DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-10, 12, 15-18 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The previously pending objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
The previously pending objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the previously pending 35 USC 101 rejection to claims 10-20, the claims as a whole, recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, under Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice analysis.
Specifically, independent claims 10 and 18 recite, inter alia, retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application; and generating, in real time, an updated trust credential for the machine-learning application, wherein the updated trust credential is generated based on changes to the respective subcomponent responsive to retraining the machine-learning model.
Additionally, the Examiner notes that the claim language relied upon to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as discussed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 10 and 18 recite the limitation "the respective subcomponent". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 10 and 18 recite “deploy[ing] an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application.”
Paragraph 0023 of the specification merely recites that “The model serving system 170 deploys one or more machine-learning models. The machine-learning models may include regression models, classification models, clustering models, neural networks, reinforcement learning models, or any suitable combination thereof.”
As a result, the specification does not seem to support “deploy[ing] an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems.” Clarification is required.
Amended independent claims 1, 10 and 18 recite “identifying one or more risk factors associated with retraining a machine-learning model of the machine-learning application,” and “generating, in real time, an updated trust credential for the machine-learning application, wherein the updated trust credential is generated based on changes to the respective subcomponent responsive to retraining the machine-learning model.”
Paragraph 0021 of the specification merely recites “[f]urthermore, since AI-driven applications can constantly evolve from retraining an underlying model or modifying an underlying logic, it is essential to reevaluate the trustworthiness of the application.”
As a result, the specification does not seem to support identifying one or more risk factors associated with retraining a machine-learning model and wherein the updated trust credential is generated based on changes to the respective subcomponent responsive to retraining the machine-learning model. Clarification is required. Dependent claims 2-9, 11-17, 19 and 20 are rejected based upon the same rationale.
Amended claims 1, 7-10 and 15-18 recite “generating, in real time, an updated trust credential” and “the updated trust credential”. The specification does not seem to support generating an updated trust credential in real-time. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Here, under step 1 of the Alice analysis, method claims 1-9 are directed to a series of steps. Thus the claims are directed to a process.
Under step 2A Prong One of the analysis, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite generating a trust credential, including deploying, identifying, receiving, generating, applying, and retraining steps.
The limitations of deploying, identifying, receiving, generating, applying, and retraining, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers organizing human activity concepts, but for the recitation of generic computer components.
Specifically, the claim elements recite identifying one or more risk factors associated with retraining a machine-learning model of the machine-learning application; receiving a request to generate a trust credential for a machine-learning application; receiving the machine-learning application and associated data, wherein the machine-learning application has one or more subcomponents; generating a risk score for each of the one or more subcomponents by applying a risk determination function to each of the one or more subcomponents of the machine-learning application and the associated data, wherein the risk determination function evaluates the one or more subcomponents of the machine-learning application with respect to the one or more risk factors, wherein the risk score for each of the one or more subcomponents represents a risk level associated with one or a combination of a quality of a training dataset that is used to train the machine-learning application, or a use of a particular type of model for the machine-learning application; applying a weighting function to the risk score of each subcomponent to generate a trust score for each of the one or more subcomponents, wherein the weighting function applies a weight to a risk score based on a source of a subcomponent of the machine-learning application; generating the trust credential for the machine-learning application based on the trust scores of each of the one or more subcomponents; and display the trust credential to a user of the request generating, in real time, an updated trust credential for the machine-learning application, wherein the updated trust credential is generated based on changes to the respective subcomponent responsive to retraining the machine-learning model; and displaying the updated trust credential.
That is, other than reciting deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application, a user interface (UI) element, and retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application, the claim limitations merely cover commercial interactions, including business relations, thus falling within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims include deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application, a user interface (UI) element, and retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application. The deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application, a user interface (UI) element, and retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As a result, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application, a user interface (UI) element, and retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
None of the dependent claims recite additional limitations that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 2-4 further describe identifying the one or more risk factors, applying the risk determination function to a subcomponent, and a subcomponent. Claims 5-8 further describe the one or more risk factors, the weighting function, generating a trust credential, and generating the trust score. Claim 9 recites an additional applying step. A more detailed abstract idea remains an abstract idea.
