Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 4/16/26 include amendments to the claims. Claims 1, 5-12, 15-16, 18-25 are pending. Claims 1, 5, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18 have been amended. Claims 3-4 and 17 have been cancelled. Claims 22-25 have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that none of the references teach an outer discharge passage that connects the outer space to an outside of the door assembly, the outer discharge passage formed by at least a portion of an inner periphery of the glass holder adjacent the door glass that protrudes rearward away from the rear face of the door glass to form a gap between the rear face of the door glass and the front face of the glass holder… wherein…an upper portion of the door assembly that is above the door glass includes the inner discharge passage and outer discharge passage, and a lower portion of the door assembly that is below the door glass includes the inlet passage: Gim teaches in figure 11, paragraphs [0106]-[0107], [0131], [0152]-[0158] an outer discharge passage T/2800 (whereby 2800 is disposed at a lower portion of the door assembly that is below the door glass 280, and is also capable of operating as an inlet passage through which air outside the door assembly is introducible into the outer space; the inlet passage 2800 includes a hole formed in a bottom portion of the glass holder 230 to form the inlet passage) formed in the door assembly connects the outer space to an outside of the door assembly, such that the inner discharge passage 2700 and the outer discharge passage T/2800 are configured such that, air heated in the inner space is dischargeable to the outside of the door assembly through the inner discharge passage 2700 and then through the outer discharge passage T/2800 (see figures 10-11, paragraphs [0152]-[0158]); the outer discharge passage T is formed by at least a portion of an inner periphery of the glass holder 230 adjacent the door glass 280 that protrudes rearward away from the rear face of the door glass 280 to form a gap between the rear face of the door glass 280 and the front face of the glass holder 230, so that air at the outside of the door assembly is capable of ventilating the outer space through the gap (see figure 11, paragraphs [0106]-[0107], [0131], [0152]-[0158]). Gim does not explicitly teach that an upper portion of the door assembly that is above the door glass includes the inner discharge passage and outer discharge passage. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that additional outer discharge passages and associated inner discharge passages may be disposed at an upper portion of the door assembly above the door glass so as to provide additional ventilation capacity and optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been determined that the duplication of parts and the rearrangement of parts constitute obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Gim teaches away from including additional fluid passages at an upper portion of the door because reference number 2800 of Gim is only taught to drain water from the door: Gim teaches in paragraph [0154] that the fluid passage 2800 is capable of functioning as a ventilation hole. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the fluid passage 2800 is not limited to the flow of liquids but is also capable of allowing the passage of both liquids and gases.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Gim teaches away from including additional fluid passages at an upper portion of the door because additional fluid passages would cause wash water to enter the door from more locations: Gim teaches in paragraph [0154] that multiple fluid passages 2800 may be included in the door and does not provide that this would adversely affect the door or the appliance as a whole. Rather, Gim teaches that the multiple fluid passages allow for the multiplication of the benefits of fluid venting and drainage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, 21-25 are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gim (US20180363198).
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, Gim teaches a home appliance (see abstract), comprising: a cabinet 100 including an opening (see figure 2, paragraph [0030]); and a door assembly 200 rotatably coupled to the cabinet 100 to open the opening and close the opening (see figure 2, paragraph [0030]), the door assembly including: a door glass 280 having a rear face and a front face (see figure 5, paragraph [0045]), a glass holder 230 having an opening of the glass holder and at least partially supporting the door glass 280 in the opening of the glass holder by the rear face (see figures 5, 9-11, paragraph [0045]), a door cover 240 at least partially supporting the door glass 280 in the opening of the glass holder 230 by the front face, and coupled to the glass holder 230 so that the door cover 240 and the glass holder 230 form an outer space (see annular space including convection space portion 2711) having a ring shape around the door glass 280 inside the door assembly (see figures 5, 10, 11, paragraphs [0035]-[0038]), a door safety 204 coupled to the door cover 240 so that the door safety 204, the door glass 280, and the door cover 280 form an inner space (see space include flow A_in in figure 10) inside the door assembly (see figures 1, 10, 11 paragraph [0038]), and wherein an inner discharge passage 2700 formed in the door assembly connects the inner space to the outer space capable of discharging air heated in the inner space to the outer space (see paragraphs [0095]-[0096], [0155]-[0158], figures 6, 8, 10-11), the inner discharge passage 2700 is formed by a gap between one end of a support member (see inwardly curved portion of door cover 240 as shown in figure 10) formed along a portion of an inner edge of a rear face of the door cover 240 and an outer periphery 284 of the front face of the door glass 280 (see figure 10, paragraphs [0095]-[0096], [0155]-[0158]) (reads on claim 6); and wherein the door assembly is configured so that, when the opening is closed by the door assembly, a portion of the door glass 280 protrudes into the cabinet 100, at least a portion of the glass holder 230 contacts a periphery of the opening, and the door safety 204 is exposed as a front face of the home appliance (see figures 1-2, 5, paragraph [0045]); an outer discharge passage T/2800 (whereby 2800 is disposed at a lower portion