tracks time so that a time-based model for predicting a future temperature can be determined e.g., a gradient or an estimate of the amount of temperature change per unit time);
estimating a temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the charging parameter ([0025-0027, 0009, 0035], the system measures a temperature of the battery; the system also tracks time so that a time-based model for predicting a future temperature can be determined e.g., a gradient or an estimate of the amount of temperature change per unit time); and determining, based on the temperature change trend, a highest estimated temperature,
determining whether the highest estimated temperature is greater than a preset temperature threshold, and
in response to determining that the highest estimated temperature is greater than the preset temperature threshold, limiting a charging current for the charging apparatus before an estimated temperature exceeds an upper limit of a preset temperature range ([0035-0043], using the model/gradient, the system determines a predicted battery temperature e.g., for a particular battery charging level; the system then compares the predicted temperature to multiple ranges; for example, if the predicted temperature is an upper range e.g., second temperature range, which is higher than a desirable third temperature range, then the charging current is reduced).
However, Matsuura does not expressly disclose wherein the preset temperature threshold of the charging apparatus is a maximum allowable temperature of a material of a charging port.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches wherein the preset temperature threshold of the charging apparatus is a maximum allowable temperature of a material of a charging port (pages 1-2, Yang teaches limiting current for charging device when a current temperature exceeds a threshold temperature; the threshold temperature is designed to prevent burning of a material of a charging socket/port; put another way, it is a maximum allowable temperature designed to avoid damage to the material of the charging socket/port and overheating of a resistor in the charging socket/port.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the preset temperature threshold of the charging apparatus is a maximum allowable temperature of a material of a charging port as suggested in Yang into Matsuura because Matsuura and Yang pertain to analogous fields of technology. Matsuura teaches limiting charging current based on a determination that a current temperature of a battery system exceeded a threshold, in order to improve safety e.g., see Masuura [0004]. Yang also teaches limiting charging current based on a current temperature of a battery system and charging port exceeding a threshold. In particular, Yang teaches limiting current based on the temperature threshold, where a goal of the temperature threshold is to avoid the burning of the material of a charging socket/port. Put another way, Yang teaches allowing for current temperatures to rise only to a particular threshold, to avoid such burning of the charging port material. It would be obvious and desirable to modify Matsuura based on the teachings of Yang, such that the temperature thresholds of Yang also represent a setting of a maximum allowable temperature to avoid burning of a material of a charging port/socket, in addition to possibly serving other goals, as suggested in Matsuura e.g., see Yang pages 1-2.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Matsuura and Yang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Matsuura and Yang also teaches wherein the limiting the charging current for the charging apparatus before the estimated temperature exceeds the upper limit of the preset temperature range comprises:
limiting the charging current by gradually adjusting the charging current such that the highest estimated temperature is reduced to within the preset temperature range (Matsuura Fig. 4, [0043-0056], as indicated in Fig. 4, the system performs an iterative method in which a predicted temperature is determined based on measured temperature/time; if the predicted temperature is above a desired range, the current is gradually reduced e.g., by 0.1 C; this process can be repeated as necessary).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Matsuura and Yang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. The combination of Matsuura and Yang also teaches wherein the limiting the charging current by gradually adjusting the charging current comprises:
determining an initial current during the charging process;
reducing the initial current by an amount to obtain a first current; and
controlling the charging apparatus to charge a device with the first current,
obtaining a first charging parameter within a first time period, estimating the temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the first charging parameter within the first time period, and
updating the highest estimated temperature, if the updated highest estimated temperature exceeds the upper limit of the preset temperature range, reducing the first current by the amount, until the updated highest estimated temperature does not exceed the upper limit of the preset temperature range (Matsuura Fig. 4, [0043-0056], as indicated in Fig. 4, the system performs an iterative method in which a predicted temperature is determined based on measured temperature/time; if the predicted temperature is above a desired range, the current is gradually reduced e.g., by 0.1 C; this process can be repeated as necessary; Fig. 4, [0027-0042], for example, in each round of the iterative method, the system measures temperature during a minute to determine a new temperature rise model/gradient, which in turn is used to determine a new predicted temperature).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Matsuura and Yang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. The combination of Matsuura and Yang also teaches wherein the limiting the charging current by gradually adjusting the charging current further comprises:
controlling the charging apparatus to charge the device with the first current;
if the updated highest estimated temperature does not exceed the upper limit of the preset temperature range, determining a relationship between the updated highest estimated temperature and a lower limit of the preset temperature range; and
