This action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/24/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15, 17, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, in line 11-12, “a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular” appears that it should read as “a cross-section selected from the group consisting of a circular cross-section, a square cross-section, and a rectangular cross-section”, because the members of the recited Markush group are adjectives that do not grammatically complete the phrase “selected from the group consisting of”.
Regarding claim 15, in line 4-5, “a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular” appears that it should read as “a cross-section selected from the group consisting of a circular cross-section, a square cross-section, and a rectangular cross-section”, because the members of the recited Markush group are adjectives that do not grammatically complete the phrase “selected from the group consisting of”.
Regarding claim 17, in line 3, “the DC resistance” appears that it should read as “a DC resistance”, because a DC resistance of the AC damping resistor is not previously recited in claim 15 or claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, in line 3, “the DC resistance” appears that it should read as “a DC resistance”, because a DC resistance of the AC damping resistor is not previously recited in claim 15 or claim 18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godbold (US Patent Application Publication US 2025/0174983 A1) in view of Juhlin (US Patent Application Publication US 2017/0077686 A1), and further in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2016/0315530 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) an electrical system for a machine (the electrical system of Fig. 1B comprising the first electronic system 140, the electrical damping device 211, the second electronic system 142, and the DC voltage bus 176), the electrical system comprising: a first power converter (144) configured for generating a direct current (DC) output (the DC output of 144 supplied to the DC voltage bus 176), wherein the DC output includes a positive DC rail (131) and a negative DC rail (132), wherein a capacitor (12) is electrically coupled between the positive DC rail and the negative DC rail (see [0010] of Godbold “The first set of DC ports (131, 132) has a first capacitance 12 (Cx) in parallel with a positive terminal 131 and a negative terminal 132 of the DC ports.”); a second power converter (146) electrically coupled with the first power converter (144 and 146 are coupled through the DC voltage bus 176 and the electrical damping device 211) (see [0013] of Godbold “In practice, electronic devices (144, 146) are coupled to the DC ports (131, 132, 133, 134), such as DC-DC converters, inverters, or power electronics, where each electronic device may have semiconductor switches that are switched at a fundamental frequency.”), wherein an electrical resonance is generated between the first power converter and the second power converter (see [0028] of Godbold “a significant circulating alternating current can resonate or oscillate in a parallel resonance circuit (LC or RLC) in response to a stimulus signal, an (exciting) ripple current or other stray alternating current input signal on the DC voltage bus 176”); and an AC damping resistor (16) electrically coupled between the first power converter and the second power converter (16 is arranged in the positive path 203 between the positive terminal 131 and the positive terminal 133), wherein the AC damping resistor is configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce the electrical resonance (see [0028] of Godbold “such material circulating current can be reduced or damped by setting, adjusting, or increasing the resistance value (e.g., second resistance 16 (Rf1)) of one or more resistors in a parallel resonant circuit”).
Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor has a predetermined skin effect value, wherein the AC damping resistor consists of a single solid shape having a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular.
However, Juhlin teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the AC damping resistor (first damping element 120) has a predetermined skin effect value (see [0003] of Juhlin “High frequency damping technology may rely on the skin effect which is the tendency for an electric current to flow mainly at the outer surface of a conductor, such as a bus bar, within a thickness called the skin depth. The skin effect causes the effective resistance of the conductor to increase at higher frequencies where the skin depth is smaller. For high frequency damping, the skin effect may be used to reroute and, thereby attenuate, high frequency currents.” and see [0042] of Juhlin “Two profiles, for example rods or tubes 120, 140, of for example stainless steel are added on each side of the bus bar 110 for forcing the high frequency components of the currents flowing in the bus bar 110 into the profiles of stainless steel which, together with the plates 152, 154, 156, 158 connecting the profiles of stainless steel to the central conductor 110 at two specific points 112, 114, have a higher resistance than the central conductor between these two specific points.”), wherein the AC damping resistor consists of a single solid shape (120 is a rod of electrically conducting material) having a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular (the cross-section of 120 is circular or rectangular) (see [0010] of Juhlin “each one of the first and second damping elements may be one of a cord, a rod or a tube (pipe) of electrically conducting material, and/or wherein a cross-section of the first and second damping elements may be circular, oval or rectangular”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical system of Godbold to include wherein the AC damping resistor has a predetermined skin effect value, wherein the AC damping resistor consists of a single solid shape having a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular, as taught by Juhlin, because it can help attenuate the alternating currents by increasing the effective resistance presented to them as the skin depth decreases with frequency, while the resistance presented to lower frequency current remains low.
Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor is configured to achieve the predetermined skin effect value at a resonant frequency of the electrical system.