Under step 2B of the analysis, the claims include, inter alia, deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application, a user interface (UI) element, and retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
There isn’t any improvement to another technology or technical field, or the functioning of the computer itself. Moreover, individually, there are not any meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, i.e., implementation via a computer system. Further, taken as a combination, the limitations add nothing more than what is present when the limitations are considered individually. There is no indication that the combination provides any effect regarding the functioning of the computer or any improvement to another technology.
In addition, as discussed in paragraph 0072 of the specification, “The example computer system 700 includes a processing system including one or more processing units (generally processor 702). The processor 702 is, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), a controller, a state machine, one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), one or more radio-frequency integrated circuits (RFICs), or any combination of these. The processor executes an operating system for the computing system 700. The computer system 700 also includes a main memory 704. In some embodiments, the main memory 704 is a memory system including one or more memories. The computer system may include a storage unit 716. The processor 702, memory 704, and the storage unit 716 communicate via a bus 708.”
As such, this disclosure supports the finding that no more than a general purpose computer, performing generic computer functions, is required by the claims.
Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l et al., No. 13-298 (U.S. June 19, 2014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shivanna et al (US 20220129561 A1), in view of Grajek (US 20240195819 A1).
As per claim 1, Shivanna et al disclose a method, comprising:
identifying one or more risk factors associated with retraining a machine-learning model of the machine-learning application (i.e., the risk assessment engine 134 determines overall risk scores for the corresponding software components on the list based on intrinsic features (e.g., attributes) of the software components, ¶ 0022, wherein the recommendation system 250 may use input from human experts for such purposes as training the machine learning predictors 254, providing feedback for the recommendations to adaptively refine the machine learning predictors 254, and in general, provide a level of quality control for the recommendations, ¶ 0035);
receiving a request to generate a trust credential for the machine-learning application (i.e., the risk assessment engine 134 determines the overall risk score for a given software component based on a trust score that represents a determined degree of trust, ¶ 0022);
receiving the machine-learning application and associated data, wherein the machine-learning application has one or more subcomponents (i.e., the risk assessment engine 134, in accordance with example implementations, receives an input 204 that describes a profile of a software product and a list of candidate open source software components to be included in the software product, ¶ 0029);
generating a risk score for each of the one or more subcomponents by applying a risk determination function to each of the one or more subcomponents of the machine-learning application and the associated data, wherein the risk determination function evaluates the one or more subcomponents of the machine-learning application with respect to the one or more risk factors (i.e., the risk assessment engine 134 determines a trust score for the open software component based on a number of parameters and further determines a security level score for the open source software component based on a number of parameters; and the risk assessment engine determines an overall risk score for the open source software component, ¶ 0031),
wherein the risk score for each of the one or more subcomponents represents a risk level associated with one or a combination of a quality of a training dataset that is used to train the machine-learning application, or a use of a particular type of model for the machine-learning application (i.e., The machine learning classifier 142 determines the overall risk score based on the values of parameters that represent trust and security related features of the open source software component. In accordance with some implementations, the machine learning classifier 142 may replace any missing values (e.g., values pertaining to feature parameters that are unavailable for a particular open source software component) with median, mode and/or mean values during a data cleansing operation. The machine learning classifier 142 may be trained (i.e., its model may be trained) using, for example, trust and security level feature parameters associated with relatively well-known open source software components with the overall risk score being assigned by a subject matter expert, ¶ 0033);
applying a weighting function to the risk score of each subcomponent to generate a trust score for each of the one or more subcomponents, wherein the weighting function applies a weight to a risk score based on a source of a subcomponent of the machine-learning application (i.e., determining the overall risk score includes assigning a first plurality of weights to components of the trust to provide a first plurality of values; assigning a second plurality of weights to components of the security level to provide a second plurality of values; and determining the overall risk score, ¶ 0065);
generating the trust credential for the machine-learning application based on the trust scores of each of the one or more subcomponents in real time (i.e., The process 600 includes determining (block 612) a security context of the software product. Based on the security level, the trust and the security context, the process 600 includes providing (block 616) a recommendation for the given software component, ¶ 0058, wherein the knowledge database 214 may be a dynamically populated database using a combination of automated threat and security collector components 220, such as security collectors (e.g., open source software (OSS) crawlers 221). As depicted in FIG. 2, this may involve the automated crawling of open source community repositories and portals 264, such as certain communities/contributors 266 ¶ 0039); and
generating a user interface (UI) element to display the trust credential to a user of the request (i.e., the overall risk scores and output of the expert system 250 with the corresponding recommendations may be communicated back to the user who submitted the input 204. In accordance with example implementations, this output may contain a risk assessment score for each open source software component (e.g., a score of “high, “medium,” or “low”), ¶ 0043);
retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application (i.e., the recommendation system 250 may use input from human experts for such purposes as training the machine learning predictors 254, providing feedback for the recommendations to adaptively refine the machine learning predictors 254, and in general, provide a level of quality control for the recommendations, ¶ 0035);
generating, in real time, an updated trust credential for the machine-learning application, wherein the updated trust credential is generated based on changes to the respective subcomponent responsive to retraining the machine-learning model (i.e., the threat and security collectors 220 may periodically mine information from popular and/or preconfigured portals and component repositories to gather information that helps update the security level and trust parameters associated with the open source software components. In accordance with example implementations, the monitoring engine 210 evaluates the security risks of the open source software components that are stored in the inventory 230 using the risk assessment engine 134 and the recommendation engine 138, ¶ 0041); and
generating another UI element to display the updated trust credential (i.e., the overall risk scores and output of the expert system 250 with the corresponding recommendations may be communicated back to the user who submitted the input 204. In accordance with example implementations, this output may contain a risk assessment score for each open source software component (e.g., a score of “high, “medium,” or “low”), ¶ 0043).
