DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The new title submitted 8/6/2026 is acknowledged and accepted by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of Claims 1-10; and 11-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph is withdrawn. Claims 1; and 11 have been amended to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uechi et al (US 2010/0232112 A1-of record, hereafter Uechi) in view of Yee et al (US 2003/0062533 A1-of record, hereafter Yee) and Takeuchi et al (US 4,609,937 A, hereafter Takeuchi) and Caillat et al (US 2003/0066476 A1-of record, hereafter Caillat).
Re claim 1, Uechi discloses in FIG. 7 (with references to FIGS. 1-2) a heat dissipation module (1; [0021]), suitable for dissipating heat from a heating element (substrate 3; [0021]), the heat dissipation module (1) comprising:
an airtight structure (hermetic bonding structure base plate 2/case member 4/metal case 5; [0021] and [0032]), comprising:
a first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4; [0021] and [0032]), having a first airtight portion (surface 4b; [0021]);
a second workpiece (metal case 5; [0032]), configured in alignment (bonded; [0021]) with the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) and having a second airtight portion (surface 5a; [0021]); and
an element (O-ring not shown instead of adhesive 8; [0032]), configured between the first airtight portion (surface 4b) and the second airtight portion (surface 5a); and
a cooling element (plurality of fins 7 as in FIG. 2; [0023]), configured between the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) and the second workpiece (metal case 5) and partially contacting (physically touching base plate 2) the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4), wherein the heating element (substrate 3) is configured (positioned) on a side (upper plane of base plate 2) of the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) away from (above) the cooling element (plurality of fins 7).
Uechi fails to disclose wherein the first airtight portion (surface 4b) has a plurality of first protrusions; wherein the second airtight portion (surface 5a) has a plurality of second protrusions; a compressible element, configured between the first airtight portion (surface 4b) and the second airtight portion (surface 5a), wherein a part of the compressible element is located in gaps of the first protrusions and gaps of the second protrusions compressed and deformed by at least one of the plurality of second protrusions to fill a gap between the plurality of first protrusions, and another part of the compressible element is compressed and deformed by at least one of the plurality of first protrusions to fill a gap between the plurality of second protrusions; and a thermoelectric cooling element, configured between the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) and the second workpiece (metal case 5) and partially contacting the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4), wherein the heating element (substrate 3) is configured on the side (upper plane of base plate 2) of the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) away from the thermoelectric cooling element.
However,
A. Yee discloses in FIG. 6 (with references to FIG. 2) an airtight structure comprising: wherein a first airtight portion (region of grooves of cap 760; [0027]) has a plurality of first protrusions (male grooves of cap 760; [0027]); and wherein a second airtight portion (region of grooves of the substrate; [0027]) has a plurality of second protrusions (female grooves of the substrate; [0027]).
And,
B. Takeuchi discloses in FIGS. 2, 5 and 8 airtight structures comprising: compressible O-rings (8: col. 1, lines 25-50; 64: col. 3, line 51-col. 4, line 1; and col. 4, line 53-col. 5, line 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Uechi by first adding the first and second pluralities of protrusions of Yee, which effectively increases the permeation path for oxygen and moisture without increasing the actual width of the first and second airtight portions or dimensions of the airtight structure, increasing shelf life of the heat dissipation module (Yee; [0013]; [0023] and [0025]-[0026]), such that the first airtight portion (surface 4b) has a plurality of first protrusions, and the second airtight portion (surface 5a) has a plurality of second protrusions; and then using the compressible O-rings of Takeuchi as substitutional equivalents (MPEP § 2144.06) for the O-ring of Uechi for hermetic sealing (Takeuchi; col. 1, lines 47-50), such that a part of the compressible element is located in gaps of the first protrusions and gaps of the second protrusions compressed and deformed by at least one of the plurality of second protrusions to fill a gap between the plurality of first protrusions, and another part of the compressible element is compressed and deformed by at least one of the plurality of first protrusions to fill a gap between the plurality of second protrusions.
And,
C. Caillat discloses in FIG. 1 a heat dissipation module (cooler; [0047]) comprising a thermoelectric cooling element (thermoelectric device 20; [0047] and [0054]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Uechi and Takeuchi and Yee by using the thermoelectric device of Caillat as a substitutional equivalent (MPEP § 2144.06) for the plurality of fins of Uechi for dissipating heat from the heat generator, using solid state electrical components (thermocouples) as compared to more traditional mechanical/fluid cooling components (Caillat; [0006]).
Re claim 2, Uechi discloses the heat dissipation module according to claim 1.
But, fails to disclose wherein distances from each of the first protrusions to a center of the first workpiece are different, and distances from each of the second protrusions to a center of the second workpiece are different.
