DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-29 and 34-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/17/2026. Claims 30-33 and the newly added claims 38-53 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-31, 41, 44-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sztuk et al. (US Publication Number 2023/0119935 A1, hereinafter “Sztuk”) in view of Spencer et al. (US Publication Number 2022/0326766 A1).
(1) regarding claim 30:
As shown in fig. 1, Sztuk disclosed a smart glasses apparatus (para. [0025], note that FIG. 1 illustrates an example head mounted device 100 for capturing gaze-guided images), comprising:
a physical frame (102, frame fig. 1, para. [0025]);
an outward-facing camera assembly configured to capture images (193A, outward facing camera, fig. 1, para. [0034], note that camera 193A is configured to image the external environment to the right of head mounted device 100 and camera 193D is configured to image the external environment to the left of head mounted device 100);
an inward-facing camera assembly configured to capture gaze vectors (108 A, 108 B, fig. 1, para. [0025], note that Cameras 108A and 108B may be configured to image an eyebox region to image the eye of the user to capture eye data of the user. Cameras 108A and 108B may be included in an eye-tracking system that is configured to determine a gaze direction of an eye (or eyes) of a user of the head mounted device);
a processor (270, fig. 2A, processor); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor (para. [0075], note that a tangible or non-transitory machine (e.g., computer) readable storage medium, that when executed by a machine will cause the machine to perform the operations describe), cause the smart glasses apparatus to:
capture an image via the outward-facing camera assembly (para. [0036], note that in FIG. 2A, first camera 293A includes a first image sensor configured to capture first images 295A of an external environment of a head mounted device);
capture a gaze vector via the inward-facing camera assembly (para. [0025], note that cameras 108A and 108B may be included in an eye-tracking system that is configured to determine a gaze direction of an eye (or eyes) of a user of the head mounted device, to capture eye data that is utilized to determine a gaze direction of the eye (or eyes)).
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching determine a location in a 3D space based on the image and the gaze vector.
However, Spencer disclosed determine a location in a 3D space based on the image and the gaze vector (para. [0029], note that the gaze tracking device 120 may detect and track eye gaze direction and movement. Images captured by the sensor(s) 125 may be processed to detect and track gaze direction and movement, and to detect gaze fixation).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach determine a location in a 3D space based on the image and the gaze vector. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk with Spencer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 30.
(2) regarding claim 31:
Sztuk further disclosed the smart glasses apparatus of claim 30, where the instructions further cause the smart glasses apparatus to determine an other location in the 3D space based on the image and an other gaze vector, and estimate a distance or a size based on the location and the other location (para. [0041], note that gaze direction data 265 may include vergence data representative of a focus distance and a direction of where two eyes are focusing. Processing logic 270 is configured to receive gaze direction data 265 from eye-tracking system 260 and select a selected image sensor to capture one or more gaze-guided images based on gaze direction data 265).
(3) regarding claim 41:
As shown in fig. 1, Sztuk disclosed a method, comprising:
capturing images via an outward-facing camera assembly of a smart glasses apparatus (para. [0036], note that in FIG. 2A, first camera 293A includes a first image sensor configured to capture first images 295A of an external environment of a head mounted device);
capturing gaze vectors via an inward-facing camera assembly of the smart glasses apparatus (para. [0025], note that cameras 108A and 108B may be included in an eye-tracking system that is configured to determine a gaze direction of an eye (or eyes) of a user of the head mounted device, to capture eye data that is utilized to determine a gaze direction of the eye (or eyes));
identifying a first location in a space based on the image and the gaze vector (para. [0040], note that eye-tracking system 260 may include one or more cameras to image the eye(s) to determine a pupil-position of the eye(s) to determine where the eye is gazing);
estimating a distance to the first location in the space relative to the smart glasses apparatus (para. [0064], note that adjusting the auto-focus of the lens assembly in response to the gaze direction may include identifying a subject in the image that corresponds to the gaze direction and determining an approximate focus distance to the subject in the image); and
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching displaying the distance to the first location in the space.
However, Spencer disclosed displaying the distance to the first location in the space (para. [0048], note that the an estimate of the size of the object of interest (based on the angular size and the distance to the object) or the distance to the object of interest G (based on the angular size and known dimensions of the object of interest) may facilitate identification of the object of interest).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach displaying the distance to the first location in the space. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk with Spencer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 41.