Shivanna et al does not disclose deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application.
Grajek discloses FIG. 1 is a diagrammatic representation of a cloud internet environment 100 in which some example embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented or deployed. One or more application servers 104 provide server-side functionality via an internet/cloud-network 102 to a networked user device, in the form of a client device 106. A user 128 (e.g., an administrator, a risk manager, a reviewer) operates the client device 106. The client device 106 includes a web client 110, a programmatic client 108 that is hosted and executed on the client device 106 (¶ 0041). An Application Program Interface (API) server 118 and a web server 120 provide respective programmatic and web interfaces to application servers 104. A specific application server 116 hosts an Identity Trust Scoring System 122. The Identity Trust Scoring System 122 includes components, modules and/or applications (¶ 0042).
The Identity Trust Scoring System 122 retrieves metadata from remote IAM systems (e.g., cloud-based IAM server system 112 and on-premise IAM server system 130) and generates a scoring based on models (¶ 0043). In one example embodiment, the Identity Trust Scoring System 122 trains several machine learning models based on features of the aggregated metadata from cloud-based IAM server system 112 and/or on-premise IAM server system 130 (¶ 0044).
Shivanna et al and Grajek are concerned with effective risk management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application in Shivanna et al, as seen in Grajek, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, Shivanna et al disclose leveraging a prescriptive analytics model to determine whether a risk factor may be a foundational risk (i.e., the risk assessment engine 134 may use a particular machine learning classifier 142 to determine an overall risk score (e.g., a particular risk score level, such as “high,” “medium,” or “low”), ¶ 0032).
As per claim 3, Shivanna et al disclose determining a risk factor value associated with each of the one or more risk factors; determining a weight for each of the one or more risk factors; applying a corresponding weight to each of the risk factor values to generate weighted risk factor values; and computing the risk score of the subcomponent based on the weighted risk factor values (i.e., determining the overall risk score includes assigning a first plurality of weights to components of the trust to provide a first plurality of values; assigning a second plurality of weights to components of the security level to provide a second plurality of values; and determining the overall risk score based on the first plurality of weighted values and the second plurality of weighted values, ¶ 0065).
As per claim 4, Shivanna et al disclose a subcomponent of the one or more subcomponents is a data preprocessing subcomponent, a model training subcomponent, or a model evaluation subcomponent (i.e., The machine learning classifier 142 may be trained (i.e., its model may be trained) using, for example, trust and security level feature parameters associated with relatively well-known open source software components, ¶ 0033).
As per claim 5, Shivanna et al disclose each of the one or more risk factors are assigned weights based on an adaptive combination of numerical context evaluation, probabilistic rating value, and deterministic impact rating based on prior occurrences (i.e., the risk assessment engine 134 determines the overall risk score for the open source software component as an inverse function of the security level and trust scores. For example, the overall risk score may be higher (e.g., an overall risk score of “90” when a numeric range of “0 to 100” is used or “high” for the qualitative levels of “low,” “medium” and “high”), ¶ 0031).
