DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/22/24 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In the instant application, claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A:
However, claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For instance, regarding independent claim(s) 1, 16, 17,
Prong 1 analysis:
The limitations of “setting, for a character, a first level that is maintained even when a predetermined range is exceeded, and a second level that is not maintained when the predetermined range is exceeded in a game in which a level for determining power is set for the character”, are considered to fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping (managing personal behavior, rules). The mere nominal recitation of generic computer elements does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-15 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Prong 2 analysis:
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the additional elements “a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in which an information processing program is recorded, a processor”, are generically recited computer elements that do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer. The claimed elements are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Each of the additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, in view of Berkheimer, the recited additional elements are considered as conventional activity. For instance, Takahashi et al. (2010/0184498) and Sakaguchi et al. (2007/0060226) teaches the recited additional elements (Takahashi, Fig 1, 5-7, ¶¶0035-0038, 0049-0053; Sakaguchi, Fig 1, 3, 9-10, ¶¶0027-0032, 0081-0083).
In addition, with regards to the present claims, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For instance, regarding claims 1-17, each claim describes physical or software elements that provide a generic environment in which to carry out the abstract idea, which is similar to the conventional activity or as insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting information, based on types of information, for collection, analysis and display in EPG, gathering, receiving and transmitting data in Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs., buySAFE, and rules in In re Smith.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-17 is/are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Atsumi et al. (2002/0045470).
Re Claim 1,
Atsumi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in which an information processing program is recorded, the information processing program causing a computer to execute (Fig 3, ¶¶)
setting, for a character, a first level that is maintained even when a predetermined range is exceeded, and a second level that is not maintained when the predetermined range is exceeded in a game in which a level for determining power is set for the character (Fig 6, ¶¶0064-0066; an attack power A of the object soldier Fn is based on basic attack power, i.e., an independent first level power, and support attack power, i.e, a second level variable power depends on the number of the support soldiers, in other words, the support attack power changes as the number of the support soldiers change).
Re Claim 2,
Atsumi discloses the first level determines a numerical value indicating ability of a character, the second level determines a variation amount of the numerical value or determines an element other than the numerical value, and the power of the character is adjusted based on the first level and the second level (¶¶0064-0066).
Re Claims 16, 17,
Claims are substantially similar to claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsumi et al. (2002/0045470) in view of Suzuki (2016/0367900).
Re Claim 3,
Atsumi discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on performing predetermined processing according to a relative value between the second level of a first character and the second level of a second character different from the first character. However, Suzuki teaches performing predetermined processing according to a relative value between the second level of a first character and the second level of a second character different from the first character (Fig 6, ¶¶0031-0032, 0034-0035). Suzuki further teaches such a configuration enhances players’ desire to participate in a battle game (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Suzuki into the game of Atsumi in order to enhance players’ desire to participate in a battle game.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715