DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species a, claims 1-9, 11-18, and 20, in the reply filed on 14 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 14 May 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed 22 March 2024 has been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 11-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0399071, hereinafter Choi ‘071).
With respect to claim 1, Choi ‘071 teaches (FIG. 7) a stretchable display apparatus as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (SUB1) ([0110]);
a circuit layer (left ST, right ST, 130, 141, left GIL2, right GIL2, and 160) disposed on the substrate (SUB1) and including a first subpixel circuit (left ST) and a second subpixel circuit (right ST) ([0112]), the circuit layer comprising:
a plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) including a first inorganic insulating layer (130) and a second inorganic insulating layer (141) ([0115, 0117]); and
a first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2) and a second inorganic conductive pattern (right GIL2) interposed between the first inorganic insulating layer (130) and the second inorganic insulating layer (141) ([0116]); and
a light-emitting layer (170) disposed on the circuit layer (left ST, right ST, 130, 141, left GIL2, right GIL2, and 160) and including a first light-emitting diode (left 170) electrically connected to the first subpixel circuit (left ST) and a second light-emitting diode (right 170) electrically connected to the second subpixel circuit (right ST) ([0125]),
wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) is interposed between the substrate (SUB1) and the light-emitting layer (170) ([0115-0117]),
an opening (CPH) passing through the first inorganic insulating layer (130) and the second inorganic insulating layer (141) is defined in the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) in an area between the first subpixel circuit (left ST) and the second subpixel circuit (right ST) ([0136]), and
the first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2) and the second inorganic conductive pattern (right GIL2) are disposed between the first subpixel circuit (left ST) and the second subpixel circuit (right ST) and respectively disposed on opposite sides of the opening (CPH) ([0116]).
With respect to claim 2, Choi ‘071 teaches wherein each of a lower surface of the first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2) and a lower surface of the second inorganic conductive pattern (right GIL2) is in direct contact with an upper surface of the first inorganic insulating layer (130), and each of an upper surface of the first inorganic conductive pattern and an upper surface of the second inorganic conductive pattern is in direct contact with a lower surface of the second inorganic insulating layer (141) ([0115-0117]).
With respect to claim 5, Choi ‘071 teaches wherein the circuit layer (left ST, right ST, 130, 141, left GIL2, right GIL2, and 160) further comprises an organic insulating layer (160) interposed between the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) and the light-emitting layer (170), and a part of the organic insulating layer at least partially fills the opening (CPH) of the plurality of inorganic insulating layers ([0121]).
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Choi ‘071 teaches further comprising: a first signal line (e.g. DL1 formed in subpixel above CPA) electrically connected to the first subpixel circuit (left ST); a second signal line (e.g. DL2 formed in subpixel below CPA) electrically connected to the second subpixel circuit (right ST); and a connection signal line (e.g. DL1 formed over CPA) connecting the first signal line to the second signal line, wherein the connection signal line overlaps the opening (CPH) of the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141), the first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2), and the second inorganic conductive pattern (right GIL2) ([0098]).
With respect to claims 7 and 16, Choi ‘071 teaches (FIG. 6) wherein a first connection point (e.g. any point defined along DL1 formed in subpixel above CPA disposed on a side opposite to the opening CPH with respect to the first inorganic conductive pattern left GIL2) for electrical connection between the first signal line (e.g. DL1 formed in subpixel above CPA) and the connection signal line (e.g. DL1 formed over CPA) is disposed on a side opposite to the opening (CPH) of the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) with respect to the first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2) disposed between the first connection point and the opening, and a second connection point (e.g. any point defined along DL1 formed in subpixel below CPA disposed on a side opposite to the opening CPH with respect to the second inorganic conductive pattern right GIL2) for electrical connection between the second signal line (e.g. DL2 formed in subpixel below CPA) and the connection signal line is disposed on a side opposite to the opening of the plurality of inorganic insulating layers with respect to the second inorganic conductive pattern (right GIL2) disposed between the second connection point and the opening ([0098]).
With respect to claims 11 and 20, Choi ‘071 teaches wherein the connection signal line (e.g. DL1 formed over CPA) has a serpentine shape in a plan view ([0098]).