As per claim 6, Shivanna et al disclose the weighting function applies a smaller weight to a risk score corresponding to a subcomponent from a non-certified source, and applies a greater weight to a risk score corresponding to a subcomponent from a certified source (i.e., assigning a first plurality of weights to components of the trust to provide a first plurality of values; assigning a second plurality of weights to components of the security level to provide a second plurality of values; and determining the overall risk score based on the first plurality of weighted values and the second plurality of weighted values. A particular advantage is that more importance may be attributed to more important or relevant trust components and security level components, ¶ 0065).
As per claim 7, Shivanna et al disclose validating risks relevant to model-type; evaluating applicability of risk factor; determining model susceptibility to each applicable risk; and aggregating residual risk impact values (i.e., the overall risk score for a given software component based on a trust score that represents a determined degree of trust (e.g., a trust score derived from the evaluation of trust parameters, such as parameters that represent whether the source code is signed, whether there is support for a secure download connection, whether a community associated with the component is obsolete, and so forth) and a security score that represents a determined degree of security risk (e.g., a security level score derived from the evaluation of security level parameters, ¶ 0022).
As per claim 8, Shivanna et al disclose collating the trust credential a standardized framework-based scoring to create a finalized adaptive trust score (i.e., the overall risk score for the open source software component as an inverse function of the security level and trust scores. For example, the overall risk score may be higher (e.g., an overall risk score of “90” when a numeric range of “0 to 100” is used or “high” for the qualitative levels of “low,” “medium” and “high”) when the security level score is relatively low (e.g., security level score of “30” when a numeric range of “0 to 100” is used or “low” for the qualitative levels of “low,” “medium” and “high”) and the trust score (e.g., a trust score of “40” when a numeric range of “0 to 100” is used or “low” for the qualitative levels of “low,” “medium” and “high”), ¶ 0031).
As per claim 9, Shivanna et al disclose applying a conversion function to the trust credential of the machine-learning application to generate a standardized trust credential (i.e., the overall risk score for the open source software component as an inverse function of the security level and trust scores. For example, the overall risk score may be higher (e.g., an overall risk score of “90” when a numeric range of “0 to 100” is used or “high” for the qualitative levels of “low,” “medium” and “high”) when the security level score is relatively low (e.g., security level score of “30” when a numeric range of “0 to 100” is used or “low” for the qualitative levels of “low,” “medium” and “high”) and the trust score (e.g., a trust score of “40” when a numeric range of “0 to 100” is used or “low” for the qualitative levels of “low,” “medium” and “high”), ¶ 0031).
Claims 10-17 are rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claims 1-3 and 5-9, respectively, since they are the computer-readable medium claims corresponding to the method claims.
Claims 18-20 are rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claims 1-3, respectively, since they are the system claims corresponding to the method claims.
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks, Applicant argues the specification as filed shows that the inventors had possession of the claimed "deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application."
The specification supports the fact that a data processing service 102 is used to develop an AI-driven application. Specifically, "[t]he risk scoring module 345 receives a request from a user through the interface module 320 to generate a trust credential for an AI-driven application. The request may be made by a user developing the AI-driven application on the data processing service 102, or a third-party entity." See specification as filed at [0050]. This risk scoring module 345 is part of the data processing service 102. "In one embodiment, the data processing service 102 includes an interface module 320, a workspace module 325, a transaction module 330, a unity catalog module 335, a query processing module 340, a risk scoring module 345." See specification as filed at [0038]. The data processing service 102 includes a data layer 108, which can include a cluster computing system. "In one embodiment, as shown in the system environment 100 of FIG. 1, the data processing service 102 includes a control layer 106 and a data layer 108." See specification as filed at [0017]. Further, "the data layer 108 may include a cluster computing system for executing the jobs." Id. at [0019]. Hence, the claimed "deploying an AI-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems" is supported by the specification as filed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Paragraphs 0050, 0038, 0017 and 0019, simply disclose that “[t]he risk scoring module 345 receives a request from a user through the interface module 320 to generate a trust credential for an AI-driven application. The request may be made by a user developing the AI-driven application on the data processing service 102, or a third-party entity,” “In one embodiment, the data processing service 102 includes an interface module 320, a workspace module 325, a transaction module 330, a unity catalog module 335, a query processing module 340, a risk scoring module 345,” “In one embodiment, as shown in the system environment 100 of FIG. 1, the data processing service 102 includes a control layer 106 and a data layer 108" and “the data layer 108 may include a cluster computing system for executing the jobs.”
