DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 5 May 2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-20 remain pending in this application.
The amendment to the claims have overcome the §112(a) and §112(b) rejections set forth in the office action 10 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 14, the limitation “between the integrated motor/generator and each of the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is between the integrated motor/generator and each of the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor. For the purposes of this examination the limitation will not be considered a part of the claim.
Claims 15-20 depend from Claim 14 and are rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemen (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2020/0361611), hereinafter Klemen, in view of Cerny (U.S. Patent No. 9,534,538), hereinafter Cerny, and Katsumata (U.S. Patent No. 11,603,795), hereinafter Katsumata.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Klemen discloses an integrated motor/generator system (Figures 2 and 4) comprising:
a main shaft, 66, supporting an air cycle machine (ACM) compressor, 58;
the main shaft supporting an ACM turbine, 62;
an ACM first heat exchanger, 60, fluidly coupled between the ACM compressor and the ACM turbine (the first heat exchanger, 60, is fluidly between the compressor and the turbine), wherein the ACM first heat exchanger is downstream of the ACM compressor and upstream of the ACM turbine (the flow of fluid, 51, is from the compressor to the heat exchanger, 60, and then to the turbine, therefore it is downstream from the compressor and upstream from the turbine);
an ACM second heat exchanger, 64, fluidly coupled between the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor (the second heat exchanger, 64, is fluidly between the turbine and the compressor), wherein the ACM second heat exchanger is downstream of the ACM turbine and upstream of the ACM compressor (the flow of fluid, 51, is from the turbine to the heat exchanger, 64, and then to the compressor, therefore it is downstream from the turbine and upstream from the compressor);
an ACM working fluid, 51, fluidly coupled with the ACM compressor, the ACM first heat exchanger, the ACM turbine, and the ACM second heat exchanger (the fluid, 51, flows through the ACM compressor, the ACM first heat exchanger, the ACM turbine, and the ACM second heat exchanger, therefore it is fluidly coupled to the components);
an APU turbine, 40, in operative communication with the main shaft (Paragraph 0046 – the shaft, 69, operatively couples the turbine, 40, with the main shaft, 66, to allow the turbine, 40, to drive the compressor, 58, and/or turbine, 62;
a generator, 42.
Klemen does not disclose an electrical power source in operative communication with an integrated motor/generator; and
the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft, the integrated motor/generator located directly between and adjacent to the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor, wherein the integrated motor/generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition.
However, Cerny teaches a system (Figure 2) with an electrical power source, 272, in operative communication with the integrated motor/generator (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 – the electrical power source, 272, receives from and sends electrical power to the motor/generator, 212, therefore they are in operative communication with each other); and
the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with a main shaft (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 – the motor/generator, 212, is coupled to the shaft, 214), wherein the integrated motor/generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 and Column 7, Line 23 – Column 8, Line 65– the controller controls the motor/generator based on multiple predetermined gas turbine engine condition where the motor/generator provide mechanical rotation; one specific condition is when a specific condition of the aircraft is met, i.e. parked, and starting, and thus a similar gas turbine engine condition is met, electrical power is provided to the motor/generator to provide rotational force to the main shaft) and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 and Column 7, Line 23 – Column 8, Line 65– the controller controls the motor/generator based on multiple predetermined gas turbine engine condition where the motor/generator provides electrical power; one such situation is when the aircraft is in an auxiliary power mode and the gas turbine engine is in a predetermined condition for the mode, the motor/generator generates electrical power).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen by replacing the generator of Klemen with an integrated motor/generator operatively connected to an electrical power source and making the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft, wherein the integrated motor/generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition, as taught by Cerny, in order to provide a thermal management system that can provide additional power to the aircraft and turbine engine and effectively operate without impeding the power output of the aircraft engine (Cerny – Column 1, Lines 51-58).
Klemen in view of Cerny do not disclose the integrated motor/generator located directly between and adjacent to the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor.
However, Katsumata teaches a system (Figure 3) with a main shaft, 153, supporting an air cycle machine compressor, 151, and an air cycle machine turbine, 152, with an integrated motor/generator, 301, located directly between and adjacent to the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor (Figure 3 – the motor/generator, 301, is located directly between and adjacent to the ACM compressor, 151, and ACM turbine, 152).
