DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tu et al, US Patent 8,441,086 (as cited in previous Office Action, but different embodiment)
Regarding claim 1, Tu teaches a packaging structure for electronic devices, comprising:
a substrate (which is the layer that sensor chip 20 sits upon);
an optical device 20 fixed to the substrate, an upper surface of the optical device has an optical region 221 for receiving and/or transmitting light signals;
an outer cover 150 hermetically connected to the upper surface of the optical device and surrounding the optical region, the outer cover has an opening, and
a transparent inner cover 36 disposed inside the opening and sealing the opening, wherein the transparent inner cover is contacted to an inner surface of the outer cover that faces towards the upper surface of the optical device, and wherein the upper surface of the optical device, the outer cover and the transparent inner cover are sealed to form a cavity, a light signal path between the optical region and the exterior of the packaging structure passes through the opening and the transparent inner cover (figure 7).
Regarding claim 11, Tu teaches packaging structure for electronic devices further comprises an insulating packaging layer 50, and the outer cover is packaged in the insulating packaging layer with the opening being exposed (figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu et al, US Patent 8,441,086 (as cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 9, Tu fail to teach an area of the opening is larger than an area of the optical region.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chou et al, US Patent Application Publication 2022/0082670 (as cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 10, Tu fails to teach the outer cover is made of metal material.
However, Chou teaches metal is one of several materials conventionally-used in the art for making a cover layer for a packaging device (see [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chou with that of Tu because metal is one of several materials conventionally-used in the art for making a cover layer for a packaging device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention including “...the upper surface of the optical device has an annular groove, the annular groove is located outside the optical region, and a bottom of the outer cover is inserted in the annular groove and is hermetically connected to the optical device through a binding material. ..” in combination with the remaining limitations. Claims 3-5 are dependent upon claim 2 and are therefore allowable.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention including “...an outer wall of the outer cover is provided with a protruding structure, the protruding structure can be bonded integrally with an insulating packaging material....” in combination with the remaining limitations. Claims 7 and 8 are dependent upon claim 6 and are therefore allowable.
With regards to claim 2-8, the cited prior art(s) of record teach all of the limitations presented, but fail to recite the limitation above. Further, no other prior art was found that would meet the limitations of this claims, either in anticipatory or in combination with other references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that figure 1 of Tu fails to teach the amended limitation of “the transparent inner cover is connected to an inner surface of the outer cover that faces towards the upper surface of the optical device”, it is noted that figure 1 of Tu does fail to meet the limitation. However, figure 7 of Tu still meets the limitation of the claims 1 and 11, as cited above. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1 and 11 under 35 USC 102 and claims 9-10 under 35 USC 103 using the cited prior art of Tu is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cheng et al, US Patent Application Publication 2008/0012085, discloses a package structure of an optical motion sensor.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
QVJ
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899