DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 1/9/2025, 3/31/2025 have been fully considered and are attached hereto.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species XII in the reply filed on 3/31/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species XII and species XXII, XXV, and XXVI include common characteristics/features and are related and/or not distinct that will require a serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because species XXII, XXV, and XXVI all have distinct features which are a search and examination burden. For example, XII (Fig 13) requires fins on four faces of the module, whereas XXII, XXV, and XXVI do not. XXII (Fig 26) requires a cooler (14) and a conducting plate (12) with airflow channels (121) therein, whereas XII, XXV, and XXVI (Figs 13, 28 and 29) do not. And XXVI (Fig 29) requires a first housing (111) and a second housing (112) which are detachable, whereas XII, XXII, and XXV do not.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Note:
On page 2 of the election dated 3/31/2026, Applicant notes that claim 16 reads on Species XIII (Fig 13) however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. There is nothing in the drawings or written description that discloses the limitations of claim 16 with respect to elected Fig 13. Claim 16 does appears to have explicit support with respect to Fig 17 (See Fig 17 and ¶ 0163 of the written description).
Accordingly, claim 16 is believed to be drawn to unelected Species XVI and has been withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
A new title should be provided which references the heat dissipation aspects of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 23, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharf et al. (US 9,509,102 – hereinafter, “Sharf”) in view of Yamashita et al. (US 6,529,374 – hereinafter, “Yamashita”).
With respect to claims 1, 13 Sharf teaches (In Fig 6) an optical module (106, Col. 3, ll. 43-45) comprising: a body (130) comprising: a first end face comprising at least one of an optical interface or an electrical interface (Interface of 106 that connects to 147); a second end face (See Fig 6) opposite the first end face; and at least one side face (See Fig 6).
Sharf fails to specifically teach or suggest a heat dissipation structure located on the second end face.
Yamashita, however, teaches an electronic apparatus (10) which has heat dissipation fins (18) located on a front side thereof (Col. 4, ll. 35-39, “a number of radiating fins 18 formed on the front face 12a”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamashita with that of Sharf, such that Sharf includes a heat dissipation structure located on its second end face, as taught by Yamashita, since doing so would achieve higher radiation effects (Col. 4, ll. 35-39) on the module of Sharf.
With respect to claim 23, Sharf teaches (In Fig 6) an optical communication device (100) comprising: an optical module connector (142); and at least one optical module (106, Col. 3, ll. 43-45) coupled to the optical module connector (142, see Fig 5) and comprising: a body comprising: a first end face (End face of 106 that is adjacent to 142 when plugged into 104) comprising at least one of an optical interface or an electrical interface (106 has a connector interface which connects to 142); a second face (Front face) opposite the first end face; and at least one side face (See Fig 6, side face with 220 thereon)
Sharf fails to specifically teach or suggest a heat dissipation structure located on the second end face.
Yamashita, however, teaches an electronic apparatus (10) which has heat dissipation fins (18) located on a front side thereof (Col. 4, ll. 35-39, “a number of radiating fins 18 formed on the front face 12a”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamashita with that of Sharf, such that Sharf includes a heat dissipation structure located on its second end face, as taught by Yamashita, since doing so would achieve higher radiation effects (Col. 4, ll. 35-39) on the module of Sharf.
With respect to claim 26, Sharf further teaches a heat dissipation structure (220) located on the at least one side face (See Fig 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2013/0046475 to Cook et al. which teaches a module with fins disposed on a front surface (¶ 0013);
GB 2578781 to Tittenhofer et al. which teaches an optical module (310) with heat dissipation fins on a front side of the module (310, see Fig 3A);
CN 204666874 to Zhang et al. which teaches a light receiving and sending module with heat dissipation device;
CN 113710060 to Zhou et al. which teaches a double-layer optical module with heat dissipation device; and
KR 20130084870 to Byun which teaches a pluggable optical transceiver with heat sink.
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835