DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2024 is in compliance with the
provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the
examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “Sa0~3” has been used to designate both the first signal lines and the second signal lines in Fig. 23. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para[0061] recites “RXa 1 2”, which should be “RXa12”.
Paras[0063], [0074], and [0077] recite “r0, r1, r3, and r4”, which should each be “r0, r1, r2, and r3”.
Para[0087] recites “r4, r5, r6, and r7”, which should be “r8, r9, r10, and r11”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-6 recite “The device”, which should be “The strain detection device”.
Claim 6 recites “radius curvature”, which should be “radius of curvature”.
Claim 3 recites “calculate” in line 9 which should be “calculates”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 6 recite “the detection value” a plurality of times. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in these claims.
Claim 2 recites “the value”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 and 3 recite “the detection values”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in these claims.
Claims 2, 3 and 6 recite “the threshold value” a plurality of times. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in these claims.
Claim 3 recites “the plurality of strain gauges for each group”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “the detection values of the strain gauges”. It is unclear if the detection values are from the group or from the entire set of strain gauges, rendering this limitation in the claim as indefinite.
Claim 3 recites “the detection value of each strain gauge”. It is unclear if the detection values are from the group or from the entire set of strain gauges, rendering this limitation in the claim as indefinite.
Claim 3 and 6 recite “the curved surface form”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 and 6 recite “the strain gauges of an other group”. It is unclear which group is being referred to in “an other group”, rendering these limitations in the claims as indefinite.
Claim 6 recites “a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges for each group”. It is unclear if “the plurality” is the same plurality as the ones that are spaced apart inside each group, rendering this limitation in the claim as indefinite.
Claim 6 recites “a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges of an other group”. It is unclear if “the plurality” is the same plurality as the ones that are spaced apart inside each group, rendering this limitation in the claim as indefinite.
Claim 6 recites “of each of the strain gauges” twice. It is unclear if the limitation is referring to the strain gauges of the entire set of blocks, or for the strain gauges in the block, or the strain gauges in a single group of the block, rendering this limitation as indefinite.
Claims that depend on the above rejected claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US 20140331741 A1), Koizumi (US 20220082458 A1), and Hunt (US 20230057185 A1).
With regards to Claim 1, Shah teaches
a sensor sheet comprising a plurality of strain gauges provided in a row at intervals (See Fig. 6, where the sensor sheet is the entire Figure, a plurality of strain gauges are the strain gauges 60, and they are provided in a row by observing the side row of strain gauges on the right edge in Fig. 6, and each strain gauge 60 is spaced apart by an interval. Examiner notes this is interpreted as a row by simply rotating Fig. 6 90 degrees clockwise.), a plurality of power lines and a plurality of first signal lines each connected to one end side of a respective one of the plurality of strain gauges (See Fig. 5, where the strain gauge 60 is shown in more detail, a plurality of which is in Fig. 6 (i.e. a respective one of the plurality of strain gauges). A power line via the power source 62 (and input into 60A) and a first signal line via the input line 80 are connected on one end side of the strain gauge (i.e. the end side defined by the side connected to 60A, and input 80 is connected to the power line which is itself connected to the strain gauge 60 on one end, making them both connected to one end of the strain gauge 60 as it receives power via the power line and outputs signals from that end via input 80). As there are a plurality of strain gauges 60 in Fig. 6, there is consequently a plurality of power lines and a plurality of first signal lines each connected to one end side of a respective one of the plurality of strain gauges.), and a plurality of ground lines and a plurality of second signal lines each connected to an other end side of the respective one of the plurality of strain gauges (See Fig. 5, where the strain gauge 60 is shown in more detail, a plurality of which is in Fig. 6 (i.e. the respective one of the plurality of strain gauges). A ground line via the ground supply terminal 76 and a second signal line via the input line 82 are connected on an other end side of the strain gauge (i.e. the other end side defined by the side connected to 60B, and input line 82 is connected to the ground line which is itself connected to the strain gauge 60 on the other end, making them both connected to one end of the strain gauge 60 as it outputs via the ground line and outputs signals from that end via input line 82). As there are a plurality of strain gauges 60 in Fig. 6, there is consequently a plurality of ground lines and a plurality of second signal lines each connected to an other end side of the respective one of the plurality of strain gauges.);
and a controller comprising a determination unit which determines whether to stop or continue scan-driving of the strain gauges (See Para[0044] “When the accelerometer output from accelerometer 48, the stress data from strain gauge(s) 60, or other sensor data indicative of an impact between device 10 (i.e. a controller comprising a determination unit) and an external surface exceeds a predetermined threshold amount, device 10 can conclude that device 10 has struck the ground or other external structure. In response to detection of an impact, device 10 can halt (i.e. which determines whether to stop or continue, therefore acting as a controller, therefore having a controller and a sensor sheet via Fig. 6) data collection in circular buffer 84 (i.e. scan-driving of the strain gauges, the data of which is stored in circular buffer 84, see Para[0043] “During the operations of step 96, device 10 can continue to gather stress data (i.e. this is scan-driving as the strain gauges are scanned for values and driven to output those values, see Figs. 5 and 6) from one or more strain gauges 60 and can store the gathered stress data in circular buffer 84. ”) and can retain stored stress data for analysis (step 100).”).