(4) regarding claim 44:
Sztuk further disclosed the method of claim 41, further comprising determining a convergence point for the gaze vectors, and where the first location in the space is based on the convergence point (para. [0041], note that eye-tracking system 260 is configured to generate gaze direction data 265 that includes a gaze direction of the eye(s) and provide gaze direction data 265 to processing logic 270. Gaze direction data 265 may include vergence data representative of a focus distance and a direction of where two eyes are focusing).
(5) regarding claim 45:
Sztuk further disclosed the method of claim 41, further comprising identifying a second location in the space based on a second gaze vector, estimating a difference between the first location and the second location (para. [0042], note that processing logic 270 may select between two or more image sensors to capture the gaze-guided image(s). Selecting the selected image sensor to capture the one or more gaze-guided images may be based on the gaze direction (included in gaze direction data 265) with respect to the FOV of the image sensors), and where the distance is based on the difference (para. [0064], note that adjusting the auto-focus of the lens assembly in response to the gaze direction may include identifying a subject in the image that corresponds to the gaze direction and determining an approximate focus distance to the subject in the image).
(6) regarding claim 46:
As shown in fig. 1, Sztuk disclosed a smart glasses apparatus (para. [0025], note that FIG. 1 illustrates an example head mounted device 100 for capturing gaze-guided images), comprising:
a physical frame (102, frame fig. 1, para. [0025]);
an outward-facing camera assembly (193A, outward facing camera, fig. 1, para. [0034], note that camera 193A is configured to image the external environment to the right of head mounted device 100 and camera 193D is configured to image the external environment to the left of head mounted device 100);
a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the smart glasses apparatus to (para. [0075], note that a tangible or non-transitory machine (e.g., computer) readable storage medium, that when executed by a machine will cause the machine to perform the operations describe):
capture an image via the outward-facing camera assembly (para. [0036], note that in FIG. 2A, first camera 293A includes a first image sensor configured to capture first images 295A of an external environment of a head mounted device);
determine a first location in a space based on the image (para. [0040], note that eye-tracking system 260 may include one or more cameras to image the eye(s) to determine a pupil-position of the eye(s) to determine where the eye is gazing);
estimate a distance to the first location in the space (para. [0064], note that adjusting the auto-focus of the lens assembly in response to the gaze direction may include identifying a subject in the image that corresponds to the gaze direction and determining an approximate focus distance to the subject in the image).
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching displaying the distance.
However, Spencer disclosed displaying the distance (para. [0048], note that the an estimate of the size of the object of interest (based on the angular size and the distance to the object) or the distance to the object of interest G (based on the angular size and known dimensions of the object of interest) may facilitate identification of the object of interest).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach displaying the distance. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk with Spencer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 46.
(7) regarding claim 47:
Sztuk further disclosed the smart glasses apparatus of claim 46, further comprising an inward-facing camera assembly configured to capture gaze vectors and where the instructions cause the smart glasses apparatus to determine the first location in the space based on the image and the gaze vectors (para. [0041], note that processing logic 270 is configured to receive gaze direction data 265 from eye-tracking system 260 and select a selected image sensor to capture one or more gaze-guided images based on gaze direction data 265. In the illustrated implementations of FIG. 2A, processing logic 270 generates gaze-guided image(s) 275 and store gaze-guided image(s) 275 to memory 280).
(8) regarding claim 48:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching where the instructions cause the smart glasses apparatus to identify a user gesture and determine the first location in the space based on the image and the user gesture.
However, Spencer disclosed where the instructions cause the smart glasses apparatus to identify a user gesture and determine the first location in the space based on the image and the user gesture (para. [0035], note that the user input may include a touch input or a gesture input detected by the wearable computing device 100 and/or an external device paired with the wearable computing device 100).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach where the instructions cause the smart glasses apparatus to identify a user gesture and determine the first location in the space based on the image and the user gesture. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk with Spencer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 48.
(9) regarding claim 49:
Sztuk further disclosed the smart glasses apparatus of claim 46, where the instructions cause the smart glasses apparatus to identify a target object and determine the first location in the space based on the image and the target object (para. [0064], note that adjusting the auto-focus of the lens assembly in response to the gaze direction may include identifying a subject in the image that corresponds to the gaze direction and determining an approximate focus distance to the subject in the image).
(10) regarding claim 50:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching where the instructions cause the smart glasses apparatus to identify a second location in the space relative to the first location in the space.
However, Spencer disclosed where the instructions cause the smart glasses apparatus to identify a second location in the space relative to the first location in the space (para. [0042], note that the identification of the object corresponding to the identified pixel area 290A, or pixel 290A may include an image search based on features that are recognized or detected in a portion of the image 1000A, or capture area 1000A surrounding the identified pixel area 290A, or pixel 290A.).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach where the instructions cause the smart glasses apparatus to identify a second location in the space relative to the first location in the space. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk with Spencer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 50.
