DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/22/2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARTHEL et al. (US 20240146387; hereinafter BARTHEL) in view of Widmer et al. (US 20140015522).
Regarding claim 1, BARTHEL teaches in figure(s) 1-5 An analysis device comprising:
an extraction unit (101; fig. 2) configured to use characteristic included in S-parameters (para. 41 - S-Parameters for the circuit may be determined based on the recorded gain response and/or phase response to characterized the circuit) of a DUT (@103; para. 15 - DUT may be analyzed with a measurement application device 100) measured by a measurement method with a frequency characteristic measurement device (frequency characteristic f1…f4), so as to extract a pole frequency, a zero point frequency (para. 48 - at least one pole, and at least one zero point), and a low frequency part of gain (gain vs freq. in fig. 3), from gains and phases of the characteristic (S2 in fig. 1; para. 7 - determining at least one characteristic parameter of at least one of the gain response and the phase response of the circuit); and
a calculation unit (102; fig. 2) configured to calculate circuit constants of an equivalent circuit of the DUT (para. 44 - determine an equivalent circuit for the DUT or circuit to be analyzed), from the pole frequency, the zero point frequency, and the low frequency part,
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic; series-through measurement; gain that can be approximated as a DC component; wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor.
However, Widmer teaches in figure(s) 1-34 reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic (transmission, reflection step 3404; fig. 34; clm. 1 - detect, based on a reflection of the transmitted signals, a frequency of vibration of the object caused by the magnetic field); series-through measurement (para. 223 - series-tuned loop; para. 64 - several reactive elements in any combination of parallel or series topology); gain that can be approximated as a DC component (para. 64 - a DC/low frequency (LF) converter configured to convert DC power to power at an operating frequency suitable for wireless high power transfer); wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor (figs. 18A,26A; para. 65 - Equivalent resistances R.sub.eq,1 and R.sub.eq,2 represent the losses that may be inherent to the induction coils 204 and 216 and the anti-reactance capacitors C.sub.1 and C.sub.2.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic; series-through measurement; gain that can be approximated as a DC component; wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor as taught by Widmer in order to provide combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as evidenced by "a detection circuit configured to transmit signals and detect, based on a reflection of the transmitted signals, a frequency of vibration of the object caused by the magnetic field…equivalent circuits of an exemplary inductively coupled resonant sense loop" (abstract, paras. 33,41).
Regarding claim 7, BARTHEL teaches in figure(s) 1-5 a non-transitory recording medium storing an analysis program (para. 1 - a computer implemented method, a measurement application device, and a non-transitory computer readable medium), which allows a computer to function as:
an extraction unit (101; fig. 2) configured to use characteristic included in S-parameters (para. 41 - S-Parameters for the circuit may be determined based on the recorded gain response and/or phase response to characterized the circuit) of a DUT (@103; para. 15 - DUT may be analyzed with a measurement application device 100) measured by a measurement method with a frequency characteristic measurement device (frequency characteristic f1…f4), so as to extract a pole frequency, a zero point frequency (para. 48 - at least one pole, and at least one zero point), and a low frequency part of gain (gain vs freq. in fig. 3), from gains and phases of the characteristic (S2 in fig. 1; para. 7 - determining at least one characteristic parameter of at least one of the gain response and the phase response of the circuit); and
a calculation unit (102; fig. 2) configured to calculate circuit constants of an equivalent circuit of the DUT (para. 44 - determine an equivalent circuit for the DUT or circuit to be analyzed), from the pole frequency, the zero point frequency, and the low frequency part,
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic; series-through measurement; gain that can be approximated as a DC component; wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor.
However, Widmer teaches in figure(s) 1-34 reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic (transmission, reflection step 3404; fig. 34; clm. 1 - detect, based on a reflection of the transmitted signals, a frequency of vibration of the object caused by the magnetic field); series-through measurement (para. 223 - series-tuned loop; para. 64 - several reactive elements in any combination of parallel or series topology); gain that can be approximated as a DC component (para. 64 - a DC/low frequency (LF) converter configured to convert DC power to power at an operating frequency suitable for wireless high power transfer); wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor (para. 65 - Equivalent resistances R.sub.eq,1 and R.sub.eq,2 represent the losses that may be inherent to the induction coils 204 and 216 and the anti-reactance capacitors C.sub.1 and C.sub.2.; figs. 18A,26A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic; series-through measurement; gain that can be approximated as a DC component; wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor as taught by Widmer in order to provide combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as evidenced by "a detection circuit configured to transmit signals and detect, based on a reflection of the transmitted signals, a frequency of vibration of the object caused by the magnetic field…equivalent circuits of an exemplary inductively coupled resonant sense loop" (abstract, paras. 33,41).
