DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on November 10, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: The Examiner believes that claim 17 should be dependent on claim 16 instead of claim 15. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11971663 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The combination of Claims 13 and 14 in the instant application teaches the limitation of “A light source configured to emit a time-varying spectrum of light in a metrology or lithography system, the light source comprising: a spectrometer configured to measure a characteristic of the time-varying spectrum of light emitted from the light source, wherein the time-varying spectrum of light is emitted from the light source over a predetermined time window and is conditioned prior to interacting with a target; and a controller configured to: determine at least one characteristic of the time-varying spectrum of light emitted from the light source over the predetermined time window, and use the determined at least one characteristic to control a spectral output of the light source during when the time-varying spectrum of light is conditioned, wherein when the time-varying spectrum of light is conditioned it is also band-filtered and adjusted, the band-filtering being based on the use of the determined at least one characteristic, and wherein the adjusting of the band-filtering is done dynamically to reduce variation in a center frequency of the time-varying spectrum of light.”, claim 7 of the above patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 12, 13, 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quintanilha et al. [US 20170184981 A1, hereafter Quintanilha].
As per Claims 1 and 13, Quintanilha teaches a method of performing measurements (spectroscopic scatterometer 800) using a light source (broadband configured to emit a time-varying spectrum of light (white light) radiation projector 802), the method comprising:
determining at least one characteristic of the spectrum of light emitted from the light source (Para 209, intensity as a function of wavelength);
illuminating a measurement target (See fig. 9, a metrology target T) with light from the light source and measuring light from the measurement target to generate measurement signals (Para 109-112, wherein the reflected radiation is passed to a spectrometer 804); and
using the at least one characteristic to process the measurement signals (Para 109, wherein the reflected radiation is passed to a spectrometer 804, which measures a spectrum 806 (intensity as a function of wavelength) of the specular reflected radiation).
As per Claim 2, Quintanilha teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the measurements are metrology measurements (Para 109).
As per Claim 3, Quintanilha teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one characteristic is an average wavelength of the light source within a predetermined wavelength range (Para 109).
As per Claim 4, Quintanilha teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the light source is a supercontinuum light source (Para 7 and 109, wherein broadband (white light) radiation).
As per Claim 5, Quintanilha teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the radiation generated by the supercontinuum light source includes radiation generated by modulation instability (Para 82).
As per Claims 6 and 7, Quintanilha teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising using the generated light source in a metrological instrument (Para 109).
As per Claim 9, Quintanilha teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a running variation in the determined at least one characteristic over the predetermined time window, wherein the using the determined at least one characteristic comprises using the determined running variation (Para 75).
As per Claim 12, Quintanilha teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determined at least one characteristic is an average wavelength of the light source within a predetermined wavelength range (Para 75).
As per Claim 15, Quintanilha teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a running variation in the determined at least one characteristic over the predetermined time window, wherein the using the determined at least one characteristic comprises using the determined running variation (Para 109).
As per Claim 18, Quintanilha teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the characteristic is an average wavelength of the light source within a predetermined wavelength range (Para 75).
As per Claims 19 and 20, Quintanilha teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the light source is a supercontinuum light source (Para 7 and 82 and 109, wherein broadband (white light) radiation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 11, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESFIN T ASFAW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882