(11) regarding claim 51:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching where the space comprises a 3D coordinate space relative to the smart glasses apparatus.
However, Spencer disclosed where the space comprises a 3D coordinate space relative to the smart glasses apparatus (para. [0039], note that the coordinate system associated with the camera 116) and for the angle between the first and second rays to be computed).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach where the space comprises a 3D coordinate space relative to the smart glasses apparatus. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk with Spencer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 51.
(12) regarding claim 52:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching where the space comprises a fixed frame of reference.
However, Spencer disclosed where the space comprises a fixed frame of reference (para. [0031], note that the content depicted within the image 1000A, or capture area 1000A may be fixed, for example in response to a user input or other detected condition, even as the user changes position).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach where the space comprises a fixed frame of reference. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk with Spencer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 52.
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sztuk and Spencer, further in view of Geisen et al. (NPL, “Extended Reality as a Training Approach for Visual Real-Time Feedback in Golf”, 2023)
(1) regarding claim 32:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching where the instructions further cause the smart glasses apparatus to measure the distance to a golf stick.
However, Geisen disclosed where the instructions further cause the smart glasses apparatus to measure the distance to a golf stick (fig. 3, page 4, note that XR training from the perspective of HoloLens 2 glasses. The virtual golf club (model) provided the spatially and temporally optimized club motion when putting from a distance of 3 m).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach where the instructions further cause the smart glasses apparatus to measure the distance to a golf stick. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact and provide feedback which could enhance motor learning in sports (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk and Spencer with Geisen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 32.
(2) regarding claim 33:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching where the instructions further cause the smart glasses apparatus to determine the other location in the 3D space based on the image and the other gaze vector, and estimate a speed or a velocity based on the location and the other location.
However, Geisen disclosed where the instructions further cause the smart glasses apparatus to determine the other location in the 3D space based on the image and the other gaze vector, and estimate a speed or a velocity based on the location and the other location (page 4, fig. 3, para. [0004], note that the calibration of the virtual club velocity, which was necessary for the transfer of XR into the real world, resulted as follows: several strokes were performed, during which the distance hit (by means of a meter measure) and the club velocity (by means of counting frames in a high-speed GoProvideo) were recorded. From these pairs, a linear equation (implying the friction of the surface) could be derived and, thus, the correct club velocity for the target distance could be set).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach where the instructions further cause the smart glasses apparatus to determine the other location in the 3D space based on the image and the other gaze vector, and estimate a speed or a velocity based on the location and the other location. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact and provide feedback which could enhance motor learning in sports (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk and Spencer with Geisen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 33.
Claim(s) 32-33, 38-40, 42-43 and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sztuk and Spencer, further in view of Hoover et al. (US Publication Number 2019/0130622 A1, hereinafter “Hoover”)
(1) regarding claim 38:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching further comprising an inertial measurement unit configured to generate quaternions that define a relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus.
However, Hoover disclosed an inertial measurement unit configured to generate quaternions that define a relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus (para. [0113], note that the user's head can tilt forward or backward (e.g., pitching), turn left or right (e.g., yawing), or tilt side to side (e.g., rolling), and an angular difference between the new head pose and the reference head pose vector can be determined to quantify the changes. In other implementations, other techniques or angular representations for measuring head pose can be used, for example, quaternion angles, note that the head pose sensor comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU), an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer, para. [0228]).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach an inertial measurement unit configured to generate quaternions that define a relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to recognize that an orientation of a user's head or eyes is outside of a range of acceptable or comfortable head or eye poses and accelerate the movement of the reticle away from a default position and toward a position in the direction of the user's head or eye movement, which can reduce the amount of movement by the user to align the reticle and target (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk and Spencer with Hoover to obtain the invention as specified in claim 38.
(2) regarding claim 39:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching further comprising instructions that cause the smart glasses apparatus to estimate a fixed frame of reference for the location in the 3D space.
However, Spencer disclosed the smart glasses apparatus to estimate a fixed frame of reference for the location in the 3D space (para. [0031], note that the content depicted within the image 1000A, or capture area 1000A may at some point become fixed, even in the event of movement of the wearable computing device 100).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach the smart glasses apparatus to estimate a fixed frame of reference for the location in the 3D space. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk and Spencer with Hoover to obtain the invention as specified in claim 39.