Shah is silent to the language of
a selector which sequentially scan-drives the plurality of strain gauges via the plurality of power lines and sequentially reads detection signals at the one end side of the respective strain gauges and detection signals at the other end side of the respective strain gauges via the first signal lines and the second signal lines, an arithmetic processor which calculates a radius of curvature based on the detection signals, and based on the radius of curvature.
Koizumi teaches
a selector (See Para[0067] “ the control unit 30 includes a scanning-line drive circuit 32 (i.e. a selector, see Para[0067] “When the scanning signal from the scanning-line drive circuit 32 is supplied to the scanning line SL as the gate potential Vg via the level shifter 34, the gate potential Vg is supplied to the gate electrode GE1 connected to the scanning line SL. As a result, the transistor 25 enter the ON state, and a current flows from the source electrode SE1 to the drain electrode DE1 via the channel CA1.” ), an 8-channel (8ch) AD converter circuit 33, and a microcomputer 31”) which sequentially scan-drives the plurality of strain gauges via the plurality of power lines and sequentially reads detection signals at the one end side of the respective strain gauges and detection signals at the other end side of the respective strain gauges via the first signal lines and the second signal lines (See Para[0082] “it is possible to detect the strain in each sensor element 23 (i.e. group of sensor elements constitute the plurality of strain gauges) with high accuracy by sequentially switching (i.e. sequentially scan-drives and sequentially reads detection signals via the switching, as the switching causes the strain gauges to be scanned for values and driven to output those values sequentially, leading to the reading of the values from the strain gauges. Also see Fig. 4, where the first signal line Vg(i.e. the detection signal, as it is used to start the detecting of the strain via reading the detecting signal, see Para[0067] “When the scanning signal from the scanning-line drive circuit 32 is supplied to the scanning line SL as the gate potential Vg via the level shifter 34, the gate potential Vg is supplied to the gate electrode GE1 connected to the scanning line SL. As a result, the transistor 25 enter the ON state, and a current flows from the source electrode SE1 to the drain electrode DE1 via the channel CA1.”) is on one end of the strain gauge as it serves as an input signal, and the output voltage Vo (i.e. a detection signal as it reflects an output value detected from the sensor element 23) serves as a second signal line as it is an output of the other end side. Referring to Fig. 3, as there are a plurality of sensor elements 23, therefore is also a respective plurality of detection signals at the one end side of the respective strain gauges and a respective plurality of detection signals at the other end side of the respective strain gauges via the first signal lines and the second signal lines.) the transistor 25 of each sensor element 23 (i.e. via the plurality of power lines as the switching action engages the power lines of each strain gauge in Fig. 3 via the source electrodes of each sensor element (i.e. respective strain gauges with respective detection signals at each end of each strain gauge)) between the ON-state and the OFF-state (i.e. making the scanning-line drive circuit 32 a selector, see Fig. 3, where there is a matrix of sensor elements 23 upon which the scanning-line drive circuit 32 acts upon). Moreover, the distribution of the strain generated in the sensor unit 22 can be easily obtained.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shah wherein a selector which sequentially scan-drives the plurality of strain gauges via the plurality of power lines and sequentially reads detection signals at the one end side of the respective strain gauges and detection signals at the other end side of the respective strain gauges via the first signal lines and the second signal lines is used like in Koizumi in order to have more control over which strain gauges to specifically analyze.
Shah and Koizumi are silent to the language of
an arithmetic processor which calculates a radius of curvature based on the detection signals, and based on the radius of curvature.
