DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/21/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-13, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama (JP 2015-028884A, hereafter Okuyama) in view of Ikeda (US 2011/0236734 A1, hereafter Ikeda).
With regard to claim 1, Okuyama teaches a battery comprising:
a plurality of battery cells, wherein the plurality of battery cells are arranged along a first direction; each of the battery cells comprises two first side faces disposed opposite to teach other in the first direction (length), two second side faces disposed opposite to each other in a second direction (width), a top face and a bottom face disposed opposite to each other in a third direction (height) [0037, fig. 1], and two electrode terminals (positive terminal 120 and negative terminal 130)[0051]; the first direction (length), the second direction (width), and the third direction (height) are orthogonal to each other (as seen in fig. 1), and the first side faces are larger than the second side faces in area (narrower sides in height and width direction suggesting smaller area as seen in fig. 1; relative dimensions reasonably taught by figure) [fig. 1]; and
a cooling component (cooling device 200), containing a cooling medium (liquid) to cool the battery cells [0036, 0043-0044], wherein the cooling component comprises a cooling unit (outflow member 210) and an integrated unit (holding members 220 and 230) [0045-0046]; the cooling unit is a plate shape formed by a first cooling wall and a second cooling wall (211a and 211b) that are opposite to each other in the first direction [0073, fig. 4] and is disposed between adjacent battery cells [fig. 1] and a channel available for flow of the cooling medium is formed between the first cooling wall and second cooling wall (interior of main body 211) [0062, fig. 4], wherein
the first cooling wall and the second cooling wall each comprise a fragile portion (outflow portions 212 and 213), and when the battery is abnormal (too much heat generated), the fragile portion is able to rupture to release the cooling medium [0062, 0064, 0067, 0071, fig. 4];
the fragile portion comprises a thin-walled portion and a wall thickness of the thin-walled portion is less than a wall thickness of a remaining part of the first cooling wall and the second cooling wall [0067];
the first cooling wall and the second cooling wall each comprise an inner wall face and an outer wall face (interior and exterior faces) and teaches a thin-walled portion that ruptures due to increased pressure [0062, 0064, 0067, 0071, fig. 4]. Okuyama does not explicitly teach that the thin-walled portion is formed by reducing the wall thickness by starting from the inner wall face. The examiner notes this limitation imparts structure as the thinning direction impacts the final product shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ikeda teaches a safety valve structure that ruptures due to increased pressure and is thinned from an inside surface [0018, 0044-0047, fig. 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use Ikeda’s valve design that is thinned from an inside surface with the battery of Okuyama for the benefit of allowing for controlled deformation due to internal pressure [Ikeda 0050, fig. 4, fig. 6].
With regard to claim 10, Okuyama teaches a fragile portion (top left outflow portions 212 and 213) located close to a top face of the battery cell in the third (height) direction [0067, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 11, Okuyama teaches multiple fragile portions (top left and right outflow portions 212 and 213) located close to a top face of the battery cell in the third (height) direction [0067, fig. 4]
With regard to claim 12, Okuyama teaches circular fragile portions (outflow portions) [0064].
With regard to claim 13, Okuyama teaches a plural number of cooling units and teaches that units are arranged between two adjacent battery cells [0036, 0043-0044, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 18, Okuyama teaches an electrical device (power storage device) comprising the battery, wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical energy [0001-0002].
With regard to claim 19, Okuyama teaches a method for manufacturing a battery comprising:
providing a plurality of battery cells, wherein the plurality of battery cells are arranged along a first direction; each of the battery cells comprises two first side faces disposed opposite to teach other in the first direction (length), two second side faces disposed opposite to each other in a second direction (width), a top face and a bottom face disposed opposite to each other in a third direction (height) [0037, fig. 1], and two electrode terminals (positive terminal 120 and negative terminal 130)[0051]; the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction are orthogonal to each other (as seen in fig. 1), and the first side faces are larger than the second side faces in area (narrower sides in height and width direction suggesting smaller area as seen in fig. 1) [fig. 1]; and
providing a cooling component (cooling device 200), containing a cooling medium (liquid) to cool the battery cells [0036, 0043-0044], wherein the cooling component comprises a cooling unit (outflow member 210) and an integrated unit (holding members 220 and 230) [0045-0046]; the cooling unit is a plate shape formed by a first cooling wall and a second cooling wall (211a and 211b) that are opposite to each other in the first direction [0073, fig. 4] and is disposed between adjacent battery cells [fig. 1] and a channel available for flow of the cooling medium is formed between the first cooling wall and second cooling wall (interior of main body 211) and placing the cooling unit between two adjacent battery cells [0062, fig. 4];
creating a fragile portion in the first cooling wall and the second cooling wall (outflow portions 212 and 213), and when the battery is abnormal (too much heat generated), the fragile portion is able to rupture to release the cooling medium [0062, 0064, 0067, 0071, fig. 4]; wherein
the fragile portion comprises a thin-walled portion and a wall thickness of the thin-walled portion is less than a wall thickness of a remaining part of the first cooling wall and the second cooling wall [0067];
the first cooling wall and the second cooling wall each comprise an inner wall face and an outer wall face (interior and exterior faces) and teaches a thin-walled portion that ruptures due to increased pressure [0062, 0064, 0067, 0071, fig. 4]. Okuyama does not explicitly teach that the thin-walled portion is formed by reducing the wall thickness by starting from the inner wall face. The examiner notes this limitation imparts structure as the thinning direction impacts the final product shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ikeda teaches a safety valve structure that ruptures due to increased pressure and is thinned from an inside surface [0018, 0044-0047, fig. 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use Ikeda’s valve design that is thinned from an inside surface with the method of Okuyama for the benefit of allowing for controlled deformation due to internal pressure [Ikeda 0050, fig. 4, fig. 6].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama and Ikeda as applied to claims 1, 10-13, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Nakamura et al. (US 2023/0275290 A1, hereafter Nakamura)
With regard to claim 4, Okuyama teaches the thickness of the thin walled portion is less than the wall thickness of the first and second cooling walls [0067] but does not explicitly teach the claimed thickness. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakamura teaches the use of a heat exchange wall with a thickness of 0.5 mm or less [0036]. This falls within the claimed range and would read on the claimed range for thicknesses of 0.2 mm or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to try the wall thickness of Nakamura with the cooling walls of Okuyama since they are known to be effective for flexible thin heat exchange plates [Nakamura 0036].