(3) regarding claim 40:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching instructions that cause the smart glasses apparatus to determine an other location in the fixed frame of reference based on the image and an other gaze vector, and estimate a distance or a size based on the location and the other location.
However, Spencer disclosed the smart glasses apparatus to determine an other location in the fixed frame of reference based on the image and an other gaze vector, and estimate a distance or a size based on the location and the other location (para. [0039], note that known position of the eye of the user by the gaze tracking device(s) 120 and a transform from the field of view of the gaze tracking device 120 to the field of view of the camera 116 allows the angle and the distance from the camera 116 to the eye of the user to be computed, yielding one side and two angles of a triangle formed by the camera 116, the eye of the user, and the object of interest. Casting rays along these two angles to their intersection may provide an estimate of distance).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach the smart glasses apparatus to determine an other location in the fixed frame of reference based on the image and an other gaze vector, and estimate a distance or a size based on the location and the other location. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk and Spencer with Hoover to obtain the invention as specified in claim 40.
(4) regarding claim 42:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching capturing quaternions via an inertial measurement unit and determining a relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus based on the quaternions.
However, Hoover disclosed capturing quaternions via an inertial measurement unit and determining a relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus based on the quaternions (para. [0113], note that the user's head can tilt forward or backward (e.g., pitching), turn left or right (e.g., yawing), or tilt side to side (e.g., rolling), and an angular difference between the new head pose and the reference head pose vector can be determined to quantify the changes. In other implementations, other techniques or angular representations for measuring head pose can be used, for example, quaternion angles, note that the head pose sensor comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU), an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer, para. [0228]).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach capturing quaternions via an inertial measurement unit and determining a relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus based on the quaternions. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to recognize that an orientation of a user's head or eyes is outside of a range of acceptable or comfortable head or eye poses and accelerate the movement of the reticle away from a default position and toward a position in the direction of the user's head or eye movement, which can reduce the amount of movement by the user to align the reticle and target (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk and Spencer with Hoover to obtain the invention as specified in claim 38.
(5) regarding claim 43:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching where the first location in the space is based on a fixed frame of reference independent of the relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus.
However, Spencer disclosed where the first location in the space is based on a fixed frame of reference independent of the relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus (para. [0039], note that known position of the eye of the user by the gaze tracking device(s) 120 and a transform from the field of view of the gaze tracking device 120 to the field of view of the camera 116 allows the angle and the distance from the camera 116 to the eye of the user to be computed, yielding one side and two angles of a triangle formed by the camera 116, the eye of the user, and the object of interest. Casting rays along these two angles to their intersection may provide an estimate of distance).)
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach where the first location in the space is based on a fixed frame of reference independent of the relative motion of the smart glasses apparatus. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to interact with content made available by wearable computing devices, capture and/or process and/or access information using wearable computing devices, and rely on wearable devices to interact with content made available by the wearable device (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk and Spencer with Hoover to obtain the invention as specified in claim 43.
(6) regarding claim 53:
Sztuk disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching an inertial measurement unit configured to generate quaternions that represent motion in the space.
However, Hoover disclosed an inertial measurement unit configured to generate quaternions that represent motion in the space (para. [0113], note that the user's head can tilt forward or backward (e.g., pitching), turn left or right (e.g., yawing), or tilt side to side (e.g., rolling), and an angular difference between the new head pose and the reference head pose vector can be determined to quantify the changes. In other implementations, other techniques or angular representations for measuring head pose can be used, for example, quaternion angles, note that the head pose sensor comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU), an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer, para. [0228]).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach an inertial measurement unit configured to generate quaternions that represent motion in the space. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to recognize that an orientation of a user's head or eyes is outside of a range of acceptable or comfortable head or eye poses and accelerate the movement of the reticle away from a default position and toward a position in the direction of the user's head or eye movement, which can reduce the amount of movement by the user to align the reticle and target (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sztuk and Spencer with Hoover to obtain the invention as specified in claim 53.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (NPL, “Improving golf swing skills using intelligent glasses”, 2015) disclosed a vision-based golf training system, named "Improve My Golf Swing," which aims at improving the golfer's swing skills using intelligent glasses serving as a wearable displayer.
Wang et al. (NPL, “Tracking a Golf Ball With High-Speed Stereo Vision System”, 2019) disclosed a high-speed stereo vision system that is able to track the golf ball motion at the speed of up to 360 km/h under normal indoor lighting conditions.
/HILINA K DEMETER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617