Hunt teaches
an arithmetic processor which calculates a radius of curvature based on the detection signals (See Para[0198] “Based on the difference in elongation of the first and second strain gauges (i.e. based on the detection signals, and there is a plurality of detection signals as there are two strain gauges), the apparatus (i.e. an arithmetic processor) can determine a radius or degree of curvature (i.e. which calculates a radius of curvature) of the strain sensor to determine a degree or radius of curvature of the tissue or joint adjacent to or under the strain sensor.”), and based on the radius of curvature (See Para[0083] “For example, the device can be configured to receive a signal (i.e. based on the radius of curvature, see Para[0031] “In any arrangements disclosed herein, the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature of the contact layer can be detected by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor.”) that can cause the apparatus to trigger an alarm on the device, cause the device to enter a state of hibernation or lower power, or cause the device to change a frequency of data collection, or some other operating parameter of the device.” Also, the level of curvature is dependent on the radius of curvature, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the level of curvature based on the radius of curvature calculated (the radius of curvature is considered as R1). Therefore, Hunt teaches an arithmetic processor and alarm based on the radius of curvature.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shah and Koizumi wherein an arithmetic processor which calculates a radius of curvature based on the detection signals, and based on the radius of curvature is done like in Hunt in order to efficiently and automatically detect anomalies in the surface being detected. Examiner notes that Shah determines to stop the scan-driving based on the impact, making the result of Shah stopping the device 10 in Shah based on a numerical value obtained from the strain gauges, whereas Hunt also uses a numerical value (i.e. the radius of curvature) of the strain gauges to cause a hibernation of the apparatus, see Hunt Para[0083] “For example, the device can be configured to receive a signal (i.e. based on the radius of curvature, see Para[0031] “In any arrangements disclosed herein, the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature of the contact layer can be detected by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor.” Also, the level of curvature is dependent on the radius of curvature, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the level of curvature based on the radius of curvature calculated (the radius of curvature is considered as R1).) that can cause the apparatus to trigger an alarm on the device, cause the device to enter a state of hibernation or lower power, or cause the device to change a frequency of data collection, or some other operating parameter of the device.”.
With regards to Claim 2, Shah, Koizumi, and Hunt teach the limitations of Claim 1. Shah further teaches
the controller determines whether the detection value of each strain gauge is greater than a predetermined threshold value, scan-drives other plurality of strain gauges to obtain the detection value when the value is smaller than the threshold value, (See Para[0043] “Accordingly, device 10 preferably monitors data from accelerometer 48, strain gauge(s) 60, or other sensors to determine when device 10 has struck the ground or other external structure. So long as no impact is detected (e.g., so long as measured sensor data is less than a predetermined threshold (i.e. determines whether the detection value of each strain gauge is greater than a predetermined threshold value)), device 10 (i.e. the controller) can continue to update the stress data (i.e. sequentially (as in sequentially updating the data after determining the threshold value was not exceeded) scan-drives (this is scan-driving as the strain gauges are scanned for values and driven to output those values, see Figs. 5 and 6) other plurality of strain gauges to obtain the detection value when the value is smaller than the threshold value via updating the stress data. As the data is continued to be updated, sequentially scan-driving the other plurality of strain gauges is done, which provide detection values (see Fig. 5, the input lines 80 and 82, and Fig. 6 shows a plurality of such detection values), in the case when the detection values from 80 and 82 are smaller than the predetermined threshold) stored in the circular buffer, as indicated by line 98.” In addition, this is considered scan-driving as the detection values are scanned through the circuit board in Fig. 6 while driving through the set of strain gauges in Fig. 6. ), and stops the scan-driving when larger than the threshold value, and calculates a curved surface form based on the detection values acquired until the stopping (See Para[0044] “ When the accelerometer output from accelerometer 48, the stress data from strain gauge(s) 60, or other sensor data indicative of an impact between device 10 and an external surface exceeds a predetermined threshold amount, device 10 can conclude that device 10 has struck the ground or other external structure. In response to detection of an impact, device 10 can halt data collection in circular buffer 84 (i.e. stops the scan-driving when larger than the threshold value) and can retain stored stress data for analysis (step 100) (i.e. and calculates a curved surface form based on the detection values (stored stress data) acquired until the stopping (See Para[0046] “Stress data analysis may be performed to develop a map of stress values across the surface of a printed circuit board (e.g., to develop stress isolines (i.e. and calculating a curved surface form, as the stress isolines are a curved form on a surface, which is a circuit board) such as isolines 88 of FIG. 7)”) based on the detection values acquired until the stopping).”).
Shah is silent to the language of
sequentially scan-drives a plurality of strain gauges among the strain gauges,
sequentially scan-drives.