Regarding claim 8, BARTHEL teaches in figure(s) 1-5 An analysis device comprising:
an extraction unit (101; fig. 2) configured to use characteristic included in S-parameters (para. 41 - S-Parameters for the circuit may be determined based on the recorded gain response and/or phase response to characterized the circuit) of a DUT (@103; para. 15 - DUT may be analyzed with a measurement application device 100) measured by a measurement method with a frequency characteristic measurement device (frequency characteristic f1…f4), so as to extract a pole frequency, a zero point frequency (para. 48 - at least one pole, and at least one zero point), and a low frequency part of gain (gain vs freq. in fig. 3), from gains and phases of the characteristic (S2 in fig. 1; para. 7 - determining at least one characteristic parameter of at least one of the gain response and the phase response of the circuit); and
a calculation unit (102; fig. 2) configured to calculate circuit constants of an equivalent circuit of the DUT (para. 44 - determine an equivalent circuit for the DUT or circuit to be analyzed), from the pole frequency, the zero point frequency, and the low frequency part,
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic; shunt-through measurement; gain that can be approximated as a DC component; wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor.
However, Widmer teaches in figure(s) 1-34 reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic (transmission, reflection step 3404; fig. 34; clm. 1 - detect, based on a reflection of the transmitted signals, a frequency of vibration of the object caused by the magnetic field); shunt-through measurement (para. 64 - several reactive elements in any combination of parallel or series topology); gain that can be approximated as a DC component (para. 64 - a DC/low frequency (LF) converter configured to convert DC power to power at an operating frequency suitable for wireless high power transfer); wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor (para. 65 - Equivalent resistances R.sub.eq,1 and R.sub.eq,2 represent the losses that may be inherent to the induction coils 204 and 216 and the anti-reactance capacitors C.sub.1 and C.sub.2.; figs. 18A,26A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic; shunt-through measurement; gain that can be approximated as a DC component; wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor as taught by Widmer in order to provide combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as evidenced by "a detection circuit configured to transmit signals and detect, based on a reflection of the transmitted signals, a frequency of vibration of the object caused by the magnetic field…equivalent circuits of an exemplary inductively coupled resonant sense loop" (abstract, paras. 33,41).
Regarding claim 14, BARTHEL teaches in figure(s) 1-5 a non-transitory recording medium storing an analysis program (para. 1 - a computer implemented method, a measurement application device, and a non-transitory computer readable medium), which allows a computer to function as:
an extraction unit (101; fig. 2) configured to use characteristic included in S-parameters (para. 41 - S-Parameters for the circuit may be determined based on the recorded gain response and/or phase response to characterized the circuit) of a DUT (@103; para. 15 - DUT may be analyzed with a measurement application device 100) measured by a measurement method with a frequency characteristic measurement device (frequency characteristic f1…f4), so as to extract a pole frequency, a zero point frequency (para. 48 - at least one pole, and at least one zero point), and a low frequency part of gain (gain vs freq. in fig. 3), from gains and phases of the characteristic (S2 in fig. 1; para. 7 - determining at least one characteristic parameter of at least one of the gain response and the phase response of the circuit); and
a calculation unit (102; fig. 2) configured to calculate circuit constants of an equivalent circuit of the DUT (para. 44 - determine an equivalent circuit for the DUT or circuit to be analyzed), from the pole frequency, the zero point frequency, and the low frequency part,
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic; shunt-through measurement; gain that can be approximated as a DC component; wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor.
