DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Lin et al. 20230067988 applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. 20230067988.
Regarding claim 16, figs. 6-7 of Lin discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 202;
a fin base (ML in fig. 4) disposed on the substrate;
a nanostructured channel structure, disposed on the fin base, comprising:
a germanium (Ge)-free region 208,
a Ge-doped region 222 surrounding the Ge-free region, wherein the Ge-doped region 222 has a graded germanium concentration profile (fig. 7 – 402 and par [0028]) such that an outer portion (sidewall portion 222B) of the Ge-doped region has a first Ge concentration and a second portion of the Ge-doped region (middle portion of 222A) in contact with the Ge-free region has a second Ge concentration less than the first Ge concentration;
a capping layer 220 surrounding wrapped around the Ge-doped region; and
a gate structure (203b which a gate to block/minimize Ge from leaving 222 - portions of the Ge-doped layer 222 may remain on the sidewalls of the fins 203 (i.e., the base fins 203b) 203b acts a gate to block Ge from leaving) surrounding the nanostructured channel structure.
Regarding claim 17, par [0025] of Lin discloses wherein the capping comprises a silicon germanium (SiGe) layer.
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses wherein the Ge-free region 208 comprises a Ge-free silicon region (isolation features 208 include silicon oxide which has Ge-free silicon region as SiO2 has Si).
Regarding claim 19, Lin necessary discloses wherein the Ge concentration in the Ge doped Ge-doped region is lower than a Ge concentration in the capping layer (as Ge is diffused from the capping layer).
Regarding claim 20, fig. 6 of Lin discloses wherein the Ge doped region capping layer is in contact with the gate structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893