Koizumi teaches
sequentially scan-drives a plurality of strain gauges among the strain gauges (See Para[0082] “it is possible to detect the strain in each sensor element 23 (i.e. group of sensor elements constitute a plurality of strain gauges among the strain gauges, where this plurality can be the entire set of strain gauges) with high accuracy by sequentially switching (i.e. sequentially scan-drives via the switching, as the switching causes the strain gauges to be scanned for values and driven to output those values sequentially. See also Para[0067] “When the scanning signal (i.e. scan-driving via the switching caused by the scanning signal) from the scanning-line drive circuit 32 is supplied to the scanning line SL as the gate potential Vg via the level shifter 34, the gate potential Vg is supplied to the gate electrode GE1 connected to the scanning line SL. As a result, the transistor 25 enter the ON state, and a current flows from the source electrode SE1 to the drain electrode DE1 via the channel CA1.”),
sequentially scan-drives (See Para[0082] “it is possible to detect the strain in each sensor element 23 with high accuracy by sequentially switching (i.e. sequentially scan-drives via the switching, as the switching causes the strain gauges to be scanned for values and driven to output those values sequentially. See also Para[0067] “When the scanning signal (i.e. scan-driving via the switching caused by the scanning signal) from the scanning-line drive circuit 32 is supplied to the scanning line SL as the gate potential Vg via the level shifter 34, the gate potential Vg is supplied to the gate electrode GE1 connected to the scanning line SL. As a result, the transistor 25 enter the ON state, and a current flows from the source electrode SE1 to the drain electrode DE1 via the channel CA1.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shah wherein sequentially scan-driving a plurality of strain gauges among the strain gauges and sequentially scan-driving is done like in Koizumi in order to have more control over which strain gauges to specifically analyze. Examiner notes that Koizumi also teaches a controller via the control unit 30, See Para[0067] “ the control unit 30 “.
With regards to Claim 3, Shah, Koizumi, and Hunt teach the limitations of Claim 1. Shah further teaches
the controller stops the scan-driving and calculate the curved surface form (See Para[0044] “ When the accelerometer output from accelerometer 48, the stress data from strain gauge(s) 60, or other sensor data indicative of an impact between device 10 and an external surface exceeds a predetermined threshold amount, device 10 can conclude that device 10 has struck the ground or other external structure. In response to detection of an impact, device 10 (i.e. the controller) can halt data collection in circular buffer 84 (i.e. stops the scan-driving (See Para[0043] “During the operations of step 96, device 10 can continue to gather stress data from one or more strain gauges 60 (i.e. this is scan-driving as the strain gauges are scanned for values and driven to output those values, see Figs. 5 and 6) and can store the gathered stress data in circular buffer 84. ”) when larger than the threshold value) and can retain stored stress data for analysis (step 100) (i.e. and calculate the curved surface form (See Para[0046] “Stress data analysis may be performed to develop a map of stress values across the surface of a printed circuit board (e.g., to develop stress isolines (i.e. calculating a curved surface form, as the stress isolines are a curved form on a surface, which is a circuit board) such as isolines 88 of FIG. 7)”)).”).
Shah is silent to the language of
divides the plurality of strain gauges into at least two groups and sequentially scan-drives the plurality of strain gauges for each group, calculates the radius of curvature based on the
detection values of the strain gauges, and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a
predetermined threshold value, based on the radii of curvature calculated, and when at least one of the calculated radii of curvature is smaller than the threshold value, sequentially scan-drive a plurality of strain gauges the strain gauges of an other group and calculate the radius of curvature based on the detection value of each strain gauge.
