This action is in response to the Response to Election/Restriction filed on 01/15/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9, and 15-20 in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/15/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 15, in line 7, “a second power converter and electrical system” appears that it should read as “a second power converter of the electrical system”. Regarding claim 20, in line 2, “a second power converter and electrical system” appears that it should read as “a second power converter of the electrical system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godbold (US Patent Application Publication US 2025/0174983 A1) in view of Furino, Jr. (US Patent 5,883,565, hereinafter “Furino”). Regarding claim 1, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) an electrical system for a machine (211), the electrical system comprising: a first power converter (144) configured for generating a direct current (DC) output (output of 144 to DC bus 176), wherein the DC output includes a positive DC rail (131) and a negative DC rail (132), wherein a capacitor (12) is electrically coupled between the positive DC rail and the negative DC rail; a second power converter (146) electrically coupled with the first power converter, wherein an electrical resonance is generated between the first power converter and the second power converter (see [0028] “a significant circulating alternating current can resonate or oscillate in a parallel resonance circuit (LC or RLC) in response to a stimulus signal, an (exciting) ripple current or other stray alternating current input signal on the DC voltage bus 176; hence, such material circulating current can be reduced or damped by setting, adjusting, or increasing the resistance value (e.g., second resistance 16 (Rf1)) of one or more resistors in a parallel resonant circuit (e.g., to a damping resistance that is equal to or less than a threshold (parallel resistance)).”); and an AC damping resistor (comprising 16) electrically coupled between the first power converter and the second power converter, wherein the AC damping resistor is configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce the electrical resonance (see [0028] “a significant circulating alternating current can resonate or oscillate in a parallel resonance circuit (LC or RLC) in response to a stimulus signal, an (exciting) ripple current or other stray alternating current input signal on the DC voltage bus 176; hence, such material circulating current can be reduced or damped by setting, adjusting, or increasing the resistance value (e.g., second resistance 16 (Rf1)) of one or more resistors in a parallel resonant circuit (e.g., to a damping resistance that is equal to or less than a threshold (parallel resistance)).”). Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor has a predetermined skin effect value. However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the AC damping resistor (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”) has a predetermined skin effect value (see Col. 2 line 34-48, “The physics of the "skin effect" are known in the prior art; however, the use of the skin effect as contemplated by the present invention are both novel and provide a varying resistance over frequency” and Col. 3 line 37 - Col. 4 line7 “By the proper selection of material, device size and device shape as taught in the present application, a device having the desired frequency dependent resistance may be constructed...”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godbold wherein the AC damping resistor has a predetermined skin effect value, as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation.
Regarding claim 4, Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor has a cylindrical shape with a diameter and length configured to achieve the predetermined skin effect value at a frequency. However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the AC damping resistor (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”) has a cylindrical shape with a diameter and length (see Col. 3 lines 33-36 “the element 10 may be dimensioned as indicated with the rod 12 having a diameter d1 throughout its length.”) configured to achieve the predetermined skin effect value at a frequency (see Col. 3 lines 37-42 “an alternating current may be passed through the element 10 by appropriately connecting an electrical circuit at the ends 16. For ac currents such that t1<2 x delta_s, the current will flow primarily through the center of the disk. For ac currents such that t1>2 x delta_s, the current flow will primarily follow the skin (or periphery) of the element.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godbold wherein the AC damping resistor has a cylindrical shape with a diameter and length configured to achieve the predetermined skin effect value at a frequency, as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation.
Regarding claim 5, Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor consists of a solid cylindrical shape.
However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the AC damping resistor (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”) consists of a solid cylindrical shape (12 and 14 of 10 are solid cylindrical shapes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godbold wherein the AC damping resistor consists of a solid cylindrical shape, as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation in a simple resistor structure. Regarding claim 6, Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor includes electrical steel.
However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the AC damping resistor (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”) includes electrical steel (see Col. 3 lines 18-32 “Indeed, in many high frequency applications, conductive material, rather than conventional resistor material will usually be used. Thus, when the term "resistive material" or the like is used herein, the present invention contemplates the use of any electrically conductive material which resists the flow of electrical current therethrough. By the proper selection of material, device size and device shape as taught in the present application, a device having the desired frequency dependent resistance may be constructed by those of normal skill in the art.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godbold wherein the AC damping resistor includes electrical steel, as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation by selection of appropriate conductive material.