However, Widmer teaches in figure(s) 1-34 reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic (transmission, reflection step 3404; fig. 34; clm. 1 - detect, based on a reflection of the transmitted signals, a frequency of vibration of the object caused by the magnetic field); shunt-through measurement (para. 64 - several reactive elements in any combination of parallel or series topology); gain that can be approximated as a DC component (para. 64 - a DC/low frequency (LF) converter configured to convert DC power to power at an operating frequency suitable for wireless high power transfer); wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor (para. 65 - Equivalent resistances R.sub.eq,1 and R.sub.eq,2 represent the losses that may be inherent to the induction coils 204 and 216 and the anti-reactance capacitors C.sub.1 and C.sub.2.; figs. 18A,26A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having reflection characteristic and transmission characteristic; shunt-through measurement; gain that can be approximated as a DC component; wherein, the equivalent circuit is a circuit assumed to be consisting of a capacitor connected in parallel with a serial connection body of a resistor and an inductor as taught by Widmer in order to provide combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as evidenced by "a detection circuit configured to transmit signals and detect, based on a reflection of the transmitted signals, a frequency of vibration of the object caused by the magnetic field…equivalent circuits of an exemplary inductively coupled resonant sense loop" (abstract, paras. 33,41).
Claim(s) 2-6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARTHEL in view of Widmer, and further in view of Nielsen et al. (US 11290084).
Regarding claim 2, BARTHEL in view of Widmer teaches the analysis device according to claim 1,
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly wherein patterns of the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic include a first pattern and a second pattern, if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit uses the transmission characteristic, and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit uses the reflection characteristic.
However, Nielsen teaches in figure(s) 1-213 wherein patterns of the gains and the phases (gains and phases in fig. 11) of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic include a first pattern (col. 64 lines 20-30 :- characteristic impedance is Γ.sub.a for the antenna; Γ.sub.A is a constant amplitude function with a similar pole zero pattern as the all pass filter; fig. 94) and a second pattern (col. 64 lines 20-30 :- characteristic impedance Γ.sub.r for the receiver; col. 61 lines 40-50; fig. 78), if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit uses the transmission characteristic (mode 3 for transmitting; fig. 150), and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit uses the reflection characteristic (mode 1 for receiving; fig. 147).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having wherein patterns of the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic include a first pattern and a second pattern, if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit uses the transmission characteristic, and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit uses the reflection characteristic as taught by Nielsen in order to provide "antenna is connected to an operational mode switch matrix that enables different configurations of the ATL1a and ATL1b for calibration mode, transmit mode, and receive mode." (col. 33 lines 55-60).
Regarding claim 3, BARTHEL in view of Widmer and Nielsen teaches the analysis device according to claim 2,
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the phase of the reflection characteristic is less than 180 degrees, and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the phase of the reflection characteristic is 180 degrees or more.
However, Nielsen teaches in figure(s) 1-213 wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the phase of the reflection characteristic is less than 180 degrees (<180 deg. Ph for high Q resonator control in fig. 11), and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the phase of the reflection characteristic is 180 degrees or more (>180 deg. Ph for low Q resonator control in fig. 11; figs. 103,167,163).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the phase of the reflection characteristic is less than 180 degrees, and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the phase of the reflection characteristic is 180 degrees or more as taught by Nielsen in order to provide "separately tunable center frequency and Q, and each incorporating a feedback loop with adjustable gain…enables a variety of complex filter responses with control of the passband for the variable bandwidth filter." (col. 20 line 65 – col. 21 line 40).
Regarding claim 9, BARTHEL in view of Widmer teaches the analysis device according to claim 8,
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly wherein patterns of the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic include a first pattern and a second pattern, if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit uses the reflection characteristic, and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit uses the transmission characteristic.
However, Nielsen teaches in figure(s) 1-213 wherein patterns of the gains and the phases (gains and phases in fig. 11) of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic include a first pattern (col. 64 lines 20-30 :- characteristic impedance is Γ.sub.a for the antenna; Γ.sub.A is a constant amplitude function with a similar pole zero pattern as the all pass filter; fig. 94) and a second pattern (col. 64 lines 20-30 :- characteristic impedance Γ.sub.r for the receiver; col. 61 lines 40-50; fig. 78), if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit uses the reflection characteristic (mode 1 for receiving; fig. 147), and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit uses the transmission characteristic (mode 3 for transmitting; fig. 150).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having wherein patterns of the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic include a first pattern and a second pattern, if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit uses the reflection characteristic, and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit uses the transmission characteristic as taught by Nielsen in order to provide "antenna is connected to an operational mode switch matrix that enables different configurations of the ATL1a and ATL1b for calibration mode, transmit mode, and receive mode." (col. 33 lines 55-60).
Regarding claim 10, BARTHEL in view of Widmer and Nielsen teaches the analysis device according to claim 9,
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the phase of the transmission characteristic is less than 180 degrees, if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the phase of the transmission characteristic is 180 degrees or more.
