DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 07/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2024 and 02/13/2025 were filed before the first action on the merits. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (2024/0194260).
Re claim 1, Chen teaches a memory component (Figs. 4-5B) comprising: an array (410) of memory strings (413) coupled to a Bit Line (BL) [62-63] and a Common Source Line (CSL) (431), the BL [62-63] and the CSL (431) enabled to transmit a plurality of signals [51]; feature logic circuitry (420); memory logic circuitry (432); a first one or more conductors (452) formed through a corresponding one or more Through-Array Vias (TAVs) (434) enabling communication between the feature logic circuitry (420) and the memory logic circuitry (432); and a second one or more conductors (414) formed to contact a corresponding one or more Through-Array Contacts (TACs) (415), wherein at least one of the plurality of signals is transmitted to at least one of the second one or more conductors [47-53].
Re claim 2, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, wherein the BL [62-63] is coupled to the memory logic circuitry (432) using one of the TACs (415).
Re claim 3, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, wherein the BL is coupled to the memory logic circuitry using direct bonding [61-63].
Re claim 4, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, wherein a feature logic integrated circuit die (421, 420) comprises the feature logic circuitry (420) and a memory logic integrated circuit die (411, 432) comprises the memory logic circuitry (432).
Re claim 5, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 4, wherein a memory array die (400) comprises the array of memory strings (413). Re claim 6, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 4, wherein a first operating voltage of the feature logic integrated circuit die (421, 420) is less than [45] a second operating voltage of the memory logic integrated circuit die (411, 432). Re claim 7, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, wherein the feature logic circuitry (420) comprises one or more of: page buffer circuitry, finite state machine circuitry, on-demand operation circuitry, Quality of Service (QoS) boosting circuitry, read/write performance improving circuitry, Input/Output (I/O) circuitry, Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) circuitry, one or more logic circuits enabled to operate at a lower voltage than the memory logic circuitry, and NAND interface circuitry [51].
Re claim 10, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, wherein the feature logic circuitry (420) comprises asynchronous independent plane operation circuitry, which is enabled to control the array of memory strings to perform at least one of (1) asynchronous independent plane program operations and (2) asynchronous independent plane erase operations [38].
Re claim 11, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, wherein the memory logic circuitry (432) comprises one or more of: charge pump circuitry, sense amplifier circuitry, programming circuitry, Word Line Driver (WLD) circuitry, String Select Line (SSL) driver circuitry, Ground Select Line (GSL) driver circuitry, one or more transistors coupled to a sense amplifier wherein the one or more transistors optionally comprise one or more BL clamping transistors and/or one or more BL precharge transistors, and CSL driver circuitry [64].
Re claim 12, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, wherein the array of memory strings (413) is implemented according to memory technology comprising one or more of: Resistive Random Access read/write Memory (ReRAM) technology, phase change memory technology, Spin-Transfer Torque Resistive Random Access read/write Memory (STT-RAM) technology, NAND-based flash memory technology, and NOR-based flash memory technology [47]. Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (2024/0194260).
Re claim 16, Chen teaches a memory component (Figs. 4-5B) comprising: an array (410) of memory strings (413) coupled to a Bit Line (BL) [62-63] and a Common Source Line (CSL) (431), the BL [62-63] and the CSL (431) transmitting a plurality of signals [51]; feature logic circuitry (420); memory logic circuitry (432); a first one or more conductors (452) formed through a corresponding one or more through vias (434) enabling communication between the feature logic circuitry (420) and the memory logic circuitry (432); and a second one or more conductors (414) formed to contact one or more corresponding direct bonds (415), and wherein at least one of the plurality of signals is transmitted to at least one of the second one or more conductors [49-51].
Re claim 17, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 16, wherein the through vias comprise Through- Array Vias (TAVs) (434) that extend through the array (410), and the BL and the CSL are coupled to respective ones of the second one or more conductors [62-63]. Re claim 18, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 16, wherein the through vias comprise Through- Array Vias (TAVs) (434) that extend through the array (410), and the BL is coupled to the memory logic circuitry (432) by a direct bond [61-63].
Re claim 19, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 16, wherein the through vias comprise Through-Array Vias (TAVs) (434) that extend through the array (410), and the BL is coupled to the feature logic circuitry (420) by a direct bond [61-63].
Re claim 20, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 16, wherein the through vias (434) comprise through silicon vias [49-50], and the BL and the CSL [62-63] are coupled to respective ones of the second one or more conductors (Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Re claim 8, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, yet remains explicitly silent to wherein the feature logic circuitry comprises logic circuitry enabled to enhance performance of AI operations, which comprises any one or more of: an accumulator with shift-and-add and/or inversion operations, logic circuitry to quickly determine a count and compare the count to another value, first one or more registers enabled to retain intermediate data, and second one or more registers enabled to store input patterns.
Re claim 9, Chen teaches the memory component of claim 1, yet remains explicitly silent to wherein the feature logic circuitry comprises memory reliability circuitry, which is enabled to perform any one or more of: Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) operations, checksum operations, threshold voltage tracking operations, and error handling flow operations, one or more of the error handling flow operations enabling error correction according to one or more error correcting codes.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fernando Toledo can be reached on 571-272-1867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/ADAM S BOWEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2897