Regarding claim 8, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) wherein the AC damping resistor electrically coupled between the first power converter and the second power converter is connected in series with at least one of the first power converter and the second power converter (16 is coupled in series between 144 and 146).
Regarding claim 9, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) comprising: an electrical bus (176) coupled between the first power converter and the AC damping resistor (176 is coupled between 144 and 16).
Regarding claim 15, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) a method for damping AC currents in an electrical system (211) having capacitors (12, 112) coupled between a positive DC rail (comprising 131, 133) and a negative DC rail (comprising 132, 134), the method comprising: selecting an AC damping resistor (16) configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance (see [0028] “a significant circulating alternating current can resonate or oscillate in a parallel resonance circuit (LC or RLC) in response to a stimulus signal, an (exciting) ripple current or other stray alternating current input signal on the DC voltage bus 176; hence, such material circulating current can be reduced or damped by setting, adjusting, or increasing the resistance value (e.g., second resistance 16 (Rf1)) of one or more resistors in a parallel resonant circuit (e.g., to a damping resistance that is equal to or less than a threshold (parallel resistance)).”); and coupling the AC damping resistor between a first power converter of the electrical system (144) and a second power converter of the electrical system (146), wherein the first power converter is coupled with the second power converter (144 and 146 are coupled via 16). Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor has a predetermined skin effect value.
However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the AC damping resistor (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”) has a predetermined skin effect value (see Col. 2 line 34-48, “The physics of the "skin effect" are known in the prior art; however, the use of the skin effect as contemplated by the present invention are both novel and provide a varying resistance over frequency” and Col. 3 line 37 - Col. 4 line7 “By the proper selection of material, device size and device shape as taught in the present application, a device having the desired frequency dependent resistance may be constructed...”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold wherein the AC damping resistor has a predetermined skin effect value, as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation.
Regarding claim 16, Godbold does not disclose wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting the AC damping resistor with a resistance value based on the predetermined skin effect value at a specific operating frequency of the electrical system.
However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”): selecting the AC damping resistor with a resistance value based on the predetermined skin effect value at a specific operating frequency of the electrical system (see Col. 3 line 55 - Col. 4 line 7, the equation for calculating the resistance R for rod, according to the skin effect value, and “by using a material with known properties, ac currents having a frequency below a desired value will pass primarily from one end 16 to the other end 16 by passing primarily through the center of the element, i.e., through the rod 12 and will experience a resistance determined by the length of the rod, the resistivity of the material essentially unvarying. Such signals will experience the resistance caused substantially by the path length of 2.times.l1 (the length of the rod) plus t1 (the thickness of the disk). AC currents having a frequency greater than the desired value will pass from one end 16 to the other end 16 primarily through a path adjacent the surface of the element, including the surface of the disk. In other words, the signal will experience a path of approximate length 2.times.l1 plus d2 plus t1. Note that this signal experiences a length of resistance of d2 more than the lower frequency signal discussed immediately above.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting the AC damping resistor with a resistance value based on the predetermined skin effect value at a specific operating frequency of the electrical system, as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation.
Regarding claim 17, Godbold does not disclose wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting a solid shape for the AC damping resistor. However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”) includes: selecting a solid shape for the AC damping resistor (12 and 14 of 10 are solid cylindrical shapes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting a solid shape for the AC damping resistor as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation in a simple resistor structure.
Regarding claim 18, Godbold does not disclose wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting a cylindrical shape for the AC damping resistor. However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”) includes: selecting a cylindrical shape for the AC damping resistor (12 and 14 of 10 are solid cylindrical shapes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting a cylindrical shape for the AC damping resistor, as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation in a simple resistor structure.