However, Wang teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the AC damping resistor (coupler 314 implemented in series with the DC buses 106 and 108 of the power converter 100) is configured to achieve the predetermined skin effect value at a resonant frequency of the electrical system (see [0033] of Wang “a coupler according to an embodiment of the present invention may be implemented in series to each bus bar 106 and 108 to provide resistance to components of the current having a frequency at or near the resonant frequency f of the power converter 100 while allowing remaining lower-frequency currents to pass through relatively unimpeded” and see [0036] of Wang “The high permeability of steel material allows high frequency current to be concentrated into a very thin skin depth within the outer layers 328 and 332 of body 320 and the outer layers 348 and 352 of body 340. Also, since steel has a resistivity approximately ten times larger in magnitude than copper, coupler 314 may be configured to provide damping resistance to high frequency current which may be at or near the resonant frequency of the power converter 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical system of Godbold to include wherein the AC damping resistor is configured to achieve the predetermined skin effect value at a resonant frequency of the electrical system, as taught by Wang, because it can help concentrate the damping loss at the frequency at which the electrical resonance actually occurs, so that the resonant current is attenuated without adding a corresponding direct current loss to the power path.
Regarding claim 8, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) wherein the AC damping resistor electrically coupled between the first power converter and the second power converter is connected in series with at least one of the first power converter and the second power converter (16 is arranged in the second RL network 204 of the positive path 203, in series along the conduction path between the first power converter 144 and the second power converter 146).
Regarding claim 9, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) comprising: an electrical bus (DC voltage bus 176) coupled between the first power converter and the AC damping resistor (176 is coupled between 144 and 16).
Regarding claim 15, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) a method for damping AC currents in an electrical system (the electrical system of Fig. 1B comprising the first electronic system 140, the electrical damping device 211, the second electronic system 142, and the DC voltage bus 176) having capacitors (12, 112) coupled between a positive DC rail (131, 133) and a negative DC rail (132, 134) (see [0010] of Godbold “The first set of DC ports (131, 132) has a first capacitance 12 (Cx) in parallel with a positive terminal 131 and a negative terminal 132 of the DC ports.” and see [0010] of Godbold “The second set of DC ports has a second capacitance 112 (Cy) in parallel with the DC ports with a positive terminal 133 and a negative terminal 134 of the DC ports.”), the method comprising: selecting an AC damping resistor (16) configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance (see [0028] of Godbold “a significant circulating alternating current can resonate or oscillate in a parallel resonance circuit (LC or RLC) in response to a stimulus signal, an (exciting) ripple current or other stray alternating current input signal on the DC voltage bus 176; hence, such material circulating current can be reduced or damped by setting, adjusting, or increasing the resistance value (e.g., second resistance 16 (Rf1)) of one or more resistors in a parallel resonant circuit”); and coupling the AC damping resistor between a first power converter (144) of the electrical system and a second power converter (146) of the electrical system, wherein the first power converter is coupled with the second power converter (144 and 146 are coupled through the DC voltage bus 176 and the electrical damping device 211) (see [0013] of Godbold “In practice, electronic devices (144, 146) are coupled to the DC ports (131, 132, 133, 134), such as DC-DC converters, inverters, or power electronics, where each electronic device may have semiconductor switches that are switched at a fundamental frequency.”).
Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor consists of a single solid shape having a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular.
However, Juhlin teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the AC damping resistor (first damping element 120) consists of a single solid shape (120 is a rod of electrically conducting material) having a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular (the cross-section of 120 is circular or rectangular) (see [0010] of Juhlin “each one of the first and second damping elements may be one of a cord, a rod or a tube (pipe) of electrically conducting material, and/or wherein a cross-section of the first and second damping elements may be circular, oval or rectangular” and see [0042] of Juhlin “Two profiles, for example rods or tubes 120, 140, of for example stainless steel are added on each side of the bus bar 110 for forcing the high frequency components of the currents flowing in the bus bar 110 into the profiles of stainless steel which, together with the plates 152, 154, 156, 158 connecting the profiles of stainless steel to the central conductor 110 at two specific points 112, 114, have a higher resistance than the central conductor between these two specific points.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold to include wherein the AC damping resistor consists of a single solid shape having a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular, as taught by Juhlin, because it can help attenuate the alternating currents by increasing the effective resistance presented to them as the skin depth decreases with frequency, while the resistance presented to lower frequency current remains low.
Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor has a predetermined skin effect value at a resonant frequency of the electrical system.