if the updated highest estimated temperature is less than the lower limit of the preset temperature range, determining a second current based on the initial current and the first current, controlling the charging apparatus to charge the device with the second current,
obtaining a second charging parameter within a second time period, estimating the temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the second charging parameter within the second time period,
updating the updated highest estimated temperature to obtain a second updated highest estimated temperature (Matsuura Fig. 4, [0043-0056], as indicated in Fig. 4, the system performs an iterative method in which a predicted temperature is determined based on measured temperature/time; if the predicted temperature is above or below a desired range, the current is gradually reduced or increased e.g., by 0.1 C; this process can be repeated as necessary; Fig. 4, [0027-0042], for example, in each round of the iterative method, the system measures temperature during a minute to determine a new temperature rise model/gradient, which in turn is used to determine a new predicted temperature and possibly a new current adjustment),
if the second updated highest estimated temperature is less than the lower limit of the preset temperature range, assigning a value of the second current to the first current, until the second updated highest estimated temperature is greater than or equal to the lower limit of the preset temperature range, wherein the second current is greater than the first current and less than the initial current (Matsuura Fig. 4, [0043-0056], as indicated in Fig. 4, the system performs an iterative method in which a predicted temperature is determined based on measured temperature/time; if the predicted temperature is above or below a desired range, the current is gradually reduced or increased e.g., by 0.1 C; for example, if at any time the predicted temperature is below the desired range e.g., below the third temperature range, then current may be increased; this process can be repeated as necessary; Fig. 4, [0027-0042], for example, in each round of the iterative method, the system measures temperature to determine a new temperature rise model/gradient, which in turn is used to determine a new predicted temperature and possibly a new current adjustment; the "first current" can be understood as a current amount determined by the system; in this sense, whenever a new current is determined, it is effectively being assigned to that "first current" i.e., it is the new current determined by and to be executed by the system).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Matsuura and Yang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. The combination of Matsuura and Yang also teaches wherein the limiting the charging current by gradually adjusting the charging current further comprises:
if the second updated highest estimated temperature is greater than the upper limit of the preset temperature range, assigning the value of the second current to the initial current until a second subsequent updated highest estimated temperature is less than or equal to the upper limit of the preset temperature range (Matsuura Fig. 4, [0043-0056], as indicated in Fig. 4, the system performs an iterative method in which a predicted temperature is determined based on measured temperature/time; if the predicted temperature is above or below a desired range, the current is gradually reduced or increased e.g., by 0.1 C; for example, if at any time the predicted temperature is above the desired range e.g., above the third temperature range, then current may be decreased; this process can be repeated as necessary; Matsuura Fig. 4, [0027-0042], for example, in each round of the iterative method, the system measures temperature to determine a new temperature rise model/gradient, which in turn is used to determine a new predicted temperature and possibly a new current adjustment; the "initial current" can be understood as a current amount determined by the system; in this sense, whenever a new current is determined, it is effectively being assigned to that "initial current" i.e., it is the new current determined by and to be executed by the system).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Matsuura and Yang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. The combination of Matsuura and Yang also teaches wherein the limiting the charging current by gradually adjusting the charging current further comprises:
if the second updated highest estimated temperature is within the preset temperature range, maintaining the second current (Matsuura Fig. 4, [0043-0056], as indicated in Fig. 4, the system performs an iterative method in which a predicted temperature is determined based on measured temperature/time; if the predicted temperature is above or below a desired range, the current is gradually reduced or increased e.g., by 0.1 C; see Matsuura [0043], if the predicted temperature falls within a desired range, the charging current is maintained and not adjusted).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Matsuura and Yang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6. The combination of Matsuura and Yang also teaches wherein the limiting the charging current by gradually adjusting the charging current further comprises:
if the updated highest estimated temperature is within the preset temperature range,
maintaining the first current (Matsuura Fig. 4, [0043-0056], as indicated in Fig. 4, the system performs an iterative method in which a predicted temperature is determined based on measured temperature/time; if the predicted temperature is above or below a desired range, the current is gradually reduced or increased e.g., by 0.1 C; see Matsuura [0043], if the predicted temperature falls within a desired range, the charging current is maintained and not adjusted).
Regarding claim 20, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Matsuura and Yang also teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program, which when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations (inherently, to implement the operations of Matsuura, a memory, processor and a program are used).
