Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicants traverse of the interpretation of claims, the Applicant begins by addressing the angle measurement apparatus. The Applicant has not amended the term and pointed to several portions of the disclosure clarifying the full scope of the angle measuring apparatus. The Examiners comments noted the broadest disclosed structure and Applicant’s comments present more granular aspects of the claimed element.
Regarding the claimed “controller”, the Applicant has stated that the term is not intended to be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f), has amended the term out and replaced it with a processor and memory for executing instructions. The remarks are not persuasive. The structure of the claim as amended necessitates interpretation under 35 USC 112(f).1 The controller was previously interpreted as a processor and memory and the rules at MPEP 2181 applied. The amendment necessitates modification to the action below, but the interpretation is still required since the function ascribed to the processor and memory are not coextensive with the claimed structure.
Applicant’s traverse of the rejections under 35 USC 112(a) and (b) are similarly unpersuasive. As previously pointed out in the rejection under 35 USC 112(b), there is no specific algorithm disclosed for carrying out the claimed computer implemented function. Applicants remarks and amendment do not cure this deficiency.
Applicants allegation that the rejection under 35 USC 112(a) is a clear error is itself an error. The lack of a disclosed algorithm(s) was made of record in the rejection under 112(b). The rejection under 112(a) specifically cited MPEP 2163.03(VI).2 Thus the rejection previously made was complete and not a clear error since the words chosen by the Applicant and deficiency of the disclosure necessitated the interpretation of the claims under 112(f), application of the rules for computer implemented limitations under MPEP 2181(II)(B), and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) and (a), as properly made of record.
Regarding the traverse of the rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 102, the point and distinction drawn by the Applicant are not persuasive. Fig 2 of Kawatsu shows, as cited in the remarks by the Applicant the rotation direction R, R- and the axis of rotation is illustrated in Fig. 2 as being the axis about which the wafer is rotated. Thus the Applicant’s conclusion is rebutted by cited Fig. 2.
Applicant’s newly added claims 21 and 22 are included in the rejections below, each of which including a calculating step or function. As with the other recited computer implemented functions claimed, there does not appear to be a disclosed algorithm for carrying out the claimed function, hence their inclusion in the rejections under 35 USC 112(a) and (b).
Any changes to the rejection below were made as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
This action is made final.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 5/30/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/21/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Angle measurement apparatus in claim 1-4,6-10 and 12-15, 17-22. The term is a nonce phrase coupled to functional language requiring the measurement of the angle of an ion beam in mutually orthogonal directions. The corresponding structure is a Faraday between a collimator and a process chamber and a second Faraday located in a process chamber [38].
One or more processors and a memory in claims 1-4,6-10 and 12-15, 17-22. The term is a nonce phrase, described at [39] as comprising a processor and memory. The term is therefore interpreted in view of MPEP 2181(II)(B) as a generic computing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4,6-10 and 12-15, 17-22are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “Processor” and “memory” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claimed processor and memory are disclosed as a generic computing elements. However, there is no corresponding algorithm explaining the step by step execution of the claimed function which “controls the tilt device based on the second angle, crystal axis information of the wafer, and implantation recipe information”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4,6-10 and 12-15, 17-22are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1-4,6-10 and 12-15, 17-22 are rejected under this heading in view of MPEP 2163.03(VI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US Patent Application 2019/0244782.
Regarding claim 11, ‘782 discloses a method of ion implantation where a first ion beam angle and a second ion beam angle are measured in orthogonal directions, mutually orthogonal to a traveling direction of an ion beam [0041-0042], correcting the ion beam angle in the first direction based on the first angle [0043], rotating the wafer in a first direction based on a second angle, crystal axis information, and recipe information [0035], and implanting ions into the wafer [0056, 0059-62].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4,6-10 and 12-15, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed memory is not recited, nor disclosed, as a non-transitory storage medium, thereby including modalities where the claimed memory and instructions are either signals per se, or a computer program product which are not statutory subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID A. VANORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
1 MPEP 2181 (II)(B): In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See, e.g., Noah Systems Inc. v. Intuit Inc., 675 F.3d 1302, 1312, 102 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239.
For a computer-implemented means-plus-function claim limitation invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) the Federal Circuit has stated that “a microprocessor can serve as structure for a computer-implemented function only where the claimed function is ‘coextensive’ with a microprocessor itself.” EON Corp. IP Holdings LLC v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 785 F.3d 616, 622, 114 USPQ2d 1711, 1714 (Fed. Cir. 2015), citing In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1747 (Fed. Cir. 2011). “‘It is only in the rare circumstances where any general-purpose computer without any special programming can perform the function that an algorithm need not be disclosed.’” EON Corp., 785 F.3d at 621, 114 USPQ2 at 1714, quoting Ergo Licensing, LLC v. CareFusion 303, Inc., 673 F.3d 1361, 1365, 102 USPQ2d 1122, 1125 (Fed. Cir. 2012). “‘[S]pecial programming’ includes any functionality that is not ‘coextensive’ with a microprocessor or general purpose computer.” EON Corp., 785 F.3d at 623, 114 USPQ2d at 1715 (citations omitted). “Examples of such coextensive functions are ‘receiving’ data, ‘storing’ data, and ‘processing’ data—the only three functions on which the Katz court vacated the district court’s decision and remanded for the district court to determine whether disclosure of a microprocessor was sufficient.” 785 F.3d at 622, 114 USPQ2d at 1714. Thus, “[a] microprocessor or general purpose computer lends sufficient structure only to basic functions of a microprocessor. All other computer-implemented functions require disclosure of an algorithm.” Id., 114 USPQ2d at 1714
2 MPEP 2163.03(VI): VI. INDEFINITENESS REJECTION OF A MEANS- (OR STEP-) PLUS-FUNCTION LIMITATION
A claim limitation expressed in means- (or step-) plus-function language “shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.” 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. If the specification fails to disclose sufficient corresponding structure, materials, or acts that perform the entire claimed function, then the claim limitation is indefinite because the applicant has in effect failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (en banc). Such a limitation also lacks an adequate written description as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because an indefinite, unbounded functional limitation would cover all ways of performing a function and indicate that the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention. See also MPEP § 2181.