Following, the cited paragraphs simply disclose the risk scoring module 345 generating a trust credential for an AI-driven application, a user developing the AI-driven application, the data processing service 102 including a risk scoring module 345, and the data processing service 102 including a data layer 108 that may include a cluster computing system.
As a result, and contrary to Applicant’s assertion, there is no disclosure of deploying of an (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, much less, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application.
Applicant also argues, even if the claimed method for generating an updated trust credential for a machine- learning application recites, as stated in the Office action at page 6, "Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity," which applicant does not concede, the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. Thus, the claimed method is eligible under the second prong of the Step 2A analysis. The claimed invention is directed to the practical application of generating trust credentials of AI-driven applications in real time. In particular, "since AI-driven applications can constantly evolve from retraining an underlying model or modifying an underlying logic, it is essential to reevaluate the trustworthiness of the application." See specification as filed at [0021]. The claimed invention provides an improved mechanism for detecting and quantifying risk factors in retrained machine-learning applications to evaluate their trustworthiness in real time.
Specifically claim 1 as amended, includes "generating, in real time, an updated trust credential for the machine-learning application, wherein the updated trust credential is generated based on changes to the respective sub component responsive to retraining the machine-learning model." Accordingly, the claimed method does not "merely cover commercial interactions, including business relations" as characterized at page 6 of the Office action. Rather, the claimed method provides a technical solution to a problem introduced by technology. Namely, that frequent retraining of a machine-learning model may introduce new or unknown risks (e.g., degradation in training-dataset quality, changes to model logic, or integration of unverified components). The claimed method updates the trust credential to reflect the current security and reliability state of the machine-learning application. Further, the claimed method generates an updated trust credential in real time, which enables immediate reassessment of model trustworthiness within a distributed computing environment. Thus, claimed invention is directed to the practical application of real-time trust-credential generation process that improves the functioning of computing systems used to monitor and validate retrained machine-learning models by detecting and quantifying risk factors within those models. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Importantly, as an initial point, the Examiner notes that method claims 1-9 fail to recite any computing components implementing the method steps, as described in computer-readable medium and system claims 10-20.
Following, under Step 2A Prong Two, the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. 2019 PEG Section III(A)(2), 84 Fed. Reg. at 54-55. Besides the abstract idea, the claims include deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application, a user interface (UI) element, and retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application.
The deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application, a user interface (UI) element, and retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I) for more information on this point, including explanations from judicial decisions including Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 224-26 (2014).
Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements in the claims do no more than use computer components as a tool (i.e., deploying an artificial intelligence (AI)-driven application on one or more cluster computing systems, wherein the AI-driven application deploys a machine-learning application, a user interface (UI) element, and retraining the machine-learning model underlying the machine-learning application). There is no change to the computers and/or other technology recited in the claims, thus the claims do not improve computer functionality or other technology. See, e.g., Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG, Inc., 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019) (using a computer to provide a trader with more information to facilitate market trades improved the business process of market trading, but not the computer) and the cases discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a)(I), particularly FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (accelerating a process of analyzing audit log data is not an improvement when the increased speed comes solely from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer) and Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (using a generic computer to automate a process of applying to finance a purchase is not an improvement to the computer’s functionality). Accordingly, the claim as a whole does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Applicant also argues that Shivanna and Grajek, whether taken alone or in combination, do not teach this claimed feature of generating a risk score that represents a risk level associated with a quality of a training dataset or a use of a particular type of model, as recited in amended claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the updated rejection, Shivanna et al disclose the machine learning classifier 142 determines the overall risk score based on the values of parameters that represent trust and security related features of the open source software component. In accordance with some implementations, the machine learning classifier 142 may replace any missing values (e.g., values pertaining to feature parameters that are unavailable for a particular open source software component) with median, mode and/or mean values during a data cleansing operation. The machine learning classifier 142 may be trained (i.e., its model may be trained) using, for example, trust and security level feature parameters associated with relatively well-known open source software components with the overall risk score being assigned by a subject matter expert, ¶ 0033.
As a result, and contrary to Applicant’s assertion, Shivanna et al indeed disclose generating a risk score that represents a risk level associated with a quality of a training dataset or a use of a particular type of model.
Conclusion
/ANDRE D BOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623 June 12, 2026