Further, Cerny teaches that the positioning of the of the motor/generator may be at different locations on the main shaft and still be able to perform the desired function of performing as a motor or generator on the main shaft (Column 6, Lines 48-63).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen in view of Cerny by moving the integrated motor/generator to be directly between and adjacent to the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor, as taught by Katsumata, as a matter of design choice having no effect on the functionality of the integrated motor/generator being able to act as a motor and a generator connected to a main shaft.
Regarding Claim 2, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata, as discussed so far, do not disclose the integrated motor/generator is in operative communication with a controller.
However, Cerny further teaches the integrated motor/generator is in operative communication with a controller (Column 7, Lines 18-22 – a controller is in operative communication with the motor/generator).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention of Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata by making the integrated motor/generator be in operative communication with a controller, as taught by Cerny, for the same reasons as discussed above for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen further discloses a high pressure bleed, 44, fluidly coupled to the APU turbine (Figure 2 – Paragraph 0061 – the high pressure compressor provides a high pressure bleed that flows to the APU turbine, 40, through the combustor, 38).
Regarding Claim 4, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen further discloses an avionics heat exchanger fluidly coupled to the ACM second heat exchanger (Paragraph 0069 – electrical equipment/avionics of the aircraft are cooled by a fluid connection to the second heat exchanger, 64, via the input, 65, and output, 67, therefore the second heat exchanger is fluidly coupled to an avionics heat exchanger).
Regarding Claim 5, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Cerny further discloses the predetermined gas turbine engine condition comprises an operating state demanding high pressure engine bleed air (Column 8, Lines 41-65 – when operating in a parked auxiliary power mode electrical power is provided to the motor generator to provide a rotational force where then high pressure bleed air, 218, is provided to the burner, 224).
Thus the combination of Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the limitations of Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Cerny further discloses the another predetermined gas turbine engine condition comprises an operating state demanding the electrical power (Column 8, Lines 1-16 – when operating in auxiliary power mode/operating state that demands electrical power the another predetermined condition causes the motor/generator to generate electrical power).
Thus the combination of Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the limitations of Claim 6.
Regarding Independent Claim 14, Klemen discloses a process for an integrated motor/generator system for a gas turbine engine (Figure 2) comprising:
coupling an air cycle machine (ACM) compressor, 58, with a main shaft, 66;
coupling an ACM turbine, 62, with the main shaft supporting;
fluidly coupling an ACM first heat exchanger, 60, between the ACM compressor and the ACM turbine (the first heat exchanger, 60, is fluidly between the compressor and the turbine), wherein the ACM first heat exchanger is downstream of the ACM compressor and upstream of the ACM turbine (the flow of fluid, 51, is from the compressor to the heat exchanger, 60, and then to the turbine, therefore it is downstream from the compressor and upstream from the turbine);
fluidly coupling an ACM second heat exchanger, 64, between the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor (the second heat exchanger, 64, is fluidly between the turbine and the compressor), wherein the ACM second heat exchanger is downstream of the ACM turbine and upstream of the ACM compressor (the flow of fluid, 51, is from the turbine to the heat exchanger, 64, and then to the compressor, therefore it is downstream from the turbine and upstream from the compressor);
fluidly coupling an ACM working fluid, 51, with the ACM compressor, the ACM first heat exchanger, the ACM turbine, and the ACM second heat exchanger (the fluid, 51, flows through the ACM compressor, the ACM first heat exchanger, the ACM turbine, and the ACM second heat exchanger, therefore it is fluidly coupled to the components);
coupling an APU turbine, 40, in operative communication with the main shaft (Paragraph 0046 – the shaft, 69, operatively couples the turbine, 40, with the main shaft, 66, to allow the turbine, 40, to drive the compressor, 58, and/or turbine, 62;
coupling a generator, 42.
Klemen does not disclose coupling an electrical power source in operative communication with an integrated motor/generator;
coupling the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft directly between and adjacent to the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor; and
configuring the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft, wherein the integrated motor/generator to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition.