However, Yee would render these limitations obvious since its disclosure of up to 5 grooves ([0013]) equates to up to 5 first and second protrusions, which would have distances from each of the first protrusions to a center of the first workpiece that are different laterally, and distances from each of the second protrusions to a center of the second workpiece that are different laterally, as part of the structures for increasing the permeation path for oxygen and moisture discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 3, Uechi and Caiilat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 1, wherein the first workpiece (Uechi: base plate 2/case member 4) comprises: a carrier frame (case member 4), having the first airtight portion (surface 4b); and a metal heat conduction plate (copper base plate 2; [0027]), configured (laterally in a planar view at 43) between (sidewalls of) the carrier frame (case member 4) and the second workpiece (metal case 5), wherein a first side surface (upper plane) of the metal heat conduction plate (copper base plate 2) partially contacts (physically touching) the heating element (substrate 3), and a second side surface (lower plane) of the metal heat conduction plate (copper base plate 2) partially contacts (physically touching) the thermoelectric cooling element (Caillat: thermoelectric device 20), as part of the solid-state cooling components discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 4, Uechi discloses the heat dissipation module according to claim 3, further comprising a substrate (control substrate not shown; [0022]), wherein the carrier frame (case member 4) carries (on substrate 3; [0022]) the substrate (control substrate not shown), and the heating element (substrate 3) is electrically connected (for operation control; [0022]) to the substrate (substrate 3).
Re claim 5, Uechi and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 3, wherein the thermoelectric cooling element (Caillat: thermoelectric device 20) has a cold surface (24; [0048]) and a hot surface (26; [0048]) opposite to (below) the cold surface (24), the cold surface (24) partially contacts (physically touching) the metal heat conduction plate (Uechi: copper base plate 2), the hot surface (26) partially contacts (physically touching as would fins 7; [0024]) the second workpiece (Uechi: metal case 5), and the second workpiece (metal case 5) has an opening (43; [0024]) for accommodating the thermoelectric cooling element (thermoelectric device 20), as part of the solid-state cooling components discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 6, Uechi and Yee disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 3, wherein the first protrusions (Yee: male grooves) and the second protrusions (Yee: female grooves) are located around a periphery (perimeter; FIG. 1) of the metal heat conduction plate (Uechi: copper base plate 2), as part of the structures for increasing the permeation path for oxygen and moisture discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 7, Uechi and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 1, further comprising a heat dissipation element base (Caillat: heat sink not shown; [0053]), configured on a side (upper side) of the second workpiece (Uechi: metal case 5) away from the first workpiece (Uechi: base plate 2/case member 4), as would be part of the solid-state cooling components discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 8, Uechi and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 1, further comprising a heat dissipation element base (see claim 7), configured between the first workpiece (Uechi: base plate 2/case member 4) and the second workpiece (Uechi: metal case 5) and carrying the thermoelectric cooling element (Caillat: thermoelectric device 20), wherein the thermoelectric cooling element has a cold surface (see claim 5) and a hot surface (see claim 5) opposite to the cold surface, the cold surface partially contacts the first workpiece (see claim 5), and the hot surface partially contacts the second workpiece (see claim 5), as would be part of the solid-state cooling components discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 9, Uechi and Yee and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 8, wherein the first protrusions and the second protrusions are located on a periphery of the heat dissipation element base (see claims 6-7), as part of the structures for increasing the permeation path for oxygen and moisture discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 10, Uechi discloses the heat dissipation module according to claim 1.
But, fails to disclose wherein the heating element (substrate 3) comprises a light valve or a light emitting element.
However, Yee discloses airtight light emitting element heating elements (OLEDs; Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Uechi by expanding the functionality of its heat dissipation module to include display capabilities (Yee; [0002]) by incorporating the light emitting element heating elements (OLEDs) of Yee.
Claims 11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uechi et al (US 2010/0232112 A1-of record, hereafter Uechi) in view of Takeuchi et al (US 4,609,937 A, hereafter Takeuchi) and Hsiao (US 2004/0188831 A1-of record) and Caillat et al (US 2003/0066476 A1-of record, hereafter Caillat).
Re claim 11, Uechi discloses in FIG. 7 (with references to FIGS. 1-2) a heat dissipation module (1; [0021]), suitable for dissipating heat from a heating element (substrate 3; [0021]), the heat dissipation module (1) comprising:
an airtight structure (hermetic bonding structure base plate 2/case member 4/metal case 5; [0021] and [0032]), comprising:
a first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4; [0021] and [0032]);
a second workpiece (metal case 5; [0032]), configured in alignment (bonded; [0021]) with the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4); and
an element (O-ring not shown instead of adhesive 8; [0032]), configured between the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) and the second (metal case 5);
a cooling element (plurality of fins 7 as in FIG. 2; [0023]), configured between the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) and the second workpiece (metal case 5) and partially contacting (physically touching base plate 2) the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4), wherein the heating element (substrate 3) is configured (positioned) on a side (upper plane of base plate 2) of the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) away from (above) the cooling element (plurality of fins 7).
Uechi fails to disclose a compressible element, configured between the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) and the second workpiece (metal case 5), wherein the compressible element has a body and a plurality of protrusions extending from the body toward the first workpiece and the second workpiece, and wherein the adjacent two protrusions of the plurality of protrusions located on a same side have a gap, and at least one of the plurality of protrusions is compressed and deformed by at least one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece to fill the gap; and a thermoelectric cooling element, configured between the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) and the second workpiece (metal case 5) and partially contacting the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4), wherein the heating element (substrate 3) is configured on the side (upper plane of base plate 2) of the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) away from the thermoelectric cooling element.