Koizumi teaches
divides the plurality of strain gauges into at least two groups and sequentially scan-drives the plurality of strain gauges for each group (See Para[0082] “it is possible to detect the strain in each sensor element 23 with high accuracy by sequentially switching the transistor 25 of each sensor element 23 between the ON-state and the OFF-state (i.e. sequentially scan-drives the plurality of strain gauges via the switching, as the switching causes the strain gauges to be scanned for values and driven to output those values sequentially). Moreover, the distribution of the strain generated in the sensor unit 22 can be easily obtained.” Therefore, the control unit, which contains the scanning-line drive circuit 32 (See Para[0067] “ the control unit 30 includes a scanning-line drive circuit 32 (i.e. a selector, see Para[0067] “When the scanning signal from the scanning-line drive circuit 32 is supplied to the scanning line SL as the gate potential Vg via the level shifter 34, the gate potential Vg is supplied to the gate electrode GE1 connected to the scanning line SL. As a result, the transistor 25 enter the ON state, and a current flows from the source electrode SE1 to the drain electrode DE1 via the channel CA1.” )”) sends signals to control the strain gauges based on the gate potential Vg. Since there are three gate potentials(Vg1, Vg2, and Vg3) in Fig. 3, the scanning-line drive circuit 32 divides the plurality of strain gauges into at least two groups and sequentially scan-drives the plurality of strain gauges for each group (where each group would be defined by the gate potential).),
sequentially scan-drive a plurality of strain gauges the strain gauges of an other group (See Para[0082] “it is possible to detect the strain in each sensor element 23 with high accuracy by sequentially switching (i.e. sequentially scan-drives via the switching, as the switching causes the strain gauges to be scanned for values and driven to output those values sequentially. See also Para[0067] “When the scanning signal (i.e. scan-driving via the switching caused by the scanning signal) from the scanning-line drive circuit 32 is supplied to the scanning line SL as the gate potential Vg via the level shifter 34, the gate potential Vg is supplied to the gate electrode GE1 connected to the scanning line SL. As a result, the transistor 25 enter the ON state, and a current flows from the source electrode SE1 to the drain electrode DE1 via the channel CA1.” Since there are three groups Vg1, Vg2, and Vg3 in Fig. 3, sequentially scan-driving a plurality of strain gauges the strain gauges of an other group is done, like Vg2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shah wherein dividing the plurality of strain gauges into at least two groups and sequentially scan-driving the plurality of strain gauges for each group and sequentially scan-driving a plurality of strain gauges the strain gauges of an other group is done like in Koizumi in order to have an automated method to analyze groups of strain gauges.
Shah and Koizumi are silent to the language of
calculates the radius of curvature based on the detection values of the strain gauges, and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value, based on the radii of curvature calculated, and when at least one of the calculated radii of curvature is smaller than the threshold value, and calculate the radius of curvature based on the detection value of each strain gauge.
Hunt teaches
calculates the radius of curvature based on the detection values of the strain gauges (See Para[0197] “a capacitance of the first strain gauge 542 changes responsive to the first strain gauge 542 being at least one of elongated and curved, and a capacitance of the second strain gauge 544 changes responsive to the second strain gauge 544 being at least one of elongated and curved”. The detection values are the capacitances of the first strain gauge and the second strain gauge. Since the capacitance is related to the curvature, a radius is calculated, see Fig. 12 the radius R1 and R2 as well as equations 3 and 4. Therefore, equations 3 and 4 yield a radius of curvature in the case when the capacitance changes, therefore making calculating the radius of curvature based on the detected values of the strain gauges.), and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value (See Fig. 12, where a predetermined threshold value is Rthreshold<R1<R2 (which can happen when the strain sensors 542 and 544 become less curved), which is possible because Hunt does not specify a specific threshold level for curvature, see Para[0031] “the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature of the contact layer can be detected by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor” . When the threshold is Rthreshold<R1<R2 of Fig. 12, all of the radii of curvature calculated (i.e. R1 and R2) are greater than a predetermined threshold value (i.e. and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value). Also, the level of curvature is dependent on the radii of curvature, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the level of curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated (the radii of curvature is considered as R1 and R2). Therefore, Hunt calculates the radius of curvature based on the detection values of the strain gauges and also teaches when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value in addition to the limitations below.), based on the radii of curvature calculated (See Para[0031] “the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature of the contact layer can be detected (i.e. based on the radii of curvature calculated, as the level of curvature is based on it, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated) by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor”), and when at least one of the calculated radii of curvature is smaller than the threshold value (See Para[0031] “the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature (i.e. the threshold value) of the contact layer can be detected by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor”. In this case, consider when the radii R1 and R2 are both less than the threshold value (i.e. and when at least one of the calculated radii of curvature is smaller than the threshold value, which can happen when the strain sensors 542 and 544 bend even further, so Rthreshold>R1>R2) then the alarm does not trigger. Also, the level of curvature is dependent on the radii of curvature, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the level of curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated (the radii of curvature is considered as R1 and R2). Therefore, Hunt calculates the radius of curvature based on the detection values of the strain gauges and also teaches when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value