However, Cerny teaches a system (Figure 2) with an electrical power source, 272, in operative communication with the integrated motor/generator (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 – the electrical power source, 272, receives from and sends electrical power to the motor/generator, 212, therefore they are in operative communication with each other); and
the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with a main shaft (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 – the motor/generator, 212, is coupled to the shaft, 214), wherein the integrated motor/generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 and Column 7, Line 23 – Column 8, Line 65– the controller controls the motor/generator based on multiple predetermined gas turbine engine condition where the motor/generator provide mechanical rotation; one specific condition is when a specific condition of the aircraft is met, i.e. parked, and starting, and thus a similar gas turbine engine condition is met, electrical power is provided to the motor/generator to provide rotational force to the main shaft) and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 and Column 7, Line 23 – Column 8, Line 65– the controller controls the motor/generator based on multiple predetermined gas turbine engine condition where the motor/generator provides electrical power; one such situation is when the aircraft is in an auxiliary power mode and the gas turbine engine is in a predetermined condition for the mode, the motor/generator generates electrical power).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen by replacing the generator of Klemen with an integrated motor/generator operatively connected to an electrical power source and making the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft, and coupling the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft, and configuring the integrated motor/generator to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition, as taught by Cerny, resulting in coupling an electrical power source in operative communication with the integrated motor/generator in order to provide a thermal management system that can provide additional power to the aircraft and turbine engine and effectively operate without impeding the power output of the aircraft engine (Cerny – Column 1, Lines 51-58).
Klemen in view of Cerny do not disclose coupling the integrated motor/generator directly between and adjacent to the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor.
However, Katsumata teaches a system (Figure 3) with a main shaft, 153, supporting an air cycle machine compressor, 151, and an air cycle machine turbine, 152, with an integrated motor/generator, 301, located directly between and adjacent to the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor (Figure 3 – the motor/generator, 301, is located directly between and adjacent to the ACM compressor, 151, and ACM turbine, 152).
Further, Cerny teaches that the positioning of the of the motor/generator may be at different locations on the main shaft and still be able to perform the desired function of performing as a motor or generator on the main shaft (Column 6, Lines 48-63).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen in view of Cerny by coupling the integrated motor/generator directly between and adjacent to the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor, as taught by Katsumata, as a matter of design choice having no effect on the functionality of the integrated motor/generator being able to act as a motor and a generator connected to a main shaft.
Regarding Claim 15, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata, as discussed so far, do not disclose coupling the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with a controller.
However, Cerny further teaches the integrated motor/generator is in operative communication with a controller (Column 7, Lines 18-22 – a controller is in operative communication with the motor/generator).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention of Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata by coupling the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with a controller, as taught by Cerny, for the same reasons as discussed above for Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 16, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen further discloses fluidly coupling a high pressure bleed, 44, to the APU turbine (Figure 2 – Paragraph 0061 – the high pressure compressor provides a high pressure bleed that flows to the APU turbine, 40, through the combustor, 38).
Regarding Claim 17, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen further discloses fluidly coupling an avionics heat exchanger to the ACM second heat exchanger (Paragraph 0069 – electrical equipment/avionics of the aircraft are cooled by a fluid connection to the second heat exchanger, 64, via the input, 65, and output, 67, therefore the second heat exchanger is fluidly coupled to an avionics heat exchanger).
Regarding Claim 18, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Cerny further discloses configuring the predetermined gas turbine engine condition comprising an operating state demanding high pressure engine bleed air (Column 8, Lines 41-65 – when operating in a parked auxiliary power mode electrical power is provided to the motor generator to provide a rotational force where then high pressure bleed air, 218, is provided to the burner, 224).
Thus the combination of Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the limitations of Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Cerny further discloses configuring the another predetermined gas turbine engine condition comprising an operating state demanding the electrical power (Column 8, Lines 1-16 – when operating in auxiliary power mode/operating state that demands electrical power the another predetermined condition causes the motor/generator to generate electrical power).
Thus the combination of Klemen in view of Cerny disclose the limitations of Claim 19.
Claim(s) 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Hinderliter (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2017/0217592), hereinafter Hinderliter.
Regarding Claim 7, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata do not explicitly disclose the ACM first heat exchanger is located in a fan duct.
However, Hinderliter teaches a thermal management system (Title) with an air cycle machine (ACM), 68, with a heat exchanger, 110, that is located in a fan duct, 84.
Klemen further discloses the heat exchanger and thus the cold input, 61, may be any suitable source in Paragraph 0048.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata by placing the ACM first heat exchanger in a fan duct, as taught by Hinderliter, in order to allow the undesirable heat to be exhausted into an ambient flow/environment (Hinderliter – Paragraph 0048).
