Claim Status
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Priority
A certified copy of the foreign priority document in English is in parent application 14428530.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7/24/24, 10/17/24, 3/20/25 and 8/21/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lehtonen et al. (WO2012116814; published September 07, 2012 on the IDS filed 7/24/24 foreign document #72) and Venkatesh (US20060078614).
Applicant claims:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a pharmaceutical formulation research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will have hands on experience with coating equipment and process parameter control and draw conventional ideas from pharmaceutical coating technology with a deep understanding of coating types, polymer chemistry, coating formulation components, granulation methods and particle engineering— without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 12, 14, 15 and 17, Lehtonen et al. teach a coated solid pharmaceutical preparation comprising at least one active ingredient with a coating thickness of about 0.1 to about 100 nm and more preferably from about 0.5 to about 35 nm (Claim 1) and most preferably from about 1 and 10 nm (Page 4, lines 17-21), which overlaps the claimed ranges of 1-100 nm and 5-15 nm thick, where the preparation is, for example, a granule (Claim 2) and the coating has been applied by atomic layer deposition with one or more atomic layers (Claims 3-4) wherein the coating comprises one or more metal oxides (Claims 5-9) and wherein the metal oxides are selected from aluminum oxide, zinc oxide, silicon dioxide and titanium dioxide. Lehtonen et al. teach medicaments (Page 4, lines 9-16) as well as compositions consisting of the water soluble vitamin C and the coating layer(Page 11, lines 12-17), which reads on an organic active pharmaceutical substance. Since the metal oxide coating goes over the organic active pharmaceutical substance core, then individual granules consisting of an organic active pharmaceutical substance and a metal oxide coating layer are produced by Lehtonen et al.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Lehtonen et al. teach application to the core with alternating surface reactions of at least a first and a second gaseous precursor (Claims 12-14).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, the solid coated granule pharmaceutical preparation of Lehtonen et al. is implicitly an oral dosage form.
Regarding claims 8-11 and 18-21 Venkatesh teaches microparticles of granules, beads or pellets comprising an active, rapidly dispersing microgranules and optional pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (Abstract; [0015, 0053, 0059]) that can be in the form of a tablet (Claims 1-3, 7-16) and easy to swallow suspension (Abstract) with an average size of not more than about 400 µm [0002] or about 100-400 µm [0008, 0062]. Venkatesh teach microgranules of one or more active pharmaceutical ingredients [0024, 0053]. Venkatesh teach pharmaceutically acceptable excipients typically used in ODT formulations ([0015]; claim 2). Venkatesh also teaches compressing the blend of microparticles into tablets using conventional tablet press [0038-0039].
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Lehtonen et al. is that Lehtonen et al. do not expressly teach a pharmaceutical dosage form comprising individual nanoparticles or microparticles comprising a core of an organic active pharmaceutical substance, a coating layer as claimed and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient that is a solid tablet or capsule, liquid or semi-solid dosage form. This deficiency in Lehtonen et al. is cured by the teachings of Venkatesh.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical preparation of Lehtonen et al. to have individual nanoparticles or microparticles as claimed with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and excipients, as suggested by Venkatesh, and produce the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Lehtonen et al. teach, for example, converting solid granules into the coated solid pharmaceutical preparation (Page 4, lines 22-27), where “granules” includes all sizes of granules known to the pharmaceutical artisan. It is known in the art through Venkatesh to make tablets out of microparticles and microgranules with typical excipients/carrier materials and conventional tablet press. In view of the combined references, it is then obvious to coat microparticles/microgranules with a core of an organic active pharmaceutical substance with a metal oxide coating layer of 5-15 nm thickness with a reasonable expectation of success to produce a composition that consist of the organic active pharmaceutical substance and a coating layer. Additionally, it is obvious in view of the combined reference for the ordinary artisan that desires a tablet dosage form made from the individual nanoparticles/microparticles to combine them with the typical excipients/carriers for a tablet and use a conventional tablet press to produce a tablet with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would make a composition wherein the nanoparticles or microparticles consist of an organic active pharmaceutical substance, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, and a coating layer as claimed. It is the Examiner’s position that modification to a liquid dosage form, parenteral dosage form or semi-solid dosage form is an obvious variation for the ordinary pharmaceutical artisan. Especially with Lehtonen et al. teaching that the pharmaceutical preparation means a term for various technical administration forms as are known for the administration of medicaments to humans (Page 4, lines 8-10) and those claimed dosage forms are conventional dosage forms.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11672764 having the same inventors and assignee. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent anticipates the claims by disclosing:
Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patented subject matter.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11986559 having the same inventors and assignee. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method patent of the patent produces the claimed composition comprising individual nanoparticles or microparticles comprising a core with a metal oxide coating layer of 5-15 nm as shown below:
Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patented subject matter.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10603284 having the same inventors and assignee. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method patent of the patent employs individual nanoparticles or microparticles comprising a core with a metal oxide coating layer and combining the coated nanoparticles or microparticles of an active pharmaceutical substance with one or more excipients and compressing into a dosage form (Claims 1 and 13) such as a tablet (Claim 8), which is an oral dosage form, where the coating layer comprises titanium oxide and aluminum oxide (Claims 2-4, 9-12) and the pharmaceutical substance is an organic biomolecule (Claim 14) or small molecule such as a sugar (Claims 7 and 15), which would be water soluble, and is made by alternating layer deposition by atomic layer deposition (Claims 1 and 12). Thus, the patent teaches a pharmaceutical composition wherein the nanoparticles or microparticles consist of an organic active pharmaceutical substance, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, and a coating layer.
The patent does not expressly teach a coating layer of 5-15 nm thickness. However, the thickness of the coating layer is dependent upon the number of atomic layer deposition cycles and thus a variable that can be optimized by the ordinary artisan to control the release of the active substance. Therefore, a coating layer of 5-15 nm thickness appears obvious over the patented subject matter.
Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patented subject matter.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Moldt et al. (WO2007112747) teaches: “In some embodiments, these combinations may be formulated into tablets, particles, beads, granules, microtablets, microparticles, microbeads, or microgranules, or placed into capsules, prior to administration. Non-limiting examples include particles, beads, granules, microparticles, microbeads, and microgranules, each in a microencapsulated form, or optionally compressed into larger aggregates or tablets. Other non-limiting examples include tablets, particles, beads, granules, and microtablets, each in a coated form.” (Page 2, lines 11-17; see also claims 19-20). Thus, micro sized beads and granules are obvious over beads and granules in the pharmaceutical art.
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613