DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 14, 17-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bryan et al. US2018/0054923.
Per claim 1 Bryan et al. teaches a system (200, see fig.2A) comprising: an air mixer (207) arranged between a heat source (222) and at least one location (204, see fig.2A) downstream from the heat source (see fig.2A), wherein a plurality of airstreams flow in a direction from the heat source towards the at least one location (see fig.2A), and wherein the air mixer is configured to mix surrounding airstreams (216 & 274) of the plurality of airstreams at a first temperature (274) with airstreams of the plurality of airstreams at a temperature higher (216, “higher temperature due to the heat producing component 222”) than the first temperature to result in an overall lower temperature at the at least one location (see fig.2A; [0057]-[0062]).
Per claim 2 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the air mixer comprises a first diverter plate (see fig,2A, “top angled portion”) and a second diverter plate (see fig.2A, “bottom angled portion”).
Per claim 3 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 2, wherein the first diverter plate and the second diverter plate are arranged at an angle relative to one another (see fig.2A).
Per claim 4 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 2, wherein a shape of the first diverter plate is identical to a shape of the second diverter plate (see fig.2A).
Per claim 8 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 2, further comprising a plate oriented perpendicular to a direction of the plurality of airstreams (see fig.1A, “front plate of mixer/air moving device 107”).
Per claim 9 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 8, wherein the plate comprises a plurality of flow-through apertures (see fig.1 & 2A, “middle portion of air moving device including impeller or blower”).
Per claim 14 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 2, further comprising a passive propeller (109; [0026], & [0046], see fig.1A & 2A, “no power or motor is mentioned; therefore, the propeller is passive. Also, paragraph [0046] mentions that the propeller moves air from the inlet downstream without mentioning that the propeller generates the air”).
Per claim 17 Bryan et al. teaches a method for mitigating a hotspot in a computing equipment, the method comprising: directing a plurality of airstreams (274, see fig.2A) at a first temperature into an intake of a chassis housing a plurality of hardware components (see fig.2A), a heat source (222) arranged in the chassis housing emitting heat heating airstreams (216) flowing proximal to the heat source (see fig.2A) to a second temperature higher than the first temperature (216, “higher temperature due to the heat producing component 222”); and mixing, via an air mixer (207), the airstreams at the second temperature with surrounding airstreams at a temperature lower than the second temperature (see fig.2A) to result in an overall lower temperature at at least one component (234) downstream of the heat source and the air mixer (see fig.2A; [0057]-[0062]).
Examiner's Note: Regarding claims 17-19, since there are no specific method steps being claimed, just a general process of using the device of claim(s) 1-16 & 20 (i.e., the method of claims 17-19 repeat the structure recited in the apparatus of claim[s] 1-16 & 20), the fact that the structure of the device of the present invention is anticipated by Bryan et al. US2018/0054923 means that the general method of using such a structure is also anticipated by the same reference(s). The method steps recited in the claim are inherently necessitated by the structure of Bryan et al.
Per claim 18 Bryan et al. teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein the air mixer comprises a first diverter plate (see fig,2A, “top angled portion”) and a second diverter plate (see fig.2A, “bottom angled portion”).
Per claim 20 Bryan et al. teaches a system comprising: a chassis (208) housing a plurality of hardware components (see fig.2A; [0058]); an air intake configured to direct a plurality of airstreams (274) at a first temperature into the chassis (see fig.2A); a heat source (222) arranged in the chassis housing (see fig.2A), the heat source arranged such that airstreams (216) of the plurality of airstreams flowing proximal to the heat source get heated to a second temperature higher than the first temperature (see fig.2A; [0057]-[0062]) and airstreams of the plurality of airstreams distal to the heat source have temperatures between the first temperature and the second temperature (see fig.2A); at least one component (234) downstream of the heat source (see fig.2A); and an air mixer (207) arranged between the heat source and the at least one component (see fig.2A), the air mixer configured to facilitate mixing air streams at the second temperature with surrounding air streams at a temperature lower than the second temperature to result in an overall lower temperature at the at least one component ([0057]-[0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 5-6 & 10-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryan et al. US2018/0054923.
