DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-2,9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Ke et al. (CN105609680).
As to claim 1, Ke et al. discloses a box of a battery (figure 1), comprising: a first box body (20), on which a first opening is created; a second box body (10), configured to fit and cover the first opening; a sealing element (40), at least partially clamped between the first box body (20) and the second box body (10) and configured to seal the first opening; and a mating piece (30), accommodated in the first box body (20) and connected to the first box body, wherein the mating piece (30) and the second box body (10) clamp at least a part of the sealing element (40).
As to claim 2, Ke et al. discloses wherein a first flange (figure 5 number 24) extending toward a circumference of the first box body (20) is disposed on the first box body, a second flange (12) extending toward a circumference of the second box body (10) is disposed on the second box body, and the second flange (12) is connected to the first flange correspondingly.
As to claim 9, Ke et al. discloses wherein the first flange is connected to the second flange by a bolt (figure 5 number 30).
As to claim 10, Ke et al. discloses a battery, comprising the box according to claim 1 (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 11, Ke et al. discloses an electrical apparatus, comprising the battery according to claim 10, wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical energy (paragraph 0003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. in view of Kobayashi (US10336211).
Ke et al. discloses the box of a battery described above. As to claim 3, Ke et al. fail to disclose wherein a clearance between the mating piece and an inner wall of the first box body is filled with a sealant layer.
Kobayashi et al. teaches wherein a clearance between the mating piece and an inner wall of the first box body is filled with a sealant layer for the purpose of preventing water from entering the space (col. 8 lines 59-col. 9 lines 1-4, figure 4 number 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Ke et al. with wherein a clearance between the mating piece and an inner wall of the first box body is filled with a sealant layer for the purpose of preventing water from entering the space (col. 8 lines 59-col. 9 lines 1-4).
As to claim 4, Ke et al. disclose wherein the mating piece comprises a catch portion (figure 5 number 13) and a connecting portion (23), a top of the connecting portion (24) is connected to the catch portion (13), the catch portion and the second flange (12) clamp at least a part of the sealing element (40), and the connecting portion (23) is connected to the inner wall of the first box body (22).
As to claim 5, Ke et al. fail to disclose, wherein the first flange, the sealant layer, and the connecting portion jointly clamp at least a part of the sealing element.
Kobayashi et al. teaches wherein the first flange, the sealant layer, and the connecting portion jointly clamp at least a part of the sealing element for the purpose of preventing water from entering the space (col. 8 lines 59-col. 9 lines 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Ke et al. with a sealant layer for the purpose of preventing water from entering the space (col. 8 lines 59-col. 9 lines 1-4).
As to claim 6, Ke et al. discloses wherein the catch portion extends toward inside of the first box body (figure 5 number 13).
As to claim 7, Ke et al. discloses wherein a bend portion (figure 5) is further disposed between the catch portion (13) and the connecting portion (23), the bend portion (12) protrudes toward inside of the first box body, and the catch portion is connected to a top of the bend portion and extends toward the first flange (12).
As to claim 8, Ke et al. discloses wherein the first box body is rectangular, and
there are a pair of mating pieces disposed symmetrically on two sides of the first box body (figure 1 number 20).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724