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama and Ikeda as applied to claims 1, 10-13, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2016/0372806 A1, hereafter Lee)
With regard to claims 7-8, Okuyama does not teach a flow channel on the outer surface of the cooling walls. However, in the same field of endeavor Lee teaches the use of grid shaped (claim 8) flow channels [0111]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the grid shaped flow channels with the cooling walls and outflow portions of Okuyama for the benefit of increasing the contact area and heat exchange efficiency of the coolant [Lee 0111].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama and Ikeda as applied to claims 1, 10-13, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Kamiya et al. (JP 2022-128335 A1, hereafter Kamiya).
With regard to claim 9, Okuyama does not explicitly teach a wall face recessed from an outer wall created on the first and second cooling walls. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kamiya teaches the use of a wall-face recess (portions inward from outer surface of action portions 33) recessed from an outer fall face (outer surface of action portions 33) that provides an expansion space for the battery cells (as seen in fig. 9) [0026, 0035-0036, fig. 9]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the action portions and recessed portions of Kamia with the battery of Okuyama for the benefit of allowing for maintained contact with a battery cell as it changes size [Kamia 0036]. When combined with the action portions and recessed portions of Kamia it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate the fragile portion of Okuyama in the recessed portion since it would have room to open due to not being in contact with the adjacent battery cell. Okuyama and Kamia do not explicitly teach the claimed area and depth percentages due to the drawings of Kamia not being indicated to scale. However, the drawings of Kamia appear to show dimensions that would fall within the claimed areas (fig. 8) and would therefore render the claimed values obvious [00333-0034, fig. 8].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama and Ikeda as applied to claims 1, 10-13, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Oyake et al. (US 2023/0087721 A1, hereafter Oyake).
With regard to claim 14, Okuyama does not explicitly teach cell grouped in to battery units or cooling units grouped between battery units. However, in the same field of endeavor, Oyake teaches groups of batteries (units) with the same number of cells (as seen in fig. 1) with cooling units (heat transfer plates) arranged between them [0006, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the group arrangement of Oyake with the battery of Okuyama for the benefit of using battery groups with improved thermal responsiveness [Oyake 0007].
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama and Ikeda as applied to claims 1, 10-13, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Zheng et al. (US 2013/0280564 A1, hereafter Zheng).
With regard to claim 15, Okuyama teaches two terminals disposed on the top face of the battery cell [0051, fig. 1]. Okuyama does not explicitly teach an integrated unit disposed on the bottom of the battery cell and communicating with the cooling unit. However, in the same field of endeavor, Zheng teaches the use of an integrated unit (cooling plate 110) disposed on the bottom face of battery cells and in communication with cooling units (separator plates 111 with flow channels) [0044, fig. 4-6]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the integrated unit (cooling plate) arrangement of Zheng with the battery of Okuyama for the benefit of cooling battery cores and electrolytes effectively and uniformly [Zheng 0040].
With regard to claim 16, Okuyama does not explicitly teach two terminals disposed on the side faces of the battery cell or integrated units disposed on the top and bottom faces of the battery cells. However, in the same field of endeavor, Zheng teaches the use of an integrated unit (cooling plate 110 and upper cover 12) disposed on the top and bottom faces of battery cells and in communication with cooling units (separator plates 111 with flow channels) [0044, fig. 4-6]. Zheng also teaches locating terminals on side surfaces of cells (which allows for contact with upper and lower integrated units) [0048, fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the integrated unit (cooling plate and upper cover) and terminal location arrangement of Zheng with the battery of Okuyama for the benefit of cooling battery cores and electrolytes effectively and uniformly [Zheng 0040].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama and Ikeda as applied to claims 1, 10-13, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Dawley et al. (US 2020/0243926 A1, hereafter Dawley).
With regard to claim 17, Okuyama does not explicitly teach a heat transfer layer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dawley teaches the use of a heat transfer layer (thermal interface member 16) [0033-0034]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the heat transfer layer (thermal interface member) of Dawley with the battery of Okuyama for the benefit of helping maintain batteries within an acceptable operating temperature range [Dawley 0032].
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724