Per claim 5 Bryan et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the system according to claim 4, wherein each of the first and second diverter plates is rectangular.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the first and second diverter plates be rectangular, because it ensures adequate flow of air through the air mixer. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See also In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)
Per claim 6 Bryan et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the system according to claim 2, wherein at least one of the first and second diverter plates is triangular.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the first and second diverter plates be triangular, because it ensures adequate flow of air through the air mixer. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See also In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Per claim 10 Bryan et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the system according to claim 2, wherein each of the first and second diverter plates is conical.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the first and second diverter plates be conical, because it ensures adequate flow of air through the air mixer. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See also In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Per claim 11 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 10, further comprising a plate oriented perpendicular to a direction of the plurality of airstreams (see fig.1A, “front plate of mixer/air moving device 107”).
Per claim 12 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the plate comprises a plurality of flow-through apertures (see fig.1 & 2A, “middle portion of air moving device including impeller or blower”).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryan et al. US2018/0054923 in view of Rivaud et al. US2023/0189482.
Per claim 15 Bryan et al. teaches the 16. The system according to claim 1,
Bryan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the air mixer comprises a hollow body and a phase change material encompassed within the hollow body.
Rivaud et al. however discloses wherein the air mixer (60, see fig.6; “the entire body with 60 & 80 is the air mixer”) comprises a hollow body (see fig.6) and a phase change material (80; [0033], “air-to-liquid heat sink”) encompassed within the hollow body (see fig.6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a phase change material such as an air to liquid heat sink as taught by Rivaud et al. in the air mixer of Bryan et al., because it enables effective cooling of the air flowing through the mixer, thus ensuring proper cooling of the component downstream from the heat source.
Claim(s) 7, 13 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryan et al. US2018/0054923 in view of Liu et al. US2020/0123955.
Per claim 7 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 2,
Bryan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first and second diverter plates comprises a plurality of flow-through apertures.
Liu et al. however discloses wherein at least one of a first (206 or 208 or 600) and second diverter plates (208 or 210 or 600, see fig.2) comprises a plurality of flow-through apertures (see fig.3-6C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have apertures in the first or second diverter plate as taught by Liu et al. in the system of Bryan et al. to enhance the mixing of the airstreams, thus resulting in a more homogenous temperature distribution.
Per claim 13 Bryan et al. teaches the system according to claim 10,
Bryan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first and second diverter plates comprises a plurality of flow-through apertures.
Liu et al. however discloses wherein at least one of a first (206 or 208 or 600) and second diverter plates (208 or 210 or 600, see fig.2) comprises a plurality of flow-through apertures (see fig.3-6C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have apertures in the first or second diverter plate as taught by Liu et al. in the system of Bryan et al. to enhance the mixing of the airstreams, thus resulting in a more homogenous temperature distribution.
Per claim 19 Bryan et al. teaches the method according to claim 18,
Bryan et al. does not explicitly teach the method further comprising flowing air through a plurality of flow-through apertures in at least one of the first and second diverter plates.
Liu et al. however discloses wherein the method further comprising flowing air through a plurality of flow-through apertures in at least one of the first (206 or 208 or 600) and second diverter plates (208 or 210 or 600, see fig.2, 3-6C; [0228], Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have apertures in the first or second diverter plate as taught by Liu et al. in the method of Bryan et al. to enhance the mixing of the airstreams, thus resulting in a more homogenous temperature distribution.
Email Communication
3. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vinson et al. US2005/0259392 discloses a computer system comprising a chassis supporting a processor, memory, and a power supply. An inlet allows air to flow into the chassis and an outlet allows air to flow out of the chassis. An air mover is operable to generate an airflow through said chassis between the inlet and the outlet and in thermal communication with the processor, memory, and power supply. The air mover is disposed external to said chassis.
Lam et al. US2012/0033379 discloses an electronic equipment cabinet comprising: a chassis; a fan coupled to said chassis and configured to move an airstream through said chassis; a plenum coupled to said chassis and having a first opening in a first side located to receive said airstream and a second opening in an adjacent second side.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835