Regarding Claim 20, Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata do not explicitly disclose locating the ACM first heat exchanger in a fan duct.
However, Hinderliter teaches a thermal management system (Title) with an air cycle machine (ACM), 68, with a heat exchanger, 110, that is located in a fan duct, 84.
Klemen further discloses the heat exchanger and thus the cold input, 61, may be any suitable source in Paragraph 0048.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen in view of Cerny and Katsumata by locating the ACM first heat exchanger in a fan duct, as taught by Hinderliter, in order to allow the undesirable heat to be exhausted into an ambient flow/environment (Hinderliter – Paragraph 0048).
Claim(s) 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata.
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Klemen discloses an integrated motor/generator system for a gas turbine engine (Figure 2) comprising:
a main shaft, 66, supporting an air cycle machine (ACM) compressor, 58;
the main shaft supporting an ACM turbine, 62;
an ACM first heat exchanger, 60, fluidly coupled between the ACM compressor and the ACM turbine (the first heat exchanger, 60, is fluidly between the compressor and the turbine), wherein the ACM first heat exchanger is downstream of the ACM compressor and upstream of the ACM turbine (the flow of fluid, 51, is from the compressor to the heat exchanger, 60, and then to the turbine, therefore it is downstream from the compressor and upstream from the turbine);
an ACM second heat exchanger, 64, fluidly coupled between the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor (the second heat exchanger, 64, is fluidly between the turbine and the compressor), wherein the ACM second heat exchanger is downstream of the ACM turbine and upstream of the ACM compressor (the flow of fluid, 51, is from the turbine to the heat exchanger, 64, and then to the compressor, therefore it is downstream from the turbine and upstream from the compressor);
an ACM working fluid, 51, fluidly coupled with the ACM compressor, the ACM first heat exchanger, the ACM turbine, and the ACM second heat exchanger (the fluid, 51, flows through the ACM compressor, the ACM first heat exchanger, the ACM turbine, and the ACM second heat exchanger, therefore it is fluidly coupled to the components);
an APU turbine, 40, in operative communication with the main shaft (Paragraph 0046 – the shaft, 69, operatively couples the turbine, 40, with the main shaft, 66, to allow the turbine, 40, to drive the compressor, 58, and/or turbine, 62;
a generator, 42.
Klemen does not disclose the ACM first heat exchanger located in a fan duct of the gas turbine engine; an electrical power source in operative communication with an integrated motor/generator; and
the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft located between the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor, wherein the ACM compressor is adjacent to and directly on one side of the integrated motor/generator and the ACM turbine is adjacent to and directly on an opposite side of the integrated motor/generator, wherein the integrated motor/generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy for the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition.
However, Hinderliter teaches a thermal management system (Title) with an air cycle machine (ACM), 68, with a heat exchanger, 110, that is located in a fan duct, 84.
Klemen further discloses the heat exchanger and thus the cold input, 61, may be any suitable source in Paragraph 0048.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen in view of Cerny by placing the ACM first heat exchanger in a fan duct, as taught by Hinderliter, in order to allow the undesirable heat to be exhausted into an ambient flow/environment (Hinderliter – Paragraph 0048).
Klemen in view of Hinderliter do not disclose an electrical power source in operative communication with the integrated motor/generator; and
the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft located between the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor, wherein the ACM compressor is adjacent to and directly on one side of the integrated motor/generator and the ACM turbine is adjacent to and directly on an opposite side of the integrated motor/generator, wherein the integrated motor/generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy for the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition.
