DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 06/05/2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has not presented separate substantive arguments with respect to claim 11.
Accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 and dependent claims are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Choi et al. (US 2018/0304727, of record).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses a method, comprising: detecting a position of a light source ([0050] discloses: 60, external light source) external to a vehicle ([0050] discloses: 28’, camera, obtains information on location of external sources of glare such as 60, external light source); detecting a location of an eye of an operator of the vehicle ([0050] discloses: 28, camera, to monitor the face of the driver to identify the location of the driver’s eyes); determining a portion of a windshield treated with a coating ([0040] discloses: light modulation layers, to reduce glare experienced by a driver) to darken ([0005] discloses: might modulator onto a vehicle window to selectively darken an area; [0051] discloses: photochromic material, changes from transparent to opaque) in response to the position of the light source and the location of the eye (Figure 5 depicts and describes: steps of anti-glare reduction device in real time), wherein the portion intersects a path between the location of the eye and the position of the light source ([0040] discloses: light modulation layers, to reduce glare; Examiner notes that this is the glare from the external light source on the eyes of the driver through the windshield at the specified position of the glare determined by external light source and eye locations); and controlling an emitter ([0051] discloses: 70, ultraviolet light; [0041] discloses: processers and microprocessors in processing circuitry; Examiner notes that the circuitry is used to control the ultraviolet light to enable the light modulation layers to darken/lighten) housed within the vehicle (Figures 3 and 4 depict: 70, UV light, on same side of window as 4, eyes, therefore considered housed within the vehicle) to selectively darken the portion of the windshield by exciting the coating at the portion of the windshield ([0052] discloses: photochromic material darkened when exposed to light from one or more light sources; along with Figure 5 describes selectively exciting the light modulation layers from light to dark when exposed to external light source).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses a system for reducing glare within a vehicle ([0040] discloses: light modulation layers, to reduce glare experienced by a driver), the system comprising: a windshield treated with an ultraviolet-active coating ([0051] discloses: photochromic material that changes from transparent to opaque when exposed to light, light may be ultraviolet light; therefore considered an ultraviolet-active coating); an external light sensor ([0050] discloses: 28’, camera) configured to detect a location of a light source external ([0050] discloses: 60, external light source) to a vehicle ([0050] discloses: 28’, camera, obtains information on location of external sources of glare such as 60, external light source; [0034] discloses: sunlight or other light sources; Examiner notes that sunlight is external to a vehicle); an image sensor ([0042] discloses: digital image sensors) configured to generate images of an operator of the vehicle ([0058] sensors, to determine the location, the drivers eyes and the direction of view of the driver; therefore considered to generate images of an operator of the motor vehicle); an emitter ([0051] discloses: 70, ultraviolet light) movably housed within the vehicle ([0019] discloses: a steerable light source) and configured to excite a location of the coating from a first state to a second state ([0051] discloses: photochromic material, changes from transparent to opaque), wherein the second state is more opaque than the first state (Examiner notes that opaques is considered more opaque than transparent); and a processor ([0041] discloses: processers and microprocessors in processing circuitry) programmed to: process the images generated by the image sensor (Figure 5 depicts and describes: steps of anti-glare reduction device in real time; [0058] sensors, to determine the location, the drivers eyes and the direction of view of the driver; Examiner notes that the processor is considered to process the images generated by the image sensor) to determine a location of eyes of the operator of the vehicle ([0050] discloses: 28, camera, to monitor the face of the driver to identify the location of the driver’s eyes), determine a first location of the coating for exciting based on the determined location of the eyes of the operator and the detected location of a light source external to a vehicle ([0052] discloses: photochromic material darkened when exposed to light from one or more light sources), and control the emitter to excite the first location of the coating from the first state to the second state ([0052] discloses: photochromic material darkened when exposed to light from one or more light sources; along with Figure 5 describes selectively exciting the light modulation layers from light to dark when exposed to external light source).