With respect to claim 12, Choi ‘071 teaches (FIG. 7) a stretchable display apparatus as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (SUB1) ([0110]);
a circuit layer (left ST, right ST, 130, 141, left GIL2, right GIL2, and 160) disposed on the substrate (SUB1) and including a first subpixel circuit (left ST) and a second subpixel circuit (right ST) ([0112]), the circuit layer comprising:
a plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) ([0115, 0117]);
a first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2) surrounding the first subpixel circuit (left ST) in a plan view (another left GIL2 would be formed on an opposite side of the first subpixel circuit left ST in the arrangement shown in e.g. FIG. 5, thus surrounding said first subpixel circuit) ([0116]); and
a second inorganic conductive pattern (right GIL2) disposed adjacent to the first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2) and surrounding the second subpixel circuit (right ST) in the plan view (another right GIL2 would be formed on an opposite side of the second subpixel circuit right ST in the arrangement shown in e.g. FIG. 5, thus surrounding said second subpixel circuit) ([0116]); and
a light-emitting layer (170) disposed on the circuit layer (left ST, right ST, 130, 141, left GIL2, right GIL2, and 160) and including a first light-emitting diode (left 170) electrically connected to the first subpixel circuit (left ST) and a second light-emitting diode (right 170) electrically connected to the second subpixel circuit (right ST) ([0125]),
wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) is interposed between the substrate (SUB1) and the light-emitting layer (170) ([0115-0117]).
With respect to claim 13, Choi ‘071 teaches wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) includes a first inorganic insulating layer (130) and a second inorganic insulating layer (141), each of a lower surface of the first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2) and a lower surface of the second inorganic conductive pattern (right GIL2) is in direct contact with an upper surface of the first inorganic insulating layer, and each of an upper surface of the first inorganic conductive pattern and an upper surface of the second inorganic conductive pattern is in direct contact with a lower surface of the second inorganic insulating layer ([0115-0117]).
With respect to claim 14, Choi ‘071 teaches (FIG. 5) wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (130 and 141) has a mesh structure in the plan view and include an opening (CPA) at least partially filled with an organic insulating material (160), and a part of the opening is disposed in an area between the first inorganic conductive pattern (left GIL2) and the second inorganic conductive pattern (right GIL2) ([0121]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘071 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kubota et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0247873, hereinafter Kubota ‘873).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Choi ‘071 teaches the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein the first inorganic conductive pattern has a closed-loop shape surrounding an entirety of the first subpixel circuit in a plan view, and the second inorganic conductive pattern has a closed-loop shape surrounding an entirety of the second subpixel circuit in the plan view; and wherein each of the closed-loop shape of the first inorganic conductive pattern and the closed-loop shape of the second inorganic conductive pattern is a polygonal shape or a circular shape.
However, Kubota ‘873 teaches (FIG. 3A) a polygonal closed-loop conductive pattern (40) surrounding an entirety of a subpixel (41) to prevent a side leakage current from flowing into the subpixel ([0089])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first inorganic conductive pattern and the second inorganic conductive pattern of Choi ‘071 having a closed-loop shape surrounding an entirety of the first subpixel circuit in a plan view and having a closed-loop shape surrounding an entirety of the second subpixel circuit in the plan view respectively, wherein each of the closed-loop shape of the first inorganic conductive pattern and the closed-loop shape of the second inorganic conductive pattern is a polygonal shape or a circular shape as taught by Kubota ‘873 to prevent a side leakage current from flowing into the subpixel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach the stretchable display apparatus of claims 8 and 17 in the combination of limitations as claimed, noting particularly the limitation, “wherein the connection signal line is disposed in a same layer as the bottom metal layer and includes a same material as a material of the bottom metal layer.”
Choi ‘071 teaches further comprising a bottom metal layer (BLM) interposed between the substrate (SUB1) and the first subpixel circuit (left ST) or between the substrate and the second subpixel circuit (right ST) ([0113]). However, Choi ‘071 is silent to wherein the connection signal line (e.g. DL1 formed over CPA) is disposed in a same layer as the bottom metal layer (BML) and includes a same material as a material of the bottom metal layer in combination with at least the elements of claims 6 and 15 from which the claims depend, “wherein the connection signal line overlaps the opening of the plurality of inorganic insulating layers, the first inorganic conductive pattern, and the second inorganic conductive pattern.”
Claims 9 and 18 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter based merely upon their dependencies from claims 8 and 17 indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0303479); Yoo et al. (US Patent 10,879,491); Han et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0305521); Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0343813); Chae et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0376033); Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0093705); Choi (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0188346) teach stretchable display apparatuses.
Hong (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0320367) and Luo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0188402) teach conductive patterns surrounding subpixels.
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893