However, Cerny teaches a system (Figure 2) with an electrical power source, 272, in operative communication with the integrated motor/generator (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 – the electrical power source, 272, receives from and sends electrical power to the motor/generator, 212, therefore they are in operative communication with each other); and
the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with a main shaft (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 – the motor/generator, 212, is coupled to the shaft, 214), wherein the integrated motor/generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 and Column 7, Line 23 – Column 8, Line 65– the controller controls the motor/generator based on multiple predetermined gas turbine engine condition where the motor/generator provide mechanical rotation; one specific condition is when a specific condition of the aircraft is met, i.e. parked, and starting, and thus a similar gas turbine engine condition is met, electrical power is provided to the motor/generator to provide rotational force to the main shaft) and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition (Column 6, Line 64 – Column 7, Line 12 and Column 7, Line 23 – Column 8, Line 65– the controller controls the motor/generator based on multiple predetermined gas turbine engine condition where the motor/generator provides electrical power; one such situation is when the aircraft is in an auxiliary power mode and the gas turbine engine is in a predetermined condition for the mode, the motor/generator generates electrical power).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen in view of Hinderliter by replacing the generator of Klemen with an integrated motor/generator operatively connected to an electrical power source and making the integrated motor/generator in operative communication with the main shaft, wherein the integrated motor/generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the main shaft, responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition, as taught by Cerny, in order to provide a thermal management system that can provide additional power to the aircraft and turbine engine and effectively operate without impeding the power output of the aircraft engine (Cerny – Column 1, Lines 51-58).
Klemen in view of Hinderliter and Cerny do not disclose the integrated motor/generator located between the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor, wherein the ACM compressor is adjacent to and directly on one side of the integrated motor/generator and the ACM turbine is adjacent to and directly on an opposite side of the integrated motor/generator.
However, Katsumata teaches a system (Figure 3) with a main shaft, 153, supporting an air cycle machine compressor, 151, and an air cycle machine turbine, 152, with an integrated motor/generator, 301, located between the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor (Figure 3 – the motor/generator, 301, is located directly between the ACM compressor, 151, and ACM turbine, 152), wherein the ACM compressor is adjacent to and directly on one side of the integrated motor/generator (Figure 3 – ACM compressor, 151, is located adjacent to and directly on one side of the motor/generator, 301) and the ACM turbine is adjacent to and directly on an opposite side of the integrated motor/generator (Figure 3 – ACM turbine, 152, is located adjacent to and directly on the opposite side of the motor/generator, 301).
Further, Cerny teaches that the positioning of the of the motor/generator may be at different locations on the main shaft and still be able to perform the desired function of performing as a motor or generator on the main shaft (Column 6, Lines 48-63).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Klemen in view of Hinderliter and Cerny by moving the integrated motor/generator to be located between the ACM turbine and the ACM compressor, wherein the ACM compressor is adjacent to and directly on one side of the integrated motor/generator and the ACM turbine is adjacent to and directly on an opposite side of the integrated motor/generator, as taught by Katsumata, as a matter of design choice having no effect on the functionality of the integrated motor/generator being able to act as a motor and a generator connected to a main shaft.
Regarding Claim 9, Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata, as discussed so far, do not disclose a controller in operative communication with the integrated motor/generator.
However, Cerny further teaches the integrated motor/generator is in operative communication with a controller (Column 7, Lines 18-22 – a controller is in operative communication with the motor/generator).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention of Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata by including a controller in operative communication with the integrated motor/generator, as taught by Cerny, for the same reasons as discussed above for Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 10, Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen further discloses a high pressure bleed, 44, fluidly coupled to the APU turbine (Figure 2 – Paragraph 0061 – the high pressure compressor provides a high pressure bleed that flows to the APU turbine, 40, through the combustor, 38).
Regarding Claim 11, Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Klemen further discloses an avionics heat exchanger fluidly coupled to the ACM second heat exchanger (Paragraph 0069 – electrical equipment/avionics of the aircraft are cooled by a fluid connection to the second heat exchanger, 64, via the input, 65, and output, 67, therefore the second heat exchanger is fluidly coupled to an avionics heat exchanger).
Regarding Claim 12, Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Cerny further discloses the predetermined gas turbine engine condition comprises an operating state demanding high pressure engine bleed air (Column 8, Lines 41-65 – when operating in a parked auxiliary power mode electrical power is provided to the motor generator to provide a rotational force where then high pressure bleed air, 218, is provided to the burner, 224).
Thus the combination of Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata disclose the limitations of Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Cerny further discloses the another predetermined gas turbine engine condition comprises an operating state demanding the electrical power (Column 8, Lines 1-16 – when operating in auxiliary power mode/operating state that demands electrical power the another predetermined condition causes the motor/generator to generate electrical power).
Thus the combination of Klemen in view of Hinderliter, Cerny and Katsumata disclose the limitations of Claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE ROBERT THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3741