and also teaches when at least one of the calculated radii of curvature is smaller than the threshold value in addition to the limitations below.), and calculate the radius of curvature based on the detection value of each strain gauge (See Para[0197] “a capacitance of the first strain gauge 542 changes responsive to the first strain gauge 542 being at least one of elongated and curved, and a capacitance of the second strain gauge 544 changes responsive to the second strain gauge 544 being at least one of elongated and curved”. The detection value of each strain gauge is the capacitance of the first strain gauge and the capacitance of the second strain gauge. Since the capacitance is related to the curvature, a radius is calculated, see Fig. 12 the radius R1 and R2 as well as equations 3 and 4. Therefore, equations 3 and 4 yield a radius of curvature in the case when the capacitance changes, making detecting the values of the capacitances from the strain gauges and calculating the radius of curvature based on the detected values of the strain gauges completed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shah and Koizumi wherein calculating the radius of curvature based on the detection values of the strain gauges, and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value, based on the radii of curvature calculated, and when at least one of the calculated radii of curvature is smaller than the threshold value, and calculate the radius of curvature based on the detection value of each strain gauge is done like in Hunt in order to detect efficiently the anomalies in the surface in an automated manner. Examiner notes that Shah determines to stop the scan-driving and calculate the curved surface form based on the impact, making Shah stop the device 10 based on a numerical value obtained from the strain gauges, and Hunt also uses a numerical value (i.e. the radius of curvature) of the strain gauges to cause a hibernation (i.e. stopping) of the apparatus, see Hunt Para[0083] “For example, the device can be configured to receive a signal (i.e. based on the radius of curvature, see Para[0031] “In any arrangements disclosed herein, the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature of the contact layer can be detected by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor.”) that can cause the apparatus to trigger an alarm on the device, cause the device to enter a state of hibernation or lower power, or cause the device to change a frequency of data collection, or some other operating parameter of the device.”( Also, the level of curvature is dependent on the radii of curvature, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the level of curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated (the radii of curvature is considered as R1 and R2).). In addition, Examiner notes that Koizumi does calculate in addition to the sequential scan-driving, see Para[0082] “Moreover, the distribution of the strain generated in the sensor unit 22 can be easily obtained (i.e. calculating the distribution).”
Examiner notes that Shah determines to stop the scan-driving and calculate the curved surface form based on the impact, i.e. a numerical value
With regards to Claim 4, Shah, Koizumi, and Hunt teach the limitations of Claim 3. Shah further teaches
the plurality of strain gauges in each of the groups are located to be apart from each other by two or more strain gauges (See Fig. 6, where the plurality of strain gauges in each of the groups (where each group has a plurality of strain gauges) are separated by two strain gauges (i.e. are located to be apart from each other by two or more strain gauges), See Figure below. Examiner notes that both Shah and Koizumi teach the groups of strain gauges.).
[AltContent: textbox (Two strain gauges separating group 1 and group 2 )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (group 2)][AltContent: textbox (group 1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
With regards to Claim 5, Shah, Koizumi, and Hunt teach the limitations of Claim 4. Shah further teaches
the plurality of strain gauges in each of the groups are located to be apart from each other at equal intervals (See Figure above, where the strain gauges in each group (i.e. the plurality of strain gauges in each of the groups) is spaced apart evenly (i.e. are located to be apart from each other at equal intervals)).
With regards to Claim 6, Shah, Koizumi, and Hunt teach the limitations of Claim 1. Shah further teaches
the controller sets up a plurality of blocks each containing a plurality of consecutive strain gauges (See Fig. 6, also shown below, where there are two blocks (i.e. the controller (i.e. the device 10) sets up a plurality of blocks) where each block contains a plurality of consecutive strain gauges shown by the strain gauges 60 in each dotted ellipse (i.e. each containing a plurality of consecutive strain gauges)), divides the strain gauges of each block into a plurality of groups each containing a plurality of strain gauges spaced apart from each other (See Fig. 6 shown again below, where each block contains at least two groups, where each group is shown by the dotted ellipses. Therefore, the strain gauges are divided into blocks, where each block has a plurality of groups (i.e. divides the strain gauges of each block into a plurality of groups) each containing a plurality of strain gauges in a row for each group, when rotating Fig. 6 by 90 degrees clockwise, and the strain gauges 60 are spaced apart from each other), and in each of the blocks, scan-drives a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges for each group (See Abstract “The strain gauges may be used to make stress measurements (i.e. in each of the blocks , scan-drives (i.e. this is scan-driving as the strain gauges are scanned for values and driven to output those values, see Figs. 5 and 6) a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges for each group, as Fig. 6 is an example of a circuit board being tested.) at various locations on the boards. Stress data may be collected in response to data from an accelerometer indicating that the device has been dropped.”), and in each of the blocks, scan-drives a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges (See Fig. 6, also shown as the figure below, for each block of the two blocks. Also see Abstract “The strain gauges may be used to make stress measurements (i.e. and in each of the blocks , scan-drives (i.e. this is scan-driving as the strain gauges are scanned for values and driven to output those values, see Figs. 5 and 6) a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges, as Fig. 6 is an example of a circuit board being tested.) at various locations on the boards. Stress data may be collected in response to data from an accelerometer indicating that the device has been dropped.”)