of the door assembly that is below the door glass 280, and is also capable of operating as an inlet passage through which air outside the door assembly is introducible into the outer space; the inlet passage 2800 includes a hole formed in a bottom portion of the glass holder 230 to form the inlet passage – reads on claim 7) formed in the door assembly connects the outer space to an outside of the door assembly, such that the inner discharge passage 2700 and the outer discharge passage T/2800 are configured such that, air heated in the inner space is dischargeable to the outside of the door assembly through the inner discharge passage 2700 and then through the outer discharge passage T/2800 (see figures 10-11, paragraphs [0152]-[0158]); the outer discharge passage T formed by at least a portion of an inner periphery of the glass holder 230 adjacent the door glass 280 that protrudes rearward away from the rear face of the door glass 280 to form a gap between the rear face of the door glass 280 and the front face of the glass holder 230, so that air at the outside of the door assembly is capable of ventilating the outer space through the gap (see figure 11, paragraphs [0106]-[0107], [0131], [0152]-[0158]). Gim does not explicitly teach that an upper portion of the door assembly that is above the door glass includes the inner discharge passage and outer discharge passage. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that additional outer discharge passages (which would read on second outer discharge passage of claim 5, whereby the first outer discharge passage and the second outer discharge passage would be capable of discharging air in the outer space to the outside of the door assembly through the first outer discharge passage and/or the second outer discharge passage) and associated inner discharge passages may be disposed at an upper portion of the door assembly above the door glass so as to provide additional ventilation capacity and optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been determined that the duplication of parts and the rearrangement of parts constitute obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 8, Gim teaches the limitations of claim 7. Gim also teaches in figures 10-11, paragraphs [0152]-[0158] that the hole 2800 is configured such that, the air introduced into the outer space is capable of flowing around the door glass 280 and through the outer discharge passage to ventilate the outer space, and that the door safety 204 may be of a transparent material and the door may be constructed of a plastic material (see paragraphs [0037]-[0038], [0100]).
Regarding claim 22, Gim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Gim does not teach that the inner discharge passage is disposed below the outer discharge passage. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the location of the inner discharge passage and outer discharge passage may be chosen based on the desired location of the fluid flow so as to optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door for the desired application. Furthermore it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claims 11, 21 and 24, Gim teaches a home appliance (see abstract), comprising: a home appliance body including a cabinet 100 and an opening (see figure 2, paragraph [0030]); and a door assembly 200 rotatably connected to the home appliance body to open the opening and close the opening (see figure 2, paragraph [0030]); the door assembly 200 including: a door safety 204 exposed to an outside of the home appliance (see figure 1, paragraph [0038]), a door cover 240 coupled to the door safety 204 (see figure 5, paragraphs [0035]-[0038]), a door glass 280 coaxial with and coupled to the door cover 240 (see figure 5, paragraph [0045]), and a glass holder 230 coupled to the door glass 280 and including a ring-shaped rear face (see flat and diagonal portions of rear face of glass holder 230) facing the cabinet 100 when the door assembly 200 is closed and an outer circumferential surface (see circumferential lip portion of glass holder 230) extending along an edge of the ring-shaped rear face (see figures 5, 9-11, paragraph [0045]), wherein the glass holder 230 comprises an air discharge passage structure including at least one first opening T formed between the door glass 280 and the glass holder 230 that is formed by at least a portion of an inner periphery of the glass holder 230 adjacent the door glass 280 that protrudes rearward away from the rear face of the door glass 280 to form a gap between the rear face of the door glass 280 and a front face of the glass holder 230, and at least one second opening 2800 (which is also capable of functioning as an air inlet passage on the outer circumferential surface as it is capable of allowing air at the outside of the door assembly to be introduced into the inner space) through the glass holder 230 through which air in an inner space of the door assembly is capable of escaping to an outside of the door assembly 200 through the air discharge passage (see paragraphs [0106]-[0107], [0117], [0118], [0148]-[0152], figure 11). Gim does not explicitly teach that the air discharge passage is in an upper portion of the door assembly that is above the door glass, that the at least one second opening is above the at least one first opening, and that an additional air inlet passage is on a lower end of the outer circumferential surface that is opposite to the air discharge passage and is below the door glass. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that additional air discharge passages, which also function as air inlet passages, may be disposed at an upper portion of the door assembly above the door glass and the at least one first opening as well as on an opposite lower end so as to provide additional ventilation capacity and optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door (reads on claim 24). Furthermore, it has been determined that the duplication of parts and the rearrangement of parts constitute obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Hence, it is readily apparent that in the modified system, the air inlet passage may include a plurality of holes, and may be configured such that, air introduced into the inner space through the plurality of holes flows around the door glass and through the air discharge passage to ventilate an outer space having a ring shape around the door glass 280 (reads on claim 21).