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the processor is responsive to a change of position of the light source relative to the windshield ([0055] discloses: determining location of external light sources such as 60, source, are located relative to 14, windows, and the drivers eyes), and wherein the processor controls the emitter to excite a second location of the coating based on the change in position of the light source ([0057] discloses: glare reduction activities may be performed continuously during operation of vehicle; Continuous glare reduction based on eye location necessarily includes updating, to include at least second location, the darkening region when the detected external light source location changes; [0056] discloses: based on light source location, control circuitry controls transparency).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the processor is responsive to a change of location of the eye of the operator relative to the windshield ([0056] discloses: modification of light blocking structures base on driver eye location), and wherein the processor controls the emitter to excite a second location of the coating based on the change in location of the eye of the operator ([0057] discloses: glare reduction activities may be performed continuously during operation of vehicle; Continuous glare reduction based on eye location necessarily includes updating, to include at least second region, the darkening region when the detected eye location changes; [0056] discloses: based driver eye location, control circuitry controls transparency).
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the emitter is configured to contemporaneously excite both the first location and a second location of the coating ([0059] and Figure 7 depict: excitation of 96-1 and 96-2, portions, a first and second location both excited contemporaneously).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2018/0304727, of record), as applied to claims: 11 and 15 above, in view of Araki et al. (US 2014/0246982, of record).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the method of claim 11 further comprising: detecting an internal ambient luminance within the vehicle ([0042] discloses: 26, ambient light sensor, that measures the amount of light on the interior of the vehicle); detecting an external luminance from the light source ([0050] discloses: 28’, camera, obtains information on location of external sources of glare such as 60, external light source; therefore considered detecting an external luminance from the light source).
Choi fails to disclose a method of activating the emitter when the external luminance is greater than a threshold relative to the internal ambient luminance. Choi and Araki are related because both disclose comparing luminance values to adjust light output based on relative brightness conditions.
Araki teaches a method of activating the emitter ([0071] teaches: 4A, LED) when the external luminance is greater than a threshold relative to the internal ambient luminance ([0068] teaches: comparative luminance sensor to analyze and determine larger/smaller luminance; [0014] teaches: process for decreasing luminance) to activate the emitter ([0071] teaches: 4A, LED; [0071] teaches: 4A, LED is increased by a predetermined amount based on analysis of luminance comparison).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Choi to incorporate the teachings of Araki and provide a method of activating the emitter when the external luminance is greater than a threshold relative to the internal ambient luminance. Doing so would allow for selective activation of the emitter based on relative luminance conditions, thereby improving the responsiveness and efficiency of the glare reduction system.
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses the method of claim 11.
Choi fails to disclose a method further comprising: deactivating the emitter when an external luminance is less than a threshold relative to an internal ambient luminance. Choi and Araki are related because both disclose comparing luminance values to adjust light output based on relative brightness conditions.
Araki teaches a method further comprising: deactivating the emitter when an external luminance is less than a threshold relative to an internal ambient luminance ([0071] teaches: increase and decrease of 4A, LED, considered the emitter, due to larger and smaller luminance comparison conditions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Choi to incorporate the teachings of Araki and provide a method further comprising: deactivating the emitter when an external luminance is less than a threshold relative to an internal ambient luminance. Doing so would allow for selective activation of the emitter based on relative luminance conditions, thereby improving the responsiveness and efficiency of the glare reduction system.
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses the system of claim 15 further comprising an internal light sensor configured to sense an internal luminance within the vehicle ([0042] discloses: 26, ambient light sensor, that measures the amount of light on the interior of the vehicle).
Choi fails to disclose a system wherein the light sensor is configured to detect a magnitude of an external luminance of the light source external to the vehicle, and wherein the processor is programmed to activate the emitter to excite the first location of the coating in response to the magnitude of the external luminance being greater than a threshold relative to the internal luminance. Choi and Araki are related because both disclose comparing luminance values to adjust light output based on relative brightness conditions.