However, Wang teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the AC damping resistor (coupler 314 implemented in series with the DC buses 106 and 108 of the power converter 100) has a predetermined skin effect value at a resonant frequency of the electrical system (see [0033] of Wang “a coupler according to an embodiment of the present invention may be implemented in series to each bus bar 106 and 108 to provide resistance to components of the current having a frequency at or near the resonant frequency f of the power converter 100 while allowing remaining lower-frequency currents to pass through relatively unimpeded” and see [0036] of Wang “The high permeability of steel material allows high frequency current to be concentrated into a very thin skin depth within the outer layers 328 and 332 of body 320 and the outer layers 348 and 352 of body 340. Also, since steel has a resistivity approximately ten times larger in magnitude than copper, coupler 314 may be configured to provide damping resistance to high frequency current which may be at or near the resonant frequency of the power converter 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold to include wherein the AC damping resistor has a predetermined skin effect value at a resonant frequency of the electrical system, as taught by Wang, because it can help concentrate the damping loss at the frequency at which the electrical resonance actually occurs, so that the resonant current is attenuated without adding a corresponding direct current loss to the power path.
Regarding claim 16, Godbold does not disclose wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting the AC damping resistor with a resistance value based on the predetermined skin effect value at a specific operating frequency of the electrical system.
However, Wang teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein selecting the AC damping resistor (coupler 314) configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting the AC damping resistor with a resistance value based on the predetermined skin effect value at a specific operating frequency of the electrical system (the resistance of 314 is set by the skin depth within the steel outer layers 328, 332, 348, 352 at the resonant frequency of the power converter 100) (see [0036] of Wang “The high permeability of steel material allows high frequency current to be concentrated into a very thin skin depth within the outer layers 328 and 332 of body 320 and the outer layers 348 and 352 of body 340. Also, since steel has a resistivity approximately ten times larger in magnitude than copper, coupler 314 may be configured to provide damping resistance to high frequency current which may be at or near the resonant frequency of the power converter 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold to include wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting the AC damping resistor with a resistance value based on the predetermined skin effect value at a specific operating frequency of the electrical system, as taught by Wang, because it can help size the damping resistance to the frequency at which the resonant current is greatest, so that the resistance is neither larger than is required at the direct current operating point nor smaller than is required at resonance.
Regarding claim 20, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) wherein coupling the AC damping resistor between the first power converter of the electrical system and the second power converter of the electrical system includes: connecting the AC damping resistor in series with at least one of the first power converter and the second power converter (16 is arranged in the second RL network 204 of the positive path 203, in series along the conduction path between the first power converter 144 and the second power converter 146).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godbold in view of Juhlin and Wang, and further in view of Wu et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0029626 A1, hereinafter “Wu”). Regarding claim 2, Godbold does not disclose wherein the electrical system forms a portion of a drivetrain of the machine. However, Wu teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the electrical system (391) forms a portion of a drivetrain (382) of the machine (vehicle, see [0094] “The load on the electric machine 117 comprises a drivetrain 387 of the vehicle that transmits rotational energy from a rotor shaft 385 of the electric machine 117 to wheels 384 or tracks that engage the ground.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godbold wherein the electrical system forms a portion of a drivetrain of the machine, as taught by Wu, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation in applications such as a drivetrain of a vehicle. Regarding claim 3, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) wherein the first power converter includes an inverter (see [0013] “In practice, electronic devices (144, 146) are coupled to the DC ports (131, 132, 133, 134), such as DC-DC converters, inverters, or power electronics, where each electronic device may have semiconductor switches that are switched at a fundamental frequency.”).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godbold in view of Juhlin and Wang, and further in view of Furino, Jr. (US Patent 5,883,565, hereinafter “Furino”).
Regarding claim 6, Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor includes electrical steel.
However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the AC damping resistor (element 10) includes electrical steel (see Col. 3 lines 18-32 of Furino “The material forming the element may be any material capable of conveying electrical current. The material may be a conventional resistor material. Likewise, the material may be a conventional conductor material such as copper, aluminum, alloys thereof, and similar elements and compounds. Indeed, in many high frequency applications, conductive material, rather than conventional resistor material will usually be used. Thus, when the term “resistive material” or the like is used herein, the present invention contemplates the use of any electrically conductive material which resists the flow of electrical current therethrough. By the proper selection of material, device size and device shape as taught in the present application, a device having the desired frequency dependant resistance may be constructed by those of normal skill in the art.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical system of Godbold to include wherein the AC damping resistor includes electrical steel, as taught by Furino, because it can help set the frequency dependent resistance of the damping resistor to a desired magnitude through selection of the conductive material from which the damping resistor is formed.
Regarding claim 19, Godbold does not disclose wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting electrical steel as a material for the AC damping resistor.
However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein selecting the AC damping resistor (element 10) configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting electrical steel as a material for the AC damping resistor (see Col. 3 lines 18-32 of Furino “The material forming the element may be any material capable of conveying electrical current. The material may be a conventional resistor material. Likewise, the material may be a conventional conductor material such as copper, aluminum, alloys thereof, and similar elements and compounds. Indeed, in many high frequency applications, conductive material, rather than conventional resistor material will usually be used. Thus, when the term “resistive material” or the like is used herein, the present invention contemplates the use of any electrically conductive material which resists the flow of electrical current therethrough. By the proper selection of material, device size and device shape as taught in the present application, a device having the desired frequency dependant resistance may be constructed by those of normal skill in the art.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold to include wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting electrical steel as a material for the AC damping resistor, as taught by Furino, because it can help set the frequency dependent resistance of the damping resistor to a desired magnitude through selection of the conductive material from which the damping resistor is formed.