stops the scan-driving, and calculates the curved surface form (See Para[0044] “ When the accelerometer output from accelerometer 48, the stress data from strain gauge(s) 60, or other sensor data indicative of an impact between device 10 and an external surface exceeds a predetermined threshold amount, device 10 can conclude that device 10 has struck the ground or other external structure. In response to detection of an impact, device 10 can halt data collection in circular buffer 84 (i.e. stops the scan-driving (see Para[0043] “During the operations of step 96, device 10 can continue to gather stress data from one or more strain gauges 60 (i.e. this is scan-driving as the strain gauges are scanned for values and driven to output those values, see Figs. 5 and 6) and can store the gathered stress data in circular buffer 84. ”. Therefore, the controller stops the scan-driving when an impact is detected.) when larger than the threshold value) and can retain stored stress data for analysis (step 100) (i.e. and calculates a curved surface form (See Para[0046] “Stress data analysis may be performed to develop a map of stress values across the surface of a printed circuit board (e.g., to develop stress isolines (i.e. calculating a curved surface form, as the stress isolines are a curved form on a surface, which is a circuit board) such as isolines 88 of FIG. 7)”)).” Therefore, Shah stops the scan-driving, and calculates the curved surface form.).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (block 2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (block 1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Shah is silent to the language of
sequentially scan-drives for each group and calculates the radius curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges, and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value, based on the radii of curvature calculated, and when at least one of the radii of curvature calculated is less than the threshold value, sequentially scan-drives a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges of an other group and calculates the radius of curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges.
Koizumi teaches
sequentially scan-drives for each group (See Para[0082] “it is possible to detect the strain in each sensor element 23 with high accuracy by sequentially switching the transistor 25 of each sensor element 23 between the ON-state and the OFF-state (i.e. sequentially scan-drives via the switching, as the switching causes the strain gauges to be scanned for values and driven to output those values sequentially). Moreover, the distribution of the strain generated in the sensor unit 22 can be easily obtained.” Therefore, the control unit, which contains the scanning-line drive circuit 32 (See Para[0067] “ the control unit 30 includes a scanning-line drive circuit 32 (i.e. a selector, see Para[0067] “When the scanning signal from the scanning-line drive circuit 32 is supplied to the scanning line SL as the gate potential Vg via the level shifter 34, the gate potential Vg is supplied to the gate electrode GE1 connected to the scanning line SL. As a result, the transistor 25 enter the ON state, and a current flows from the source electrode SE1 to the drain electrode DE1 via the channel CA1.” )”) sends signals to control the strain gauges based on the gate potential Vg. Since there are three gate potentials(Vg1, Vg2, and Vg3) in Fig. 3, the scanning-line drive circuit 32 divides the plurality of strain gauges into at least two groups and sequentially scan-drives for each group (where each group would be defined by the gate potential).)
sequentially scan-drives (See Para[0082] “it is possible to detect the strain in each sensor element 23 with high accuracy by sequentially switching (i.e. sequentially scan-drives via the scanning signal) the transistor 25 of each sensor element 23 between the ON-state and the OFF-state (i.e. sequentially scan-drives via the switching, as the switching causes the strain gauges to be scanned for values and driven to output those values sequentially). Moreover, the distribution of the strain generated in the sensor unit 22 can be easily obtained.”) a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges of an other group (See Fig. 3, but where the scanning-line drive circuit 32 scan-drives a plurality of strain gauges in the second row for Vg2 (i.e. a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges of an other group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shah wherein sequentially scan-drives for each group and sequentially scan-drives a plurality of strain gauges of the strain gauges of an other group is done like in Koizumi in order to have an automated method to analyze groups of strain gauges.
Shah and Koizumi are silent to the language of
and calculates the radius curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges, and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value, based on the radii of curvature calculated, and when at least one of the radii of curvature calculated is less than the threshold value, and calculates the radius of curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges.