Regarding claim 19, Godbold does not disclose wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting electrical steel as a material for the AC damping resistor. However, Furino teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance (see 10 of Fig. 1 and Col. 3 lines 7-17 “an element 10 in accordance with the present invention may include a rod 12 and a disk 14. The disk 14 may be affixed coaxially to the rod 12. The ends of the rod 16 may be formed or treated so as to make electrical contact with electrical connectors (not shown) in any conventional fashion. The electrical connectors carry an electrical signal to and from the element 10.” And Col. 3 lines 3-6 “The present invention uses the skin effect to particular advantage by forcing the amount of skin to be traversed by an electrical signal to vary with respect to frequency, higher frequency signals having to traverse longer paths”) includes: selecting electrical steel as a material for the AC damping resistor (see Col. 3 lines 18-32 “Indeed, in many high frequency applications, conductive material, rather than conventional resistor material will usually be used. Thus, when the term "resistive material" or the like is used herein, the present invention contemplates the use of any electrically conductive material which resists the flow of electrical current therethrough. By the proper selection of material, device size and device shape as taught in the present application, a device having the desired frequency dependent resistance may be constructed by those of normal skill in the art.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Godbold wherein selecting the AC damping resistor configured for attenuating AC currents to reduce an electrical resonance includes: selecting electrical steel as a material for the AC damping resistor, as taught by Furino, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation by selection of appropriate conductive material.
Regarding claim 20, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) wherein coupling the AC damping resistor between the first power converter of the electrical system and the second power converter and electrical system includes: connecting the AC damping resistor in series with at least one of the first power converter and the second power converter (16 is coupled in series between 144 and 146).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godbold in view of Furino, and further in view of Wu et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0029626 A1, hereinafter “Wu”). Regarding claim 2, Godbold does not disclose wherein the electrical system forms a portion of a drivetrain of the machine. However, Wu teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the electrical system (391) forms a portion of a drivetrain (382) of the machine (vehicle, see [0094] “The load on the electric machine 117 comprises a drivetrain 387 of the vehicle that transmits rotational energy from a rotor shaft 385 of the electric machine 117 to wheels 384 or tracks that engage the ground.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godbold wherein the electrical system forms a portion of a drivetrain of the machine, as taught by Wu, because it can help improve attenuation of high-frequency resonance while maintaining efficient DC operation in applications such as a drivetrain of a vehicle. Regarding claim 3, Godbold discloses (see Fig. 1B) wherein the first power converter includes an inverter (see [0013] “In practice, electronic devices (144, 146) are coupled to the DC ports (131, 132, 133, 134), such as DC-DC converters, inverters, or power electronics, where each electronic device may have semiconductor switches that are switched at a fundamental frequency.”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godbold in view of Furino, and further in view of Payne (A. Payne, “SKIN EFFECT, PROXIMITY EFFECT AND THE RESISTANCE OF CIRCULAR AND RECTANGULAR CONDUCTORS,” 2021). Regarding claim 7, Godbold does not disclose wherein the AC damping resistor is configured for exhibiting a DC resistance that is less than 10% of a total circuit resistance of the electrical system, and exhibiting an AC resistance, at a selected frequency due to the skin effect value, that is at least five times greater than the DC resistance. However, Payne teaches (see Section 2 Single Circular Conductor) a general condition of wherein an AC damping resistor (see i.e. Fig. 2.3.1) is configured for exhibiting a DC resistance (RDC) and exhibiting an AC resistance (RAC), at a selected frequency (for high frequencies, i.e. see equation 2.3.4 or for low frequencies, i.e. see equation 2.4.1) due to the skin effect value (see i.e. 2.1 “At high frequencies the current in a conductor tends to flow in the outer periphery in a thin skin, and this effect is known as the ‘skin-effect’.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Godbold wherein the AC damping resistor is configured for exhibiting a DC resistance that is less than 10% of a total circuit resistance of the electrical system, and exhibiting an AC resistance, at a selected frequency due to the skin effect value, that is at least five times greater than the DC resistance, according to the general condition taught by Payne, because it can help minimize DC power dissipation losses by keeping RDC small while maximizing resonance-frequency attenuation by making RAC large, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Patent Application Publication 2002/0113585 A1 discloses a frequency converter system having a damping device for damping resonant oscillations. US Patent Application Publication 2002/0113562 A1 discloses a damping device for damping resonant oscillations in an electric motor. US Patent Application Publication 2005/0013145 A1 discloses a damping mechanism for preventing resonances between a rectifier and an inverter. US Patent Application Publication 2017/0077686 A1 discloses a device for high frequency damping. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0379274 A1 discloses a system for resonance damping. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0126708 A1 discloses a resonance damping element for a power converter. US Patent 6,636,107 B2 discloses an active filter for reduction of common mode current on a DC bus.
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838