However,
A. Takeuchi discloses in FIGS. 2, 5 and 8 airtight structures comprising: compressible O-rings (8: col. 1, lines 25-50; 64: col. 3, line 51-col. 4, line 1; and col. 4, line 53-col. 5, line 5).
And,
B. Hsiao discloses in FIG. 4 a compressed element (330; [0033]) comprising: wherein an element (330) has a body (horizontal portion) and a plurality of protrusions (vertical portions at 342a/312a; [0034]) extending from the body (horizontal portion) toward a first workpiece (340; [0034]) and the second workpiece (310; [0034]), and wherein adjacent two (side-by-side) protrusions (vertical portions at 342a/312a) located on a same side (of 340/310) have a gap (spacing).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Uechi by first using the compressible O-rings of Takeuchi as substitutional equivalents (MPEP § 2144.06) for the O-ring of Uechi for hermetic sealing (Takeuchi; col. 1, lines 47-50); and then adding the first and second recessed portions of Hsiao to the first and second workpieces of Uechi, and using the shape of the element of Hsiao for the compressible element (O-ring) of Takeuchi, such that the compressible element, configured between the first workpiece (base plate 2/case member 4) and the second workpiece (metal case 5), wherein the compressible element has a body and a plurality of protrusions extending from the body toward the first workpiece and the second workpiece, and wherein the adjacent two protrusions of the plurality of protrusions located on a same side have a gap, and at least one of the plurality of protrusions is compressed and deformed by at least one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece to fill the gap, these provisions help secure the first workpiece more firmly in position on the second workpiece (Hsiao; [0034]).
And,
C. Caillat discloses in FIG. 1 a heat dissipation module (cooler; [0047]) comprising a thermoelectric cooling element (thermoelectric device 20; [0047] and [0054]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Uechi and Takeuchi and Hsiao by using the thermoelectric device of Caillat as a substitutional equivalent (MPEP § 2144.06) for the plurality of fins of Uechi for dissipating heat from the heat generator, using solid state electrical components (thermocouples) as compared to more traditional mechanical/fluid cooling components (Caillat; [0006]).
Re claim 13, Uechi and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 11, wherein the first workpiece comprises: a carrier frame, having a first airtight portion; and a metal heat conduction plate, configured between the carrier frame and the second workpiece, wherein a first side of the metal heat conduction plate partially contacts the heating element, and a second side of the metal heat conduction plate partially contacts the thermoelectric cooling element (see claim 3), as would be part of the solid-state cooling components discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 14, Uechi discloses the heat dissipation module according to claim 13, further comprising a substrate, wherein the carrier frame carries the substrate, and the heating element is electrically connected to the substrate (see claim 4).
Re claim 15, Uechi and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 13, wherein the thermoelectric cooling element has a cold surface and a hot surface opposite to the cold surface, the cold surface partially contacts the metal heat conduction plate, the hot surface partially contacts the second workpiece, and the second workpiece has an opening for accommodating the thermoelectric cooling element (see claim 5), as would be part of the solid-state cooling components discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 16, Uechi discloses the heat dissipation module according to claim 13, wherein the protrusions of the compressible element are located around a periphery of the metal heat conduction plate (see claim 6).
Re claim 17, Uechi and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 11, further comprising a heat dissipation element base, configured on a side of the second workpiece away from the first workpiece (see claim 7), as would be part of the solid-state cooling components discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 18, Uechi and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 11, further comprising a heat dissipation element base, configured between the first workpiece and the second workpiece and carrying the thermoelectric cooling element, wherein the thermoelectric cooling element has a cold surface and a hot surface opposite to the cold surface, the cold surface partially contacts the first workpiece, and the hot surface partially contacts the second workpiece (see claim 8), as would be part of the solid-state cooling components discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 19, Uechi and Hsiao and Caillat disclose the heat dissipation module according to claim 18, wherein the protrusions of the compressible element (see claim 11) are located on a periphery of the heat dissipation element base (see claim 6-7 and 9), as part of the firm positioning of the first and second workpieces discussed for claim 11.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uechi and Takeuchi and Hsiao and Caillat as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Yee et al (US 2003/0062533 A1-of record, hereafter Yee).
Re claim 20, Uechi discloses the heat dissipation module according to claim 11.
But, fails to disclose wherein the heating element (substrate 3) comprises a light valve or a light emitting element.
However, Yee discloses airtight light emitting element heating elements (OLEDs; Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Uechi by expanding the functionality of its heat dissipation module to include display capabilities (Yee; [0002]) by incorporating the light emitting element heating elements (OLEDs) of Yee.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1; and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For the record, the applicant’s claim 1 arguments against Yee and claim 11 arguments Hsiao appear to be based on the intermediate material(s) between the first and second workpieces, and not on the plurality of protrusions of the first and second workpieces and the intermediate material(s) themselves. The disclosures of Yee and Hsiao are used for their effect on the compressible element(s) of Uechi/Takeuchi.
In response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892