Regarding claim 12, Gim teaches the limitations of claim 11. Gim teaches that the at least one first opening T includes a first opening T formed on the ring-shaped rear face of the glass holder 230 and allowing the passage of fluids into and out of the inner space of the door (see figures 9, 11 and paragraphs [0106]-[0107], [0117]). Gim does not explicitly teach that a plurality of first openings formed at equal intervals along a horizontal direction of the ring-shaped rear face. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the number and location of the gaps may be chosen based on the desired amount and location of the fluid flow so as to optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door for the desired application. Furthermore it has been determined that the duplication of parts and rearrangement of parts constitute obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claims 15-16, Gim teaches the limitations of claim 11. Gim teaches that the air inlet passage structure may include an opening 2800 through the glass holder 230 at an outer circumference surface that allows the flow of fluid into and out of the inner space of the door (see figures 7, 9, 11, paragraphs [0152]-[0158]). Gim does not explicitly teach that the air inlet passage structure includes a plurality of openings formed at equal intervals along a portion of the outer circumference surface. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the number and location of the openings may be chosen based on the desired amount and location of the fluid flow so as to optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door for the desired application. Furthermore it has been determined that the duplication of parts and rearrangement of parts constitute obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 18, Gim teaches the limitations of claim 11. Gim teaches in paragraphs [0106]-[0107], [0117], [0118], [0148]-[0152], figure 11, a first gap T formed between an outer edge of the door glass 280 and an inner edge of the glass holder 230. Gim does not explicitly teach a second gap formed between an outer edge of the door glass and an inner edge of the glass holder. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a second gap may be provided so as to provide additional ventilation capacity and optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door for the desired application. Furthermore, it has been determined that the duplication of parts and the rearrangement of parts constitute obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 23, Gim teaches the limitations of claim 5. Gim teaches in figure 11 that the first outer discharge passage T extends for a first distance along the inner periphery of the glass holder 230, and, in the modified system including multiple outer discharge passages, the one or more holes of the second outer discharge passage may include two or more holes. Gim does not teach that a distance between a first hole of the two or more holes and a last hole of the two or more holes is less than the first distance. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the location of the openings may be chosen based on the desired location of the fluid flow so as to optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door for the desired application. Furthermore it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 25, Gim teaches the limitations of claim 11. Gim teaches in figure 11 that the at least one first opening T extends for a first distance along the inner periphery of the glass holder 230, and, in the modified system including multiple second openings, the at least one second opening includes two or more holes. Gim does not teach that a distance between a first hole of the two or more holes and a last hole of the two or more holes is less than the first distance. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the location of the openings may be chosen based on the desired location of the fluid flow so as to optimize the fluid flow into and out of the inner space of the door for the desired application. Furthermore it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gim (US20180363198) as applied to claims 1 and 11 in view of Kwon et al. (KR20200096044A).
Regarding claims 9-10, 19-20, Gim teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. Gim teaches that the door cover 240 may be a transparent plastic material (see paragraphs [0037], [0100]). Gim does not teach that the door safety is opaque or semi-transparent. Kwon et al. teaches that a material of the door safety 20 may be semi-transparent (see pages 6-7 of the translation, see portion 21 that may be semi-transparent) or opaque (see portion 22) depending on the desired visibility of the various parts of the door and the internal components of the washing machine as well as to maintain a neat appearance (see pages 4, 7 and 10 of the translation). Since both Gim and Kwon et al. teach washing machines it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the door safety in the system by Gim may be semi-transparent (reads on claims 10 and 20) and opaque (reads on claims 9 and 19) depending on the desired visibility of various portions of the door and washing machine, as well as to maintain a neat appearance, as shown to be known and conventional by Kwon et al.
Conclusion
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711