Claims 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godbold in view of Juhlin and Wang, and further in view of Payne (A. Payne, “SKIN EFFECT, PROXIMITY EFFECT AND THE RESISTANCE OF CIRCULAR AND RECTANGULAR CONDUCTORS,” 2021).
Regarding claim 7, Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor is configured for exhibiting a DC resistance that is less than 10% of a total circuit resistance of the electrical system, and exhibiting an AC resistance, at a selected frequency due to the skin effect value, that is at least five times greater than the DC resistance.
However, Payne teaches (see Section 2 Single Circular Conductor) the general condition of wherein an AC damping resistor (see i.e. Fig. 2.3.1) is configured for exhibiting a DC resistance (RDC) and exhibiting an AC resistance (RAC), at a selected frequency (for high frequencies, i.e. see equation 2.3.4, or for low frequencies, i.e. see equation 2.4.1) due to the skin effect value (see i.e. 2.1 of Payne “At high frequencies the current in a conductor tends to flow in the outer periphery in a thin skin, and this effect is known as the ‘skin-effect’.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical system of Godbold to include wherein the AC damping resistor is configured for exhibiting a DC resistance that is less than 10% of a total circuit resistance of the electrical system, and exhibiting an AC resistance, at a selected frequency due to the skin effect value, that is at least five times greater than the DC resistance, according to the general condition taught by Payne, because it can help minimize direct current power dissipation by keeping RDC small while maximizing attenuation at the resonant frequency by making RAC large, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 17, Godbold does not disclose wherein the single solid shape has a dimension selected such that the predetermined skin effect value produces an AC resistance at the resonant frequency that is at least five times greater than the DC resistance of the AC damping resistor.
However, Payne teaches (see Section 2 Single Circular Conductor) the general condition of wherein a solid shape has a dimension (see i.e. the conductor diameter in equation 2.3.4) selected such that a skin effect value produces an AC resistance (RAC) at a frequency that is greater than a DC resistance (RDC) of the solid shape (see i.e. 2.1 of Payne “At high frequencies the current in a conductor tends to flow in the outer periphery in a thin skin, and this effect is known as the ‘skin-effect’.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold to include wherein the single solid shape has a dimension selected such that the predetermined skin effect value produces an AC resistance at the resonant frequency that is at least five times greater than the DC resistance of the AC damping resistor, according to the general condition taught by Payne, because it can help select a conductor dimension that delivers the attenuation required at the resonant frequency while keeping the direct current loss low, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 18, Godbold does not disclose wherein the single solid shape has a dimension selected such that the predetermined skin effect value produces an AC resistance at the resonant frequency that is at least ten times greater than the DC resistance of the AC damping resistor.
However, Payne teaches (see Section 2 Single Circular Conductor) the general condition of wherein a solid shape has a dimension (see i.e. the conductor diameter in equation 2.3.4) selected such that a skin effect value produces an AC resistance (RAC) at a frequency that is greater than a DC resistance (RDC) of the solid shape (see i.e. 2.1 of Payne “At high frequencies the current in a conductor tends to flow in the outer periphery in a thin skin, and this effect is known as the ‘skin-effect’.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold to include wherein the single solid shape has a dimension selected such that the predetermined skin effect value produces an AC resistance at the resonant frequency that is at least ten times greater than the DC resistance of the AC damping resistor, according to the general condition taught by Payne, because it can help select a conductor dimension that delivers the attenuation required at the resonant frequency while keeping the direct current loss low, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the element 10 of Furino is a compound structure comprising two separate components, namely the rod 12 and the disk 14, and that element 10 therefore does not consist of a solid cylindrical shape. This argument is directed to the limitation of now-canceled claim 5 and is moot in view of the new ground of rejection set forth above, in which the limitation that the AC damping resistor consists of a single solid shape having a cross-section selected from the group consisting of circular, square, and rectangular is met by Juhlin rather than by Furino. Furino is relied upon in this Office action only for the material of the AC damping resistor as recited in claims 6 and 19. It is further noted that Furino does not require the element 10 to be formed of separate components: see Col. 3 lines 15-17 of Furino “In a preferred embodiment, the rod 12 and the disk 14 may be of the same material and may be formed in a unitary structure.”
Applicant argues that claims 2, 3, 6-9, and 16-20 are patentable at least by virtue of their dependency on claims 1 and 15. This argument is not persuasive because claims 1 and 15 remain rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838