DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vickars et al. (US 2002/0150430).
Regarding claim 1, Vickars discloses a soil displacement pile comprising: a lead shaft (shaft 32 and extension sections 36) having a lead end (pointed tip at lower end of shaft 32) and a lead head (portion of shaft 32 located between the lowermost screw 34 and the unlabeled pointed tip); a lead soil displacement assembly connected to the lead shaft, the lead soil displacement assembly including a helical plate (screw 34) and a cannister (casing 78 on disk 60B), the helical plate and cannister fixed to the lead shaft (paragraph 0076 describes the casing 78 held in contact with flange 80 on disk 60B; paragraph 0049 describes a disk 60 held rigidly in place on shaft 32), wherein the helical plate extends at least partially around the lead shaft, and wherein the cannister includes an outer wall extending around the lead shaft defining an interior and an opening (open top through which grout can be fed into region 74) in the outer wall (top) configured to permit the ingress of soil, and wherein the soil displacement assembly is positioned on the shaft with the lead shaft (32, 36) extending above and below the cannister (Figs. 7, 8A, and 8B; paragraphs 0047, 0049, 0076, and 0077). Examiner takes the position that since the open top end of the casing of Vickars is configured to receive a particulate material (grout), the open top end of the casing of Vickars is configured to receive another particulate matter such as soil.
Regarding claim 5, Vickars further discloses the canister (78) is cylindrical (Fig. 7; paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 7, Vickars further discloses an extension shaft (tubular casing 66) connected to the lead shaft (32, 36) (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Vickars discloses a method of forming a composite pile column comprising: positioning a lead shaft (32, 36) for ground insertion, the lead shaft having a lead end (pointed tip at lower end of shaft 32), a lead head (portion of shaft 32 located between the lowermost screw 34 and the unlabeled pointed tip, and a lead soil displacement assembly, wherein the lead shaft extends through the lead soil displacement assembly and wherein the lead soil displacement assembly includes a helical plate (34) and a cannister (78, 60B) having an open top, the open top extending entirely around an exterior of the lead shaft; rotating the lead shaft and lead soil displacement assembly to rotate the helical plate and cannister and cause displacement of soil; forming a cavity in the ground by displacement of soil by the lead shaft and lead soil displacement assembly; and inserting filler (grout 70) into the cavity, wherein at least a portion of the filler is introduced into the cannister through the open top to enclose the space between the open top and the shaft (Figs. 7, 8A, and 8B; paragraphs 0040, 0041, 0047, 0049, 0076, and 0077).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 - 18 are allowed.
Claims 2- 4, 6, 8, 9, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Vickars et al. (US 2002/0150430) fails to teach or suggest a cannister having an outer wall defining an interior and an opening in the outer wall configured to permit the ingress of soil because Vickars teaches the open top end of the casing is configured to receive grout, not soil. Examiner replies that since the open top end of the casing of Vickars is configured to receive a particulate material (grout), the open top end of the casing of Vickars is configured to receive another particulate matter such as soil.
Applicant argues that since Vickars teaches the casing is “dropped into the ground behind disk 60B” and the casing is in contact with flange 80 on the disk 60B merely to keep the casing centered around the shaft 32, the casing is not “fixed to the lead shaft” as recited in claim 1. Examiner replies that Vickars teaches the casing is held in contact with the flange (and thus, the casing is fixedly attached to the disk) on the disk as the disk is pulled into the ground (paragraph 0076) and since the disk is rigidly held in place on the lead shaft (shaft 32) (paragraph 0049) the casing as taught by Vickars is fixed to the lead shaft.
Applicant argues that since the casing 78 of Vickars is dropped in after the displacement of soil, Vickars fails to teach or suggest “rotating the lead shaft and lead displacement assembly to rotate the helical plate and cannister and cause displacement of soil. Examiner replies that Vickars teaches the casing is held in contact with the flange (and thus, the casing is fixedly attached to the disk) on the disk as the disk is pulled into the ground (paragraph 0076) and since the disk is rigidly held in place on the lead shaft (shaft 32) (paragraph 0049) Vickars teaches rotating the helical plate and cannister to cause displacement of soil as the disk is pulled into the ground.
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment, filed 16 July 2026, with respect to claims 2 and 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 2 - 3 and 10 - 18 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
8/12/2026