However, Nielsen teaches in figure(s) 1-213 wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the phase of the transmission characteristic is less than 180 degrees (<180 deg. Ph for high Q resonator control in fig. 11), and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the phase of the transmission characteristic is 180 degrees or more (>180 deg. Ph for low Q resonator control in fig. 11; figs. 103,167,163).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the phase of the transmission characteristic is less than 180 degrees, and if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the phase of the transmission characteristic is 180 degrees or more as taught by Nielsen in order to provide "separately tunable center frequency and Q, and each incorporating a feedback loop with adjustable gain…enables a variety of complex filter responses with control of the passband for the variable bandwidth filter." (col. 20 line 65 – col. 21 line 40).
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 11, BARTHEL in view of Widmer and Nielsen teaches the analysis device according to claim 2 and claim 9, respectively.
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit regards that 2Z0/R is 0, where Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit, and R is resistance of the resistor.
However, Nielsen teaches in figure(s) 1-213 wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit regards that 2Z0/R is 0, where Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit (col. 13 lines 60-67 :- a scaling block, is adjustable to provide positive gain, negative gain, or zero gain; col. 73 lines 35-45 :- generate Q enhancement from zero to some finite value that is limited by R; G= 0; fig. 17), and R is resistance of the resistor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit regards that 2Z0/R is 0, where Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit, and R is resistance of the resistor as taught by Nielsen in order to provide "scaling block to act selectively as a Q-enhancer and a Q-spoiler, if required by the circumstances" (col. 13 lines 60-67).
Regarding claim(s) 5 and 12, BARTHEL in view of Widmer and Nielsen teaches the analysis device according to claim 2 and claim 9, respectively.
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit regards that |(2LZ0/R2)s| is 0, where L is inductance of the inductor, Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit, R is resistance of the resistor, and s is Laplace transform variable.
However, Nielsen teaches in figure(s) 1-213 wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit regards that |(2LZ0/R2)s| is 0 (col. 16 lines 30-55 :- If the Q control increases the component Q, this is referred to herein as Q-enhancement. If the Q control decreases the component Q of the resonant cavity, this is referred to herein as Q-spoiling. Q-enhancement is equivalent to decreasing D, thus moving the resonant pole of R closer to the jω axis of the S-plane. Q-spoiling is equivalent to increasing D, thus moving the resonant pole of R further from the jω axis hence increasing D; col. 13 lines 60-67 :- a scaling block, is adjustable to provide positive gain, negative gain, or zero gain; col. 73 lines 35-45 :- generate Q enhancement from zero to some finite value that is limited by R), where L is inductance of the inductor, Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit, R is resistance of the resistor, and s is Laplace transform variable (col. 16 lines 30-40 :- transfer function given in the Laplace domain).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the first pattern, the calculation unit regards that |(2LZ0/R2)s| is 0, where L is inductance of the inductor, Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit, R is resistance of the resistor, and s is Laplace transform variable as taught by Widmer in order to provide "Q-enhancement and Q-spoiling may be used selectively to move a resonant pole towards or away from the jω axis to synthesize an arbitrary multi-pole filter function" (col. 16 lines 30-55).
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 13, BARTHEL in view of Widmer and Nielsen teaches the analysis device according to claim 2 and claim 9, respectively.
BARTHEL does not teach explicitly wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit does not regard that 2Z0/R is 0, where Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit, and R is resistance of the resistor.
However, Nielsen teaches in figure(s) 1-213 wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit does not regard that 2Z0/R is 0, where Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit, and R is resistance of the resistor (col. 78 lines 5-30 :- characteristic impedance being R Hence the pole-zero pattern has two zeros on the jw axis and poles in the LHP. The smaller the ratio of R/L the closer the poles will be to the jw axis; G>< 0; fig. 17; pole movement exists and may be controlled with closed loop poles crossing the jw axis provided that R<1… when R>1, the open loop poles are actually on the negative real axis and there is no resonance; fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of BARTHEL by having wherein if the gains and the phases of the reflection characteristic and the transmission characteristic are the second pattern, the calculation unit does not regard that 2Z0/R is 0, where Z0 is characteristic impedance of a transmission line of the circuit, and R is resistance of the resistor as taught by Nielsen in order to provide "basic transmit mode that works in conjunction with mode 1 for the receive mode… switch array would facilitate the switching between the mode 1 and mode 3 for the TDD function." (col. 36 lines 20-26).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the List of References cited in the US PT0-892.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858