Hunt teaches
and calculates the radius curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges (See Para[0197] “a capacitance of the first strain gauge 542 changes responsive to the first strain gauge 542 being at least one of elongated and curved, and a capacitance of the second strain gauge 544 changes responsive to the second strain gauge 544 being at least one of elongated and curved”. The detection value of each of the strain gauges is the capacitance of the first strain gauge and the capacitance of the second strain gauge. Since the capacitance is related to the curvature, a radius is calculated, see Fig. 12 the radius R1 and R2 as well as equations 3 and 4. Therefore, equations 3 and 4 yield a radius curvature in the case when the capacitance changes, making detecting each of the values of the capacitances from the strain gauges and calculating the radius curvature based on the detected value of each of the strain gauges completed.), and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value (See Fig. 12, where the predetermined threshold value is Rthreshold<R1<R2, which is possible because Hunt does not specify a specific threshold level (i.e. based on the radii of curvature calculated, as the level of curvature is based on it, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated) for curvature, see Para[0031] “the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature of the contact layer can be detected by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor” . When the threshold is Rthreshold<R1<R2 (which can happen when the strain sensors 542 and 544 become less curved), all of the radii of curvature calculated (i.e. R1 and R2) are greater than a predetermined threshold value. Also, the level of curvature is dependent on the radii of curvature, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the level of curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated (the radii of curvature is considered as R1 and R2). Therefore, Hunt calculates the radius curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges and also teaches when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value in addition to the limitations below.), based on the radii of curvature calculated (See Para[0031] “the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature of the contact layer can be detected (i.e. based on the radii of curvature calculated, as the level of curvature is based on it, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated) by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor”), and when at least one of the radii of curvature calculated is less than the threshold value (See Para[0031] “the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature (i.e. the threshold value) of the contact layer can be detected by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor”. In this case, consider when Rthreshold>R1>R2, (which can happen when the strain sensors 542 and 544 bend even further) so Rthreshold>R1>R2 (i.e. when at least one of the radii of curvature calculated is less than the threshold value). Also, the level of curvature is dependent on the radii of curvature, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the level of curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated (the radii of curvature is considered as R1 and R2). Therefore, Hunt calculates the radius curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges and also teaches when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value and also teaches when at least one of the radii of curvature calculated is less than the threshold value in addition to the limitations below.), and calculates the radius of curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges (See Para[0197] “a capacitance of the first strain gauge 542 changes responsive to the first strain gauge 542 being at least one of elongated and curved, and a capacitance of the second strain gauge 544 changes responsive to the second strain gauge 544 being at least one of elongated and curved”. The detection value of each of the strain gauges is the capacitance of the first strain gauge and the capacitance of the second strain gauge. Since the capacitance is related to the curvature, a radius is calculated, see Fig. 12 the radius R1 and R2 as well as equations 3 and 4. Therefore, equations 3 and 4 yield a radius of curvature in the case when the capacitance changes, making detecting each of the values of the capacitances from the strain gauges and calculating the radius of curvature based on the detected value of each of the strain gauges completed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Shah and Koizumi wherein and calculates the radius curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges, and when all of the radii of curvature calculated are greater than a predetermined threshold value, based on the radii of curvature calculated, and when at least one of the radii of curvature calculated is less than the threshold value, and calculates the radius of curvature based on the detection value of each of the strain gauges is done like in Hunt in order to detect anomalies on the surface in an efficient manner. Examiner notes that Shah determines to stop the scan-driving and calculate the curved surface form based on the impact, making Shah stop the device 10 based on a numerical value obtained from the strain gauges, and Hunt also uses a numerical value (i.e. the radius of curvature) of the strain gauges to cause a hibernation (i.e. stopping) of the apparatus, see Hunt Para[0083] “For example, the device can be configured to receive a signal (i.e. based on the radius of curvature, see Para[0031] “In any arrangements disclosed herein, the apparatus can have an alarm and can be configured to activate the alarm when a threshold level of curvature of the contact layer can be detected by the electronic circuitry and the strain sensor.”) that can cause the apparatus to trigger an alarm on the device, cause the device to enter a state of hibernation or lower power, or cause the device to change a frequency of data collection, or some other operating parameter of the device.”(Also, the level of curvature is dependent on the radii of curvature, see para[0197] “In this configuration, the strain sensor 540 can be used to calculate a difference between an elongation of the first strain gauge and an elongation of the second strain gauge to determine an amount of an elongation, a curvature, or an elongation and a curvature of the contact layer.” See also equations 3 and 4, where the radii R1 and R2 are dependent on the length L1 and L2, therefore making the level of curvature based on the radii of curvature calculated (the radii of curvature is considered as R1 and R2).). In addition, Examiner notes that Koizumi does calculate as well as the sequential scan-driving, see Para[0082] “Moreover, the distribution of the strain generated in the sensor unit 22 can be easily obtained (i.e. calculating the distribution).”).
Conclusion
/MOSTOFA AHMED HISHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2857 /YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857