Araki teaches a system (Figure 2) wherein the light sensor ([0041] teaches: 6A, sensor; analogous to cameras 28 and 28’ of Choi) is configured to detect a magnitude ([0068] teaches: comparative luminance sensor to analyze and determine larger/smaller luminance; therefore considered to detect a magnitude) of an external luminance of the light source external to the vehicle (Figure 5 depicts: 11, external light, for embodiments 1-3, considered to be the external luminance detected by 6A, sensor), and wherein the processor is programmed ([0068] teaches: comparative luminance sensor to analyze and determine larger/smaller luminance; [0014] teaches: process for decreasing luminance) to activate the emitter ([0071] teaches: 4A, LED; [0071] teaches: 4A, LED is increased by a predetermined amount based on analysis of luminance comparison) to excite the first location of the coating (in at least abstract discloses: display region; Araki teaches activating a light emitting element in response to luminance comparison, it would have been obvious to apply this comparison based activation logic to Choi’s emitter controlling a photochromic coating) in response to the magnitude of the external luminance being greater than a threshold relative to the internal luminance ([0071] teaches: 4A, LED is increased by a predetermined amount based on analysis of luminance comparison; Examiner notes that the comparative luminance sensor is analogous to comparing the luminance of inside and outside of a motor vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Choi to incorporate the teachings of Araki and provide a system wherein the light sensor is configured to detect a magnitude of an external luminance of the light source external to the vehicle, and wherein the processor is programmed to activate the emitter to excite the first location of the coating in response to the magnitude of the external luminance being greater than a threshold relative to the internal luminance. Doing so would allow for selective activation of the emitter based on relative luminance conditions, thereby improving the responsiveness and efficiency of the glare reduction system.
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the processor controls an intensity generated by the emitter ([0057] discloses: determining which portions of light modulation layers should be adjusted; [0057] applying 70, light, to photochromic layer) as determined by the external light sensor ([0050] discloses: 28’, camera, obtains information on location of external sources of glare such as 60, external light source; [0052] discloses: photochromic material darkened when exposed to light from one or more light sources; along with Figure 5 describes selectively exciting the light modulation layers from light to dark when exposed to external light source).
Choi fails to disclose a system wherein the processer controls the intensity generated by the emitter based on a magnitude of the external light source. Choi and Araki are related because both disclose comparing luminance values to adjust light output based on relative brightness conditions.
Araki teaches a system wherein the processer controls the intensity generated by the emitter based on a magnitude of the external light source ([0068] teaches: comparative luminance sensor to analyze and determine larger/smaller luminance; [0014] teaches: process for decreasing luminance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Choi to incorporate the teachings of Araki and provide a system wherein the processer controls the intensity generated by the emitter based on a magnitude of the external light source. Doing so would allow for selective activation of the emitter based on relative luminance conditions, thereby control efficiency and glare mitigation performance.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2018/0304727, of record), as applied to claim 11 above, in view of Dawklins, Jr. (US 5,446,506, of record).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses the method of claim 11.
Choi fails to disclose a method further comprising: deactivating the emitter when the location of the eye of the operator is directed away from the windshield for a period of time. Choi and Dawklins are related because both disclose eye movement trackers and sensors.
Dawklins teaches a method further comprising: deactivating the emitter when the location of the eye of the operator is directed away from the windshield for a period of time (Col. 5, lines 15-24 teach: wearer may activate the display by looking at it and deactivate the display by looking away from it; Examiner notes that this is analogous to eye sensors, tracking eyes directed at a windshield).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Choi to incorporate the teachings of Dawklins and provide a method further comprising: deactivating the emitter when the location of the eye of the operator is directed away from the windshield for a period of time. Doing so would allow for power conservation and preventing unnecessary operation when not in active use, thereby improving the overall functionality and durability of the optical system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art fails to teach or suggest a system configured to detect a first position and a first magnitude of external luminance of a first external light source and a second position and second magnitude of external luminance of a second external light source, determine respective first and second locations of a windshield coating based on the detection location of the operators eye, and contemporaneously control an emitter to excite the first and second locations of the coating such that the first and second locations are transitioned to different opacity states based on the respective first and second magnitudes of external luminance, along with the other structural limitations positively recited in claim 1, in a manner that would support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103, based on the prior art of record and the search requirements of MPEP § 904.
Claims 2-10 are dependent on claim 1 and therefore allowed for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Sipes whose telephone number is (703)756-1372. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 4:30-9:30/12:30-7:30 (CT).
John Sipes
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872