Claims 2, 3, 12-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsura and Yang, as applied in claim 1, and further in view of Lee (US 2020/0366118).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Matsuura and Yang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, the combination of Matsuura and Yang does not expressly disclose wherein the estimating the temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the charging parameter comprises: determining a fitting function and a plurality of charging parameters of a plurality of sampling points; substituting the charging parameters of the sampling points into the fitting function to obtain various parameters in the fitting function; substituting the various parameters into the fitting function to obtain a temperature estimation model of the charging apparatus; and estimating the temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the charging parameters and the temperature estimation model.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the estimating the temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the charging parameter comprises:
determining a fitting function and a plurality of charging parameters of a plurality of sampling points ([0030-0031], Table 1, describe collecting time point, temperature and state of charge (SOC) data; the system also determines a fitting function);
substituting the charging parameters of the sampling points into the fitting function to obtain various parameters in the fitting function;
substituting the various parameters into the fitting function to obtain a temperature estimation model of the charging apparatus; and
estimating the temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the charging parameters and the temperature estimation model (Fig. 5, [0010, 0012, 0030-0040, 0047, 0054-0055], using the time point/temperature pairs, the constants r can be calculated in the fitting equation; the system then has a model to calculate expected temperature).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the estimating the temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the charging parameter comprises: determining a fitting function and a plurality of charging parameters of a plurality of sampling points; substituting the charging parameters of the sampling points into the fitting function to obtain various parameters in the fitting function; substituting the various parameters into the fitting function to obtain a temperature estimation model of the charging apparatus; and estimating the temperature change trend of the charging apparatus based on the charging parameters and the temperature estimation model as suggested in Lee into Matsuura because Matsuura and Lee pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Lee and Matsuura pertain to using a model to determine an expected temperature for a battery, so that current can be adjusted to avoid overly high temperatures. In Matsuura, the model involves a fitting function. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Matsuura so that a variety of known techniques can be used to model expected temperature for a battery e.g., see Lee Fig. 5, [0010, 0012, 0030-0040, 0047, 0054-0055].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Matsuura, Yang and Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Matsuura, Yang and Lee also teaches wherein the fitting function is expressed by: T = Co + C1t + C2t2 + C3t3 + … +Cn-1tn-1 wherein T represents a temperature of the charging apparatus, t represents a charging time, C0 to Cn-i represent the various parameters of the fitting function, and n is a number of temperature sampling points (Lee Fig. 5, [0010, 0012, 0030-0040, 0047, 0054-0055, 0038], using the time point/temperature pairs, the constants r can be calculated in the fitting equation; the system then has a model to calculate expected temperature; Matsuura [0030-0034] describes equivalent functions e.g., see Equation 1, [0031]; note that in Equation 1, as seen in Table 1, C is the state of charge (SOC) taken at different time points during charging, and thus represents a charging time; see also [0038], which notes that Equation 1 may be applied to any number of time points).
Regarding claim 12, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Matsuura and Yang also teaches a system comprising: a memory, a processor, and a program stored in the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the program (it is inherent that to implement the operations of Matsuura, a processor, program and memory is used). However, the combination of Matsuura and Yang does not expressly disclose the system is an electric vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches the system is an electric vehicle ([0003-0005], it is known for battery management systems to be used in electric vehicles; it would be obvious therefore to modify the battery management system of Matsuura to be implemented in the context of an electric vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the system is an electric vehicle as suggested in Lee into Matsuura because Matsuura and Lee pertain to analogous fields of technology. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature, to allow the Matsuura invention to be implemented in a variety of battery-related platforms e.g., see Lee [0003-0005].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Matsuura, Yang and Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Claim 13 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Matsuura, Yang and Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Claim 14 also corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Matsuura, Yang and Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Claim 16 also corresponds to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Matsuura, Yang and Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Claim 17 also corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Matsuura, Yang and Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 17. Claim 18 also corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Matsuura, Yang and Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 18. Claim 19 also corresponds to claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. At best, the prior art of record, specifically, Matsuura teaches using a model and temperature/time data to predict a battery temperature, and adjust current accordingly e.g., see Matsuura [0025-0027, 0009, 0035]. Lee teaches a system for determining an expected temperature of a battery based on a fitting function e.g., see Lee Fig. 5, [0010, 0012, 0030-0040, 0047, 0054-0055]. Yang teaches that it is known to compare current temperature to a temperature threshold in the context of a charging operation, where the temperature threshold is designed to help avoid burning of a material of a charging socket e.g., see Yang pages 1-2.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 12 and 20.
Regarding independent claims 1, 12 and 20, the Applicant alleges that the cited prior art does not teach the amended limitation, "determining, based on the temperature change trend, a highest estimated temperature, determining whether the highest estimated temperature is greater than a preset temperature threshold, and in response to determining that the highest estimated temperature is greater than the preset temperature threshold, limiting a charging current for the charging apparatus before an estimated temperature exceeds an upper limit of a preset temperature range, wherein the preset temperature threshold of the charging apparatus is a maximum allowable temperature of a material of a charging port." Examiner has therefore rejected claims 1, 12 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura and Yang. Applicant's remarks are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant further alleges that claims 2, 3, 5-8, 10-14 and 16-19 are allowable in view of their dependency on claims 1 and 12. Claims 2, 3, 5-8, 10-14 and 16-19 are rejected as being taught by Matsuura, Yang and/or Lee. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vuylsteke (US 2022/0089058) teaches predicting a charging time for an electrified vehicle using a temperature threshold e.g., see Vuylsteke Abstract, [0009-0010].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118